View Full Version : Games 4th - 6th April

Pages : 1 [2] 3

JC_GUFC
04/04/2025, 3:50 PM
Wexford's statement is virtually identical to Kerry's, so either we've both simultaneously screwed up, or the FAI have made a hames of registration:

https://wexfordfc.ie/club-statement-points-deduction/

Probably both things can be true.

I think the FAI have to apply the points deductions here but hopefully there will be some sort of arbitration where the clubs do get the points back. The onus is on the clubs but they also all appear to have legitimate cases in thinking the players were registered, however if the FAI allow them away with this they're surely opening themselves up to challenges from other clubs at the end of the season who miss out on playoffs because the deductions weren't implemented. You can be 100% sure the FAI didn't want this sh**show to be going on.

dansultheman
04/04/2025, 4:49 PM
Probably both things can be true.

I think the FAI have to apply the points deductions here but hopefully there will be some sort of arbitration where the clubs do get the points back. The onus is on the clubs but they also all appear to have legitimate cases in thinking the players were registered, however if the FAI allow them away with this they're surely opening themselves up to challenges from other clubs at the end of the season who miss out on playoffs because the deductions weren't implemented. You can be 100% sure the FAI didn't want this sh**show to be going on.

As a Kerry FC supporter and relatively new to the LOI, how can you have a system that has flaws governed by an incompetent governing body, blaming everyone but themselves for making an absolute balls of it all.

Based on Wexfords statements and Finn Harps, seems they tried to keep all clubs quiet, gave them no voice hoping that would be the end of it.

For play to all 3. Finn Harps gained the most, +2 goals back and 1 euro fine!!!! Yet they still are appealing tells you all you need to know.

legendz
04/04/2025, 6:57 PM
Lee Devitt penalty saved by Hiemer.

Kiki Balboa
04/04/2025, 7:32 PM
The UCD pitch is an embarrassment to the league.

04/04/2025, 7:49 PM
It's actually improved slightly since Monday, believe it or not

ger121
04/04/2025, 8:35 PM
It's actually improved slightly since Monday, believe it or not

Looks a bit better alright, but the amount of sand on it makes it look like a game of beach football.

CorribsideSteve
04/04/2025, 8:46 PM
Very frustrating defeat. A bad goalkeeping error has cost us the game. Gaffney getting one of the easiest goals of his entire career. A very bright first half that we could have gone in front before the break, followed by a fairly blunt second half showing filled with sloppy passing. Credit to Rovers though, they know how to see out games very well. Eventually one day we'll actually manage to get the better of Rovers, and there must be dozens of times where we've lost by a single goal to them. Lovely to see Terryland sold out once again.

Shinkicker
04/04/2025, 8:51 PM
I suppose one question I'd ask is are the team really that good?
Dawson Devoy and Ross Tierney are being rated on their previous spell at Bohs - maybe they'll never get to those levels again. Colm Whelan of course could be one of the best strikers in the league but he's gone an awful long time without playing regularly.

I know someone mentioned about the chopping and changing at the back - that definitely won't help for sure - and as was pointed out the right back, think it was Liam Smith, was poor for our first goal. Initially he actually wasn't too far our of position - but for some reason he ran away from our player and gave him the ball in acres of space and then was too slow to cut out the cross.

It didn't strike me at all last week that the players weren't playing for the manager, which is really when you need a change, so maybe it's just that Bohs are standing still while every other team is improving.
Re Devoy and Tierney. I think you stand corrected tonight my friend

Jd2793
04/04/2025, 8:57 PM
keating injured along with maguire. we are on our way back down.

04/04/2025, 9:01 PM
Ye'll be doing well to catch Sligo in fairness. Only consolation for them is Drogheda were this bad first half of last season and recovered spectacularly the second half

Shinkicker
04/04/2025, 9:04 PM
Bohs fully deserved their win but made it difficult for themselves and against a better team could have come undone. Not that Sligo were particularly bad, at times they played good football and were missing a few starters but Bohs let them in too easily. We'll take the win and move on but we still need to improve.

