View Full Version : Trouble at Derry vs. Rovers and Irish language debate!!

TheOwl
24/09/2005, 8:08 PM
Seems to have been a bit of aggro at the Rovers end, hard to tell from the telly but I'm sure we will hear all about it in the morning, probably from the media making mountains out of mole-hills :rolleyes:

Seems to have sparked off just after Derry went 1-0 up.

24/09/2005, 8:20 PM
The Rodster was sent out of the dugout just before half time. Not sure what it was over.

24/09/2005, 8:23 PM
The Rodster was sent out of the dugout just before half time. Not sure what it was over.

Probably just for being himself.

24/09/2005, 8:23 PM
Probably just for being himself.

That's an offence which should have warranted a life banning from eL grounds.

TheOwl
24/09/2005, 8:27 PM
FT 1-0 Derry

24/09/2005, 8:28 PM
Whats that Roddy? Never been beaten in the Brandywell as manager? :D

colm3012
24/09/2005, 8:31 PM
final score?

24/09/2005, 8:33 PM
Yep FT

24/09/2005, 8:35 PM
Whats that Roddy? Never been beaten in the Brandywell as manager? :D

2nd time for everything. ;)

25/09/2005, 2:10 AM
Reports from the Rovers fans we met after the game suggest that they were fighting amongst themselves.

The stewards tried to break it up and it escalated from there.

Roddy "I've reached a club final with every team I have managed" Collins, you truly are a clown :D

headtheball
25/09/2005, 10:27 AM
Reports from the Rovers fans we met after the game suggest that they were fighting amongst themselves.

The stewards tried to break it up and it escalated from there.

Roddy "I've reached a club final with every team I have managed" Collins, you truly are a clown :D

Even the Rovers fans were given him stick!! Fair play the the vast majority of Rovers fans who sung most of the match.Apart from a few idiots who tried to start each other i think!!!

25/09/2005, 11:28 AM
he got sent off for his discussion with one of the officials.... mr paul deering

now i dont like roddrick very much but i will defend him on this one :)

that deering is the worst ref to have ever put on the tight black shorts of an eircom league offical...he is despised in our place and i hope roddy boxes him in the near future :) :rolleyes:

Drumcondra Red
25/09/2005, 12:06 PM
Yeah, what actually happened at the Rovers end??? I saw stewards legging it up into the stand, but my Irish isn't that great so didn't really know if something was said or not!!!

25/09/2005, 12:19 PM
The commentators didn't know what was going on either.

I have to say fair play to the TG4 lads last night. When they heard the Derry fans singing "Roddy Collins, you're a ******" they just said that the Derry fans mustn't be too fond of him where as similar things have happened on RTÉ's live games and they've said it'd disgraceful and that particualr club's fans were known for that sort of thing.

At least it might let some of the Gaelgóir's who might've watched last night a chance of seeing real football in our country.

Also, I'm honestly surprised that Gareth Farrelly and Your man Eviston from Rovers (I don't know his first name) are the only people involved with the actual football to speak Irish in their interviews.

25/09/2005, 12:43 PM
Also, I'm honestly surprised that Gareth Farrelly and Your man Eviston from Rovers (I don't know his first name) are the only people involved with the actual football to speak Irish in their interviews.

Why does that surprise ye, sure who the f**k speaks irish these days bar those from gaelteacht areas

harry crumb
25/09/2005, 1:44 PM
Still good to see the managers able to speak their native language.

25/09/2005, 2:16 PM
Still good to see the managers able to speak their native language.

It is the job actually ... good to see it !!

25/09/2005, 2:24 PM
its great to see. my irish is fairly bad I'm ashamed to say, but its great to see it spoken

Partizan
25/09/2005, 2:28 PM
Why does that surprise ye, sure who the f**k speaks irish these days bar those from gaelteacht areas

Duh!, In case you havent bothered to check, Irish is the first official language of this state. According to the last census some 7-8% of the population speak it daily or consider it as their first language. A further 30% are bilingual or have a good command of the language.

Its great to see TG4 cover the games as Gaeilge and no doubt the station has popularised and renewed interest in the language through the use of good programming and fine looking weather & news birds, something that RTE has strenously avoided.

