View Full Version : Sligo Rovers 1-1 Dublin City

01/10/2005, 9:19 PM
Thought it was a very poor game overall. We were desperate in the first half but improved in the second. Neil Doyle's attempt to ruin the game by giving Dublin all the decisions late in the game didn't work. He was terrible again, should have had two penalties-An obvious pass back by a Dublin player and O'Donnell been brought down in the area:mad: . Faz played his worst game of the season, didn't really do much at all and should have been substituted in my opinion:( . Anyway, provided we improve on that performance, the league is OURS!:)

01/10/2005, 9:34 PM
Sligo Rovers maintained their five-point lead at the top of the eircom League First Division with a 1-1 draw at home to second placed Dublin City.
Rovers fell behind in the 31st minute when Liam Burns handled in the box and David Freeman converted from the spot.

The home side struck for a deserved equaliser in the first minute of the second half when Steve Feeney side-footed home from eight yards.

Both sides pressed for a winner but failed to find the breakthrough as Rovers remain in control going into the final weeks of the season.

deecay
01/10/2005, 9:49 PM
poor game. The main thing is we havnt lost any points to the Dubs. And their is 3 less points to play for. i thought the shwgrounds was like a morue in the first half. No atmosphere at all.

01/10/2005, 10:47 PM
What did ye all think of Gerry "the bull" Carr:confused: :D

02/10/2005, 8:41 AM
Gerry did ok i suppose.Once again Rossiter was terrible but was I really expecting an better...not really.O'Donnell did very well when he came on.He ran at the defenders and won a few free kicks aswell.Should take Rossiters place now.The Stewards did very well to controll the crowds of dublin supporters.....

deecay
02/10/2005, 12:04 PM
their a credit to the eircom league

redrov2005
02/10/2005, 12:33 PM
A fair enough result. Thought we didn't create enough. Stevie O'Donnell is worth a run because he's prepared to take players on. Also thought Tim McCann did well.

red arrow
02/10/2005, 12:42 PM
i missed the game last night because of flu but had to endure match commentary by ocean fm. they are terrible the commentator had a guy called gerry farry along side him, between the two of them they were vwry boreing. i hate to be critical but the tone of there voices never changed you would think that everything was being read from a script and for the first time. one minute the commentator was talking about the game not what was happening on the field of play and the next minute it was a penalty for dublin city. he never commented about the lead up to why the peno was given. however i still got the message apparently rovers were terrible in the 1 st half and improved greatly in the second. the official attendance was given as 2300 would this have being correct. i know they were giving out a lt off free passes in the scools earlier during the week if they attended the game with a fee paying parent. anybody have other estimates off attendance. a point was a good result at the finish and if we can get all three in dundalk it would be great. incidently it will be interesting to see how we perform on their new pitch. any comments

02/10/2005, 12:57 PM
i agree with most comments we were useless in the first half happy enough with the draw , paul brown missed two good chances in the second half good to see sean flanery back and id say that attendance is about right the new stand was full and a good enough crowd in jinks avenue stand.

Mayo Red
02/10/2005, 6:43 PM
I'd say the attendance figure of 2,300 is about right, you could see a bigger crowd than usual gathering when I was making my way to the ground at about 7.00. A draw was probably a fair result, but the ref had a very poor game, as he had also in the away fixture in Dublin. He and his linesman totally missed that ***** Trevor Vaughan's swing at Gerry Carr as they were lining up for the ball right before he bundled Carr over and they both got booked!

We didn't play particularly well, but we held our own and kept our lead up with games running out for both Dublin City and Cobh. On that note, Cobh are now level with Dublin and seem to be making a bit of a burst lately, we would do well to keep an eye on them especially as we still have to play them.
Good to see Stephen O'Donnell back aswell after his enforced absence!!

roversforever
02/10/2005, 8:46 PM
that was the skiniest referee i've ever seen and when he was warming up o donnell looked more like a deep sea diver than a footballer with the clothes he was wearing!!!

02/10/2005, 10:19 PM
that was the skiniest referee i've ever seen and when he was warming up o donnell looked more like a deep sea diver than a footballer with the clothes he was wearing!!!How interesting, any thoughts on the actual match?:rolleyes: :D

showgies
03/10/2005, 8:18 AM
We started decently for about 10 minutes but retreated after that. I don't think it was a case of Dublin taing over, more a case of us allowing them to come at us. I was very disappointed with the 1st half. We did look like a team who was happy with the draw.

The 2nd half was a better effort. The very early goal helped. We had 2 decent chances - Brown and Rossiter. Rossiter had a chance to chip the keeper but managed to almost hil the corner flag.

The introduction of O'Donnell was a breath of fresh air. He ran at the Dubs on a few occasions. He did more in 5 minutes than what Rossiter did in 60+. He deserved a place now.