04/04/2025, 9:24 PM
Plenty to take from that round of results. Shaping up to be a close race with 6th onl 4pts off. Important win grinded out in Galway. Nobody should be surprised at droping points in United Park, they need to pick up consistantly on the road too for title tilt but they firstly now have put themselves well out of relegations way. So far Sligo are alike Dundalk last seasson and eventually games run out. Cork under some pressure too while Bohs lift things for week

Another set of almost perfect results in the 1st Division, With Cobhand Harps up in the next few games well a gap is useful of we slip up in awkward ties but wins put us in a vey tong position from very early on.

placid casual
04/04/2025, 9:52 PM
Looking like a procession already in the 1st division for Dundalk eh Nesta!?
It's musical chairs for positions in the premier division at the minute,think it'll take well into the 2nd series of games before a broad top, middle and bottom groupings appear.

ger121
04/04/2025, 9:53 PM
Us winning tonight reminded me of that line from the Simpsons, “The Topes win” We’ll be ok and finish outside of the bottom 2 but no better. Sligo had a number of suspensions and injuries tonight but even putting that aside, I think they could struggle this season.

Drogheda really are some club for punching above their weight. Doherty is some manager. They’ve just continued on from where they left off last season.

Rovers ticking along nicely and probably a bit under the radar. It does seem like results wise they’ve started better than the previous two season.

Shels and Pat’s had 0-0 written all over it even before a ball was kicked.

Another Bohemia
04/04/2025, 9:58 PM
Very interesting game there tonight in Dalymount. Firstly Credit to Bohs players and coaching staff. They really picked themselves up after a disaster of a game last week and put a lot of effort into that performance tonight. Far from perfect but much improved. Still very questionable at the back with Sligos both goals coming from players just running through onto a long ball over defence. We also gifted them a few chances with poor passing decisions but were able to push on and get a result. Really good character shown there tonight.

On Sligo they actually played quite well and created plenty of chances but, much like Bohs, they were a bit suspect at the back. I also wonder about their fitness I can't remember ever seeing so many players go down with cramp and muscle injuries in a single game? Lastly how did they come up with their squad numbers at one point the had no's 47 and 71 both on the pitch. It was like watching an American football game with the squad numbers on display.

04/04/2025, 10:04 PM
Would have jumped at a draw in Ballybofey before the match, but the combination of their being down to ten men and the injury time equaliser made it a bit disappointing. That said, it sounds like on general play Harps were worth at least a point.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/04/2025, 10:05 PM
We played the last half hour with 6 under 20s playing so would have been pretty miraculous if we could have held on for a point. Probably should have been ahead at half time. Hopefully get a few players back and results will improve.

joey B
04/04/2025, 10:06 PM
Harps grabbed a deserved equaliser late on,really should have won the game over the 90 minutes,really stupid tackle from our left back left us with a tough ask but as has been the case for most of the season we gave it a great go and were unfortunate not to win with 10 men..

04/04/2025, 10:13 PM
Looking like a procession already in the 1st division for Dundalk eh Nesta!?
It's musical chairs for positions in the premier division at the minute,think it'll take well into the 2nd series of games before a broad top, middle and bottom groupings appear.

It does but I watched a Liam Buckly Athlone throw away a 10 or 12 point lead in the last round and while Myler was still pingig in goals (or was it Toni Izzy?). Not doing a talk i down but 2 baback to back losses and it means little and Cobh need to win in Oriel next week just to show they are serious.

2 Year Contract
04/04/2025, 10:14 PM
Seeing a lot of news outlets calling Pats Shels a very entertaining game. Thought that description was being very very kind myself. It was a game severely lacking in a moment of quality from either side. Shels came and sat off and tried to play on the counter which they were poor at executing first half. Second half they were better at it to be fair and despite Pats having more of the ball and more pressure and corners in the first 60 mins, Shels had the best chance of the game which Odubeko had his effort saved by Anang in a 1v1. Pats looked dead on their feet in the last 20 mins and it turned into game of walking football from both sides at times in the closing stages with both sides not risking too much and settling for a point. Was surprised to see the Pats lads that tired looking late in the game given it’s actually been the opposite in many games this season, including last week in Waterford

Crosshead
04/04/2025, 10:23 PM
Keating out for the season, according to Clancy. Usher will soon see how many people are willing to pay the most expensive ticket prices in the league for a relegation dogfight.