Long may it continue.....TG4, suil eile.

Partizan
25/09/2005, 2:33 PM
its great to see. my irish is fairly bad I'm ashamed to say, but its great to see it spoken

I'm got going on my Irish again last year in college when I moved in with a chap from west Kerry and started practising. I have recently purchased the 'teach Yourself' Irish Language linguaphone and I'm thinking of enrolling in Irish classes in the local GAA centre...

I'm off to Dingle next weekend, but no matter what they say, you cant beat chinwagging with the locals.

N.B. are we getting off topic Eanna? :eek:

anto eile
25/09/2005, 2:35 PM
tg4 do the best coverage of all four stations,charlie mctgeever knows the league well and his co-presenter (richie?) seems genuinely interested
rté dont have a clue and dont want to know either
setantas presenter sound like they never ehard of the EL until this year,
tv3..well, eL weekly says it all
from all four stations id prefer tg4 every time
also it is good to see EL covered as gaeilge

25/09/2005, 2:35 PM
N.B. are we getting off topic Eanna? :eek:
just a tad :D Yeah, I'm thinking of doing Irish classes again myself some time in the future

Partizan
25/09/2005, 2:38 PM
tg4 do the best coverage of all four stations,charlie mctgeever knows the league well and his co-presenter (richie?) seems genuinely interested
rté dont have a clue and dont want to know either
setantas presenter sound like they never ehard of the EL until this year,
tv3..well, eL weekly says it all
from all four stations id prefer tg4 every time
also it is good to see EL covered as gaeilge

Spot on Anto, TG4 coverage has been good. I can see them doing a weekly highlights programme in the not to distant future.

Dont rule it out.

25/09/2005, 2:55 PM
I would love to see that, they'd do a much better job than TV3 even if I couldn't understand most of it.

25/09/2005, 3:21 PM
Duh!, In case you havent bothered to check, Irish is the first official language of this state.

In practice though, who actually speaks it - its a dying language and the sooner they make it optional in secondary schools rather than compulsary, the better

1 9 2 8
25/09/2005, 3:28 PM
In practice though, who actually speaks it - its a dying language and the sooner they make it optional in secondary schools rather than compulsary, the better
West Brit

25/09/2005, 4:00 PM
West Brit

Call me what ye like, but unfortunately the truth hurts for some people :rolleyes:

25/09/2005, 4:19 PM
its a dying language and the sooner they make it optional in secondary schools rather than compulsary, the better

Not gonna happen ..... and its not dying ..... its growing.

And it wont be changing, if you look at Wales and the success that they have had then it goes to show what can be done.

I think that, in time .... you are the one that might have to get over it .... Irish isn't going anywhere anytime soon, and that is for certain.

25/09/2005, 4:37 PM
It shouldn't be compulsary, that does more harm than good to it for a start as people get very bitter towards it.

25/09/2005, 5:24 PM
I think it should be compulsory. School kids will make decisions because something appears cool. Irish doesn't appear cool because it's not on MTV or what have you. Yet most people, when they get a bit older and start to appreciate their own culture more, end up wishing they had better Irish. Make Irish optional, and you'll have people wishing they had any Irish.

25/09/2005, 5:30 PM
Is there a difference? Irish was compulsory for me, I don't speak a word of it now. I hated it, and I'm now far, far less likely to want to learn it later on than if it wasn't forced on me. It creates a bitterness towards it that is not helpful at all.

25/09/2005, 5:40 PM
From my experience, you're the exception rather than the rule. I dropped down to Pass Irish after the Junior Cert because I didn't really care - now I kind of wish I had better Irish (even though it's passable, if extremely rusty). I know plenty of older people who hated Irish when they were learning it, but now wish they had more and are thankful for what they have.

I think it is getting stronger, though. I've noticed more people speaking Irish in everyday use. Not very often, but I've noticed it all the same. Even heard one 5-year-old kid having a dual-language discussion with his dad (I assume) in Irish and German! I think the father would talk in German and the kid would answer in Irish.

