View Full Version : 2026 Predictions and early musings

Pages : 1 2 [3]

total hoofball
05/02/2026, 5:57 PM
Going with my predictions below, while Shels look very strong upfront and in the middle of the park I feel the very similar backline to last season with the exception of Casey is going to cost us

First Division looks hilariously bad, Cork to win by a minimum of 25 points and everyone else can finish anywhere from 2nd to 10th

Premier Division:

1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Shelbourne
3. Derry City
4. St. Patrick's Athletic
5. Bohemians
6. Sligo Rovers
7. Drogheda United
8. Waterford
9. Dundalk
10. Galway United

First Division:

1. Cork City
2. Kerry
3. Bray Wanderers
4. Wexford
5. Cobh Ramblers
6. UCD
7. Longford Town
8. Treaty United
9. Athlone Town
10. Finn Harps

Dalymountrower
05/02/2026, 7:30 PM
Rovers
Derry
Shels
Pats
Drogheda
Waterford
Bohs
Sligo
Dundalk
Ga;way

Cup: Derry
Top scorer: Burke
First Manager sacked: Renny

That prediction is a keeper!

legendz
05/02/2026, 7:37 PM
PREMIER DIVISION
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Derry City
3. St Pat's
4. Bohemians
5. Shelbourne
6. Waterford
7. Galway United
8. Sligo Rovers
9. Dundalk
10. Drogheda

FIRST DIVISION
Next week.

06/02/2026, 6:08 AM
Derry
Rovers
Shels
Bohs
Pats
Drogheda
Waterford
Sligo
Dundalk
Galway

Cork
Cobh
Bray
UCD
Longford
Wexford
Kerry
Treaty
Finn Harps
Athlone

Cup: Derry
Top scorer: Amond
First sacked : Caulfield

Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/02/2026, 7:16 AM
Shams
Shels
Derry
Pats
Bohs
Drogs
Waterford
Rovers
Dundalk
Galway

culloty82
06/02/2026, 9:08 AM
As our Harps fans have alluded, you can pretty much throw pins at everyone after Cork in the First Division, but the pressure will certainly be on Healy to hit the ground running this year.

Premier Division:
1. Shamrock Rovers
2. Derry City
3. Shelbourne
4. Bohemians
5. St Pat's
6. Sligo
7. Drogheda
8. Dundalk
9. Waterford
10. Galway

First Division:
1. Cork
2. Cobh
3. Bray
4. UCD
5. Kerry
6. Treaty
7. Longford
8. Wexford
9. Finn Harps
10. Athlone

WoodquayBoy
06/02/2026, 10:48 AM
Given my prediction history, this can be safely ignored:

Premier Division:

1. Derry
2. Rovers
3. Shels
4. Bohs
5. Waterford
6. Pats
7. Drogheda
8. Sligo
9. Dundalk
10. Galway

First Division:

1. Cork
2. Bray
3. Cobh
4. Athlone
5. UCD
6. Wexford
7. Treaty
8. Kerry
9. Finn Harps
10. Longford

Cup: Bohs
Top-scorer: Amond
First to get the boot: should be Caulfield but he’s untouchable so Groves at Longford.

ForzaForth
06/02/2026, 11:41 AM
Two Divisions in which Wexford are interested look like foregone conclusions. Surprisingly, it’s the Premier which may be the most interesting.

First Division
Cork
Kerry
UCD
Bray
Wexford
Cobh
Treaty
Harps
Athlone
Longford

Women’s National League
Athlone
Shelbourne
Bohemians
Shamrock Rovers
Wexford
Galway
Peamount
Treaty
DLR
Sligo
Cork
Waterford

Premier Division
Shamrock Rovers
Shelbourne
Derry City
St. Patrick’s Athletic
Bohemians
Drogheda
Waterford
Sligo Rovers
Dundalk
Galway

06/02/2026, 12:10 PM
If Cork don't win the First handily, there was to be serious questions asked (same as Dundalk last season)

We've lost a lot of attacking talent in the last 12 months and we look set to have a younger than usual team this year I think. Could be a transition season for us and play-offs aren't a guarantee, though the players I've never heard of generally turn out to be quite decent on the whole.

I don't know where Cobh are at this season - were going all out last year and then imploded in a strange late-season manager-sacking. Kerry need to start getting their act together for the money they have, and Athlone look to be stronger too.