2 Year Contract
04/04/2025, 10:24 PM
Keating out for the season, according to Clancy. Usher will soon see how many people are willing to pay the most expensive ticket prices in the league for a relegation dogfight.

Ah Jesus that’s awful news for the lad, he deserves much more than the hand he’s been dealt in recent years. (Keating that is, not the toilet man)

sessylU
04/04/2025, 10:26 PM
I appreciate that this is a full-blooded, partisan, Derrycentric post, but that new stand looks class, does it not?

I left Derry 20ish years ago, and will be back over Easter. I've tickets for Derry Drogehda next week and I cannae wait.

lofty9
04/04/2025, 10:33 PM
Looked a bad knee injury. He jumped and came down on the pitch as normal, looked innocuous but the knee obviously gave way on impact. I've seen other knee injuries on that pitch in which players where running or tackling but not like that tonight. Pitch is awful , but 10 times worse on dry days, ball sticks and so does the feet. Feel sorry for the lad.

thebronze14
04/04/2025, 10:44 PM
Would have jumped at a draw in Ballybofey before the match, but the combination of their being down to ten men and the injury time equaliser made it a bit disappointing. That said, it sounds like on general play Harps were worth at least a point.

Harps battered Longford before and after going down to ten. Post twice, one of the line and Longford keeper made two unbelievable saves either side of the goal. Funny as neither side will really be happy with the draw all things considered. Our red was an absolute shocker of a tackle. Way over the top. Hope the Longford lad is alright

Shearer
04/04/2025, 10:49 PM
Treaty convincing winners over Kerry, albeit it probably wasn't a 3-0 game. Much needed 3 points after a terrible showing last week.

Kerry bottom of the table, not helped by the point deduction.

I don't ever remember a club increasing their budget year on year, getting similar results and still being immune to criticism.

If Treaty or Longford lose two or more games people start writing their obituary.

Zico
04/04/2025, 11:11 PM
Treaty convincing winners over Kerry, albeit it probably wasn't a 3-0 game. Much needed 3 points after a terrible showing last week.

I don't ever remember a club increasing their budget year on year, getting similar results and still being immune to criticism.

If Treaty or Longford lose two or more games people start writing their obituary.

I think if you go on club page you will see plenty of criticism - in particular of the style of play. Last year there was progression on what was still one of the smallest budgets. But huge frustration this year after more investment (still don’t think budget is in top 5 in the division though).

BTW, I would take your manager any day!!!

Still a long way to go this season - I do expect Kerry to improve with injured and suspended players to return. I think the question though as to who was really the manager last year has now been answered too!!!

04/04/2025, 11:24 PM
Harps battered Longford before and after going down to ten. Post twice, one of the line and Longford keeper made two unbelievable saves either side of the goal. Funny as neither side will really be happy with the draw all things considered. Our red was an absolute shocker of a tackle. Way over the top. Hope the Longford lad is alright

Don't really recall Aziaya having a save to make over the 90. He should have done so much better for the Longford free kick goal though. He's not up to it at this level either.

Poor tackle from Kevin Jordan and a deserved red card for his effort. Longford should have been down to ten men a few minutes earlier as well for a second yellow that the ref somehow didn't give.

Long and short of it is, Longford have Halwax to thank for rescuing a point for them. He made a couple of phenomenal saves throughout the game, otherwise it could well have been 3 or 4 for Harps handy enough.

Shearer
04/04/2025, 11:30 PM
I think if you go on club page you will see plenty of criticism - in particular of the style of play. Last year there was progression on what was still one of the smallest budgets. But huge frustration this year after more investment (still don’t think budget is in top 5 in the division though).

BTW, I would take your manager any day!!!

Still a long way to go this season - I do expect Kerry to improve with injured and suspended players to return. I think the question though as to who was really the manager last year has now been answered too!!!
Ronan Teahan was brilliant tonight albeit very fortunate to stay on the pitch.

Is Kennedy Amechi gone? Spotted him not being in Senior and 20 squads coincided with the signing of Honkola.

