View Full Version : Hungary v Republic of Ireland - Sunday 16th November - 2026 World Cup qualifier

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

pixiehead
17/11/2025, 9:47 PM
Uefa picked it out on their official twitter also

Troy also managed to win Player of the round for round 9 and must be odds on for round 10 at this stage also but vote not open yet.

17/11/2025, 11:08 PM
Football is popular
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2025/1117/1544464-over-a-million-tune-into-watch-parrotts-magic-moment/

18/11/2025, 10:32 AM
Fell in love with Scales as a footballer this window. He was great on Thursday, far from perfect today but he did big things where and when it mattered. That header at the end was monumental, like it was intentionally placed into the zone it landed. So smart. Azaz I fell out of and then back in love with him today. But he’s different class when he is in the middle. One assist and almost 2 or 3 more. Festy too I fell in and out of love with. He was equal crap and class but is so unpredictable that he brings something in those types of games that’s hard to describe but is valuable. We saw it against Finland. Kenny made an impression with me on his debut, not just in the oppo half but his work tracking back and down the channels. I like the look of him. Keeper pulled off a wonder save from him - Kenny did everything right. Speaking of which Kells was class again. Our back three was a bit of a mess but did what they needed to in a weirdly dysfunctional way. Cullen and Molumby worked so hard. Manning coming in for Jake was a good call in retrospect and he was solid. Feel so sorry for Ogbene, he was my MOTM up to when he went off - such a good out ball for us - wins frees and penos - and creates havoc with his pace.

Parrott.

It was a weird game actually. I feel like we had no right to win it but I’m watching it here again and, even though we didn’t really play that well at all, we had chances, proper chances and lots of half chances, they just had the ball and worked it well when they did. But they were too casual. We matched them more or less for all the big stats.Damien Delaney says Festy's presence on the pitch pushes teams like Hungary back because no full bcak wants to be exposed to him getting in behind. Not sure if the video footage backs this up but it makes sense.

18/11/2025, 10:36 AM
Day 2 of watching that RTE Sport 4 minute tweet on loop at work is well underway. I watch it 5 times then switch to TO'D's interview with Parrott, then start again.

Isn't Troy Parrott just immenseley likeable? All these lads are really.

As many others have said, this was huge. Yeah, it's only a playoff secured but it's about moments and man this was one of the finest. A whole nation was energised by it and the BIG are front and centre of the public's affections again.

18/11/2025, 10:41 AM
I don't post on Reddit very often, but when I do...
https://www.reddit.com/r/AccidentalRenaissance/s/GqyaQW3UyC

18/11/2025, 2:40 PM
What was Collins thinking for their second goal by the way? Legitimate question. Like, there must be something in his brain, some footballing reason i'm unaware of, that said stepping off Varga was the right thing to do but I am not sure what that was. Molumby was tracking/jogging in that general direction, did he think that Molumby would get there and he could slip back and defend a pass or something? I couldn't believe what i was seeing in real time.

His attempt to win a free in the second half when they broke and Sallai stung the palms of Kelleher - he dithered going for the ball, got beat, got himself clipped and decided to take a dive and leave just Scales there to try and block Sallai...criminal.

Don't want to sh*t on anyone unnecessarily after that result but there are some major question marks around his decision making. Its not captain stuff. Not close.

18/11/2025, 2:48 PM
I don't post on Reddit very often, but when I do...
https://www.reddit.com/r/AccidentalRenaissance/s/GqyaQW3UyC

That's another spectacular image. Can you copy it in here? Doesn't seem to work with the reddit url and the (img) tags

What was Collins thinking for their second goal by the way?
Was he leaving it for O'Shea to close down? It looks like they both might have left Varge to each other.

Only thing I can think of anyway. Aside from "Ah sure he's never going to take it down on his chest, turn and volley into the very top corner from there; be grand lads"

Could well be a contender for one of the best goals ever scored against us.

rebelmusic
18/11/2025, 2:48 PM
What was Collins thinking for their second goal by the way?

