First Division (All 19:45)

Athlone v Wexford
Bray v Longford
Cobh v Finn Harps
Dundalk v UCD
Kerry v Treaty

sbgawa
25/09/2025, 11:46 AM
So it could all be over tommorow from a league winning perspective.
It would be greatr to get it done now as we have 11 games from the 27th September to the 9th November (if we beat Kerry) so being able to rest players for the league matches when Europe is on will be important.

Big games for Galway to take an expected 3 points aginst Cork and Shels badly need a win for Europe especially if Drogs do a number on Derry.

Big game for Dundalk aginst an in form UCD but to be fair to Dundalk thye have generally stepped up when they have needed to this season.

Kevin Doherty sounded fairly pssied off after the Shels match with how unfairly his Drogs are treated by the Meejah and is definitly channeling his inner Mouriniho.
In fairness i have written them off a couple of times and keep expecting them to fall away and then they keep on going.

nr637
26/09/2025, 8:31 AM
So it could all be over tommorow from a league winning perspective.
It would be greatr to get it done now as we have 11 games from the 27th September to the 9th November (if we beat Kerry) so being able to rest players for the league matches when Europe is on will be important.

Big games for Galway to take an expected 3 points aginst Cork and Shels badly need a win for Europe especially if Drogs do a number on Derry.

Big game for Dundalk aginst an in form UCD but to be fair to Dundalk thye have generally stepped up when they have needed to this season.

Kevin Doherty sounded fairly pssied off after the Shels match with how unfairly his Drogs are treated by the Meejah and is definitly channeling his inner Mouriniho.
In fairness i have written them off a couple of times and keep expecting them to fall away and then they keep on going.

It would be great for the run in, if UCD could get a result at Dundalk as they are the form team in the First Division!
A win For Cobh would cut Dundallk's lead to 3 points with the final game in Cobh at home to Dundalk!

smasherdrog
26/09/2025, 2:19 PM
Uproar at Derry today , manager and assistant manager gone apparently.

26/09/2025, 2:22 PM

Any link to this event?

sessylU
26/09/2025, 2:54 PM
Some craic if true!

26/09/2025, 3:03 PM

There's a voice note doing the rounds, but I said I don't believe it to be true unless Lynch was looking for a way out.
Rumour was he told a load of lads they can leave the club, Duffy included. It all seems a bit too far-fetched.

Our team sheet tonight should tell the story anyway!

Drogs away for us, ugh. Never good games these. Kevin Doherty may be giving off about the comments made about the Drogs style of play, but he knows they're right. It's usually brutal stuff. In saying that, he's done some job with probably the lowest budget in the league, and if I were a Drogs fan, I'd be delighted with how things are going. I've predicted a 1-1 draw tonight, which would probably be fine for both teams really.
Hoping Rovers can get the job done in Tallaght, but you couldn't bet against Bohs against them this season.

26/09/2025, 7:20 PM
Tiernan Lynch there per the FAI app anyway.

UCD take the lead in Oriel - 41-year-old Peter Cherrie in nets for Dundalk still. Louis Dignam, son of our first ever scholarship player Keith (back in 1979) with his first goal for the club

We're on great form coming into the playoffs even though our top scorer is only on 7 - and as Waterford drop into the playoff spots in the Premier, it's tempting to wonder if we can do them like we did in both 2021 and 2022!

Have to get past Bray first of course, who beat us in the semis last year.

redarmyfaction
26/09/2025, 7:30 PM
Cracking game at Tallaght.

26/09/2025, 7:54 PM
Tiernan Lynch there per the FAI app anyway.

UCD take the lead in Oriel - 41-year-old Peter Cherrie in nets for Dundalk still. Louis Dignam, son of our first ever scholarship player Keith (back in 1979) with his first goal for the club

We're on great form coming into the playoffs even though our top scorer is only on 7 - and as Waterford drop into the playoff spots in the Premier, it's tempting to wonder if we can do them like we did in both 2021 and 2022!

Have to get past Bray first of course, who beat us in the semis last year.

1-1 now, Its a season I kind of glad I have missed in person for the most part. Just get it done and quit shredding my nerves, 3 months of hospitals wasnt half as tortuous!

Its mad that thinsg are in such a way at Derry that rumours couldnt be totally knocked on the head today, or gained traction at all.

