View Full Version : Town 2026

Pages : 1 [2]

04/01/2026, 2:48 AM
By the way, did we lose anyone other than Oisin Hand, Dean o Shea and Harry?

Yoro to Treaty.

04/01/2026, 11:12 PM
I thought after the Doran announcement there would be an avalanche of stuff but it's very quiet. Hopefully more news soon

drelihan
05/01/2026, 9:30 AM
Ah yeah, forgot about Eric 👍

Yeah, it's a pity about the lack of announcements. Especially since 3 starters are gone.

It will be interesting to see what happens with Alex o Brien

15/01/2026, 8:43 PM
Alex O'Brien the latest to be announced. We're up to 6 players confirmed now.

Drogs in the Leinster Senior Cup at the weekend will surely reveal more - open to correction but I don't think we'll be able to name trialists in the team for that due to it being a "competitive" game.

I had heard over Christmas that we had 12 or 13 signed up. Not sure if it's true, but if it is, I'm not sure what the delay in rolling them out is.

Anyway, half way to a starting 11...

MoydowMonty
16/01/2026, 12:14 AM
Correct on LSC, don't think trialists allowed. Only signed players.

This is 2 years in a row now they've been at this sh1te of not announcing players. I refuse to believe we don't have more than 6 lads signed up now. Like you I've heard we've certain lads who are apparently staying on. I see Luke O'Brien from Harps is now down with us on FAI Connect, so why hasn't he been announced? No mention of friendlies or LSC games coming up this month. These are basics like

Town Legend
16/01/2026, 9:15 AM
Correct on LSC, don't think trialists allowed. Only signed players.

This is 2 years in a row now they've been at this sh1te of not announcing players. I refuse to believe we don't have more than 6 lads signed up now. Like you I've heard we've certain lads who are apparently staying on. I see Luke O'Brien from Harps is now down with us on FAI Connect, so why hasn't he been announced? No mention of friendlies or LSC games coming up this month. These are basics like

Was his last club Carrick Rangers?

drelihan
16/01/2026, 9:24 PM
I think so. That would explain the gap FAI connect.

Looks like Andy Spain is not down against us in FAI connect anymore so he could be moving on.

Conor Errity (18 bohs) is down against us in connect.
Also Daniel McKenna from Athlone.

Currently it looks like the squad from last year ( minus Eric, Oisin etc...) and some younger defenders to replace the folks who left.

16/01/2026, 10:19 PM
No idea who or who isn't staying, I've also seen the names coming and going on FAI Connect so I've no idea why there hasn't been more announced.

Very little detail on pre season fixtures, it doesn't seem the way to build excitement for a new season. Then again, if we win our first give games we'll soon have a buzz about us but I'd agree that things need to improve on the communication side of things.

I thought you could play trialists in LSC but could be wrong on that

16/01/2026, 10:49 PM
Looking at 2 pics Bohs put up from the friendly with them tonight, I think it looks like Aaron Walsh in the first one and Cole Omorehiomwan in the second one.

Both of those guesses could well be wrong.

We lost 2-1 too.

MoydowMonty
16/01/2026, 11:59 PM
Currently it looks like the squad from last year ( minus Eric, Oisin etc...) and some younger defenders to replace the folks who left.

I really doubt that it's the rest of the squad signed on still. I imagine FAI Connect just hasn't updated for some of those players yet. I'd be absolutely stunned if Campbell and Ibrahim were still here next season.

LTFC
17/01/2026, 11:40 PM
Squad beginning to take shape now. Starting 11 today K Moore, MCCarthy, Errity, George, Murtagh, Irhue, Doran, O Brien, Ugbesia , Hough and S Moore, subs Jakas, McKenna, Mensah, Robinson, Manuel, O Brien and Educard.

sorbothegreek
18/01/2026, 12:16 AM
I wonder what that unusual tingling feeling might be..?
It's hardly optimism..?

MoydowMonty
18/01/2026, 7:16 AM
11 lads announced now. And you'd like to think those in that squad who aren't announced are signed on too (the 2 Moores) being the highlight of that bunch. So there's a bit of shape there now. Picture is looking better than it did 2 days ago when all we knew was we had 6 lads signed.

I'd love if we can bring in a bit more experience, as it stands George and McKenna are looking like the oldest players. And of vourse, get young Manny back in

18/01/2026, 3:26 PM
When is the LSC cup games starting for us as I couldnt see anything on FAI app?

MoydowMonty
18/01/2026, 4:04 PM
When is the LSC cup games starting for us as I couldnt see anything on FAI app?

Double check because they're definitely there, I can see them appearing when I click into the club alongside friendlies and first division.
We played Drogheda yesterday, 1-1. Next game is Tuesday in Grangegorman

drelihan
19/01/2026, 12:00 AM
We were really quite good against a strong Drogheda side. I know you can't take a lot from the pre season matches but I thought we looked better than the two previous pre seasons. A lot more communication on the pitch than previous years. Particularly from Cian Moore.

The new young lads were very impressive. Very solid. Best way I can describe them is that they impressed as much as Alex O Brien in his debut last year.

Darragh Murtagh still with the biggest engine going 😀😂🤣

19/01/2026, 5:49 PM
Emre Topcu has signed for Iskenderunspor in the Turkish 3rd tier.

Looks like they're based near the Syrian boarder. An interesting move to say the least.