General consensus is that he thought O'Shea was going to close him down as he had started to move but then pulled back.

Regardless it's the main thing they both need to unlock as it's happened once or twice in every game

18/11/2025, 3:08 PM
That's another spectacular image. Can you copy it in here? Doesn't seem to work with the reddit url and the (img) tags

Was he leaving it for O'Shea to close down? It looks like they both might have left Varge to each other.

Only thing I can think of anyway. Aside from "Ah sure he's never going to take it down on his chest, turn and volley into the very top corner from there; be grand lads"

Could well be a contender for one of the best goals ever scored against us.

It was a beauty alright but if he is close to him it just doesnt happen...and then the game takes a different arc...and we never get the 96th minute... :)

18/11/2025, 3:11 PM
Every f'ing site on the internet wants to keep you inside their walled garden.

https://ibb.co/N69R4tYyphttps://i.ibb.co/bgstfQdK/the-veneration-of-a-hero-v0-dna0e2r6vu1g1.webp

18/11/2025, 3:14 PM
It was a beauty alright but if he is close to him it just doesnt happen...and then the game takes a different arc...and we never get the 96th minute... :)
Without Jesus dying on the cross for us, there is no redemption :)

irishfan86
18/11/2025, 3:55 PM
What was Collins thinking for their second goal by the way? Legitimate question.

It’s totally fair comment and an ongoing concern. Collins is one of our most frustrating players. Physically has all the attributes to be one of our best all time centre backs — but mentally seems to make the wrong decision way too often — and often in key moments.

I feel on the flip side his pace and strength often neutralize opposing attacks so casually a lot of the good he does goes unnoticed (like a ‘keeper who rarely makes impressive saves because they’re always in the right position).

I appreciate every player is different but at 24 I do wonder if giving him the captaincy was the right move. I appreciate he’s a captain at club level for Brentford I just share some of your concerns SKSTU.

18/11/2025, 4:28 PM
What was Collins thinking for their second goal by the way? Legitimate question. Like, there must be something in his brain, some footballing reason i'm unaware of, that said stepping off Varga was the right thing to do but I am not sure what that was. Molumby was tracking/jogging in that general direction, did he think that Molumby would get there and he could slip back and defend a pass or something? I couldn't believe what i was seeing in real time.

His attempt to win a free in the second half when they broke and Sallai stung the palms of Kelleher - he dithered going for the ball, got beat, got himself clipped and decided to take a dive and leave just Scales there to try and block Sallai...criminal.

Don't want to sh*t on anyone unnecessarily after that result but there are some major question marks around his decision making. Its not captain stuff. Not close.

So the official non-analysing grace period is over? Ok then, here goes:

This game was bonkers. I don't buy the Didi Hamann synopsis that Hungary deserved to win - this was an old-fashioned to-and-fro match, they had periods on top, we had periods on top. All the goals very frustrating from a defensive perspective, two goals (one for each) gorgeous from an aesthetic perspective.

From the outset, with a neutral hat on.... how bloody good was Szobozolai? It was Roy Keane-esque and whatever about the intention of his nose-raspberry, he has every right to be disappointed. the part I can't comprehend is that he didn't unleash one with the last kick of the game instead of floating in a cross! It was within his range. I thought Sallai (#20 with the shaven part in the hair?) was impressive too, as was Negro.

We were incredibly open at times - too open, but given the circumstances that was understandable, and thankfully the channels that were exploited were the outside-centre/inside-flank channels, rather than between the 6-yd box lane channels - meaning the shots were angled to an extent that Kelleher would be expected to save, even allowing for them being very good saves.

I thought Molumby got on a lovely amount of ball - but I'd have to check it again on the player - demanding the ball more regularly and as a consequence freeing Cullen up for a lot more space - particularly as the first half wore on.

