View Full Version : Shoddy slates the eL again today in The Star
02/10/2005, 4:18 PM
Read his article at work today. He does the league no help at all. Paraphrasing him he said something like he doesn't blame Irish people for not watching the eL, everything is bad, all doom and gloom, under illusions if we think any progress has been made. His solution and in fact the one and only way he says to save the eL (why is the league always on the verge of collapse and needs to be saved? How many leagues in Europe actually die?) is to get the wealth of Celtic Tiger through the rich to be pumped into our game. He said if it doesn't happen in 3-4 years then it never will. Does he not realise clubs need to to organically grow or they'll be up the creek when their sugar daddy calls it a day? Plus this approach is hardly working for Drogheda anyway. His articles are getting really annoying. He's one of the few eL figures barstoolers and others know and he paints a very bad and unenticing picture for our league.
Completely agree. Roddy is certainly getting very tiresome. He slates others for not being realistic, and then what's his solution ? Bring millionaires in to pump money into clubs, yeah real feet on the ground stuff there Roddy, how come no-one ever thought of that before ?:rolleyes: . If he thinks the league is such rubbish what is he doing here at all ? Oh yeah, I forgot, he got the sack from his English 4th Division club and couldn't get a job anywhere else. I also wonder what Rovers fans make of his slagging off the 400 club for not having enough money to put into the club, ignoring the fact that there would be no Rovers and he would have no job without these people.
He only wants money pumped in so he can get a pay irse, don't be fooled by the Rodster's rantings
03/10/2005, 1:11 AM
Is the Roddy pleaing with the (rich) public to invest in Rovers ???
The guy is a fool and instead of kickin' the cráp out of what credablity he has left, he should be trying to restore it because its been in bad shape since he left Bohs ..... the fawking twit !! .... the sooner the league is rid of him, the better, how in gods name can anyone take the league seriously with that fool rambling on.
Can someone do the guy a favour and put a bullet in him ???
Gareth
03/10/2005, 7:42 AM
Its like watching a hungry dog eating his tail. He's got employment in the league, he is lucky to still have a job and thats all down to the 400 club and then he goes and badly publicises the league and mocks the people who pay him. I assume he's being paid now and not managing as a favour?
He should spend less time writing articles and more time getting Rovers sorted. Rovers would be best served in getting him out and a solid manager in. One that doesn't have an article every week in the papers.
Rovers would be best served in getting him out and a solid manager in. One that doesn't have an article every week in the papers.
Well that would rule out another serious contender for the job, wouldn't it? :p
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 8:42 AM
Roddy has been at this 'fans dont run clubs, businessmen do' mantra for a while now.
ignore it, we are.
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 8:45 AM
?
He should spend less time writing articles and more time getting Rovers sorted. Rovers would be best served in getting him out and a solid manager in.
can you find a spare €100k to sack him?
he knows we cant afford to sack him, so is acting the ******** accordingly.
Well that would rule out another serious contender for the job, wouldn't it? :p
Don't think the Rovers fans would accept Keely*, what other serious contender writes for a paper? :D
*No idea whether the Even Keel still runs, as no one in the office gets tabloids anymore... :)
How long has Shoddy left in his contract? I'm sure if Rovers could afford it he'd be out on his ear at the end of the season.
Is he bordering on bringing the league into disrepute?
anto eile
03/10/2005, 10:45 AM
roddy is a ****.
he has a year left.it would probably cost E90K to sack him now
03/10/2005, 11:06 AM
Roddy has been at this 'fans dont run clubs, businessmen do' mantra for a while now.
ignore it, we are.
I want to but my point is idiot or not he's as well known an eL personality as there can be with non-eL people and he is consistently telling them how crap the product is and to not go to see it in the national media.
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 11:20 AM
don't dismss roddy as an idiot. there is method in everything he does.
while i dont agree that he should be a gushing pa dolan type, he needs to be a bit more positive.
but there is a subplot to this, and its trying to get his buddies to buy rovers/bray/pats and give him a job for life.
the fact that he is now up against the most fiscally prudent board in the land after his mates failed to buy rovers annoys him no end, hence the serious nonsense of the past few weeks.
03/10/2005, 11:28 AM
don't dismss roddy as an idiot. there is method in everything he does.
while i dont agree that he should be a gushing pa dolan type, he needs to be a bit more positive.
but there is a subplot to this, and its trying to get his buddies to buy rovers/bray/pats and give him a job for life.
the fact that he is now up against the most fiscally prudent board in the land after his mates failed to buy rovers annoys him no end, hence the serious nonsense of the past few weeks.