26/09/2025, 8:23 PM
2-0 LTFC in the Carlisle. Back to back wins v Dundalk and Bray would be good going. Great seeing a very young squad finding their feet more and more as the season goes on.

thebronze14
26/09/2025, 8:47 PM
Harps have thrown in the towel. Lucky to lose by 3. Another thoroughly disappointing season

26/09/2025, 8:49 PM
Yeah keep that form going when playing Cobh in couple of weeks. Thats Brays small chances of even catching Cobh gone prior to meeting which isnt what we'd have wanted. Dont fumble the 3 points against Athlone next week and were as good as done and finish it off with a result in Oriel last home game.

Buckett
26/09/2025, 9:14 PM
Hard luck Cork, ye probably didn't deserve to lose that and a disallowed goal too. Nolan's goal was a belter.
Having said that, I'm delighted with the result, up to 7th now! Congrats to Walsh for equalling our all-time appearances tonight and his second goal was a lovely header

Shinkicker
26/09/2025, 9:19 PM
Great game at Tallaghfornia, great advert for the game, three great goals and penalties not given. Not the result Bohs wanted

vinnie
26/09/2025, 10:38 PM
Great game at Tallaghfornia, great advert for the game, three great goals and penalties not given. Not the result Bohs wanted

Bohs Goal was just class teamwork to be honest, but a cracker all the same, them were some bangers coming out of the Bohs side, the ****in bang of them you'd think the Kinnehans and Hutches were up to their tricks

sbgawa
26/09/2025, 10:38 PM
3 cup final wins in a season is a good season for bohs tbf. The sramble for europe is going to be interesting. Any 3 feom 5

sbgawa
26/09/2025, 10:42 PM
5 leagues in 6 seasons is some going. If i had known it was going to be like this during the wilderness years it would have made things easier. No room for complacency. We won 4 in a row until 86 and then 1 more in the next 24 years including a relegation....and dundalk won 5 in 6 and then got relegated....its mad when u think about it

sbgawa
26/09/2025, 10:44 PM
At least Dundalk are back up or almost certain at this stage after tonight, when UCD went 1 nil up it looked like squeeky bum time

cláirseach
26/09/2025, 10:45 PM
What is the deal with the stadium announcer / dj in Tallaght? Mortifying stuff

Good game of football though.

sbgawa
26/09/2025, 10:58 PM
What is the deal with the stadium announcer / dj in Tallaght? Mortifying stuff

Good game of football though.

Disnt notice what do u mean

placid casual
26/09/2025, 11:03 PM
Decent game in tallaght tonight, boez showed why they should probably finish 2nd in the table, albeit their defence and keeper won't win them any silverware. Great goals from Burkey and Mandriou, think the 2 games last weekend took it's toll,but Rovers get it done,and got it done.
Champions again, ole ole. ðŸ†

Dermobohs
26/09/2025, 11:12 PM
Decent game in tallaght tonight, boez showed why they should probably finish 2nd in the table, albeit their defence and keeper won't win them any silverware. Great goals from Burkey and Mandriou, think the 2 games last weekend took it's toll,but Rovers get it done,and got it done.
Champions again, ole ole. ðŸ†

Congrats, league is won over a whole season, so deserved.you were lucky enough tonight, two obvious penalties waved away, and YOUR dodgy keepers blunder not punished.
Weird comments about our keeper, one of the leagues best, three brilliant stops tonight, faultless for the goals, all round solid performance.Defence were ok tonight, Burke’s goal came from a midfield error but the second was agreed soft defending, although still brilliant by honohan and turkey teeth.

Overall a pretty unlucky loss for us, but now the real stuff begins, ie Europe . Got a really tough run in but I feel we have enough there.

Dermobohs
26/09/2025, 11:16 PM
Disnt notice what do u mean
You didn’t notice??
Sounds like some drunk has found the mic on the floor in the bar ffs.most unprofessional badly voiced in the league , awful stuff.
Loads of media heads follow rovers surely you can find one with a bit of pa experience?

ontheotherhand
26/09/2025, 11:48 PM
Bohs have found another trophy - better stadium announcement. 😂😂 Fair play folks, you're great entertainment.

Champions again.

Calcio Jack
27/09/2025, 12:00 AM
You didn’t notice??
Sounds like some drunk has found the mic on the floor in the bar ffs.most unprofessional badly voiced in the league , awful stuff.
Loads of media heads follow rovers surely you can find one with a bit of pa experience?

He’s recently taken over the role and agree he’s an embarrassment ….. completely useless but seems to think he’s some sort of a ‘character’ but is just an annoying idiot… hopefully the club will remove him asap.

