Treaty v Cobh
UCD v Finn HArps

Saturday 12th

Longford v Kerry (19:30)

Friendly

Shamrock Rovers v Glenavon (20:00)

sbgawa
11/07/2025, 11:42 AM
Almost forgot there were games tonight with all the excitement of Shels and Pats winning in Europe.

Can Galway take something off Bohs or can Cork drag Waterfrod into the mix at the bottom (not really imo even if they win)
Bray v Dundalk is a big match for both clubs and what a great evening to spend in bray with a few pints and sunshine.

Rovers have a friendly against Glenavon due to Drogheda arranging for us to have a mid season break.

11/07/2025, 5:15 PM
Bohs are heavy favourites for tonight, but I'm just not so sure. I mean, they couldn't even score against Pats last week. A draw would do nicely for us.
I'll probably watch Waterford-Cork tonight though. A win for Waterford, and and they'll only be two points behind Pat's, with a game in hand. An unlikely Cork win would set up tomorrow nicely....

...which is ourselves away to Sligo. Woeful, woeful record there previously, though we did win this season. A real test for us. Sligo at 4/1, or 7/2 for a draw. There's value to be had.

Cracking weather, on a Saturday, and our closest away, but still not sure if I'll go or not as it's such an unpleasant place to watch a game.

11/07/2025, 6:55 PM
Keeper Bradley Wade dropped for Waterford. Very harsh. He conceded seven last week, but wasn't to blame.

11/07/2025, 7:48 PM
Keeper Bradley Wade dropped for Waterford. Very harsh. He conceded seven last week, but wasn't to blame.

Tbf, McMullan has been impressive this season but had started to make a few bad errors, especially in Tallaght. I think it was a good move to bring him back in after last week, nothing Wade could do but it's probably woken the young lad back up, he's after making an unreal double save there first half tonight

11/07/2025, 7:49 PM
Cork's defence is so bad that schoolboy would be a long description. They look ok going forward but they've haven't a prayer of staying up with that defence. Odomussu very lucky not to be sent off too..

Shinkicker
11/07/2025, 7:53 PM
First half Bohs by far the better team, most possession, probably the better chances , but again not converting them. Galway are the long ball specialists and also if they keep it in the air Bohs can't play and it's working. If Bohs get one I think they will go on and win comfortably. The longer it goes on the more hope Galway have.

Shinkicker
11/07/2025, 8:59 PM
I hope you all enjoyed the James Clarke show. The guy was amazing, as were the rest of the team. Kavanagh gave away silly fouls when there was no reason to. Other than that a very well controlled performance.

MoydowMonty
11/07/2025, 9:00 PM
Farewell to Cork. And Dundalk have a mountain of homework to do over yhe winter cuz they'll be in exactly the same spot this time next year

ger121
11/07/2025, 9:54 PM
Cork and Dundalk could be rotating for the next couple of seasons at least.

RealJohn91
11/07/2025, 9:55 PM
I hope you all enjoyed the James Clarke show. The guy was amazing, as were the rest of the team. Kavanagh gave away silly fouls when there was no reason to. Other than that a very well controlled performance.
Less said about Kavanagh the better. Clarke and Devoy were class.

11/07/2025, 9:55 PM
Farewell to Cork. And Dundalk (or Cobh and Bray) have a mountain of money tofind over the winter cuz they'll be in exactly the same spot this time next year

A wee bit of editing above. Blessed tonight with the way the result with Cobh went and keeping that bit of space bt Bray are firmly back in the picture. I dont think its the doom merchant in me that thinks that Dundalk could run out of steam and may not even be in a playoff come seasons end. Its just a very young and small squad. I dont think we have played that well bar maybe Cobh at home a few weeks ago and we need to find that level regularly in what is a very weak division based on quality. Its hard to nail quality week on week regardless of potential ability when a general standard means you can tick along. We're not half way through July so people saying promotions is done were at best complacent. Obviously Id rather be 20 odd points clear but it could be no harm in the longer run this season to be reeled in and in second going in to the run in and the Dundalk support really do get our collective asses in gear too.

That was a pretty important win for Bohs, keeping a nose in the race against an awkward opposition away. Champions elect will keep Sligo looking over their shoulder tomorrow.

ger121
11/07/2025, 9:56 PM
Derry game for us next weekend is huge. Equally for Derry too.

11/07/2025, 10:21 PM
Just concentrate on beating Rovers!

11/07/2025, 10:21 PM
Cork and Dundalk could be rotating for the next couple of seasons at least.
LoI turning into the Premiership? We'll have parachute payments next

Solid win for us against Harps tonight - only our second home win of the season. But we're on a good run now - 17 points from the last 24. Strangely without the Wexford walkover we'd still be outside the playoffs.