The substitutions all worked, and were all perfectly timed. That's not to say all the substitutes were good - they weren't (looking at you Festy, for the 2nd time in 2 matches) - but they had the effect of introducing some chaos to the game which ultimately worked in our favour.

We ended up - If I recall correctly - something akin to the below:

-- O'Shea, Collins, Scales --
Festy ---- Taylor --- Azaz -- Manning
----- Parrott -- Idah --- Kenny

1. Manning - excellent when he came on and has clearly grown into his role in the squad. His set-pieces are so accurate it's incredible.
2. Azaz - Not a substitute, but a repositioning following a substitute. Thought he was poor enough at times on Thurs and thought he was underwhelming at times on Sunday too...until he moved back into cm. And not just because of the pass for the equaliser, his general play and his vision was something to witness, dunno if that's because we generally don't have that thrust from the central deeper lying positions, but it's something that has to be considered for March. Also it is clear the management love him - they've mentioned quietly this window how they see him being central to us. And that faith was rewarded in spades.
3. The attacking substitutions. Ok, so Cheo was enforced (sadly and that was going to be a goalscoring chance) but the trio of attacking changes weren't just ballsy, they were measured, thought out and it maximised the qualities not only of those coming in, but those remaining on the field. Really in terms of game management, hats off to the management team/Heimar, because it never once became kitchen-sink time, it was skillful and we could have scored more than we did. The greatest compliment one could pay, is that for a squad which we have wondered what options there were, all of the changes worked, played their part and didn't look out of their comfort zone.

What's more of a consideration going forward - and this isn't casting any aspersions on any player or coach - is would these two games have unfolded had Evan been fit for selection? Would Parrott have played? Would we have played in the way we did? I'm not so sure. and they are going to have to think about how they are going to approach the playoff match from a selection perspective if all are fit, because Parrott has to start.

18/11/2025, 5:16 PM
Thats the one, might be my favorite Irish football photo ever. Barry, get working on prints of that!!

Oi, Masterson, sort it fugging out!!!!

18/11/2025, 5:25 PM
I watched that back and it’s a good effort and a natural effort from a striker but if he had slipped it inside to his right Idah had an open goal. Of course a split second decision.

In recent context, in that split second decision, Johnny made the right decision ;-)

backstothewall
18/11/2025, 5:46 PM
It’s totally fair comment and an ongoing concern. Collins is one of our most frustrating players. Physically has all the attributes to be one of our best all time centre backs — but mentally seems to make the wrong decision way too often — and often in key moments.

I feel on the flip side his pace and strength often neutralize opposing attacks so casually a lot of the good he does goes unnoticed (like a ‘keeper who rarely makes impressive saves because they’re always in the right position).

I appreciate every player is different but at 24 I do wonder if giving him the captaincy was the right move. I appreciate he’s a captain at club level for Brentford I just share some of your concerns SKSTU.

Should Collins be in the team at this point?

Even with a back 5 there's a strong case to be made that the 5 should be Coleman, O'Brien, O'Shea, Scales & Manning.

18/11/2025, 5:50 PM

Even with a back 5 there's a strong case to be made that the 5 should be Coleman, O'Brien, O'Shea, Scales & Manning.

yes he should. Not allowing for mistakes he makes, I'm not as set on Jake O'Brien as everyone else is to be honest.

18/11/2025, 5:58 PM

yes he should. Not allowing for mistakes he makes, I'm not as set on Jake O'Brien as everyone else is to be honest.

Its a great problem to have to be honest. I think BTW back five would do well too - Coleman the voice and O'Shea has enough in him to architect the back 3, he didnt stop communicating through both games. They all, including any version that has Collins, perform as expected for the most part. I just think that Collins has the potential to be the shining light and leader back there but he needs to... grow up? cop on? focus?... or something. His concentration has always been his achilles heel going back to the Kenny days. It is not in the "drop him" territory for me but he needs to level up because I think he can.