Cork
Bray
Cobh
Treaty
UCD
Kerry
Wexford
Athlone
Harps
Longford

In the Premier - will Pat's under Kenny be like 2024 or 2025? It does seem there's a clear top four though, and the relegation battle seems to be between Dundalk and Galway, though Sligo/Waterford/Drogheda could easily join it with a bad run of injuries.

Rovers
Derry
Pat's
Shels
Bohs
Sligo
Waterford
Drogheda
Galway
Dundalk

redarmyfaction
06/02/2026, 5:56 PM
It is concerning to see posters putting us out of the bottom 2 year, normally most on here have us relegated at this stage, I am afraid we might get found out this year without the manager adopts a more direct approach and sticks with it.

@ Nah Nah Nah Nah, are you going to do your average prediction table this season?

Derry
Shams
Shels
Pat's
Bohs
Drogs
Waterford
Rover
Dundalk
Galway

Burnsie
06/02/2026, 8:22 PM
here are yizzer averages

Premier Division

1. Shamrock Rovers 1.30
2. Derry 2.07
3. Shelbourne 2.91
4. St Pat's 4.45
5. Bohemsians 4.55
6. Drogheda 6.59
7. Waterford 7.14
8. Sligo 7.32
9. Dundalk 9.09
10. Galway 9.45

First Division

1. Cork 1.00
2. Cobh 3.57
3. Bray 3.21
4. UCD 4.36
5. Wexford 5.50
6. Kerry 5.29
7. Finn Harps 7.50
8. Treaty 7.71
9. Athlone 8.07
10. Longford 8.79

06/02/2026, 8:28 PM
"Yizzer" is a fantastic word btw. Much underused!

ger121
06/02/2026, 11:25 PM
Derry
Rovers
Shels
Bohs
Pat’s
Drogs
Waterford
Sligo
Dundalk
Galway

Cork
Bray
Cobh
UCD
Kerry
Wexford
Treaty
Harps
Longford
Athlone

07/02/2026, 9:25 AM
Out of interest why have so many of you got Longford Bottom? This is a team who had the best form in the country over the last 5 games of last season and only just missed out on play offs.

Is it because the club has announced feck all players? Longford appear to have kept the bulk of last year and have added quite a few as well.

legendz
07/02/2026, 10:23 AM
Out of interest why have so many of you got Longford Bottom? This is a team who had the best form in the country over the last 5 games of last season and only just missed out on play offs.

Is it because the club has announced feck all players? Longford appear to have kept the bulk of last year and have added quite a few as well.

I haven't written off Longford. Not yet anyway. Longford have had a strong finish to the last two seasons. Similar to the Longford 800m runner!

4. UCD 4.36
5. Wexford 5.50
6. Kerry 5.29
7. Finn Harps 7.50

Kerry 5.29 below Wexford 5.50?

legendz
08/02/2026, 8:44 AM
First Division 2026 predictions:
1. Cork City
2. Bray Wanderers
3. Cobh Ramblers
4. UCD
5. Kerry
6. Wexford
7. Longford Town
8. Finn Harps
9. Athlone Town
10. Treaty United

1. Cork - runaway winners. Should be able to target another Cup final in the second half of the season.
2. Bray - if they maintain their form from last year, they should finish comfortably inside the playoffs.
3. Cobh - an odd end of year last year for a club who pushed Dundalk for so long. If they can maintain similar levels to the majority of the year, they should finish comfortably inside the playoffs as well.
4. UCD - steady Eddies with 56 and 59 points respectively the last two years. Some comments elsewhere on player turnover. If they fit in seamlessly, mid 50s should be a reasonable target. Whoever is above UCD should be comfortably inside the playoffs.
5. Kerry - Teahan is a big loss. A core group of the squad have consistently failed to mount a playoff push these last two years. Hoping the bit of experience signed can bring more consistency. 26 points behind UCD last year and ended the season with an 8 game winless run. A major improvement needed to make the playoffs.
6. Wexford - interesting managerial appointment last year. SE will be determined to get Wexford into the playoffs.
7. Longford - have finished the last two years strong. If they don't run out of real estate and are more consistent throughout the season, they could very well challenge Wexford and Kerry for the final playoff spot.
8. Finn Harps - anyone outside of Cork could finish 2nd to 10th. Haven't seen enough of Harps to rate them higher. Will see over the course of the season.
9. Athlone - terrible year last year. If they improve, they might finish above Treaty.
10. Treaty - Limerick football is in a bad place. Treaty failing miserably to represent the Midwest region. A positive will be that National League clubs aren't holding a licence to challenge them in a playoff.

