View Full Version : Portugal v Republic of Ireland - Saturday, 11 October 2025 - 2026 World Cup Qualifier
texidub
09/10/2025, 9:46 AM
Thinking of Coleman and Ronaldo potentially facing off on Saturday... a combined age of 76. There's hope for us all getting a game yet!
I'd like to see Collins get into midfield a bit against Portugal. It worked against England until Scales had his Scottish moment.
09/10/2025, 9:58 AM
Are HH + crew just winging it now? If you bring back players only to start them, that opens up more questions on what’s going on behind the scenes in terms of preparation. All the talk since HH’s arrival has been about getting to know the players, planning properly for the WC campaign, giving lads the summer off so they’d be ready to hit the ground running … But we are still introducing new faces and players are now admitting they didn’t fully understand the challenge they were facing in Armenia. Preparation?
As for line-up/ tactics for the Portugal game, if it’s not similar to England away, then why not? Wasn’t that game as good a dress rehearsal for this as we will get? The game scenario will be similar and HH expressed “happiness” with the England performance up to the red card. If we deviate, it questions preparation again.
Just on Molumby. He says he wasn’t given a reason for his omission from the previous squad, and that’s just poor man management imo. The player pool is small; a quick courtesy call takes no time and goes a long way.
09/10/2025, 10:32 AM
Are HH + crew just winging it now? If you bring back players only to start them, that opens up more questions on what’s going on behind the scenes in terms of preparation. All the talk since HH’s arrival has been about getting to know the players, planning properly for the WC campaign, giving lads the summer off so they’d be ready to hit the ground running … But we are still introducing new faces and players are now admitting they didn’t fully understand the challenge they were facing in Armenia. Preparation?
It's hard not to see things that way.
As for line-up/ tactics for the Portugal game, if it’s not similar to England away, then why not? Wasn’t that game as good a dress rehearsal for this as we will get? The game scenario will be similar and HH expressed “happiness” with the England performance up to the red card. If we deviate, it questions preparation again.
I have not been a fan of this regime, without reason, but that first half against England was easily the best we've played under HH and it was extremely comfortable - that's not an understatement. However, and I'll try not to sound like a cabbage when making the point, that it was England, where any disciplined 'block' focussing on stopping the opposition from playing (without much emphasis on trying to beat them) they struggle in a way their peers such as Spain or Portugal don't.
I'm fearful for Saturday in a way that I've not been fearful before.
- First home game since Jota died;
- First game in Lisbon since the funicular disaster;
Emotions will be high. An early goal...woof.
09/10/2025, 12:53 PM
Thinking of Coleman and Ronaldo potentially facing off on Saturday... a combined age of 76. There's hope for us all getting a game yet!
Speak for yourself. These days, I see DOBs of footballers and I remember when those kinds of numbers meant I'd been playing Championship Manager for too long.
Fixer82
09/10/2025, 1:01 PM
Just got tickets for Armenia game and was pleasantly surprised to see the taxes and charges included in the original ticket price
elatedscum
09/10/2025, 4:19 PM
Jimmy Dunne called up for game 1 due to Scales suffering a family bereavement. Given recent history, I guess that means Jimmy will be starting on saturday
elatedscum
09/10/2025, 4:22 PM
Just got tickets for Armenia game and was pleasantly surprised to see the taxes and charges included in the original ticket price
Anyone selling any premium tickets? Got offered a pair for €30 and didn't reply quick enough. Hoping to go with a very elderly relative who would very much appreciate the cushioned seats
11/10/2025, 3:08 PM
I'm fearful for Saturday in a way that I've not been fearful before.
- First home game since Jota died;
- First game in Lisbon since the funicular disaster;
Emotions will be high. An early goal...woof.
I'm still thinking this ahead of the game. Hadn't linked in the funicular but yeah, you can see how it might just add to the whole occasion. I presume there'll be something to mark Jota before the game - more than just a minute's silence.
France and Portugal recently hammered us such that we could barely touch the ball but it only ended up 3-0 and 2-0 in those games. If we're as disorganised as Armenia and if, as you say, an early goal goes in, I could easily see tonight being 4-0 or 5-0.
Our main hope is that Portugal go easy on us with Tuesday against Hungary in mind (but like when they came to Dublin last) but I just can't see that on a night like tonight
CraftyToePoke
11/10/2025, 3:21 PM
Bookies have it at 2/5 for over 2.5 goals & even over 3.5 is 11/10, so you can see what they think is about to happen.
Fixer82
11/10/2025, 5:44 PM
Armenia playing well against Hungary it must be said
11/10/2025, 5:57 PM
Kelleher
O'Shea
Collins
O'Brien
Coleman
Manning
Molumby
Cullen
Ogbene
Ebosele
Ferguson
Bit of an attacking threat - but I think more importantly a suspect defence. I could see this turning out like Stevens' last call in Paris for Coleman.
