Bray v Wexford
Treaty v Longford
Finn Harps v UCD
Dundalk v Kerry
Athlone v Cobh

sbgawa
20/05/2025, 10:59 AM
Lovely symetrical week , all Friday all 19:45

Massive chance for Rovers to go well clear by following up wins agaisnt Drogs and Pats by winning in Derry...never easy up their and with Derry in form it could be a great match.
Shels really need a win , no chance of Duffer being under pressure but 1 win in 8 is not great form.
Drogs v Bohs is an interesting match up and hard to call.
Kerrys recent good form will be tested with a trip to Oriel.

When Rovers whole squad is fit (rare admitedly) it looks ominous , seeing McAneff, Mandroiu, Clark and Watts coming on as subs after 60 odd minutes at 3 nil last night, all of whom would be starters in any other team is what we need when we hit Europe.
That being said it could be two matches and out so no chickens being counted

ccity
20/05/2025, 4:42 PM
Great chance for Pats, Shels and Galway to steady the ship and stay in the title race.
Nothing against Shamrock Rovers, but probably better for the league race as a contest if they don't win in Derry.

In the first division, I'd expect the top 4 (really top 3 + Treaty) to win. The Harps/UCD game could go either way.

TVFBLOCKF
20/05/2025, 5:20 PM
Great chance for Pats, Shels and Galway to steady the ship and stay in the title race.
Nothing against Shamrock Rovers, but probably better for the league race as a contest if they don't win in Derry.

In the first division, I'd expect the top 4 (really top 3 + Treaty) to win. The Harps/UCD game could go either way.

We are well out of the title race now! We desperately need a win against Cork but I wouldn't be confident given our current form.

nr637
21/05/2025, 11:13 AM
We are well out of the title race now! We desperately need a win against Cork but I wouldn't be confident given our current form.

What chance of the 'new manager bounce' result for the Galway v Cork fixture! :)

21/05/2025, 9:49 PM
More likely to get a Galway long ball bounce decide the game the ways Corks luck has been. Galways do need to win this game, as do Cork of course but it would be one of the greatest escapes if they get out of the PO position even at this stage.

Starting to feel more like a proper league season for Dundalk now, like the phoney war is over. No point in beating Cobh away if you dont back it up with a solid win at home to Kerry - banana skin where there is pressure to show proper resilience, confidence and consistency. I might even be able to get to the game! (Which if we subsequently lose I may take a voluntary sabattical from games as I will feel like I jinxed something).

Jack B
23/05/2025, 9:21 AM
Pat's with all of Forrester, Lennon, Palmer and Leavy out for tonight is not the most encouraging of things, has to be said. Not the first time I've said it this season but a win however it comes has to be the only hope from this one.

2 Year Contract
23/05/2025, 9:34 AM
Pat's with all of Forrester, Lennon, Palmer and Leavy out for tonight is not the most encouraging of things, has to be said. Not the first time I've said it this season but a win however it comes has to be the only hope from this one.

Desperate news on Palmer. Was nearly back from his hamstring injury which he had surgery on a few months ago and has now had a setback and will possibly require another surgery on it and will miss a few more months now including Europe

Dermobohs
23/05/2025, 9:55 AM
So much for”we’ve got cover in every position” we heard at seasons start.
Couple of key injuries and the backup ain’t up to it?

2 Year Contract
23/05/2025, 10:29 AM

The point is clearly that the cover is injured also

CorribsideSteve
23/05/2025, 10:48 AM
There's never been a better time to face Galway. We're haplessly bad at the moment. The only race we're in is the race to stay up.

Jack B
23/05/2025, 11:45 AM

Not sure what you mean. I don't think anybody claimed that if the whole of the first-choice midfield were to be missing that they could be replaced with totally equal quality.

Glen Of Aherlow
23/05/2025, 5:55 PM

Forrester back , he’s a miracle man

Shinkicker
23/05/2025, 8:46 PM
Bohs were very good in the first half Dogs were below average. Second half Bohs lost their intensity and a soft penalty gave Drogs the win. In most games the ref wouldn't have given the pen. But if you don't score you won't win.