08/02/2026, 9:17 AM

I suppose someone has to finish bottom and there's no obvious basket case this year.

total hoofball
08/02/2026, 12:07 PM
Out of interest why have so many of you got Longford Bottom? This is a team who had the best form in the country over the last 5 games of last season and only just missed out on play offs. Is it because the club has announced feck all players? Longford appear to have kept the bulk of last year and have added quite a few as well.Correct me if I'm wrong but Longford appear have had a decent amount of regular starters from last season who have departed: Halwax, Hand, Norris, O'Shea, Spain, Topcu, Yoro. Then some are seeing you sign players from Athlone who stunk up the division last season and some other inexperienced players. I went with 7th for Longford but as I said on my predictions appears to be much of a muchness between many of the teams outside of Cork

Buckett
08/02/2026, 12:19 PM
I'm really looking forward to a time when the third tier is established and there's relegation from the First Division. I think it will make a huge difference to the quality and competitiveness of the division.

MoydowMonty
08/02/2026, 12:24 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong but Longford appear have had a decent amount of regular starters from last season who have departed: Halwax, Hand, Norris, O'Shea, Spain, Topcu, Yoro. Then some are seeing you sign players from Athlone who stunk up the division last season and some other inexperienced players. I went with 7th for Longford but as I said on my predictions appears to be much of a muchness between many of the teams outside of CorkI'd argue the only real losses from that lot are O'Shea, Hand and maybe Topcu. Halwax was long dropped before the end when we went on the good run. Norris hadn't the same impact he had in 2024. Spain and Yoro I don't rate. I take your point about the lads from Athlone alright, I've the same concerns. But we've kept a good core of last season's squad and more of the key players than I expected, as well as offloading a bit of (but not all) the dead weight. I'm surprised everyone has Town down as bottom 2 in their predictions, I'm expecting to at least be in the hunt for 5th throughout the season.

08/02/2026, 1:21 PM
Was disappointed when Andy Spain opted for Longford over Harps, but as the season went on, it definitely felt like we dodged a bullet on that one as he was awful for Longdord.

10/02/2026, 9:02 AM
As pointed out, those exits are not as damaging as they might appear. I'd argue Athlone are still a basket case and should be firm favorites to finish bottom.

10/02/2026, 2:25 PM
Athlone signed a player off us (Brian MacManus) which slightly surprised me to be honest. Purely based on that, I'm assuming they're less of a basket case than last year and I lifted them up to eighth or something. I wouldn't be reading too much into the predictions (though I appreciate it was just a general question)

Buckett
10/02/2026, 2:54 PM
They signed Brendan Clarke too. A new board of directors was elected with some unpopular characters no longer involved so maybe some of their exiled fans will return. I don't know the ins and outs of what has been going on there for the past 10 or 15 years though. I'd love to hear an Athlone fans opinion on all of this.

EatYerGreens
10/02/2026, 3:41 PM
I'd just love to hear an Athlone fan.

Roones26
10/02/2026, 5:24 PM
They signed Brendan Clarke too. A new board of directors was elected with some unpopular characters no longer involved so maybe some of their exiled fans will return. I don't know the ins and outs of what has been going on there for the past 10 or 15 years though. I'd love to hear an Athlone fans opinion on all of this.

Kind of fascinated by the situation in the midlands with Longford and Athlone. Would love to know why things have gone back so far particularly attendance wise, is it just how uncompetitive the sides have been ? How could things be turned around ? Heard huge amount of pessimism around the athlone situation

MoydowMonty
10/02/2026, 8:41 PM
https://x.com/i/status/2021274467549278423 Speaking of Athlone, there's some attempt at transparency there. Hayden is gone and I know he's one that was strongly disliked by fams there. Could be all talk from them, time will tell

Keen2win
21/02/2026, 5:46 PM
Ltfc train in Dublin unfortunately. So really the people that mouth off about ltfc aren't the local football community, they usually the local chipper community. Stacked of dubs with a full academy in Longford being shafted. The chipper community wouldn't understand that sort of thing as doesn't impact them. Jim Hanley owed a few hundred grand ,, I presume this is why he is hanging on he wants the cash back before he leaves. If an investor comes in otherwise will they have this debt? Hanley presumably knows nobody would agree to that! Funny thing is he throws away 400k plus performance related bonuses all for average dubs! 2 LTFC LOI winning u17 teams last few years, now zero in first team. 2 Longford players left squad this year. Dont see it changing until there's a new committee tbh or the fai have the balls to enforce their own licensing. There is possibility with Sport Ireland, Children’s Ombudsman, Judicial Review, UEFA, etc. Time will tell hopefully ltfc soon become more then a shell for average dubs! If the dubs want to play for ltfc the should be travelling to Longford.