Knocklyonhoop
04/04/2025, 11:59 PM
Didn’t ye beat Rovers 2-1 in the league in Dalymount in September? 7 months ago, not a year ago?

before tonight was it not like 14 months and only 3 home wins, all against Rovers?!

Knocklyonhoop
05/04/2025, 12:01 AM
The UCD pitch is an embarrassment to the league.

and Oriel isn’t?

05/04/2025, 12:05 AM
Ah in fairness, that's the comment of someone who hasn't seen the Bowl pitch in its current state.

Zico
05/04/2025, 12:24 AM
Ronan Teahan was brilliant tonight albeit very fortunate to stay on the pitch.

Is Kennedy Amechi gone? Spotted him not being in Senior and 20 squads coincided with the signing of Honkola.

Teahan has been the one stand out this season, he has filled out a good bit since making his debut as 17 y.o. in Kerry’s first ever game 3 years ago. He has transformed physically this year though and anytime Kerry dominate periods of a game it’s usually him on top with his driving runs. Probably needs more composure with final ball but that will come. I expect he will move on to bigger things soon - hopefully we will keep him until end of this season though. There is no way this guy plays LOI without the advent of Kerry FC and the academy originally. Hails from GAA royalty in south Kerry (mother, uncle and grandfather all won all irelands) and father was an Irish basketball international.

Amechi on the other hand is an enigma - bundles of talent but games can drift by for him and not getting a look in currently but still with the club.

05/04/2025, 1:19 AM
Harps pitch absolutely woeful tonight too while on the subject of pitches. As stated above though Harps could easily have won despite going down to ten. Outrageous tackle from Jordan, the lad is alright though thankfully. Referee was tragically bad all night. Longford didn't deal with the extra man well at all, kept booting it away and dropping deeper and deeper. Subs made zero impact which was very frustrating. Halwax with some outstanding saves. Could have won it on another day and could have lost it. All in all another incredibly hard working display. Got to be pleased with the start so far.

sbgawa
05/04/2025, 4:11 AM
Outstanding result for rovers in galway, neverr expected it so makes it all the sweeter. We still look very average and can't seem to score goals but a win is a win.

ger121
05/04/2025, 7:41 AM
Outstanding result for rovers in galway, neverr expected it so makes it all the sweeter. We still look very average and can't seem to score goals but a win is a win.

It’s the defence that seems to have improved and therefore the results. You’ve never been a team to blow teams away 3 and 4 nil.

ger121
05/04/2025, 7:43 AM
Ah in fairness, that's the comment of someone who hasn't seen the Bowl pitch in its current state.

Did I read something about a new sprinkler system and pitch works starting now as you don’t have a game at home for nearly a month?

thebronze14
05/04/2025, 7:45 AM
Don't really recall Aziaya having a save to make over the 90. He should have done so much better for the Longford free kick goal though. He's not up to it at this level either.

Poor tackle from Kevin Jordan and a deserved red card for his effort. Longford should have been down to ten men a few minutes earlier as well for a second yellow that the ref somehow didn't give.

Long and short of it is, Longford have Halwax to thank for rescuing a point for them. He made a couple of phenomenal saves throughout the game, otherwise it could well have been 3 or 4 for Harps handy enough.

Agreed on Aziaya. Pulls off the odd wonder save but has awful distribution and let's in the odd clanger last night.

Yeah definitely a second yellow. No surprise they took him off straight away despite being one of their better players

05/04/2025, 8:05 AM
Did I read something about a new sprinkler system and pitch works starting now as you don’t have a game at home for nearly a month?
So I believe. Whether it's true or not I don't know. But would expect it to be much better by the next time game alright, which is in May

05/04/2025, 8:11 AM
Harps pitch absolutely woeful tonight too while on the subject of pitches. As stated above though Harps could easily have won despite going down to ten. Outrageous tackle from Jordan, the lad is alright though thankfully. Referee was tragically bad all night. Longford didn't deal with the extra man well at all, kept booting it away and dropping deeper and deeper. Subs made zero impact which was very frustrating. Halwax with some outstanding saves. Could have won it on another day and could have lost it. All in all another incredibly hard working display. Got to be pleased with the start so far.