23/05/2025, 8:58 PM
Rovers building up that key point lead prior to Europe. Still Derrys league to lose!

Lot of late goals being scored, differences in fitness or just a spat of them over a few weeks?

SwanVsDalton
23/05/2025, 9:00 PM
Sickener to lose that one tonight, deserved better. But that's why Rovers are Rovers and we ain't.

Buckett
23/05/2025, 9:02 PM
Terrible crowd on a wet and windy night in Terryland, 1,742. Poor enough game but a very important three points.
I thought Cork were the better team for large parts of the game, they were awarded a soft penalty but their chance at the very end of the first half could have resulted in a penalty too.
McCarthy, Moses and Essua played well as did McCormack and Walsh when they came on, but as a team, we just gave the ball away far too much.
A win is a win though, we move on to Tallaght next week.

Jack B
23/05/2025, 9:10 PM
Pats deserved to lose but Mason Melia didn't.

2 Year Contract
23/05/2025, 9:19 PM
Forrester back , he’s a miracle man
Some good "Osam is doubtful"ing by Pats in the build up to this game. Although it was clear Forrester was rushed back out of necessity, he was limping around towards the end of the first half before coming off injured 10 mins into the second half. The international break coming up will be a much needed rest and recovery period for him whether he plays next week or not.

On the game, Pats didn’t deserve to win any game of football with defending like that tonight, absolutely all over the place. First goal in particular was a calamity of errors. Melia though, what a bloody player

23/05/2025, 9:22 PM
Harps absolutely ridden raw by a horrible refereeing decision to award a penalty in the 96th minute. Tackle two yards outside the box and the ref gives it from just outside the centre circle..

23/05/2025, 9:30 PM
Treaty comfortable against a truly woeful Longford tonight.

I don't think I've ever seen a team improved as much by subsitutions as much as Longford were for the final 30 minutes or so.

Another hattrick makes it 11 in 16 for Lee Devitt.

Keen2win
23/05/2025, 9:39 PM
Treaty United 5 - 1 Longford Town Social Media Club

Fans are calling for change

Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/05/2025, 9:59 PM
Really good gave in Tolka tonight. Awful defending by us got their 3 goals and goal of the season contender from Elding.

https://x.com/leagueofireland/status/1926007429348688341?s=46&t=X_wthh81hc_IALu9TUBX1A

ger121
23/05/2025, 10:00 PM
I’d give anything for a draw at this stage.

Rovers looking ominous.

ger121
23/05/2025, 10:01 PM

Can’t believe I had this down as 1-1 in my predictions.

oriel
23/05/2025, 10:37 PM
One of the worst ever displays by a Dundalk side in a long time in the first half tonight v Kerry, they could and prob should have gone in 2-0 up, yet we managed to go 1 up just before half time. I think Healy will do a really good job there in time.

A new record tonight, saw both goals live in the upstairs bar in oriel park on LOI TV, christ there is nothing appealing about the FD, in no rush to head back to your seats, lets hope its a one off season visit.

23/05/2025, 10:43 PM
Some good "Osam is doubtful"ing by Pats in the build up to this game. Although it was clear Forrester was rushed back out of necessity, he was limping around towards the end of the first half before coming off injured 10 mins into the second half. The international break coming up will be a much needed rest and recovery period for him whether he plays next week or not.

On the game, Pats didn’t deserve to win any game of football with defending like that tonight, absolutely all over the place. First goal in particular was a calamity of errors. Melia though, what a bloody player

Yeah, looked for a while like Mason had single handedly pulled it out of the fire with two superbly taken goals. Overall though we were pretty poor again. Waterford looked stronger all around the pitch and a draw was probably the least they deserved. You could just sense their equaliser was coming.

23/05/2025, 10:49 PM

Didn't bite to your previous idiotic post about club volunteers but I'm going to now. You do realise the clubs social media department has saved the club tens of thousands of euro since 2020 thanks to the club being able to produce it's own LOI TV stream. Not one person involved is taking a penny out, not even expenses. In fact, it costs most of us on the team around 60-80 quid per home game in travel and food expenses. I've even on several occasions turned down well paid broadcast work elsewhere as I'd already committed to LTFC. The last two seasons have absolutely stunk. There's plenty of times I've been driving up and down from the north thinking Jesus I wish I could just go out for a few pints like a normal person or bring the missus out for dinner or just chill after a long week of work instead of driving to what I know will be another certain defeat in front of a tiny crowd but instead I'm putting outrageous milage on my car and body just to help out the club. There is absolutely no reward or privilege other than I enjoy doing it and helping the club save money. There isn't a single volunteer at the club who is pleased with the position we are in. You're going around and posting Eldings name under ever thread and across every platform you can, that's your own business, you're entitled to an opinion but to come on here and say people volunteering at the club are happy with the situation and are doing well out of it is complete and utter nonsense.

Keen2win
23/05/2025, 10:58 PM
I just think the social media team should stick to the cameras and microphones! Leave the football to people who are involved in the game! Hopefully Elding gets his opportunity to turn the club around 🙏

placid casual
23/05/2025, 11:06 PM
Felt the best team won in the brandywell tonight, thought derry huffed and puffed but didn't strike me as a side full of confidence, determined to win. Rovers were happy to play themselves into the game and take advantage when it would eventually arrive.
Michael Noonan really is a star in the making and I thought matthews and cleary were solid-ish all night,,Burkey is just a wonderful exponent of the football game.
1 more game before the break and the onset of European football - what's not to like :)

23/05/2025, 11:09 PM
I just think the social media team should stick to the cameras and microphones! Leave the football to people who are involved in the game! Hopefully Elding gets his opportunity to turn the club around 🙏

Sorry, I forgot to mention that we pick the team, appoint the manager and sign the players.

23/05/2025, 11:15 PM
Thankfully didn't make it to Limerick, went to Oriel but my goodness that was a poor Dundalk performance, in fairness to Killer and the players they said as much themselves after.

Kerry should have been in front only for Minogue and a Daryl Horgan goal line clearance.

A minute after Horgan bailed them out Gaxha scores one of the most ridiculous goals I've ever seen, outrageous strike and he definitely meant it too. Horgan with a worldie of his own to wrap it up, Kerry dropped off second half but they'll definitely improve under Healy.

Would find it difficult to see Dundalk staying up next season unless theres big investment. Also, that pitch was an abomination tonight.

Keen2win
23/05/2025, 11:17 PM
Well you as a supposed neutral is talking smack about Elding who made history for our club. You said winning the first national league title for ltfc (the worst academy by results at the time) is nothing. And you said our opinions are equal, which I found a bit offensive as I have a LOI medal in my back pocket too.. that's football, it's a results business. You are involved in broadcast media and journalism, it's actually a completely different industry. You are also an entrepreneur which I respect immensely, however when it comes to football Eldings success cannot be questioned nor can the way his successful ltfc team played - trying to play him down constantly when nothing was ever directed at you was strange. I want LTFC to win, and Elding is the man to do that and as a journalist you shouldn't be writing false hit pieces and as a minimum he is allowed a right to respond. The man is brilliant and the fans would love him, there just seems to be some reason the media team in particular is against him!

23/05/2025, 11:44 PM
Popcorn is on the side.....

oriel
23/05/2025, 11:58 PM
Thankfully didn't make it to Limerick, went to Oriel but my goodness that was a poor Dundalk performance, in fairness to Killer and the players they said as much themselves after.

Kerry should have been in front only for Minogue and a Daryl Horgan goal line clearance.

A minute after Horgan bailed them out Gaxha scores one of the most ridiculous goals I've ever seen, outrageous strike and he definitely meant it too. Horgan with a worldie of his own to wrap it up, Kerry dropped off second half but they'll definitely improve under Healy.

Would find it difficult to see Dundalk staying up next season unless theres big investment. Also, that pitch was an abomination tonight.