Fixer82
11/10/2025, 5:58 PM
Starting 11 named
1. Kelleher
2. Coleman
3. Manning
4. O’Shea
5. O’Brien
6. Cullen
8. Molumby
9. Ferguson
20. Ogbene
21. Ebosele
22. Collins
Not sure what formation that will be
Razors left peg
11/10/2025, 6:10 PM
Bit mad that so many lads who couldn't even make last squad start.
That’s the beauty of strength in depth.
Starting 11 named
1. Kelleher
2. Coleman
3. Manning
4. O’Shea
5. O’Brien
6. Cullen
8. Molumby
9. Ferguson
20. Ogbene
21. Ebosele
22. Collins
Not sure what formation that will be
5-4-1 kinda thing I’m thinking. Ogbene and Ebosele wide outlets. Wing backs as full backs. You’d almost rather see Idah start with that kind of approach.
What's he doing then? A lot of defensive players on the park.
Hoping it's O'Shea, Coleman, OBrien centre back, manning/festy wing backs, Collins midfield with Molumby and Cullen and Chio behind Ferguson
11/10/2025, 6:23 PM
That’s the beauty of strength in depth.
Now that's sarcasm!
It mightn't have a formation as such - might be just link it into the channels for the two fast guys to chase and get to Ev.
5-4-1 what RTÉ reckon - which makes sense I guess
Trequartista20
11/10/2025, 6:24 PM
Six defenders strung out across the pitch. Hard to make out what the formation might be and who might be playing where.
Molumby, Coleman and Ebosele, not good enough to make the cut for the 23-man squad last time, are now starting (?!).
Reeks of incompetence, desperation and of the coaching team simply winging it.
liamoo11
11/10/2025, 6:34 PM
Exactly
liamoo11
11/10/2025, 6:35 PM
What's he doing then? A lot of defensive players on the park.
Hoping it's O'Shea, Coleman, OBrien centre back, manning/festy wing backs, Collins midfield with Molumby and Cullen and Chio behind Ferguson
Chio centrally as a 10 would be horrifying , he can't pass a ball
11/10/2025, 7:16 PM
Much and all as we're creating nothing here, we do at least seem half organised. I guess that's something after Armenia
11/10/2025, 7:20 PM
Credit to Molumby he’s been really tidy and brave at times on the ball. The fact three players who didn’t make the last squad, Coleman, Ebosele and Molumby have been arguably the three stand outs does raise a few questions in itself!
liamoo11
11/10/2025, 7:35 PM
Credit to Molumby he’s been really tidy and brave at times on the ball. The fact three players who didn’t make the last squad, Coleman, Ebosele and Molumby have been arguably the three stand outs does raise a few questions in itself!
Agree. Molumby willing to get on the ball and try and pass forward and hold that central area defensively. Ebosele and Coleman working well together. O brien very assured.
11/10/2025, 7:38 PM
Worst fears very much not materialising here. Still creating little and would expect a Portugal goal to settle them and give us no way back - but they don't really look like creating a proper chance at the moment.
Ogbene fairly snatched at that chance he was offside for - we need a bit of composure up front in games like this. Easier said than done, mind
Immense performance. I think Molumby, Festy and O’Brien have shone. Really well organized all round though, great shape out of possession and super focused. Couldn’t ask for much more. Coleman has been great but perhaps too cautious at times in their half with the backwards ball to Jake instead of inside or out to Festy.
Itd almost break your heart in a way that they have this type of mindset in them. Well here’s hoping we can hold on.
11/10/2025, 7:38 PM
Those 3 players that didn't make the last squad or weren't available for selection?
The flat back 5 is working really well, cm lacks bite and is powder puff at moving the ball forward, counter attacks are somewhat haphazard. All in all not bad so far.
backstothewall
11/10/2025, 7:40 PM
Molumby has done well, but he was left out of the last squad on merit. That was his best 45 minutes in an Ireland shirt in years, possibly ever.
If that's a reaction to being left out of the last squad I'd say that's good management by HH
11/10/2025, 7:45 PM
The game has echoes of october 2000 but then we had Roy Keane at full strut.
11/10/2025, 8:05 PM
Into the "squad depth" stage of things, where you wouldn't expect us to do well
Ogbene offering nothing this half - but who do we replace him with? Ferry, and move Manning up?
Edit - Johnston on, which makes sense. But for Festy? Was he carrying a knock?
Into the "squad depth" stage of things, where you wouldn't expect us to do well
Ogbene offering nothing this half - but who do we replace him with? Ferry, and move Manning up?
