View Full Version : Sligo Rovers v Dublin City predictions, etc

25/09/2005, 11:47 AM
cork is over now...this is the most important game this season

:eek: and so begins endgame

i think,5 points clear,game in hand...no doubt the pressure is on them....i dont think our confidence should be low,we did well in the last game and it should help us step up a gear...victory in this game and well.... :rolleyes: it would be close...but this will not be easy...they are second for a reason and i dont think they will roll over like kilkenny,they know what they have to do and they are the only team in this division we have beaten this season

we have to attack them from the start,theres a decison to make up front,alvarez or brown....i think he will go for brown.

if there isnt a big crowd too it will be a huge disappointment...advertise it rovers!!

prediction...2-2..

1 9 2 8
25/09/2005, 11:52 AM
This is our biggest game of the season so far if we beat Home Farm we can go 8 points clear with a game in hand. I'd say a 2-0 win for Rovers we should get a crowd of 2,000 at this game and make it very intimidating for the Jackeens

25/09/2005, 12:04 PM
I'm not trying to antagonise you lot but you were very confident before the last match with Dublin City and you lost. What makes you so confident you can do it again??

I'm not trying to annoy you, it's just an honest question!!

1 9 2 8
25/09/2005, 12:27 PM
I'm not trying to antagonise you lot but you were very confident before the last match with Dublin City and you lost. What makes you so confident you can do it again??

I'm not trying to annoy you, it's just an honest question!!
Because we are a better football team

25/09/2005, 12:42 PM
Piece of p!ss....2-0.Dublin need to win but cant afford to lose either.kind of catch 22 situation.Go all out for a win and lose=Rovers promoted Play it cagey and get a draw=Rovers promoted.

shedhead
25/09/2005, 2:28 PM
I think a draw, 1-1

25/09/2005, 2:48 PM
I'm actually not that worried about this game at all, going for a 2-0 for us. Hopefully we can get a good crowd and a decent atmosphere for this, our biggest game of the season ;)

25/09/2005, 3:18 PM
i think kilkenny are better than CHF so i'd expect us to win. i'd love a nice 4-0 after bein robbed of 3points twice this season. 2-0 brown&faz

roversforever
25/09/2005, 7:46 PM
pressure is all on dublin.if we beat them its league over.a draw would do fine but i actually think we'll win this game comfortably enough.dublin are a poor side and certainly nowhere near as good as the rovers.im saying 2-0 rovers and faz to score at last.

25/09/2005, 7:57 PM
2 0 rovers low and o grady

25/09/2005, 8:04 PM
Will Kaps be suspended or is he out just for cup games next year??

25/09/2005, 8:06 PM
Will Kaps be suspended or is he out just for cup games next year??Cup game next season afaik

25/09/2005, 8:13 PM
Cup game next season afaik
Good! i'd say the usual 1600 or so will be there on saturday.

27/09/2005, 6:11 PM
if we win our next 2 games well be 11 points clear,win on sat and game in hand .cant wait for this one!! :D :ball:

Shiba
27/09/2005, 7:15 PM
2-0 brown&faz

Whats Ur obession with Faz scoring.every week you have him down.When did he last score.Havn said that we should win.But it will not be easy.

Shiba
27/09/2005, 7:16 PM
Cup game next season afaik

I'd say your wrong on that one!

27/09/2005, 7:21 PM
I'd say your wrong on that one!Dont think so. That's how it's normally done anyway

Redtop
27/09/2005, 7:48 PM
im going 2-1 brown(2) ;) ;)

Derek
27/09/2005, 11:07 PM
Jackeens

What a culchie redneck word to use.

Redzer
28/09/2005, 10:21 AM
This is a massive game for Dublin City/ Bellgrove. If they lose this game, we go 8 points clear with a game in hand. They simply have to win, even to guarantee a play off place.
On the other hand, we have been unlucky not to take all the points from them, on the two drawn games. We are on a good run and I don’t see us giving them anything on Saturday night. It will not be a game for the faint hearted.
I’d say with the large crowd behind Rovers we will come away with a win. I suppose Rocky will bring down the usual half dozen supporters with him.
Lets give Keely & co a real warm welcome. :) 2-0 Rovers.

SRFC Head
28/09/2005, 1:06 PM
What a culchie redneck word to use.

What a Jackeen word to use...

SRFC Head
28/09/2005, 1:14 PM
Rovers 2-1 DC

Haven't been able to get to many games this season mostly away games, good to get back to the west to see the rovers go 8 points clear with a game in hand..