Razors left peg
18/11/2025, 6:36 PM

Hey Kingers, since you dont seem to look at your phone these days I'll ask you on here the same as I asked on Whats App..... will you now agree that Parrott is a number 9???? :D

Razors left peg
18/11/2025, 6:38 PM

Looking at the replay I think he though Molumby was coming back quick enough to get to Varga. It was awful decision making but I can kinda see why he thought Molumby might have it covered

18/11/2025, 6:45 PM
Hey Kingers, since you dont seem to look at your phone these days I'll ask you on here the same as I asked on Whats App..... will you now agree that Parrott is a number 9???? :D

:D :D he forgot that part when he was crediting himself for Troy's career over on his thread

18/11/2025, 7:08 PM

I don't think he's an out and out number 9, no, even allowing for this week - I think he's so much more than that.
He contributes across the front line and from deep as we saw across these match days and as we've seen for Alkmaar. And as you know, I'm basing this on what I've seen of him since he's 14, playing up a year - not just what a lot of people are claiming to see him do for Ireland at senior level.

I know this is going to sound ridiculous (even typing it in my head I know it's ridiculous) but I don't think we've any comparison for him - genuinely. Of our previous front line players he's probably most like Robbie Keane, but in a lot of aspects I think he's better than Robbie. I think the fact that he was sort of forced to be the totem (for the want of a better word) in a system in England stymied him in his pathway. He's never been, nor should he have expected to be, that.

I know, I know, I know.

18/11/2025, 7:08 PM
:D :D he forgot that part when he was crediting himself for Troy's career over on his thread

I was trying to see how one can painlessly remove those bottom two ribs.

rebelmusic
18/11/2025, 9:57 PM
I was thinking the exact same. I think he has more to his game than Robbie did and look, time well tell on the goal count

Fixer82
19/11/2025, 8:56 AM
David Connolly wrote this on Twitter, obviously in real time, and it’s bang on. A small tweak can make a big difference

‘Putting a left footer, in Scales, at near post space with corners from the Hungary left means any clearance is unnatural. A right footer clears the danger down field with their leading leg. Unfortunate miscue for the first goal.’

19/11/2025, 9:43 AM
David Connolly wrote this on Twitter, obviously in real time, and it’s bang on. A small tweak can make a big difference

‘Putting a left footer, in Scales, at near post space with corners from the Hungary left means any clearance is unnatural. A right footer clears the danger down field with their leading leg. Unfortunate miscue for the first goal.’

We had a rule defending corners:

- Front Post defending the corner from the right-back's side of the pitch has to be defended by the left-full/left-footer, because the right-footer covering the front post correctly will not be able to clear the perfect corner properly;
- Front Post defending the corner from the left-back's side of the pitch has to be defended by the right-full/right-footer, because the left-footer covering the front post correctly will not be able to clear the perfect corner properly;

texidub
19/11/2025, 10:23 AM
That's what players need, Kingdom.... simple instructions! :D

19/11/2025, 10:37 AM
That's what players need, Kingdom.... simple instructions! :D

I was gonna type it in Binary, but thought simple English is best Texidub

19/11/2025, 1:40 PM
Just reading through this thread. The number of people who wanted both Azaz and Scales off. Sometimes the manager does know best.

Haven't had such a buzz since O'Shea equalised in Germany. The German fans were doing waves at the time. Similarly the Hungarian supporters were celebrating when they were 2-1 up. It's never over until the fat lady does her party piece. I thought those days were over but isn't it great for the younger generation who haven't had anything close to this before.