I asked months ago i would like my account deleted please moderators. My view is well known. Mouthing off on foot.ie isn't going to change anything, ill leave that to the experts

Strongbow10
21/02/2026, 6:46 PM
Serious positivity around Athlone again about the club. The new ownership and board are doing Trojan work.

From increasing social media presence and content, getting players out visiting local schools, building relationships with local businesses and schoolboy clubs again, bringing in some really popular players of the past (such as Denis Clarke) as club ambassadors. Making club gear available for sale, I know it sounds like basic stuff, but it wasn't happening for near on 15-20 years in Athlone, football people driven away. Season ticket sales are way up on last 2 years.

Regardless of what happens on the pitch, affairs off it are more transparent and positive for the first time in a long time. And with 2 wins out of 2, hopefully we will have something to shout about on the pitch also.

Dermobohs
21/02/2026, 7:21 PM
How’s this going?Wouldn't have Jack Byrne back for free, no loss.
A??

sbgawa
22/02/2026, 9:49 AM
Did any Rovers fans really say that?

ontheotherhand
22/02/2026, 10:25 AM
Did any Rovers fans really say that?

Think he's addressing the Pats fans who generally said they wouldn't want to sign Byrne.

Delighted he's back. He looks sharp and hungry so far. Loads of options now to compete with so he'll have to stay that way.

Dermobohs
22/02/2026, 6:11 PM
No, I was just poking a bit of fun at the daft stuff we fans come out with, it was WeAreRovers said it, page 1.
We all do it I’m sure, no harm.

ontheotherhand
23/02/2026, 7:40 AM
No, I was just poking a bit of fun at the daft stuff we fans come out with, it was WeAreRovers said it, page 1.
We all do it I’m sure, no harm.

Ah right. Look there's a few Rovers fans who would've felt the same. My take at the time was he should have been punished in some way but the risk was that he'd completely fall out with the team/club. I think Bradley managed it perfectly. Jack got some time to think. The team got to focus on winning the double. He's back and looks like he has a point to prove. We've a big squad though so time will tell if he's accepted that he isn't playing every week.

23/02/2026, 8:38 AM
That was me alright, Jack is a squad player now and I’m happy to have him back but our squad is so strong now that we’d have been absolutely grand without him, which was my point.

No issues with him being back once his attitude is right but he’s nowhere near the vital cog he once was. Still better he’s at Rovers than Shels or wherever but I’d have happy enough too if he’d stayed in Dubai.

Dermobohs
23/02/2026, 10:54 AM
Very impressive squad at rovers now, the lad Brennan, allied to young noonan , have taken the eye particularly.
If sobowale comes in , who drops out?
Grant maybe?
Also I’m struggling to see how an aging Stephens fits in.
One thing Bradley is good at however is juggling a big squad.
Massively looking forward to the derby Friday, see how competitive we are really.
Pats Sligo and Derry didn’t even look like laying a glove on us. None played well though, or was it that Bohs pressure game worked? We’re about to find out !

23/02/2026, 11:51 AM
Very impressive squad at rovers now, the lad Brennan, allied to young noonan , have taken the eye particularly.
Grant maybe?
Massively looking forward to the derby Friday, see how competitive we are really.
Pats Sligo and Derry didn’t even look like laying a glove on us. None played well though, or was it that Bohs pressure game worked? We’re about to find out !

Rovers typically play up to 60 games a year so squad rotation - starting tonight - will be key. Not a case of a first XI anymore. Danny Grant had a great game on Friday so certainly won't be 'dropped' but Sobowale may start tonight.

Enda Stephens came on as a late sub on Friday and I would see that as his role this season at LCB or LWB. Especially gratifying to see 4 teenagers play on Friday and all 4 of them did very well.