Edit - Johnston on, which makes sense. But for Festy? Was he carrying a knock?
Yeah he took a tumble but was our best outlet. Ogbene is done. Probably looking at McAteer for him, you can’t put Ferry on here.
Idah for Ferguson too.
Colbert Report
11/10/2025, 8:18 PM
Robbery.
11/10/2025, 8:19 PM
That was a brilliant save from Kelleher.
Unreal save. Justice done no? That looked like his chest on every angle I saw.
Colbert Report
11/10/2025, 8:21 PM
There's no way that was a penalty!
11/10/2025, 8:21 PM
Robbery.
I think Collins might have slapped the ball slightly before it hit his chest, but it still looked a very harsh penalty. Great save from Kelleher.
This is all set for a 92nd minute Ronaldo winner now...
Fixer82
11/10/2025, 8:35 PM
Well maybe not Ronaldo but…. What a kick in th teeth
11/10/2025, 8:40 PM
Yep. In fairness, deserve it. 30 shots to 1, and only that we were great defensively (and Portugal pedestrian in attack) they'd have made the the breakthrough earlier. But a 52nd minute winner doesn't hurt like a 91st minute one
And the other problem is this performance isn't really much help for Tuesday when we need to take the game to Armenia.
But lookout - HH has certainly redeemed himself somewhat, so let's take that
liamoo11
11/10/2025, 8:41 PM
A great effort. Hopefully beat Armenia and hope Hungary can't get anyhing from Portugal and maybe we can smash and grab in Budapest
Fixer82
11/10/2025, 8:41 PM
To be honest, with this squad, all I want is for us to be hard to beat.
Good performance tonight. Solid and organised with a bit of passion.
Well done lads. Hard luck.
Put a bit of pride back in the jersey
But lookout - HH has certainly redeemed himself somewhat, so let's take that
To be honest, with this squad, all I want is for us to be hard to beat.
Good performance tonight. Solid and organised with a bit of passion.
Well done lads. Hard luck.
Put a bit of pride back in the jersey
Couldn’t agree more on both these.
samhaydenjr
11/10/2025, 8:46 PM
A great effort. Hopefully beat Armenia and hope Hungary can't get anyhing from Portugal and maybe we can smash and grab in Budapest
Probably need to pick up a point at home to Portugal also. Hopefully they'll be safely through by then
11/10/2025, 8:47 PM
Shíte finish, i thought that was Kelleher's ball all day long, take man and ball if needs be. Counter attack plan was absent and hurt, apart from that it was an excellent defensive set up.
rebelmusic
11/10/2025, 8:49 PM
Proud of them
Trequartista20
11/10/2025, 9:08 PM
Some pride restored.
We were playing the number 5-ranked side in the world and were competitive and hard to put away. Realistically, this is all we can ever expect.
rebelmusic
11/10/2025, 9:12 PM
Only criticism, HH shouldn't have changed the back 3 with 10 mins to go. Saying that..Egan made an interception a couple of mins before the goal that Ronaldo would have likely scored so fine margins whatever way you look at it
Fixer82
11/10/2025, 9:14 PM
I thought he should’ve replaced Ogbene sooner. He was dragging himself around the pitch for at least 15 mins before he was subbed
rebelmusic
11/10/2025, 9:18 PM
I thought he should’ve replaced Ogbene sooner. He was dragging himself around the pitch for at least 15 mins before he was subbed
Yeah he seemed to fade at the end of the first half as well. I think they all put in a decent shift. Thank feck we have Troy back for Tuesday
liamoo11
11/10/2025, 9:33 PM
Probably need to pick up a point at home to Portugal also. Hopefully they'll be safely through by then
It probably won't matter will it? If somehow we win against Armenia this week and Hungary lose against Portugal then we will have 4 points going into last game and Hungary will have 7. Even if we get a draw with Portugal we will still need to win in Hungary. It may actually cause a situation where we hold back some players for the Hungary game to be fresh and don't have them play Portugal. Hungary have Armenia away in that second last game
rebelmusic
11/10/2025, 9:51 PM
After their game earlier I don't think it's beyond the realms of possibility that Armenia hold Hungary to a draw although that's bottom of the barrel stuff in fairness
elatedscum
11/10/2025, 10:41 PM
It probably won't matter will it? If somehow we win against Armenia this week and Hungary lose against Portugal then we will have 4 points going into last game and Hungary will have 7. Even if we get a draw with Portugal we will still need to win in Hungary. It may actually cause a situation where we hold back some players for the Hungary game to be fresh and don't have them play Portugal. Hungary have Armenia away in that second last game
Hopefully Portugal are already qualified and head out on the **** before the game in Dublin.