First Division

Friday 3rd (All 19:45)

Athlone v Dundalk
Cobh v Bray
Treaty v Longford
Wexford v UCD

sbgawa
01/10/2025, 3:59 PM
So both Premier abd first Division titles could be wrapped up Friday if Sligo take a point in Derry and cobh drop points to Bray with Dundalk beating Athlone.

On balance i can see it happen

Big game in Waterford also.
Can Longford win their last 3 to scrape into the playoffs ........next match is Cobh who will possibly have nothing to play for and then away to Athlone.....

MoydowMonty
01/10/2025, 4:43 PM
If so it's 3 must wins for Longford. Treaty v Wexford the final day. You need them to draw and not win their penultimate game each. It could be goal difference that kills Longford in the playoff run. So it's probably too big an ask, but we can dream

redobit
02/10/2025, 11:20 AM
Could the game in Derry be postponed? There's a orange weather warning for the Northwest. Derry dosent seem to be getting the storm as bad but our fans and players would need to travel there and back in the middle of a orange warning, which will probably be factored in.

Buckett
02/10/2025, 12:41 PM
That will be pretty dangerous, flying debris everywhere

02/10/2025, 1:23 PM
That will be pretty dangerous, flying debris everywhere

So like a regular game at the Brandywell then? 😉

sbgawa
02/10/2025, 1:26 PM
Those orange feckers are always causing trouble up there

02/10/2025, 4:53 PM
Could the game in Derry be postponed? There's a orange weather warning for the Northwest.

Council have closed their outdoor sporting facilities and parks for tomorrow and Saturday day. No mention of the Brandywell specifically, and no word from the club.
Doesn't look too hopeful though?

nr637
03/10/2025, 8:07 AM
With a pending Storm Amy and various weather warnings around the country, what is the official procedure for fixtures with a 19.45 or 20.00 kick-off times?

Any referees around to comment!

Kiki Balboa
03/10/2025, 8:37 AM
With a pending Storm Amy and various weather warnings around the country, what is the official procedure for fixtures with a 19.45 or 20.00 kick-off times?

Any referees around to comment!

Seems only one pitch inspection (at Treaty) so far for this evening.

joey B
03/10/2025, 9:51 AM
Treaty/Longford postponed until Sunday at 4

03/10/2025, 10:48 AM
Treaty/Longford postponed until Sunday at 4

Derry-Sligo the same.

joey B
03/10/2025, 11:38 AM
Wexford/UCD also postponed until Sunday

03/10/2025, 11:42 AM
Waterford vs Drogheda now too.

culloty82
03/10/2025, 12:28 PM
Wouldn't be surprised if Cobh's also moved - winds only getting stronger here in Kerry, so can only assume likewise next door.

sbgawa
03/10/2025, 12:34 PM
Cork match still on pitch is ok apparantly and cobh are on astro so that will prob go ahead i would have thought.
All this orange warning stuff would drive you mad just encourages people to cancel things to cover their asses.

Buckett
03/10/2025, 2:31 PM
Galway is pretty bad at the minute, I'm surprised it's not being upgraded to a red warning tbh

Nah Nah Nah Nah
03/10/2025, 3:17 PM
East coast generally doesn’t get the worst of the weather

D24Saint
03/10/2025, 3:27 PM
East coast generally doesn’t get the worst of the weather

Nah it’s never too bad tbh. The wind whips us in Tallaght on a regular basis but that’s the worst of it.

03/10/2025, 5:21 PM
Cork match still on pitch is ok apparantly and cobh are on astro so that will prob go ahead i would have thought.
All this orange warning stuff would drive you mad just encourages people to cancel things to cover their asses.

I wouldn't put my dog out in that weather at the minute, let alone attempt a football match.

03/10/2025, 7:57 PM
I would ay some of the gusts this evenng were as bad if not worse than Eowyn south side of Dundalk. Quietened now but if there had been a game in Oriel it would have been ridiculous in a windswept open ground like Oriel.

1 nil at HT in Athlone is too close still lol. Shels fans would have to agree that ye cant assume promotion until the whistle has blown!

Stevie mac
03/10/2025, 8:38 PM
We'll do it next week against by beating Harps

03/10/2025, 8:53 PM
We'll do it next week against by beating Harps

If Cobh beat Longford, and Harps get anything from that game at all it'll make things very interesting going into the final day.

03/10/2025, 9:00 PM
If Cobh beat Longford, and Harps get anything from that game at all it'll make things very interesting going into the final day.

Im sure foot.ie will toats love another whole season of Dundalk and Cork fans' rivalry in 2026!