When will the game in hand be played ? when the cup semis are on ?

red_away
28/09/2005, 1:14 PM
I will be there and I'm not usually there so that will be at least 1601

Bravo
28/09/2005, 2:07 PM
Rovers 2-1 DC

Haven't been able to get to many games this season mostly away games, good to get back to the west to see the rovers go 8 points clear with a game in hand..

When will the game in hand be played ? when the cup semis are on ?

We are Playing Limerick that weekend, I heard Kildare wanted it played last Monday night, Dont know how true that is.

28/09/2005, 2:59 PM
Whats Ur obession with Faz scoring.every week you have him down.When did he last score.Havn said that we should win.But it will not be easy.

jesus chill out man. i'd like to see him get a goal as i'm sure most ppl would

28/09/2005, 3:21 PM
Ya we all would but Shiba is saying is that Faz wasnt scored in ages(if that was his goal) so why do you think he will score every week,and I would agree.

28/09/2005, 3:49 PM
Ya we all would but Shiba is saying is that Faz wasnt scored in ages(if that was his goal) so why do you think he will score every week,and I would agree.

ok i'll change my prediction to 4-0 to dublin if it matters so much. all own goals from faz ;)

28/09/2005, 4:08 PM
Why,do you think he will score 4 own goals,not very likely.
BTW I hope he scores against Dublin aswell but dont think he will...hope im wrong though.

Shiba
28/09/2005, 8:15 PM
jesus chill out man. i'd like to see him get a goal as i'm sure most ppl would
I would like to see it too but putting him down as goalscorer,Dont think so!But having said that I hope he proves me wrong.Actually I'd be happy if any of them score included O'hara or am I just going one step too far......................

Derek
29/09/2005, 12:19 AM
What a Jackeen word to use...
Only when provoked

1 9 2 8
29/09/2005, 5:31 PM
Only when provoked
You shouldn't be ashamed of our history

roversforever
30/09/2005, 9:34 AM
id like to change my prediction coz i just realised mcnamara is suspended and gerry carr is playing.we will definately concede now so im saying either 2-1 rovers or 2-2.low and foley are also suspended.

nephin
30/09/2005, 3:18 PM
With Mcnamara and Low out the defence is weakened slightly. Hopefully the other lads coming in will do the job.
I'll go for 2-1 win for Rovers.

01/10/2005, 10:39 AM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/previews/preview.asp?pid=338

01/10/2005, 10:49 AM
great preview there sligoman

01/10/2005, 10:50 AM
great preview there sligomanI know, here's a better one:

Sligo Rovers meet Dublin City in a top of the table clash at the Showgrounds tonight. City currently trail Rovers by five points while Sligo also have a game in hand. The Vikings may not be able to clinch the automatic spot but they need to win to stay in the hunt for second.

Sligo Rovers vs Dublin City
(The Showgrounds - 7:30 pm - Division 1)
Referee: Neil Doyle

Ciaran Foley, Kupano Low and Michael McNamara are all out suspended for Sligo. Gerry Carr will be drafted into the defence. Sean Flannery continues to miss out with a fractured cheekbone.
Derek Pender is back from suspension for the Vikings.
League form for Sligo Rovers : WDWWD
League form for Dublin City : DWDLL
Previous meeting(s) : Dublin City 3-1 Sligo Rovers (28/07/2005)
Sligo Rovers 1-1 Dublin City (21/05/2005)
Dublin City 1-1 Sligo Rovers (24/03/2005)
Sligo Rovers 2-3 Dublin City (11/10/2003)
Dublin City 1-0 Sligo Rovers (10/07/2003)
IrishFootballOnline.com Prediction: Home win.

01/10/2005, 10:52 AM
Sligo Rovers vs Dublin City
(The Showgrounds - 7:30 pm - Division 1)
Referee: Neil DoyleWasn't this the guy we had for the game in Dublin?:confused:. Are the FAI completely clueless when it comes to appointing referees? His performance that day was nothing short of a joke and now he's back for the very same fixture again. Disgrace! :mad:

01/10/2005, 10:58 AM
Ya i think that is him....what a load of sh!te.
Hopefully it wont affect the match too much though.

01/10/2005, 2:01 PM
that's a bit suspicious gettin doyle again. hopefully a combination of gerry carr's lightning pace&neil doyle's interpretation of the rules of the game don't conspire against us 2nite