Dermobohs
27/09/2025, 12:09 AM
Bohs have found another trophy - better stadium announcement. 😂😂 Fair play folks, you're great entertainment.

Champions again.
Ah now stop, this lad is so bad it’s just weird,
Lads around me tonight ****ing themselves at the nonsense he’s spouting.
Rovers are top of the tree BIG business in loi terms, big ground pro club pro management regulars in or groups and your stadium announcer sounds like a drunk uncle at a wedding????really?

D24Saint
27/09/2025, 11:25 AM
A tasty clash tonight in the Showgrounds. Both sides need a win for different reasons. I’ll go 2-1 Saints.

Dermobohs
27/09/2025, 12:49 PM
Should be a good watch, I’d agree pats to shade it, melia is in fine form.

ontheotherhand
27/09/2025, 2:45 PM
Ah now stop, this lad is so bad it’s just weird,
Lads around me tonight ****ing themselves at the nonsense he’s spouting.
Rovers are top of the tree BIG business in loi terms, big ground pro club pro management regulars in or groups and your stadium announcer sounds like a drunk uncle at a wedding????really?

What's wrong with drunk uncles at weddings? I've been told I'm the life and soul of them.

Couldn't hear him in the south stand what with all the revelry but doubt he will get the gig again if that helps?

Thanks for the recognition all the same. Not bad for a shower of sub-humans is it?

redarmyfaction
27/09/2025, 3:24 PM
A tasty clash tonight in the Showgrounds. Both sides need a win for different reasons. I’ll go 2-1 Saints.

We have played ye 13 times in the Russell era, won 3 and lost 10, surprisingly there were no draws and I don't remember our record being much better since the Cook/Baraclogh era so would take a draw.

Dermobohs
27/09/2025, 7:38 PM
Slightly better team so far anyways, few pats lads need a kick up the hole at ht.
Mulraney and Kavanagh on soon I’d say.
Is Git injured?

D24Saint
27/09/2025, 8:05 PM
Slightly better team so far anyways, few pats lads need a kick up the hole at ht.
Is Git injured?

No word if he is injured. We have been woeful tonight so far.

CorribsideSteve
27/09/2025, 10:55 PM
Waterford have only got themselves to blame if they allow Galway to get off the hook with the relegation play off. Massive win for us last night, but unconvincing. If it had finished 2-2 i dont think any GUFC could have complained. Cork have shown in glimpses throughout the season that they shouldn't be bottom. Their goal is surely a contender for a top 10 goals of the season if not higher. Glimpse here and there but not enough to save themselves. Got to take my hat off to Sligo, theyre on a serious run and look the most sure footed team to stay up on their own merit of themselves, us and Waterford

2 Year Contract
27/09/2025, 11:06 PM
Dear god that was turgid stuff from Pats tonight, worst they’ve played in months results in a deserved first domestic loss since June. Sligo were absolutely excellent tonight and fully deserving of their win. Absolute rocket of an effort from Redmond at the end heading for the top corner only for a wonder save from Sargeant to avoid a smash and grab point for Pats. 4 points from the last 9 available this week against what was the bottom 3 before those games is a hammer blow to the European ambitions with (on paper at least) much harder games to come with 3 Dublin derbies plus a game against a Waterford side that’ll be fighting for their lives

D24Saint
27/09/2025, 11:31 PM
Dear god that was turgid stuff from Pats tonight, worst they’ve played in months results in a deserved first domestic loss since June. Sligo were absolutely excellent tonight and fully deserving of their win. Absolute rocket of an effort from Redmond at the end heading for the top corner only for a wonder save from Sargeant to avoid a smash and grab point for Pats. 4 points from the last 9 available this week against what was the bottom 3 before those games is a hammer blow to the European ambitions with (on paper at least) much harder games to come with 3 Dublin derbies plus a game against a Waterford side that’ll be fighting for their lives

We are where we are in the league due to the likes of tonight. I thought Sligo were far superior to us in workrate and attitude. Our performance was just dire stuff , it’s down to the cup now.

placid casual
28/09/2025, 7:12 AM
The race for Europe looks fascinating from here on in.
Rumours that derry management and players are at loggerhead over contract renewals and derry have a recent history of falling over the finish line.boez look solid enough but can be hit and miss against teams lower in the table. drogs are just granite but could realistically draw every game left of their season which might not be enough. pats have bits of flair but look to have an absence of cojones when it matters.shels are still the champions at the moment but may find it difficult to juggle the conference games and league games left ( or it could equally inspire them).
If I had to predict the final 2-6 places right now id go with:
boez
shels
derry
pats
drogs

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/09/2025, 7:28 AM
Another good result and performance from us last night. Worked their socks off and Jad Hakiki is an absolute joy to watch. He really deserves a move during the off season with a nice bit of money for us. Great turnaround by us since the mid season break which makes the Kerry result all the more frustrating.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/premier-league/formtabelle/wettbewerb/IR1?saison_id=2024&min=19&max=33

Jack B
28/09/2025, 1:39 PM
Is Git injured?