That's all fine and good but I couldn't care less about his personal desires. Using the whole league to such ends makes him an idiot in my opinion.
trevy
03/10/2005, 11:41 AM
According to John Kenny on rte radio the other night he berated the tannoy annoucer at half time at Dalymount Park for giving out the latest score (2-0) of the Waterford v Bohs game:rolleyes:.
03/10/2005, 11:52 AM
According to John Kenny on rte radio the other night he berated the tannoy annoucer at half time at Dalymount Park for giving out the latest score (2-0) of the Waterford v Bohs game:rolleyes:.
And he abused the wrong guy (he later apologised) but the PA announcer got it wrong cos he called out the latest result DURING the game:rolleyes:
Roddy could have had everything going for him. After we beat the scum if he had managed to keep his gob shut he could have had a future but now he has gone completely off the mark. Lets face facts here. It is his first big managerial job and on the field has done well considering it has been an unbelievable season off the field.
But his remarks over the last few weeks have been not only unhelpful but plain wrong. ALL our players are paid on time every week and none are owed money. He said that we have not progressed in Europe. Has he had his eyes shut for the last 2 years when our top clubs have done well?
I dont think he's ever heard the impression: "Dont bite the hand that feeds you".
You talk Complete Nonsense about this being his first big Job !!!! What about Bohs and Carlise but a hell of a bigger clubs than you nowadays ! Your Living in the past my friend !
I'm shocked, it wasn't even a Bohs fan that fell for it... :D
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 12:56 PM
I'm shocked, it wasn't even a Bohs fan that fell for it... :D
christ... its easy pickings really
is it just me or has there been a surge of bog rovers posting on here recently?
must have gotten phone lines installed out there or something.
03/10/2005, 1:04 PM
You talk Complete Nonsense about this being his first big Job !!!! What about Bohs and Carlise but a hell of a bigger clubs than you nowadays ! Your Living in the past my friend !
What does your second sentence mean? Who are they? I live in the present and the fact still remains that the Shamrock Rovers job is the biggest in the country.
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 2:46 PM
NY Hoop, How on earth is Shams he biggest job in the country ? Carlise and Bohs are much bigger jobs that collins has had ! do you think that if Cork, Bohs etc etc lost their ground they still not have a new one your club is a joke over 20 years now since you boys had a home and you still think you are big ? :eek:
I think we have won more silverware than you and we have not exactly been setting the league alight ! it is time to wake up and smell the coffee you guys have been left behind by Shels, Pats and Bohs as well as other clubs like Cork and Derry. Can you honestly say that if Bohs would take Collins back in the Morning he would not go ?
I would say our avgereage crowd will probably be bigger than yours at the end of the season !
Not until you have your own ground with regular revenue coming in will you be a force in the league again !
where do you even begin with that horse****.
here:
I think we have won more silverware than you
you are an idiot.
****in yokels.
if we arent the biggest club in the country why does every thread end up about us?
03/10/2005, 2:51 PM
What does your second sentence mean? Who are they? I live in the present and the fact still remains that the Shamrock Rovers job is the biggest in the country.
I don't know if you're baiting or not but the Rovers job is not the biggest job anymore.
manic da hoop
03/10/2005, 2:52 PM
Oh what a surprise. Yet another foot.ie thread goes off-topic and heads in the direction of another "I hate they way Rovers fans think they're great" discussion. Just mention the word 'examinership' once and you can turn a debate about whether you think Cork or Derry are going to win the league into an arguement about those jammy Hoops who got let off the hook. To say it's getting a little boring and predictable at this stage would be a gross understatement:rolleyes:
ColinR
03/10/2005, 3:06 PM
Oh what a surprise. Yet another foot.ie thread goes off-topic and heads in the direction of another "I hate they way Rovers fans think they're great" discussion. Just mention the word 'examinership' once and you can turn a debate about whether you think Cork or Derry are going to win the league into an arguement about those jammy Hoops who got let off the hook. To say it's getting a little boring and predictable at this stage would be a gross understatement:rolleyes:
well it started going off topic by a rovers fan saying very sarcasticly (surely) that the rovers job was collin's biggest job to date.
so look in-house for the reasons that this one has gone off-topic
03/10/2005, 3:09 PM
well it started going off topic by a rovers fan saying very sarcasticly (surely) that the rovers job was collin's biggest job to date.
Nothing sarcastic about it. Thanks to Rogue Trader for the continous merriment:D
it is time to wake up and smell the coffee you guys have been left behind by Shels, Pats and Bohs as well as other clubs like Cork and Derry.!
The big pub and SPA??:D :D
FFS, Sligo Rovers are a much, much bigger club than those two poor little crayturs.....
manic da hoop
03/10/2005, 3:13 PM
NY Hoop posted something that was well within the context of the thread topic. The only problem is is that he happened to pass a remark that alot of people seemed to get a liitle bit tetchy about. The point I'm trying to make is that this seems to be happening all to often on this forum these days, most annoyingly of all at the expense of an interesting discussion about something different altogether. It used to be just Bohs fans that were obsessed with us and had difficulty coming to terms with their somewhat understandable inferiority complex, now its everywhere!