Still can't see us going up though; far too goal shy. But the second third of the season has been much more fun than the first

11/07/2025, 10:37 PM

Solid win for us against Harps tonight - only our second home win of the season. But we're on a good run now - 17 points from the last 24. Strangely without the Wexford walkover we'd still be outside the playoffs.

Still can't see us going up though; far too goal shy. But the second third of the season has been much more fun than the first

Yoyo club is a solid business model, wedge of money to keep you going for a year or so and ahead of the rest! Newcastle were great at it....

It would wreck my head, Id take a Galway model and even JC on the sideline!

Another Bohemia
11/07/2025, 11:05 PM
Solid win for Bohs there tonight. Losing Cornwall before half time was a blow but I did see him walking across the pitch at half time so hopefully nothing too serious there. James Clarke will get the majority of the plaudits and to a degree rightly so but each week I am more and more impressed with Dawson Devoy. He was everywhere tonight. Winning tackles, chasing back, intercepting setting up goals. The only thing missing was a goal for himself. He's improved so much as a player this last year and matured quite a bit as well. I know Bucko is technically club captain but I don't think Devoy should be relinquishing the armband when Bucko comes on.

On Galway they looked a bit lost out there. They were never going to have loads of possession that's not the style of football they play but they lacked a bit of intensity tonight that they usually have. Maybe it was the conditions draining them? I was wrecked watching from the stand! But they look like they need a bit of a kick up the backside or their season will be over in the next couple of weeks.

Anyway roll on Donnycarny/ Killester in the cup

2 Year Contract
11/07/2025, 11:26 PM
Solid win for Bohs there tonight. Losing Cornwall before half time was a blow but I did see him walking across the pitch at half time so hopefully nothing too serious there. James Clarke will get the majority of the plaudits and to a degree rightly so but each week I am more and more impressed with Dawson Devoy. He was everywhere tonight. Winning tackles, chasing back, intercepting setting up goals. The only thing missing was a goal for himself. He's improved so much as a player this last year and matured quite a bit as well. I know Bucko is technically club captain but I don't think Devoy should be relinquishing the armband when Bucko comes on.

On Galway they looked a bit lost out there. They were never going to have loads of possession that's not the style of football they play but they lacked a bit of intensity tonight that they usually have. Maybe it was the conditions draining them? I was wrecked watching from the stand! But they look like they need a bit of a kick up the backside or their season will be over in the next couple of weeks.

Anyway roll on Donnycarny/ Killester in the cup

Didn’t see the game but looking at the first goal in particular, it was the most un-Galway goal to concede. Normally their lads are after every ball like a rash, I couldn’t believe they allowed James-Taylor to take a touch, turn 180 degrees, take another touch and then get a free shot at goal away. Not to take away from the goal from his point of view, great forward play, but Galway rarely give players that much time in dangerous areas like that

trevy
12/07/2025, 6:06 AM
Big win for Waterford last night after last week's heavy defeat in Derry. It moves us up a place and 10 points ahead of the relegation play off place ahead of Sligo Rovers game tonight. Cork started well but gave away a bad goal losing the ball passing out from the back. Glenfield took it well and then Lonergan made it 2 with a good header.
Cork look doomed and a few of their fans came on to field to have a go at their players at the end and one of the Cork backroom team was pushing one angry fan back.

Another Bohemia
12/07/2025, 7:52 AM
Didn’t see the game but looking at the first goal in particular, it was the most un-Galway goal to concede. Normally their lads are after every ball like a rash, I couldn’t believe they allowed James-Taylor to take a touch, turn 180 degrees, take another touch and then get a free shot at goal away. Not to take away from the goal from his point of view, great forward play, but Galway rarely give players that much time in dangerous areas like that

Yeah it's a frustrating goal to concede. Doesn't take away from the finish though. The goal itself out a bit of an end to the game as well. Galway just aren't set up at the moment to chase a team with a lead and they couldn't even score in a goalmouth scramble after Bohs went down to 10 because of injury. Certainly a team lacking confidence as well.

Kiki Balboa
12/07/2025, 8:42 AM
Another night, Dundalk could have won 5 or 6 nil. So many great chances missed. Were able to cut Bray apart a fair few times, just didnt hit the back of the net.

Their penalty was probably outside the box too. But Billy O'Neil is some talent.

Bray have 7 penalties this year. Wondering what is the record in a season ?

Kinda feel it was a fluke result. Very fustrating.