A day never to be forgotten.

rebelmusic
19/11/2025, 9:49 PM
Thanks for the reminder of that O'Shea goal. I was living in China at the time and woke up the whole building screaming and roaring at 4am 😂

20/11/2025, 9:38 PM
I don't like getting into the whole "this wouldn't happen in GAA/rugby/whatever" argument, but I will say this - there's very few sporting moments that have stayed in the public discourse as long as the result in Hungary

backstothewall
20/11/2025, 9:42 PM
I don't like getting into the whole "this wouldn't happen in GAA/rugby/whatever" argument, but I will say this - there's very few sporting moments that have stayed in the public discourse as long as the result in Hungary

The Rugby team enjoying a record breaking win against Australia has practically been ignored. Mack Hansen got a hat trick but he's less likely to be on the Late Late tomorrow than Troy Parrot's mother.

As for Troy himself. The Toy Show is on a Friday 5th December, and AZ don't play until Sunday 7th.

Fixer82
20/11/2025, 11:09 PM

I’m a GAA man, grew up hurling and playing football. Only played soccer in school.

Nothing gets the Irish public going like the soccer team doing well.

The rugby is grand but there’s about 10 decent rugby nations. Also, Mack Hansen scored a hat-trick in what is essentially a friendly.
Even when Ireland have done well in the rugby World Cup, we’re kind of expected to do well.

It’s far harder for a small country like us to do well in soccer.

The achievement of the last week is phenomenal considering we were down and out. We are the Mighty Ducks of international football

20/11/2025, 11:35 PM

As somebody who lives there, the Scots stole our international thunder though.

I mean, give us a few more days before you conduct your own great escape.

Eirambler
20/11/2025, 11:44 PM
The national soccer team has a nationwide appeal that isn't there for the other sports - GAA is grand but lacks the international element so has a ceiling as a result. Rugby is popular in some areas, but there are others where it has no traction at all.

Having said that, one of my absolute least favourite things in Irish sport is the sniping that goes on between sports, unfortunately a section of the football fan base is very bad for it. Personally I like both codes of football, as well as rugby and golf. Hurling and horse racing wouldn't be for me, but at the same time I don't feel the need to tell hurling and horse racing people how **** I think their sports are either. Live and let live and all that.

Fixer82
20/11/2025, 11:59 PM
The national soccer team has a nationwide appeal that isn't there for the other sports - GAA is grand but lacks the international element so has a ceiling as a result. Rugby is popular in some areas, but there are others where it has no traction at all.

Having said that, one of my absolute least favourite things in Irish sport is the sniping that goes on between sports, unfortunately a section of the football fan base is very bad for it. Personally I like both codes of football, as well as rugby and golf. Hurling and horse racing wouldn't be for me, but at the same time I don't feel the need to tell hurling and horse racing people how **** I think their sports are either. Live and let live and all that.

Totally agree. I love our 4 big sports.
I remember a DJ who was a big soccer head in a bar I used to frequent. He knew I was a GAA man and used to make a point of coming up to me, giving me two middle fingers into my face and saying ‘F**k the GAA!!!’
It was vitriolic to say the least. Every single week he did it to me.

I used to ask him ‘why do you only like one sport?’

But he had a chip on his shoulder about it and I’ve only ever seen it from soccer people. Mostly towards the GAA. Weird!

23/11/2025, 10:20 AM
Sean Moncrieff with a different take on the result in Hungary
https://www.irishtimes.com/life-style/people/2025/11/23/could-this-republic-of-ireland-team-reclaim-the-tricolour/

~YTM~
26/11/2025, 7:35 PM
I’m a GAA man, grew up hurling and playing football. Only played soccer in school.

Nothing gets the Irish public going like the soccer team doing well.

The rugby is grand but there’s about 10 decent rugby nations. Also, Mack Hansen scored a hat-trick in what is essentially a friendly.
Even when Ireland have done well in the rugby World Cup, we’re kind of expected to do well.

It’s far harder for a small country like us to do well in soccer.

The achievement of the last week is phenomenal considering we were down and out. We are the Mighty Ducks of international football

I think the success of the rugby team at international level and Leinster in Europe changed how the general public view the rugby team somewhat. I remember when winning a triple crown was huge for the rugby now it's viewed as a poor tournament. Munster going toe to toe with the heavyweight powerhouses from England and France.