ColinR
03/10/2005, 3:16 PM
Nothing sarcastic about it.
ok not sarcastic. unfortunetly for anyone not biased by a club loyalty it seems a ridiculous statement considering his previous jobs at bohs and carlisle. in fact the only job smaller than his current one, was with dublin city, so that is not exactly saying much for the level of his current job ;)
ColinR
03/10/2005, 3:18 PM
NY Hoop posted something that was well within the context of the thread topic. The only problem is is that he happened to pass a remark that alot of people seemed to get a liitle bit tetchy about. The point I'm trying to make is that this seems to be happening all to often on this forum these days, most annoyingly of all at the expense of an interesting discussion about something different altogether. It used to be just Bohs fans that were obsessed with us and had difficulty coming to terms with their somewhat understandable inferiority complex, now its everywhere!
no i think its more to do with previously/historically 'big' clubs having this superiority thing about them. we've already had a bohs fan today talking about everyone's 'fetish' about them becuase people were talking about a goal they conceaded.
now we have rovers fans up in arms because people laugh at their notion that the rovers job is the biggest in the country. if its funny, then people will laugh.
03/10/2005, 3:22 PM
ok not sarcastic. unfortunetly for anyone not biased by a club loyalty it seems a ridiculous statement considering his previous jobs at bohs and carlisle. in fact the only job smaller than his current one, was with dublin city, so that is not exactly saying much for the level of his current job ;)
But that's just the thing. I'm saying that as an EL fan first. Any reasonable person (and this is the wrong forum for reason!) would acknowledge that the Rovers fan is the biggest job in domestic football. In the broader context of things his 4 previous jobs were with smaller clubs. No offense but that is a fact.
manic da hoop
03/10/2005, 3:31 PM
no i think its more to do with previously/historically 'big' clubs having this superiority thing about them.
Eh, if you're talking about Bohs, they were never a big club (big pub, perhaps)
now we have rovers fans up in arms because people laugh at their notion that the rovers job is the biggest in the country. if its funny, then people will laugh.
People don't seem to be laughing at it, though. They are getting a bit irritable about it, however. Maybe because, deep down, they know it to be true. If we all want to laugh at something then just take a look at the post that Bohdiddley just left on the thread about that Waterford goal :)
ColinR
03/10/2005, 3:33 PM
But that's just the thing. I'm saying that as an EL fan first. Any reasonable person (and this is the wrong forum for reason!) would acknowledge that the Rovers fan is the biggest job in domestic football. In the broader context of things his 4 previous jobs were with smaller clubs. No offense but that is a fact.
i know i shouldn't get drawn in, but what the hell. it is not fact, it is wrong. the biggest job in domestic football would be either cork or shels - why becasue they are the current biggest clubs. your history may be excellent, but unfortunately that means nothing.
you are hardly stupid enough to say that in england that the nottingham forest job is bigger than the chelsea job. but it appears you seem to be using such ridiculous logic here.
how are rovers the biggest:
support - no 900 at your game at the weekend (per attendance thread) certainly discounts that.
ground - well there is no point in even talking about this one
finances - again no point in even mentioning this
performance - barely mid table (if we add back the 8 points as they were won by the players on merit)
recent trophies - about as much as us (i.e. none)
sorry, but take away your irrational bias and you'd realise, your not a big job any more.
03/10/2005, 3:45 PM
i know i shouldn't get drawn in, but what the hell. it is not fact, it is wrong. the biggest job in domestic football would be either cork or shels - why becasue they are the current biggest clubs. your history may be excellent, but unfortunately that means nothing.
The above statement would preclude you from any conversation.
sorry, but take away your irrational bias and you'd realise, your not a big job any more.
Did I not just say as an EL fan first.........
BTW our finances are just fine right now. How are yours?
ColinR
03/10/2005, 3:53 PM
Did I not just say as an EL fan first.........
BTW our finances are just fine right now. How are yours?
no point in going way way further off topic by going into tax/creditors write offs etc. (no arguement with the other points i see ;) ) our money is neither here nor there - the drogs job is not (yet!) the biggest domestic job, and nobody is trying to claim it is.
you said as an eL fan first, but i imagine a single (non-rovers) eL fan in their right mind who would consider that rovers job as the biggest domestic job.
but it doesn't look like your going to change your mind, and neither am i, so i'll leave it here.