Everyone knows how well Brennan and Noonan did but Victor is a massive upgrade on McEneff and Cory O'Sullivan continues to impress albeit without the hype of the other kids in the squad.

ontheotherhand
23/02/2026, 12:19 PM
Grant maybe?

Early days but I'd agree. Squad looks good. Have to remember a few will be gone in the summer tho. Victor obviously is a done deal but Noonan, Brennan, Max and possibly Cory might get interest. Remains to be seen if Greene and Gaffney have anything left to give. It's a big squad with an eye to the future I think.

Enda is there to cover Pico and Grace. Altho if he gets fit he obviously has the potential to dislodge one of the back 3. We will need them all if we go well in Europe.

Grant is one of the first names on the team sheet. Sobowale gives us another option, which we haven't really had in the past few seasons. It's usually been two proper wingbacks with someone like Cory or Matthews as the backup. Good players but more on the defensive side. Now we have Grant, Brennan and Sobowale who can all attack and defend.

Friday should be a cracker. You're in flying form. We looked good against Pats but are a bit behind in terms of sharpness. And I'm not sure Pats weren't just absolutely terrible.

desaintsno.12
24/02/2026, 8:05 PM
We're even more f*ked than my original negative prediction. Definitely worried about where in the bottom half we might finish.

Glen Of Aherlow
24/02/2026, 8:15 PM
We're even more f*ked than my original negative prediction. Definitely worried about where in the bottom half we might finish.

We’ll have a fair idea after this weekend

Dermobohs
25/02/2026, 6:51 AM
Very early days though?

ontheotherhand
25/02/2026, 8:02 AM
Very early days though?

Let's just remember that after Fridays result eh Dermo?

Pats will probably end up winning the league seeing as they are usually de facto champions at this stage before bohs win it in April.

Will be an interesting one. Derry should click at some point. Shels have to be better than what they've shown. Galway stronger than I expected. Dundalk the same.

Dermobohs
25/02/2026, 8:25 AM
As I say, early days.
I’m reading nothing into results yet, when it settles down 10 games in we’ll have a clearer picture.
Mind you if we win Friday I’ll celebrate it like a mad thing, and would expect nothing less than that from rovers fans too!!

ontheotherhand
25/02/2026, 9:52 AM
As I say, early days.
I’m reading nothing into results yet, when it settles down 10 games in we’ll have a clearer picture.
Mind you if we win Friday I’ll celebrate it like a mad thing, and would expect nothing less than that from rovers fans too!!

Ah we're still effectively in preseason so you won't see me celebrating or getting too upset either way. We aren't usually up to speed until after the first round of warmup games.

Dermobohs
25/02/2026, 6:31 PM
Thought your pre season was in Europe?
Anyways, no medals handed out till it’s over so easy does it, unless we boss the derbies again. Last season nearly did me liver in.

ontheotherhand
25/02/2026, 8:20 PM
Thought your pre season was in Europe?Anyways, no medals handed out till it’s over so easy does it, unless we boss the derbies again. Last season nearly did me liver in.Not this season Dermo. We failed miserably in Europe by only getting to the group stages. The shame.Ah you bossed them until we were out of pre-season in Sept.I hope your liver has some time to recover this season.

Jack B
26/02/2026, 8:03 AM
Yeah I'd be far from optimistic for us. Already was but that has been cemented by the opening two games. I was all for the amount of players that were shipped out in the off-season, but despite this we still have much of the same squad (many of which are injury prone and showing it) and have only really strengthened at right back.Struggled badly for goals last season, and have responded to that by moving to a back 5 and being the only team in the league to have failed to score a goal thus far. Big, big weekend now vs Dundalk and Galway. Would bite your hand off for 4 points.

desaintsno.12
26/02/2026, 11:29 AM
Very early days though?

To a degree, but we look worse than last year, and last year was awful. No green shoots and Kenny has built a massively injury prone "squad". We are waaaaay off the top 4 with this squad.
Kenny should have done a total clear out of the backroom team too.

27/02/2026, 1:23 PM
To a degree, but we look worse than last year, and last year was awful. No green shoots and Kenny has built a massively injury prone "squad". We are waaaaay off the top 4 with this squad.
Kenny should have done a total clear out of the backroom team too.

I wouldn't be as pessimistic. Granted we haven't looked great, but we've been reasonably solid, and have had two tough away derbies. We're definitely lacking in the forward areas, but hopefully can get Keena, Mata and Power back to make a difference. Still a lot of good players in the squad.