But yeah at the end of the day nothing gets the public going like the soccer team doing well. There's just a different buzz about it and likely down to being underdogs. Even lads I knew who were massively into rugby their overall interest in it has lessoned over the years. Especially at international level as people are being priced out of it.

Fixer82
27/11/2025, 11:25 AM
I think the success of the rugby team at international level and Leinster in Europe changed how the general public view the rugby team somewhat. I remember when winning a triple crown was huge for the rugby now it's viewed as a poor tournament. Munster going toe to toe with the heavyweight powerhouses from England and France.

But yeah at the end of the day nothing gets the public going like the soccer team doing well. There's just a different buzz about it and likely down to being underdogs. Even lads I knew who were massively into rugby their overall interest in it has lessoned over the years. Especially at international level as people are being priced out of it.

My interest in international rugby has waned because the rich rugby nations (like us, France, Scotland, Japan etc.) basically buy in players. Nothing against Bundee Aki, CJ Stander and others who’ve represented us with pride but if I was from a developing rugby nation with a lot less money to spend, I’d be fuming. It’s not what international sport is supposed to be about.
These lads are playing for us in World Cups without even having citizenship. It just smacks of corruption. Any rugby person I’ve said this to only comes back with ‘sure half the soccer lads are English’. Which is a terrible comeback as those born in England that played for us all had a connection to Ireland.

International sport is supposed to be about picking the best you have that are connected to your land and, in our case in the soccer, sometimes adding up to more than the sum of our parts. That’s the beauty of it.

I think that and the fact that rugby is generally a middle to upper-class sport make it less appealing to the masses. Plus it’s a far more complicated game than soccer.

27/11/2025, 9:56 PM
Bit like France and Senegalese, or even New Caledonians as I discovered watching the play-off draws?

28/11/2025, 12:30 AM
You're going to see less of that in rugby as the new five year limit on project players takes effect

Fixer82
28/11/2025, 7:55 AM
You're going to see less of that in rugby as the new five year limit on project players takes effect

Or else prospective players will be shipped over here at a younger age. Go Leinster Lions!

elatedscum
28/11/2025, 5:57 PM
the thing about rugby union is there's literally only one nation in the world (min 1m population) where it's the most played sport (New Zealand), it's a minority sport everywhere else in the world, so relatively speaking so much easier to conquer. New Zealand's dominance in and of itself is proof of that.

Genuinely, what the Irish cricket team have done over the last 18 years is far more impressive than what the rugby team have done (beating Pakistan, West Indies, England, Bangladesh in World Cups) while having so little participation and losing their generational talent (Eoin Morgan) to England.

It's like being a team like Iceland and having a player who is as good as Salah or Mbappe and he ends up playing for England because Ireland were only an associate member who didn't have test status (we now do). Then despite losing to him, you end up beating the likes of Argentina, France, Italy etc.

29/11/2025, 12:59 PM
ame for Hockey, getting to a WC is an achievement, Women getting to a WC final would be on par with the mens football teams dong the same though thats not a participation things as much as a measure of the achievement.

29/11/2025, 1:27 PM
Would it? Ireland are 13th in the world in women's hockey, and there's only 83 countries in the rankings. Amazing and all as it was that the got through to a World Cup final (one of very very few Irish teams to do that at any sport at any level), I think it'd rank much closer to the same achievement in rugby than football.

Eirambler
29/11/2025, 5:53 PM
Or else prospective players will be shipped over here at a younger age. Go Leinster Lions!

That happens plenty in football too. The five year rule is now much of a muchness across both sports. Absolutely tons of football players have played for countries they have no connection to other than residency. The only reason we haven't done it is because our domestic league isn't strong enough or rich enough to start bringing in half decent Brazilians etc.