12/07/2025, 9:56 AM
Harps were dreadful last night. Felt like we were turning a corner recently but that was a result we didn't need, and now leaves us ten points off the playoff places. Huge uphill battle now to try and get anywhere near that.

12/07/2025, 10:38 AM
Another night, Dundalk could have won 5 or 6 nil. So many great chances missed. Were able to cut Bray apart a fair few times, just didnt hit the back of the net.

Their penalty was probably outside the box too. But Billy O'Neil is some talent.

Kinda feel it was a fluke result. Very fustrating.

They've had more than that, Murphy has scored 7 but I defo remember him missing at least 1.

12/07/2025, 12:54 PM

Short memories. Dundalk had 11 in 2018.

12/07/2025, 1:07 PM
I think we faced 30 one year. Though that included winning the Super Cup on penalties, being knocked out of the FAI Cup on penalties, and winning the relegation play-off on penalties.

12/07/2025, 4:02 PM
Short memories. Dundalk had 11 in 2018.

I doubt Bray have the ear of referees or involved in mindgames like Seanie/Kenny/Caulfield on penalty stats. When we had wingers like Duffy and Connolly steaming in to the box at pace the penalty count would have been up. Throw in intricate ballers like McEleney, Benson McGrath that will get kicked. Then excellet game management well 11 penos seems a bit scant. Nobody could do it like Seanie though, a one man penalty machine and league championship charge.

oriel
12/07/2025, 4:27 PM

Not you Stu of all people, its the Premier League, changed from that name about 15 years ago !!!!

oriel
12/07/2025, 4:30 PM

Kinda feel it was a fluke result. Very frustrating.

Maybe so, yes we had great chances, but all missed and one absolute sitter too, you don't score you obv don't win a game, and our strikers last night esp Ebbe, that was just a brutal effort by him, he has to be scoring more, not like he doesn't know the damn FD !

Amazed Kildfuff took Kenny off and left him on.

12/07/2025, 8:37 PM
Derry firmly on track, eye on the prize!

sbgawa
12/07/2025, 8:44 PM
Suddenly our point in sligo doesnt look so bad.
Based on Sligos form they have a shout of getting out of playoff place.

Derry v Bohs next week .......a draw is best i suppose

ger121
12/07/2025, 8:47 PM
Derry 2025, still have shades of Derry 2024.

Fancy Sligo to finish outside the PO spot now. Russell has done wonders with Sligo Rovers. Wasn’t he the favourite for the chop at the start of the 2024 season.

Bohtastic
12/07/2025, 8:48 PM
Jaysus, that second goal is a horror show from Maher. Last three games for Sligo has been Draw v Bohs, Draw v Shamrock R and Win V Derry. Haven't lost to the top 3. Are they going to do a John Russell special and finish comfortably in the top half?

ger121
12/07/2025, 8:49 PM
Suddenly our point in sligo doesnt look so bad.
Based on Sligos form they have a shout of getting out of playoff place.

Derry v Bohs next week .......a draw is best i suppose

If it is and you don’t lose to Derry, then they might as well hand you the title.

Bohtastic
12/07/2025, 8:52 PM
Jaysus, that second goal is a horror show from Maher. Last three games for Sligo has been Draw v Bohs, Draw v Shamrock R and Win V Derry. Haven't lost to the top 3. Are they going to do a John Russell special and finish comfortably in the top half?

Looking at the table, maybe overtaking Galway, waterford and pats may be too big an ask to get top half, but they could go on a good run, so who knows?

MoydowMonty
12/07/2025, 10:04 PM

Speaking of defensive horror shows, Longford's 3 goals tonight were all absolutely shocking defending from Kerry. And it really should have been more. They've gotten very leaky the last few weeks. Brilliant win for De Town tonight. Puts us up to 7th and even though I don't think there'll be a play off push, I'd be happy to finish 6th or 7th considering how things are

Shearer
12/07/2025, 10:10 PM
Speaking of defensive horror shows, Longford's 3 goals tonight were all absolutely shocking defending from Kerry. And it really should have been more. They've gotten very leaky the last few weeks. Brilliant win for De Town tonight. Puts us up to 7th and even though I don't think there'll be a play off push, I'd be happy to finish 6th or 7th considering how things are
Would have been 6 if Anthony Elding was Longford manager.

I wish Tommy Barrett got half as much slack as Kerry get, and he didn't have an ex PSG goalkeeper and a striker on loan from Salford.

12/07/2025, 10:42 PM
Couldn't believe how poor Kerry were this evening. They've regressed massively in recent weeks after an initial Healy bounce. Cleary looked good but my God, that keeper and defence. Ouch.