View Full Version : Camper Vans
oconghc2
02/10/2005, 8:52 PM
Don't want to jinx ourselves but ......
Thinking of headin to Germany this summer! (qualify or not). Few of us looking at renting van for 2 weeks or so - do the whole joxer thing!. Been looking at a few options and seems that it might be reasonable enough for 4 sharing.
Might be the cheapest way of doing it - travel and accomodation looked after!
Just wondering if anyone has any ideas/past experience etc - there's obviously a mileage limit - anyone have bad experiences.
Junior
03/10/2005, 9:13 AM
out of interest, do you have any good website links so far - this idea has been mooted but no research done so far.
wallis
03/10/2005, 9:49 AM
Drawbacks :
Are you comfortable driving in a car with the steering wheel on the left ?
Are you comfortable driving round countries on the 'wrong' side of the road ?
Are you comfortable driving with a hangover on the 'wrong' side of the road ?
You need to make sure you have somewhere to haul up overnight- you cant dump the van anywhere and just fall asleep as you will risk arrest.
The roads will be packed with people travelling round the country.
You have to find out how much a 'campsite' charges per night and add that to the costs.
Work out your mileage (roughly) and the fuel costs
If 4 of you are going to be cooped up for three weeks get one with an adequate shower or washing facilities !
Ive used this lot before and they are advertising for the WC but theres bound to be some cheaper german sites :
http://www.car-rental-hire.co.uk/motor-home-hire.htm
Paulie
03/10/2005, 1:25 PM
Drawbacks :
Work out your mileage (roughly) and the fuel costs
http://www.car-rental-hire.co.uk/motor-home-hire.htm
Be careful of that. Those things guzzle petrol.
finlma
03/10/2005, 1:48 PM
Me and a few of the lads are planning to buy one here in Ireland. Some 2nd hand runner - probably a few grand. Then we'll do it up and drive over to Germany, only if Ireland qualify mind. It only takes a day and a bit to get there.
Then sell the van on return to Ireland
03/10/2005, 2:32 PM
Did car and tent for Euro88 and Italia90 - campsites are great in Germany and geared for camper vans too - gas, showers etc. Don't recall seeing any of our lads in campers in Germany but a couple in Sicily. You need to pick your friends and be sure they'll still be your friends after 2-3 weeks living on top of each other. One guy can mess it up for everyone. Witnessed some serious rows in Sicily.
Still good idea though but tot up petrol, boat etc. Might be worth flying there and picking one up in Germany too.
The Green Hen
03/10/2005, 6:26 PM
Im a the opinion that the best means a transport to Germany would be with a tractor and Ifor-Williams trailor- you could load up a few men in no time and head east. You could get 10 men into it (roughly the equivalent of 2 good daycent sized beasts). God be with the days when id head withe me horse and cart to see men kicking ball in all corners of the world . Go on ya boya, The Green Hen is back!
TheJamaicanP.M.
03/10/2005, 6:31 PM
Im a the opinion that the best means a transport to Germany would be with a tractor and Ifor-Williams trailor- you could load up a few men in no time and head east. You could get 10 men into it (roughly the equivalent of 2 good daycent sized beasts). God be with the days when id head withe me horse and cart to see men kicking ball in all corners of the world . Go on ya boya, The Green Hen is back!
Good man Hen. Great post. Reminded me of the "Brother", the legendary hurler from Wexford who travelled on a cattle-boat to France for the big match last year. He drank tinnies galore when he arrived there. Classly fella. Hu, ha, wha, aye, no, ha, himself!!
03/10/2005, 6:36 PM
I'll rent ye a camper van.4 wheels,1 spare,working engine,3 front seats,room for 5 to sit in the back,cooker,fridge,tiolet,shower,2 sinks,storage,1 doulbe bed,1 single bed,number plates,tax,vat,exhaust,roof,doors,lights(both front and rear) available for rent till 2010.
Armando
03/10/2005, 7:58 PM
My Dad brought us to Euro 88 in a 30ft camper. My family of 6(then) and my Dads mate and family, 5 of them. So there was 11 of us in all, we also packed a family tent. I was almost 9 years old and it was the best holiday of my life. We stayed in a couple of campsites, the car park of the Necker Stadium(or Knacker stadium as we joyfully called it)and even one night deep in the Black forest. It was all done on a whim. He got the camper for next to nothing at an auction in Dublin and a week before the tournament started decided we were going. We left with no match tickets but managed to get some for the England match and easily for the USSR game. Sadly we failed in our attempts fot the Dutch game and there is a story there about a greedy FAI official selling tickets to the highest bidder(Holland fans of course). I'll never forget the rage in my Dads attitude towards him when he wouldn't entertain his offer for tickets. I didn't quite understand what was going on then, but I do now.
Anyway, for young and old the campervan is the way to go.
04/10/2005, 8:15 AM
here here
04/10/2005, 8:58 AM
My Dad brought us to Euro 88 in a 30ft camper. My family of 6(then) and my Dads mate and family, 5 of them. So there was 11 of us in all, we also packed a family tent. I was almost 9 years old and it was the best holiday of my life. We stayed in a couple of campsites, the car park of the Necker Stadium(or Knacker stadium as we joyfully called it)and even one night deep in the Black forest. It was all done on a whim. He got the camper for next to nothing at an auction in Dublin and a week before the tournament started decided we were going. We left with no match tickets but managed to get some for the England match and easily for the USSR game. Sadly we failed in our attempts fot the Dutch game and there is a story there about a greedy FAI official selling tickets to the highest bidder(Holland fans of course). I'll never forget the rage in my Dads attitude towards him when he wouldn't entertain his offer for tickets. I didn't quite understand what was going on then, but I do now.
Anyway, for young and old the campervan is the way to go.
He wouldn't be a former Shamrock Rovers official would he this tout??????
Great story. So many great stories in Germany.
We slept in the car the night before the England game. Arrived outside the campsite in heavy rain 5 minutes walk from the stadium. No way anybody was pitch a tent so we just slept in the car. Luckily the car didn't need to move the following day as the smell.......... Actually broke down and didn't move again for 2 weeks so we had to rent a car to get around.
A colleague had a genuine important business meeting in Utrecht on the Monday morning of June 13th 1988. Needless to say he had to fly on the saturday to get over the jetlag and make a slight detour. When he sobered up on the Tuesday he had to make a very sombre phone call back to Galway pleading to keep his job which somehow he did. :D
We have got to get back there next year.