Has a chest infection apparently. The difference between him and Baggley is night and day.

28/09/2025, 2:22 PM
I read today that Patrick McEleney is now a coach at Derry City under Tiernan Lynch. I thought he was still a player up Nrth?

D24Saint
28/09/2025, 2:27 PM
Has a chest infection apparently. The difference between him and Baggley is night and day.

I’m not a fan of Baggley but he hasn’t the worst pair of feet. His biggest problems are his total lack of physicality and his poor passing. They are very important attributes for a midfielder unfortunately. A team with a Barry Baggley won’t win league titles.

dundalkfc10
28/09/2025, 3:01 PM
McEleney still playing with Ballymena but he's been a coach with Derry all season

Ballymena are only part time so I'd imagine he's a training with Derry most days

28/09/2025, 4:52 PM
McEleney still playing with Ballymena but he's been a coach with Derry all season

Ballymena are only part time so I'd imagine he's a training with Derry most days

He is, aye.
Ballymena manager Jim Ervin wasn't best pleased about it when it was announced, by all accounts. I get it, Fats could be getting off the team bus in Derry at three in the morning, then be up early to travel to Ballymena for a match. Not ideal.

He's on a part-time contract though, so can't really complain about him taking another job. Even if it's at another football club.

Glen Of Aherlow
29/09/2025, 9:26 AM
I’m not a fan of Baggley but he hasn’t the worst pair of feet. His biggest problems are his total lack of physicality and his poor passing. They are very important attributes for a midfielder unfortunately. A team with a Barry Baggley won’t win league titles.

I wonder what our record is this season with Git in the team vs without him ?

Jack B
29/09/2025, 1:59 PM
I wonder what our record is this season with Git in the team vs without him ?

I had a quick glance as it's an interesting question, and think this is more or less the record in the league this season with and without him (he's played the odd few minutes off the bench/gone off early in games which I counted as without him):

With:
9W, 6D, 1L

Without:
3W, 4D, 9L

In a couple of those losses without him (Bohs & Shels away) we were winning both while he was on the pitch and proceeded to lose them after he went off. Quite a stark contrast.

Glen Of Aherlow
29/09/2025, 3:21 PM
I had a quick glance as it's an interesting question, and think this is more or less the record in the league this season with and without him (he's played the odd few minutes off the bench/gone off early in games which I counted as without him):

With:
9W, 6D, 1L

Without:
3W, 4D, 9L

In a couple of those losses without him (Bohs & Shels away) we were winning both while he was on the pitch and proceeded to lose them after he went off. Quite a stark contrast.

Thanks for that Jack , some difference ok and scary when you consider he's not getting any younger .

sbgawa
29/09/2025, 3:33 PM
Thanks for that Jack , some difference ok and scary when you consider he's not getting any younger .

Big admirer of his andmy comment on the not getting any younger bit would be that hes not getting any slower either, it wasnt like he ever had pace TBF.
Id say the same thing about Burkey at Rovers , he will play on for a good few years as he doesnt use pace to do his work

Glen Of Aherlow
29/09/2025, 3:37 PM
Big admirer of his andmy comment on the not getting any younger bit would be that hes not getting any slower either, it wasnt like he ever had pace TBF.
Id say the same thing about Burkey at Rovers , he will play on for a good few years as he doesnt use pace to do his work

Yeah true , but if you look at his appearance record , prior to this season he hardly ever missed a game and this season he's missed quite a few and you would imagine it's going to be that case that he will have to be rested a bit more from now on than he would have been previously

sbgawa
29/09/2025, 3:41 PM
Yeah true , but if you look at his appearance record , prior to this season he hardly ever missed a game and this season he's missed quite a few and you would imagine it's going to be that case that he will have to be rested a bit more from now on than he would have been previously

Kenny should protect him a bit more, You generally dont see Burke start in matchs that we "should win".

Glen Of Aherlow
29/09/2025, 3:51 PM
Don't think we have the options to replace him that Rovers have with Burke