Marked Man
03/10/2005, 3:54 PM
Yeah, a cash-strapped, relegation-threatened team with no ground, no recent trophies, and few fans. You're so not living in the past there, NY Hoop. Been a while since you've been home, has it?
03/10/2005, 4:12 PM
Yeah, a cash-strapped, relegation-threatened team with no ground, no recent trophies, and few fans. You're so not living in the past there, NY Hoop. Been a while since you've been home, has it?
Am home:D
BTW we're in better shape than you lot. Not cash strapped (dont mind Roddy), will be staying up (not long ago you played Cobh), ground coming soon and of course more fans than you. That's all the present and all true.
ColinR: "Never argue with an idiot. They bring you down to their level then beat you with experience." That's why I'm not arguing with you on any points...
the most fiscally prudent board in the land
Now now, lets not get carried away after a few short weeks of living by the laws of the land. When you have paid your taxes up to date and turned a trading profit for 4 years in a row maybe you can be considered for that title. Meanwhile, it surely still belongs to the fiscally prudent club who took 7 points off you lot this season!! :D
Marked Man
03/10/2005, 4:23 PM
So let's see, the logic of the Rovers fans' argument seems to run like this: if I say p, and p irritates people, that means p must be true. Hhhmmmnnn.... Watertight, alright.
ColinR
03/10/2005, 4:25 PM
So let's see, the logic of the Rovers fans' argument seems to run like this: if I say p, and p irritates people, that means p must be true. Hhhmmmnnn.... Watertight, alright.
but at least they are not idiots :rolleyes:
(that was sarcastic btw)
Vitruvian Man
03/10/2005, 4:35 PM
Rovers Job = Biggest in the EL :D :D :D :D :D
Quality wind-up lads. You got a few people going.
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 6:36 PM
well it appears to be the best paid....
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 7:00 PM
What Horse******
are you thinking of moving back to the RDS while your New GAA Ground is being built ??????
No i think Colin R Is pretty spot on with what he said earlier Long gone are the glory days You have lost a whole generation of fans as well to other Dublin Clubs ! You have no base and what i hear about Tallaght is not great either :rolleyes:
yeah yeah. but we are still here with bigger support than 3 of the other dublin clubs in the prem.
and getting a lecture on the gaa from a bogger. priceless
sligo have more silverware than rovers?!? magnificant :D
well it appears to be the best paid....
Doubt that very much
monkey magic
03/10/2005, 8:23 PM
ColinR: "Never argue with an idiot. They bring you down to their level then beat you with experience." That's why I'm not arguing with you on any points...
oy! thats my line!!!!
ill have you know i hold a sort of non existent, not legally binding copywright on that lline and i intend to keep it:cool:
christ man if your gonna plagerize somethin, at least get your material from outside the feckin forums, thats just lazy:D
this thread is so far off topic its almost funny, how so many people got sucked into this wind up again baffles me :rolleyes:
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 8:39 PM
Doubt that very much
95,000 per annum apparently :mad:
beat that!
Roverstillidie
03/10/2005, 8:43 PM
Dont twist my point you Council House living Rat !!!!
Since you moved out of Milltown We have won more Silverware than Shams Which was the point i was making and as i said before we have hardly been setting the league alight so i think you saying that the Shams job is the biggest in the country is just plain stupid ! Anyway you better get used to boggers pal because you will see a lot of them in your new GAA Stadium !!!! :D :D :D
whatever. winning the 1st division is silverware? try staying up. did the bog rovers win many leagues since 1987? win any leagues?
where did this gaa nonsense start?
the herald 4 years ago?
very old and very much not a runner even then.
there is plenty of fresh material, try some of that
04/10/2005, 1:02 PM
Any reasonable person (and this is the wrong forum for reason!) would acknowledge that the Rovers fan is the biggest job in domestic football.
It certainly isn't an easy job, I'll give you that! :D
Vitruvian Man
04/10/2005, 1:13 PM
95,000 per annum apparently :mad:
beat that!
Ouch, that has gotta hurt.
But I think I can go one better... Gareth Farrelly
He's on way less than Roddy as a manager but his players salary tops him up to way more.
You think your lot were stupid - anything you can do, we can do even stupiderer, stupidest, stupidous...you know.
It still cheers me up to know Glen Crowe, while not a manger, is on way more again. 15 grand a goal is great value these days. :D
Roverstillidie
04/10/2005, 2:04 PM
Ouch, that has gotta hurt.
But I think I can go one better... Gareth Farrelly
He's on way less than Roddy as a manager but his players salary tops him up to way more.
You think your lot were stupid - anything you can do, we can do even stupiderer, stupidest, stupidous...you know.
It still cheers me up to know Glen Crowe, while not a manger, is on way more again. 15 grand a goal is great value these days. :D
much as it pains my fingers to type it, i agree with you!