A player who I'd have liked to have kept as a squad player, but ultimately he was probably not good enough too. Good luck to the lad.

MoydowMonty
19/01/2026, 8:08 PM
Emre Topcu has signed for Iskenderunspor in the Turkish 3rd tier.

Looks like they're based near the Syrian boarder. An interesting move to say the least.

A player who I'd have liked to have kept as a squad player, but ultimately he was probably not good enough too. Good luck to the lad.

Jaysus, reminds me of Adeyamo heading to Iceland. Can't say either of those moves would have been on my bingo card.

Fair play to him anyway. Always liked him and was hoping we'd keep him. Good luck to him

drelihan
20/01/2026, 11:54 AM
Did you see Jordan Adeyamo has 19 goals in 23 games in Iceland?!!

20/01/2026, 7:41 PM
Couple more signings (it appears) with our lineup in tonight's LSC game.

Mark Canavan from Klub Kildare's under 20s.

Andy Paraschiv from Dundalk.

MoydowMonty
23/01/2026, 11:58 PM
Seems Cole has signed too as per Connect. Like by Bray, disliked by Athlone. Think I'm ok with signing him and giving him a chance with us

25/01/2026, 8:47 PM
Whos Cole MM?

25/01/2026, 11:12 PM
Surprised we signed Cole, he was only fit enough to take the kick off in the legends game. Then again, he probably still knows where the goals are. Daragh Murtagh will have stiff competition at least

MoydowMonty
26/01/2026, 2:54 PM
Whos Cole MM?

Cole Omorehiomewan. Big tank of a centre half. He got playoffs with Bray but came bottom with Athlone last year so I guess we'll see. I'll take him, I'd rather try him at centre half than Yoro again

drelihan
26/01/2026, 4:21 PM
Couple of folks I didn't recognize in the friendly on Saturday. Good to see Fran around. Hopefully he can have a good season if he does rejoin:

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1DgHmNob57/

26/01/2026, 6:54 PM
I was looking at FAI app earlier in the LSC tie v St Pats Athletic it said Town had no subs who came on? Just wondering is that true and if not what subs came on in that game?

MoydowMonty
26/01/2026, 11:33 PM
I was looking at FAI app earlier in the LSC tie v St Pats Athletic it said Town had no subs who came on? Just wondering is that true and if not what subs came on in that game?

I'd say subs were made and the Connect app just wasn't updated on our side. I was at the Montpellier game on tuesday and Connect wasn't updated with our subs or Murtagh's goal till well after the game.

Surprised Fran is getting a shout. I guess he's one of the trialists so. Pity for him it was against a Shamrock Rovers team with Byrne, Mulraney, Cleary etc. Be very hard to make an impression in a game like that when you lose 6-0. I'm starting to worry Manny isn't going to be back, been no mention of him anywhere yet

drelihan
27/01/2026, 10:40 AM
I'm certain Manny was at the Drogheda match but just wasn't togged out. I guess that doesn't mean anything though....

Just on Fran....if Darragh Murtagh gets an injury we're kind of goosed! We're bit thin on strikers compared to other years.

MoydowMonty
27/01/2026, 12:03 PM
All the more reason to need Manny, his goal record in the league last year was more impressive than Murtagh considering the fewer minutes he got.

I guess we've Robinson again this season since he has been playing, just not been announced. But I haven't been impressed with him since he joined and thought he was the weakest player on the pitch last Tuesday. He has some proving to do. There's goals in him tho as per his other first division spells, but think his attitude might he questionable

drelihan
27/01/2026, 5:09 PM
All the more reason to need Manny, his goal record in the league last year was more impressive than Murtagh considering the fewer minutes he got.

I guess we've Robinson again this season since he has been playing, just not been announced. But I haven't been impressed with him since he joined and thought he was the weakest player on the pitch last Tuesday. He has some proving to do. There's goals in him tho as per his other first division spells, but think his attitude might he questionable

Going by one of Wayne's interviews last year, its a kind of strange situation as Manny wasn't able to commit to training with the team last year (but I suppose that was probably the case with Beineon O'Brien-Whitmarsh!!!). Serious talent though.

I don't like criticising players as the commit it takes etc.... but I've really felt that Robinson hasn't been interested since he joined last year. Obvious talent - but he seems as interested as James Doona was when he was with us....

MoydowMonty
02/02/2026, 11:30 AM
So seems like at least 99% of the squad is there now thanks to sportsfile once again getting word out ahead of the club https://www.sportsfile.com/more-images/776453902

Surprised at Campbell and Walsh, was sure they'd be let go. I really hope this is their year, but that's 3 years of saying that now.
Williams returns, he's been on a dry run since he left Drogs or Bohs but I remember him banging them in for Athlone and us years ago. And then some new names I don't recognise at all, guessing they're from other clubs academies.
No Manny to be seen there, bit concerning

02/02/2026, 5:24 PM
Checked out a few names in FAI Connect, one lad appears to have come from Edenderry Town, another from Baliymun United and another from Bohs underage set up. Got bored scrolling photos after that.

03/02/2026, 7:51 PM
It's the most lowkey build up to a season I can ever remember.

MoydowMonty
05/02/2026, 11:28 PM
It's gonna be the same sh1te as a year ago. We're 1 week out from our sesson starting and there's gonna be a flood of revealing players we already know. I really don't get this at all. Such a bad look in 2026