Cretaro got MOTM but I thought McCann had one of his best games for us...................which probably isn't saying too much, but I had feared about havin him and Carr in the same defence, but to his credit he did OK.

03/10/2005, 12:22 PM
Mc Camm is good,just needs to settle in a bit more.Rossiter is sh!t,O'Donnell must take his place now.

03/10/2005, 12:23 PM
we did alright..we did enough...faz was woeful...i was chanting for gorman to come on:D

still 5 ahead with 21 possible to play for and a game in hand...im happy

dundalk thursday...they get bigger and bigger

red_away
03/10/2005, 1:50 PM
I thought McNamara's calming leadersip was missed as sometimes carr and burns and the O'hara were not sure who was taking ownership and I thought o'hara was rushing to get the ball up field very quickly even though it would be McT by himself and losing the high ball competition to keely. Raf was very good (excellent in the air against bigger oppposition) but Faz was poor and the game went by Rossiter he was vpoor!

But nobody was as bad as the ref ( that back pass was unbelievable) and the linesman who wanted desparately to be involved in the game.

Still no one made any inroads to our lead so its not so bad!

Obviously a quiet chat took place in the dressing room at half time and a bit more urgency after the resumption.

03/10/2005, 4:28 PM
i was at yer game sat night! i was right beside the dublin city supporters and at times they were a lot louder than the home support! massive crowd at the game puts us to shame at the moment with our home support! what struck me was the amount of home jerseys seen at the game!:D

rovers were poor in the 1st half but rovers were unlucky not to win overall! thought cretaro and o donnell were class for ye!

sort out yer support - only for the noise from the shed end 1st half and parto f the second half there would have not being any atosphere.

mind you being a longford town fan i am one to talk!:(

best wishes and see ye in the top division!

03/10/2005, 4:44 PM
I thought you said you wrent going to it.
When you said about the jerseys...were you praising or condeming it?

1 9 2 8
03/10/2005, 5:33 PM
I thought you said you wrent going to it.
When you said about the jerseys...were you praising or condeming it?
I'd say praising it the smiley face and all that

03/10/2005, 11:15 PM
after seeing da "penalty" decisions on da tv i'm convinced of neil doyle's corruption

03/10/2005, 11:16 PM
after seeing da "penalty" decisions on da tv i'm convinced of neil doyle's corruptionI see they didn't show the Dubs passback which should have given us an obvious penalty:mad:

03/10/2005, 11:24 PM
I see they didn't show the Dubs passback which should have given us an obvious penalty:mad:

no penalties for a passback anyway. i cud forgive da passback but sum of da decisions by linesmen for throws, corners&offsides were mystifying

04/10/2005, 12:21 AM
DUBLIN CITY dominated for long periods at the Showgrounds on Saturday evening but had to settle for a share of the spoils in the top of the table first division clash against Sligo Rovers.

City produced one of their better performances of the season and at times threatened to over run the home side but Steve Feeney cancelled out Dave Freeman's first half penalty just seconds into the second period and that how the sides finished.

It was a travesty on a gritty Vikings display which showed the 1700 watching fans that City have the edge in terms of quality when these two sides meet.

City dominated in the opening 45 minutes and rarely gave Sean Connor's side a moment to breathe as they harried and closed down the Bit O'Red with a relentless quest.

Ben Whelehan came close with a header off a Robbie Collins free-kick in the 23rd minute but Dermot Keely's side got their noses in front in the 31st minute when Dave Freeman slotted home from the penalty spot after a handball infringement.

City looked the more likely side as a dazed Sligo hung on for dear life as the blue shirts swarmed forward looking for a second goal but it was the home side who was to deliver a sucker punch when Steve Feeney struck just seconds into the second half.

But City rolled up their sleeves and looked the better side for the remainder of the game with Dave McGill having a goalbound shot blocked by O'Hara; Robbie Collins hit the woodwork after 64 minutes and Ray Scully blazed over when well positioned and really should have done better.

Sligo rarely threatened but James Gallagher had to be a t his best to deny Paul Brown in the 79th minute.

04/10/2005, 8:13 AM
Sure only about 5 people ever visited their website so it doesnt really matter what they write.

04/10/2005, 6:05 PM
DUBLIN CITY dominated for long periods

Im afraid i wasnt at THAT GAME,i was at The Showgrounds!:p

04/10/2005, 6:09 PM
Ah in fairness,they dominated the away dugout for the whole game...thats what they mean.

Mayo Red
04/10/2005, 7:14 PM
The handball looked harsh on TV, but as the man says, we've seen them given! I agree with Red4Eva, the linesmen were as bad as the referee, especially the guy on the Jinks Avenue side in the second half. As regards the Dublin City website, I'm afraid I wasn't at that game either!!:rolleyes: