View Full Version : Weekend games 16th to 19th May

sbgawa
15/05/2025, 11:30 AM
Premier Division (All 19:45 unless stated)

Friday 16th

Bohemians v Shelbourne
Galway v Sligo
St Pats v Cork
Waterford v Shamrock Rovers
Drogheda v Derry

Monday 19th

Shelbourne v Drogheda
Shamrock Rovers v St Pats (20:00)

First Division (19:45 unless stated)

Friday 16th

Treaty v UCD
Kerry v Wexford
Cobh v Dundalk
Bray v Athlone

Saturday 17th

Longford v Finn Harps (19:30)

sbgawa
15/05/2025, 11:34 AM
Real chance for someone to steal a march that has two games this weekend hopefully Rovers
Big game for Derry at Drogs as well as with the 4 European teams having two matches they could slip behind
None of the 4 double week teams have a handy fixture on the friday with the theoretical exceptio of Pats v Cork and that plays into the team selections youd think...any news on Git?
Big game in Div 1 as well a cobh win would throw the division open but i still reckon Dundalk have to much for this division...theyd want to wake up and push on though........bit like us

2 Year Contract
15/05/2025, 11:38 AM
Real chance for someone to steal a march that has two games this weekend hopefully Rovers
Big game for Derry at Drogs as well as with the 4 European teams having two matches they could slip behind
None of the 4 double week teams have a handy fixture on the friday with the theoretical exceptio of Pats v Cork and that plays into the team selections youd think...any news on Git?
Big game in Div 1 as well a cobh win would throw the division open but i still reckon Dundalk have to much for this division...theyd want to wake up and push on though........bit like us

He's out injured until after the mid season break now

sbgawa
15/05/2025, 11:42 AM
Good news for us but im a huge admirer of him, heard him being interviewed a couple of times (in depth stuff not post match) think one was on LOI central and he came accross unbelievably well, such a sound lad, ive never been able to wish bad luck on him since.

No problem wishing it on Pats though :)

CorribsideSteve
15/05/2025, 10:30 PM
Galway Sligo has 0-0 written all over it. A dull nil nil draw in brilliant Galway sunshine is as GLITW as it gets.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/05/2025, 8:24 AM
Galway Sligo has 0-0 written all over it. A dull nil nil draw in brilliant Galway sunshine is as GLITW as it gets.

Be surprised if we manage to keep a clean sheet

placid casual
16/05/2025, 8:33 AM
A league that's hard to predict scores/results at the moment.
Rovers,Shels & Pats should win, draw in galway and think derry could beat drogs but drogs are tough at home.

WoodquayBoy
16/05/2025, 9:26 AM
Be surprised if we manage to keep a clean sheet

And I’d be surprised if we kept one as well!! We have lost 3 league games in a row for the first time in 6 years, really need to be getting a result tonight

wonder88
16/05/2025, 5:33 PM
With the 4 clubs in Europe this year having extra games this week, it could alter/distort the table and take away one of its main selling point away i.e. how close the table is, like 4 pts between top and eight place at present 1/3 into the season. This is not good, favoritism should not be encouraged, squads are big enough now to cope with extra games for these teams. Also if getting rid of a great competition like the league cup was done to "support of teams in Europe", I see no reason why this competition is not re-instated. There was a great occasion up in the North for their league cup final this year. We may wish "our teams in Europe" well, but for 16 clubs in the loI they are not our teams.

placid casual
16/05/2025, 7:07 PM
With the 4 clubs in Europe this year having extra games this week, it could alter/distort the table and take away one of its main selling point away i.e. how close the table is, like 4 pts between top and eight place at present 1/3 into the season. This is not good, favoritism should not be encouraged, squads are big enough now to cope with extra games for these teams. Also if getting rid of a great competition like the league cup was done to "support of teams in Europe", I see no reason why this competition is not re-instated. There was a great occasion up in the North for their league cup final this year. We may wish "our teams in Europe" well, but for 16 clubs in the loI they are not our teams.
Answers on a postcard what this diatribe actually means.....

legendz
16/05/2025, 7:36 PM
Kerry should be 4-0 up at half time. A harshly disallowed goal, a great chance missed and a missed penalty before finally taking the lead. One of the better halves if not the best by Kerry all season.
Wexford will be looking to respond in the second half understandably and probably change their approach.

Another Bohemia
16/05/2025, 7:38 PM
Answers on a postcard what this diatribe actually means.....

Do you need a whole post card to say "old man yells at clouds" or will a post it note suffice?

16/05/2025, 8:17 PM
Its all got nervy in Cobh, shocker!

16/05/2025, 8:37 PM
2nd yellow/red for Shels, well Coote hopped and grabbed the foot like he'd been stomped on when there was minimal contact so on a scale of irritating player behaviour he feigned injury therefore dived and yellow warranted. Was it otherwise harsh cause there may have been some contact? No actually he was being an ass. Elsewhere well its definitely definitely Derry's season. Bottom 2 winning tonight maybe, league is still a bit all over the place. St Pat are the new Derry when Derry are same old Derry. Im afraid to check 1st Division scores!! For those at games, well Summer football arrives, evening sunburn and beers, i'll apprecite it properly when I can.

*St Pats may not be the ne Derry, sickener for Cork not to get a point. Cant see those above 8th dropping enough points so Cork v Cobh playoff.

legendz
16/05/2025, 8:38 PM
Kerry missed too many guilt edged chances. Should have been 5-0 up but drew 1-1.

Jd2793
16/05/2025, 9:03 PM
city find new ways to lose every week. speechless there but always felt like it was coming once kenny brought on some wingers. we are in some mess. on pats - not too sure what they were at for 70 odd minutes. way too slow in build up , very easy to defend against. no matter how many times i watch him i just see absolutely nothing in mulraney. find it mental he played for a few seasons in MLS!

CorribsideSteve
16/05/2025, 9:18 PM
The wheels have fallen off. Very poor. Hickey HAD to score that chance that rolled against the post, we didn't make many more clear cut chances besides that. Lots of sloppy passes. Sligo did their bit with lads going down left right and centre and the keeper taking a whole minute with every kickout. The referee was especially appalling though. Dyer and Hickey had Sligo players literally hanging off them all evening and hardly a free was given for the whole match. It wasn't the ref that lost it for us though. We're out of sorts in a big way.

16/05/2025, 9:43 PM
The wheels have fallen off. Very poor. Hickey HAD to score that chance that rolled against the post, we didn't make many more clear cut chances besides that. Lots of sloppy passes. Sligo did their bit with lads going down left right and centre and the keeper taking a whole minute with every kickout. The referee was especially appalling though. Dyer and Hickey had Sligo players literally hanging off them all evening and hardly a free was given for the whole match. It wasn't the ref that lost it for us though. We're out of sorts in a big way.

So basicly Sligo out Galwayed Galway.

16/05/2025, 9:46 PM
city find new ways to lose every week. speechless there but always felt like it was coming once kenny brought on some wingers. we are in some mess. on pats - not too sure what they were at for 70 odd minutes. way too slow in build up , very easy to defend against. no matter how many times i watch him i just see absolutely nothing in mulraney. find it mental he played for a few seasons in MLS!

Ye got mugged tonight. Not sure how we managed to dig a win out, but it was a great feeling. Totally agree, our build up was far too ponderous for most of the game. Once Cork got the peno I honestly didn’t see a way back for us. The relief at the end was immense. Simon Power was very good when he came on I thought, and has probably played himself into a starting place. We really miss Chris Forrestor. No control in midfield without him. Cian Leavy going off injured didn’t help either, just when he was starting to get into the game. Not optimistic about Monday in Tallaght.

On Mulraney, he showed last season that he is capable, but this year he is back to his pre-Kenny form. Having said that I thought he started ok this evening, before tailing off.

CorribsideSteve
16/05/2025, 9:55 PM
So basicly Sligo out Galwayed Galway.
They literally did. To their credit they could and probably should have scored 2 or 3.

2 Year Contract
16/05/2025, 9:55 PM
On Mulraney, he showed last season that he is capable, but this year he is back to his pre-Kenny form. Having said that I thought he started ok this evening, before tailing off.

Agreed, thought he had a good first half tonight although he should’ve scored his 1 on 1, but it was still encouraging to see him actually get into that position. He got past corks young left full a load of times and put some decent balls into the box too. Second half he, like the rest of the team just didn’t show up until there was about 5 mins to go in the game, which is becoming a bit of a trend this season with them being a first half only team. Incredible feeling to win a game that way but I’ll happily take a smoother 2-0 win in future! Should’ve killed the game off with some of the first half chances but Cork to their credit were excellent second half and will be scratching their heads at losing the game after going ahead late enough into the game

2 Year Contract
16/05/2025, 10:00 PM
no matter how many times i watch him i just see absolutely nothing in mulraney. find it mental he played for a few seasons in MLS!
I can understand why you have erased Cork’s last season in the premier division but here's some clips to jog your memory ;)

https://youtu.be/DyWzFd3kuyg?si=VrZsxphRXDvEpvB_

https://youtu.be/FZR8wBIx2A0?si=IS0rm1eCL9yOK-pl

https://youtu.be/-xGbVbnGLbE?si=GABjqykNv4ObgxgT

placid casual
16/05/2025, 10:12 PM
Good win for Rovers in Waterford, unfortunately soured by reports that our young bright hopeful Victor Ozhianvuna was subject to racist abuse from a Waterford fan while warming up. Hopefully the perpetrator is identified and steps are taken.
If Rovers can win on Monday it puts us in a position to go into the break top of the league and looking forward to Europe.

Dermobohs
16/05/2025, 10:26 PM
Horrible to hear about thankfully rare racist abuse at a game.
The fact he’s a kid as well makes it even more horrible for me, I do hope the gob****e in question is subjected to a “get him out” from waterford

trevy
17/05/2025, 6:32 AM
Good performance from Waterford again but a bad mistake from our keeper cost us. McMullen has been good for us so far this season but he'll have nightmares about that goal. Then Bakboord loses possession and we are caught for a 3rd goal in injury time. Padraig Amond scored his second brilliant header of the season. We haven't drawn a game so far in the league this season which is mad after 16 games.

2 Year Contract
17/05/2025, 9:16 AM
Just hearing that Barry Baggley is suspended for the game in Tallaght on Monday. Redmond and Leavy off injured last night too which doesn’t help things with Palmer and Forrester already out injured too. Jamie Lennon is the only out and out midfielder available in the squad so I’d imagine the only option there is to shoehorn McClelland into midfield beside him because Brandon Kavanagh isn’t good enough physically or defensively to play anywhere but in the 10 or out wide. I’d snap your hand off for a draw now if offered it

Jack B
17/05/2025, 9:34 AM
Thought Pats were absolutely abject last night, the draw would have been flattering never mind the win. We're nearly halfway through the season and have barely put in a performance yet, mad stuff.

ger121
17/05/2025, 9:57 AM
Thought Pats were absolutely abject last night, the draw would have been flattering never mind the win. We're nearly halfway through the season and have barely put in a performance yet, mad stuff.

You’ll probably win on Monday so.

Another Bohemia
17/05/2025, 10:01 AM
Great result for Bohs last night. Shame it wasn't a convincing win. We certainly had the opportunities to have a 2/3 goal lead by the time Cootenwas was sent off but credit to Conor Kearns he took off some very good saves and to Gannon for clearing Tierney's effort off the line. Overall a well deserved 3 points.

On the sendings off. I could see why they might be considered harsh but in both cases the players gave the ref a decision to make and in this league that's a huge risk. If a player isn't aware that refs are hit and miss in the league well then that's a huge problem because the dog in the street knows it.

Lastly the "in our hedge" jokes about Duff last night will never fail to make me smile. I had heard he dinned a similar outfit for the Bohs V Rovers game in the Aviva so he wouldn't be spotted. Very odd altogether but highly amusing none the less

placid casual
17/05/2025, 10:12 AM
You’ll probably win on Monday so.
Yeah probably:)
I'm pleasantly surprised that Rovers have ascended to the summit before the break, I pessimistically presumed we'd be chasing at least 2 other clubs and would struggle to overtake them.
derry have got their act together with a manager who knows how to win a league and they've spent money on instant success so this game on Monday and next Friday in the brandywell will be a marker for Rovers season I feel.
With Europe rolling around again It can affect clubs abilities to go every 3 or 4 days but Rovers under Bradley have the nous to know what's required, I'm fascinated to see how drogs get on- Are they playing their euro games in tallaght does anyone know?

17/05/2025, 10:27 AM
Just hearing that Barry Baggley is suspended for the game in Tallaght on Monday. Redmond and Leavy off injured last night too which doesn’t help things with Palmer and Forrester already out injured too. Jamie Lennon is the only out and out midfielder available in the squad so I’d imagine the only option there is to shoehorn McClelland into midfield beside him because Brandon Kavanagh isn’t good enough physically or defensively to play anywhere but in the 10 or out wide. I’d snap your hand off for a draw now if offered it

I think I would have started McClelland in centre mid anyway. Lennon, McClelland and Kavanaghis the way to go. Stephen Kennys thinking seems to be that it’s either Cian Leavy or Brandon Kavanagh at no 10, and it’s hard to disagree with that. Leavy is a great carrier of the ball, while Kavanagh can see a through pass, and offers more goals, so they both have different qualities.

For Monday, far more worrying is if Joe Redmond is out. Don’t fancy facing Rovers without him. Would absolutely be happy with a point.

17/05/2025, 11:03 AM
Derry very fortunate to grab a point with a massive deflected goal in the 88th minute. They were TERRIBLE for 80 mins, subs woke them up a bit. Drogheda be sick, should have killed the game a couple of times at 1-0. Poor game overall very frantic and scrappy. Three yellows in first 15 mins. Adam O'Reilly with a fairly poor tackle on Owen Lambe, one of those borderline orange card situations.

17/05/2025, 12:02 PM
Irrespective of the ability of teams, I dont really recall games in United Park of realy quality. Frantic, battles of attrition, set pieces key, inriguing and entertaining in their own way but just real quality games, i genuinely struggle to think of any. Small pitch is at the core of this imo but the best of sides struggle to break down average opposition and phases of play tend to be disjointed and a single spoiler in midfield can be the main influence on a game. Not a Dundalk observation as there ha been plent of opportunity over the years to see games as a neutral when in different divisions. On a different scale when great defensive Arsenal side moved from Highbury to Wembley they werent so invincable at 'home'.

The Bowler
17/05/2025, 1:00 PM
Don't know what is going on at UCD these days, but an abject thumping at Treaty. If it wasn't for the the points from Wexford for playing an ineligible player, we'd be propping up the 1st Division table. No fans means no hard questions for the manager, who clearly isn't up to it. The rest of the football hierarchy at the college are unsackable, nice safe jobs, no accountability to performance. It's a different set up to other clubs, that's fine, but it means it's carry on regardless with nobody giving a rats.

RealJohn91
17/05/2025, 1:16 PM
Dawson Devoy was very good last night. He's always been extremely talented but is starting to run games now too. On his day I think he's one of the best players in the league.

sulywaterfordfc
17/05/2025, 3:20 PM
Good performance from Waterford again but a bad mistake from our keeper cost us. McMullen has been good for us so far this season but he'll have nightmares about that goal. Then Bakboord loses possession and we are caught for a 3rd goal in injury time. Padraig Amond scored his second brilliant header of the season. We haven't drawn a game so far in the league this season which is mad after 16 games.

That Bakboord just doesn’t seem up to standards. He can have the game of his life and he’d still find a way to make a mistake leading to the opposition scoring. Our number priority going into the window should be to replace him.

Dermobohs
17/05/2025, 3:35 PM
Jaysus, harsh stuff. You’ve been on a hell of a good run sully in fairness.very solid v bohs and although I felt we deserved a point the blues were well up for it. Rovers would have multiples of your budget too.

brendy_ire
17/05/2025, 7:34 PM
Derry very fortunate to grab a point with a massive deflected goal in the 88th minute. They were TERRIBLE for 80 mins, subs woke them up a bit. Drogheda be sick, should have killed the game a couple of times at 1-0. Poor game overall very frantic and scrappy.

Pretty much sums it up. Maybe we started playing well for the last 20 minutes, but splitting hairs really. We were desperate for the majority of the match, very frustrating.
On the other hand, that was probably a match we'd have lost in recent years.
The subs had a huge difference, Paul McMullan is increasingly become a nuisance for defences. Nice to see.

As Nesta mentioned there, I don't think anyone goes to Drogheda in expectation of a good game of football. Granted, Drogs have more about them going forward than before. They're capable of playing nice stuff, but they're still not good to watch. And the playacting.....worse that Damian MacGraith bought a lot of it. They're not as bad as Pat's, but they are bad at it.

I don't usually go to games in Drogheda any more, and Friday night reminded me of why. The view is brutal obviously, but silly things just make it more unpleasant. Had a bottle cap taken off me going in, but you can buy bottle with caps on in the shop. Then the surface in and around the stadium has gotten worse again. It wouldn't even cost that much to fix. Worst of all was seeing wheelchair users struggle to get across it, particularly just outside the turnstiles. It's bang out of order really.

oriel
17/05/2025, 8:00 PM

Watched highlights, Kenny seems to be a lucky general, if you had not won that, would have been some pressure. Felt so sorry for Cork C after their recent troubles, but to be fair Pats kept going and going, very fortunate deflection for 2-2, but have to say what a strike for 3-2, Cork C will be gutted. That's football.

oriel
17/05/2025, 8:07 PM
Pretty much sums it up. Maybe we started playing well for the last 20 minutes, but splitting hairs really. We were desperate for the majority of the match, very frustrating.
The subs had a huge difference, Paul McMullan is increasingly become a nuisance for defences. Nice to see.

As Nesta mentioned there, I don't think anyone goes to Drogheda in expectation of a good game of football. Granted, Drogs have more about them going forward than before. They're capable of playing nice stuff, but they're still not good to watch. And the playacting.....worse that Damian MacGraith bought a lot of it. They're not as bad as Pat's, but they are bad at it.

I don't usually go to games in Drogheda any more, and Friday night reminded me of why. The view is brutal obviously, but silly things just make it more unpleasant. Had a bottle cap taken off me going in, but you can buy bottle with caps on in the shop. Then the surface in and around the stadium has gotten worse again. It wouldn't even cost that much to fix. Worst of all was seeing wheelchair users struggle to get across it, particularly just outside the turnstiles. It's bang out of order really.

Before anyone jumps on, I`m quite aware and not happy about what Dundalk have to offer away fans, but Drogs for away fans is actually quite dangerous, especially in Feb/March and from Sept-Oct, that away terrace and the height of the steps, amazed not more injuries there esp with big away following. Poor view too for 1/3 pitch, but OP is exact same, terrible view same for away fans that area.

Louth is on its own, only GAA county that can't host big games (Louth playing at 'home' v Monaghan in Newbridge tomorrow) then you have Utd Park and Oriel. It won't happen anytime soon, but if Dundalk got back to Europe, wonder would there be an option to use the new Louth GAA stadium in Dundalk, (ready by 2027 I hear), for a one off game, I`m sure 50k to rent would come in handy.

17/05/2025, 9:56 PM

I love going to games in Drogheda, atmosphere is always brilliant and great people around the club but walking into the jacks last night and seeing dozens of flys in it because it's that bogging is not a pleasant experience. I know they're limited in what they can do but at some point as a League we'll need to start enforcing some sort of standards

thebronze14
17/05/2025, 10:46 PM
Brutal match in longford tonight. Two poor teams. Dixie Ferry with one of the misses of the season was about the only noteworthy thing that happened

joey B
17/05/2025, 11:06 PM
Dixie Ferry with one of the misses of the season was about the only noteworthy thing that happened

Story of Dixie’s career so far unfortunately….

18/05/2025, 7:55 AM
Brutal match in longford tonight. Two poor teams. Dixie Ferry with one of the misses of the season was about the only noteworthy thing that happened

Probably the two weakest teams in the division especially when it comes to creating actual genuine chances

18/05/2025, 8:37 AM
Two very young teams. No great surprise they're both struggling.

clirseach
18/05/2025, 4:52 PM
Probably the two weakest teams in the division especially when it comes to creating actual genuine chances

It doesn't get called hoofball as it isn't usually in the sky but for a couple of months Harps have just banged the ball forward as quickly as possible over and over again. Very easy to read.

18/05/2025, 5:17 PM
Considering the amount of players Harps were missing, and nine of the starting eleven being under 21 years old, a point is a decent return on the road.

thebronze14
18/05/2025, 9:18 PM
It doesn't get called hoofball as it isn't usually in the sky but for a couple of months Harps have just banged the ball forward as quickly as possible over and over again. Very easy to read.
We had been playing some nice football up until a few weeks ago. Delighted with the clean sheet as it was a very makeshift backline. We should be creating a lot more though. We started creating last 15 minutes tbf. Shaunie Bradley was excellent when he came on too

sbgawa
19/05/2025, 11:41 AM
Big game tonight for Rovers. I expect to win and start to look like a league winning side

ThirdManRun
19/05/2025, 12:01 PM
Two very young teams. No great surprise they're both struggling.

Not really a fair reflection as most teams are littered with young players. Bray and Dundalk both flying with a number of 17, 18 and 19 years playing most weeks.

The first division is the home of young players now, with only the really exceptional players getting a change in Premier Division these days.