Harps pitch is always woeful until summer time really. It's only now with decent weather it'll start to grow and improve. Same can be said of most pitches in the league really. It's the downside to summer football, you can't recover a pitch in the off-season.

2 Year Contract
05/04/2025, 8:43 AM
On this week's episode of goalkeeping howlers, absolutely crazy decision making from Chorazka to come rushing out of his goal for Sligo's second goal while Morahan was still there to cover or at least put pressure on Elding if he was to get the shot away. Evan Watts for Galway dropping a cross into the path of Gaffney with an open goal from 3 yards out being the other one

joey B
05/04/2025, 8:50 AM
On this week's episode of goalkeeping howlers, absolutely crazy decision making from Chorazka to come rushing out of his goal for Sligo's second goal while Morahan was still there to cover or at least put pressure on Elding if he was to get the shot away. Evan Watts for Galway dropping a cross into the path of Gaffney with an open goal from 3 yards out being the other one

Waterfords keeper was shocking for Drogheda’s second goal aswell,Harps keeper didn’t cover himself in glory either for Longfords goal either…

joey B
05/04/2025, 8:55 AM
Just noticing how much better the games look with big crowds at games,Dalymount,Galway ,Derry and Pats all looked so much better with better backdrops…..

thebronze14
05/04/2025, 9:10 AM

Yeah FP has been in good nick for a while. It was very bobbly last night though for whatever reason

Jack B
05/04/2025, 9:15 AM
Pats looked quite good for an hour against Shels, then the complete opposite thereafter. Melia, Elbouzedi and Kavanagh seemed to totally lose their legs at the same time (the less said about Mulraney full stop the better) which made it much easier for Shels to get out and start playing. Great save 1-on-1 from Anang to rescue a point, otherwise it was a game of largely half chances.

A shame Power got injured in the warm up as he fully warranted a long-awaited start. Wouldn't be surprised to see Leavy now come in as it hasn't been happening for a couple of our forwards despite being the top scoring side in the league.

2 Year Contract
05/04/2025, 9:23 AM
Pats looked quite good for an hour against Shels, then the complete opposite thereafter. Melia, Elbouzedi and Kavanagh seemed to totally lose their legs at the same time (the less said about Mulraney full stop the better) which made it much easier for Shels to get out and start playing. Great save 1-on-1 from Anang to rescue a point, otherwise it was a game of largely half chances.

A shame Power got injured in the warm up as he fully warranted a long-awaited start. Wouldn't be surprised to see Leavy now come in as it hasn't been happening for a couple of our forwards despite being the top scoring side in the league.

If ever a game was made for Keena it was that one last night. With the majority of both side's chances being shots from 20-25 yards, he’s one of the most dangerous players in the league from that range with the power he generates on shots as he showed with his first goal against Sligo this season. Not only that but he holds the ball up and is better with his build up play than Melia is at this point in his career. The sooner he's back from injury the better

ForzaForth
05/04/2025, 9:41 AM
Well done to Calum Flynn - first two LOI goals last night with right foot & left foot finishes. Also, a very good LOI debut by Ryan Butler for Wexford. Thought he was excellent. Cobh's sending off changed the course of the game.

legendz
05/04/2025, 11:06 AM

Definitely not immune to criticism but the amount of criticism is low. I am frustrated by the constant failure to build any momentum. Hopefully the current management team can turn it around. I think a more experienced manager is needed from what I've seen so far over the last two seasons and this one so far.
The season started off positive. (Before this week's points deduction.) The main problem against Dundalk and Bray was not taking clear cut chances. Apart from the Wexford game, the recent games have been frustrating to watch.

culloty82
05/04/2025, 11:31 AM
Not helped of course by the reluctance of the management to shake up the starting XI - granted, Gleeson and Kelliher have been injured, but Kevin Williams certainly seems to deserve a recall, and Brosnan's minutes have been fairly limited to date, perhaps shying away from benching some of the new arrivals?

05/04/2025, 12:10 PM
and Oriel isn’t?

What has Oriel to do with Belfield? If you have a bad pitch is it not allowed to criticise another, not hat you have to worry about playing on it this year.