100% agree on both, if Dundalk go up, only chance of staying up is if over half the current squad leave and replaced by solid PD exp players, that will take a lot of $$$, as for the pitch, its beyond dreadful, there is a sports capital grant of 500k or so confirmed, only problem is, the club have to pay for new pitch or at least significant deposit themselves first, that will be tricky.

trevy
24/05/2025, 6:35 AM
Great game between Pats and Waterford last night. We totally dominated the first 30 minutes but only had 1 goal to show for it. Melia then gets 2 goals in a few minutes, the 2nd after a bad mistake from Olayinka left him clear on goal. Pats were better in 2nd half but we came back into it, got on top and Conan Noonan got a deserved equaliser for our first draw of the season.

CorribsideSteve
24/05/2025, 7:27 AM
Longford only have three fans, and two of them are fighting. Come on lads. (J/K)
Good win for us last night, and we're in no position to slag fans with half the ground staying away last night, but an important win. So much sloppy passing and a whole lot of huff and puff from us, but last night was definitely about winning ugly. Awful game of football though, from both sides, on a difficult wet and windy evening. It was never ever a penalty for Cork's goal. The ball was fired at Esua's hand from what I could see, but you see them given in England with VAR too, but it was incredibly soft IMO. Cork looked decent going forward especially though Mbeng, but you can see why they're struggling at the bottom too.

24/05/2025, 8:11 AM
It was never ever a penalty for Cork's goal. The ball was fired at Esua's hand from what I could see.
I don't think that matters - if the defender has his arms in an unnatural position (eg wide out) then it's handball all the same. You can't place your arms in a position likely to block the ball and then claim accidental handball when you do block it.

Not fully convinced it was a penalty for all that, but the rule is more than just "ball to hand rather than hand to ball"

Don't think it was a penalty for us last night either but tbh it was certainly a free (and a red card) and given we'd already scored a free and missed a rake of penalties lately, maybe Harps should have been happier taking their chances with a peno

lofty9
24/05/2025, 8:27 AM
Felt the best team won in the brandywell tonight, thought derry huffed and puffed but didn't strike me as a side full of confidence, determined to win. Rovers were happy to play themselves into the game and take advantage when it would eventually arrive.
Michael Noonan really is a star in the making and I thought matthews and cleary were solid-ish all night,,Burkey is just a wonderful exponent of the football game.
1 more game before the break and the onset of European football - what's not to like :)

A draw would've been a fair result, but that's football. Rovers definitely played themselves into the game, controlled possession in the 2nd half Derry lack the ability to get the ball down and rely on the counter. The early Winchester booking didn't help us, but we need a fit Dummigan or Diallo in there to sit behind CW and O'Reilly to dictate the pace of the game. If Rovers do win the league, it will be some achievement with hardly having any break or preseason. Realistically they need to bank the points now like Shels did last year, it will be hard slog down the line unless they exit Europe early

2 Year Contract
24/05/2025, 9:32 AM
Absolute screamer from Owen Elding for Sligo last night, rocket of a strike. He's very lucky to have learned everything he knows from his father Anthony Elding, the best manager this country has ever seen as proved by his LOI U17 title win, which crucially came from his experience as a league 2/non league journeyman ;)

placid casual
24/05/2025, 10:16 AM
A draw would've been a fair result, but that's football. Rovers definitely played themselves into the game, controlled possession in the 2nd half Derry lack the ability to get the ball down and rely on the counter. The early Winchester booking didn't help us, but we need a fit Dummigan or Diallo in there to sit behind CW and O'Reilly to dictate the pace of the game. If Rovers do win the league, it will be some achievement with hardly having any break or preseason. Realistically they need to bank the points now like Shels did last year, it will be hard slog down the line unless they exit Europe early

We'll agree to disagree on the fairness or otherwise of the result,but the other points made are valid- ref killed the game a bit with early bookings (O'Sullivan taken off after 30 mins for that reason). On your point about Derrys ability to get the ball down, surely some of that is based on the playing surface no?
Duffy was unusually quiet last night, but Matthews for Rovers had his best game so far ,so maybe that's why Duffy was quiet.
Boyce looks frankly out of place in this lean, mean, young LOI strikers era and Maher looks unconvincing in goal.
Derry should get Europe easily enough this season,but is that enough for the chairman's financial outlay ?
In regards to Rovers in Europe,I've always got the impression that the going-away-together-in-europe effect was galvanising for the Rovers squad and that there was a certain rhythm they became used to in regards Thursday-Sunday-Thursday etc.
Pats don't have the cajones for a league tilt,and shel's are a bit beholden to their narcissistic manager and his schemes,so if Derry can keep calm and composed they can have a good season.