03/10/2025, 9:24 PM

Fancy us to get something off Cobh tbh. If Dundalk can't wrap it up with a run in of Longford, UCD and Athlone then they don't deserve it

03/10/2025, 9:39 PM
Have to make sure the self proclaimed best fan in the league appreciate it - all part of the plan!

oriel
03/10/2025, 9:50 PM
Dundalk did not deserve to win the game tonight v Athlone, end of.

Incredible loss of form and confidence over last 3 games really, granted can win it next week at home v FH, but just think its falling over the line stuff, then again not there yet, but to be 6 clear with 3 left to play now only 4, talk about shooting yourself in foot. Anyway.

oriel
03/10/2025, 9:58 PM
Fancy us to get something off Cobh tbh. If Dundalk can't wrap it up with a run in of Longford, UCD and Athlone then they don't deserve it

100% agree, last 2 away games were abs shocking performances, Longford 3-1 and tonight 1-1, we deserved nothing more either.

ger121
03/10/2025, 10:22 PM
Dundalk fairly limping towards the finish line. Next season could be a horror show.

oriel
03/10/2025, 10:37 PM
Dundalk fairly limping towards the finish line. Next season could be a horror show.

I wouldn't keep more than 2 or 3 them - I think most DFC fans appreciate that and absolutely agree this current team is going right back down.

Seemingly there is investment incoming, if we get promoted, we shall see.

04/10/2025, 7:40 AM

Won't get 25 points next season.

MoydowMonty
04/10/2025, 8:52 AM
I'd love nothing more than for Dundalk to bottle it at this stage, but they'll probably get over the line

ger121
04/10/2025, 8:56 AM
Won't get 25 points next season.

Cork are on 23 at the moment, so Dundalk will really have their work cut out to even get to that total.

ger121
04/10/2025, 8:57 AM
I wouldn't keep more than 2 or 3 them - I think most DFC fans appreciate that and absolutely agree this current team is going right back down.

Seemingly there is investment incoming, if we get promoted, we shall see.

Will you be able to go fulltime?

04/10/2025, 9:32 AM
Cork are on 23 at the moment, so Dundalk will really have their work cut out to even get to that total.

100%, last night shows how strong the PD currently is, Dundalk's only hope is another club implodes.

04/10/2025, 9:54 AM

Aren't they already full time?

oriel
04/10/2025, 11:26 AM
I think most on here are assuming should Dundalk go up, that this current squad will also be going to the PD.

Most know if that would happen, it would 100% result in a relegation, and it seems clear even with the current direction the club is on, they know 6-7 (min) new players of a decent PD standard would be required to stay in the division.

GK is one that will be new, Cheerie is now 42, Minogue has been dropped (injury is a cover) and has lost confidence, also 6 who started last night were teenagers, one was 16 at start of the season, they would be eaten alive in PD.

Its fairly obvious most positions all over the line up will need replaced.

MoydowMonty
04/10/2025, 12:52 PM
Seems like Dundalk gonna be missing a loada lads next week due to international call ups, including Leonard and Kenny

04/10/2025, 12:58 PM
Seems like Dundalk gonna be missing a loada lads next week due to international call ups, including Leonard and Kenny

It's Harps

redobit
04/10/2025, 1:17 PM

In fairness I dunno bout that. Its been pretty bad in the West and NW. A man has died due to the weather too.

oriel
04/10/2025, 1:49 PM

Dundalk are full time this season, they are just training 4 or 5 evenings v same in mornings, due to younger age profile, a lot at college, (and some at school !!!).

oriel
04/10/2025, 1:54 PM
Seems like Dundalk gonna be missing a loads lads next week due to international call ups, including Leonard and Kenny

4 will miss, including two in bold who played last night. Spaight and TJ Molloy are the other 2 who were not added to the squad last night, not ideal prep of course all 4 out.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
05/10/2025, 5:14 PM
Michael Duffy deserved that winner. Superb performance from him.

redobit
05/10/2025, 7:00 PM
I thought we deserved a draw out if that.

I couldn't believe the lack of urgency from Derry esp in the first half when there is still a lot to play for them. Even the commentators on LOI were chatting away like they were in the pub, talking about documentaries at one stage.

da bishop
05/10/2025, 8:42 PM
Got to hand it to Longford ,on a great run of form and deserved their victory today,the second goal an excellent example of how to counter attack.Treaty doing what they always done under this manager...huff and puff but no direction, no plan,no football,its dire stuff .Have been limping over the line in terms of the playoffs for a while now ,could very well make it but do not deserve to and if people looked really closely they will realise this manager has been an utter failure .....leave Tommy ...please.

05/10/2025, 8:47 PM
Loved that second goal of ours. Perfect counter attack.

05/10/2025, 11:52 PM
Just keep that form in to next week, not too much to ask!!