Keen2win
24/05/2025, 10:46 AM
Yep that pats fan is correct 👌

24/05/2025, 10:58 AM
Pats don't have the cajones for a league tilt,.

I’d love to argue with you on this one, but at the moment it looks very much like you are right. Very soft centre to the team. We have some lovely footballers, but need a lot more grit in the team. Never a fan of Sean Hoare, and I think he has no business being first choice in a team with title aspirations. Always has an error or two in him. Tom Grivosti back in please. (And yeah, I know he had a howler himself up in Derry, but I’d still prefer him.) Not helped by missing Lennon last night, and you’d wonder how fit Chris Forrestor was. Romal Palmer back could make a difference too.

My only hope is that we were equally as bad up to the summer last year, and had a great finish to the season, so maybe we can turn things around.

Onapointoforder
24/05/2025, 2:57 PM
The social media team isn’t the problem at Longford Town, that’s for sure…

24/05/2025, 6:51 PM
The social media team isn’t the problem at Longford Town, that’s for sure…

The powers that b running the club is the problem at Longford Town imo. I would give anything to have the days when the board respected the fans and vice versa but now its all about toxicity and a battle of egos. Thats a result of Trumpism. If that continues our crowds will further decrease. Club board have noone to blame but themselves!

Buckett
24/05/2025, 7:31 PM
Blaming Trump for being bottom of the first division is not something I thought I would read this season

oriel
24/05/2025, 8:59 PM
Really thought last night going in and out of the ground, the FD relegation really hit, its simply non attractive, so hard to get the floating fan involved / buzzed up. Lowest league crowd - 1,586 (covid seasons obv exempted) for probably 12 years (2013 was pre SK joining) last night and it showed, place was dead.

Modest away (50 or so away) and fair play to each and everyone of them btw), but its on the decline, 2,750 opening night v Athlone, quick check and can see it was 2.3k v Treaty, 1.9k v Bray, its a really hard sell the FD, posted last night and probably not great but there was just nothing to drag us back to the game after HT, so myself and mates stayed chatting to almost 9.10pm in the upstairs bar and casually watching on LOITV.

I don't recall the likes of this lack of interest last stint in the FD, maybe it was on the back of quite modest previous success v SK era, but christ this is a hard slog, then again it was on the back of a deserved relegation, so no one to blame but ourselves.

CorribsideSteve
24/05/2025, 9:06 PM
I don't think that matters - if the defender has his arms in an unnatural position (eg wide out) then it's handball all the same. You can't place your arms in a position likely to block the ball and then claim accidental handball when you do block it.

Not fully convinced it was a penalty for all that, but the rule is more than just "ball to hand rather than hand to ball"

Don't think it was a penalty for us last night either but tbh it was certainly a free (and a red card) and given we'd already scored a free and missed a rake of penalties lately, maybe Harps should have been happier taking their chances with a peno

Having looked back at the highlights, it's an even worse call. Esua's hand is sinched tightly behind his body. It hits him on the ribs, with his arm behind his back. He literally couldn't have done more to show that he was trying not to handle the ball. The gross negligent incompetence of our referees continues to hit new lows season after season.

Keen2win
24/05/2025, 10:31 PM
It catches up on a club when nobody involved has achieved anything in the game Marty. But yet everyone is an expert. Back in the day it was fine, but today to compete you need football people throughout a club! League table speaks for itself. Hopefully Elding gets his chance to turn it around. A man can dream but I'm afraid LTFC is doomed to keep dropping down and down until there is a major reset and some football people start getting involved !

TownManForever
24/05/2025, 11:32 PM
Elding doesn’t even have a pro licence does he? And if he doesn’t, is he on the course? He can’t even be considered if he isn’t - it’s against the licensing regs as far as I’m aware..