25/09/2005, 5:47 PM
My irish is very poor but TG4 coverage is very good. Proper preview before the matches. Still pity commentary in irish. When Derry fans chanting about Roddys pastime didn't know what TG4 saying but was clear they laughing along with it.

25/09/2005, 5:49 PM
"Níl lucht leanúna Doire ró-sásta le bainisteoir na Seamróga", I think.

The Derry fans aren't too happy with the Shamrock Rovers manager. :)

bigmac
25/09/2005, 6:02 PM
Is there a difference? Irish was compulsory for me, I don't speak a word of it now. I hated it, and I'm now far, far less likely to want to learn it later on than if it wasn't forced on me. It creates a bitterness towards it that is not helpful at all.

Yeah, but how many people go and learn any language once they've left school. I wish I could speak Spanish (have relatives who are Spanish) but I don't ever see myself going to night classes or anything to learn it. Same deal with Irish. I hated it in school but I'm glad I have it now. Even managed to have a conversation as gaeilge with Sean Og OhAilpin when myself and the girlfriend ran into him in Inchydoney.

25/09/2005, 6:46 PM
From my experience, you're the exception rather than the rule. I dropped down to Pass Irish after the Junior Cert because I didn't really care - now I kind of wish I had better Irish (even though it's passable, if extremely rusty). I know plenty of older people who hated Irish when they were learning it, but now wish they had more and are thankful for what they have.

I think it is getting stronger, though. I've noticed more people speaking Irish in everyday use. Not very often, but I've noticed it all the same. Even heard one 5-year-old kid having a dual-language discussion with his dad (I assume) in Irish and German! I think the father would talk in German and the kid would answer in Irish.

That is exactly right ..... you will value it alot more later on. Kids in school should be allowed make a decision as drastic as dropping Irish. Anyway ... you could attribute that argument to anything. Kids for the most part dont like any subject or at least would be seen dead admitting it.

25/09/2005, 6:48 PM
Maybe not in primary school, but for the leaving cert certinaly. You make all sorts of choices there about what subjects you do or don't want to do, I don't see why Irish should be forced on you.

25/09/2005, 7:07 PM
I don't see why Irish should be forced on you.

I dunno .... most Scandinavians have 4-5 languages before they are 20 and they speak their native language too .... nah .... i disagree, infact i say that Irish isn't evident enough for school goers !!

25/09/2005, 7:11 PM
I don't know, I just feel it can be detrimental. Even if you had the choice but still chose Irish you'd probably be happier about doing it and ultimately be better at it. There was alot of resentment towards it in my school which was not good to see at all.

Partizan
25/09/2005, 8:01 PM

Couldnt agree more pineapple. I'm hearing it being spoken in Waterford City of all places by people in everyday conversations. I think with the advent of TG4 along with the sex appeal has made Irish chic again. West Waterford along Dungarvan out to the Cork border and its thriving again, its great and its absolutley fantastic to see eL covered in the native tongue. That should drive home the message to any of the barstoolers of the presense of our own homegrown league with the cupla focal thrown in. Commentary last night was class and I think you more or less summed up what the commentators were saying about the verbal altercation between Roderick and the Derry heads.

Partizan
25/09/2005, 8:05 PM
I dunno .... most Scandinavians have 4-5 languages before they are 20 and they speak their native language too .... nah .... i disagree, infact i say that Irish isn't evident enough for school goers !!

The language is taught entirely wrong in schools. Instead of learning prose, poetry and books by wrote, why not concentrate more on verbal and everyday communication rather than Peig ****ing Sayers. :mad:

Common sense, but then again since when has FF ever been associated with it.

We are way behind our fellow Europeans in terms of language ability and in this aspect our educational system is failing us, but that is for another day.

25/09/2005, 11:26 PM
Sorry lads, but eh, what does this have to do with so-called "trouble" at a NL game?

It's mad that a LOI game is commentated on, in a language only a tiny minority of us can fully understand. Only in Ireland, as they say... :rolleyes:

What next, LOI commentaries in Latin????? :eek: :D

Dr.Nightdub
25/09/2005, 11:40 PM
Mypost, judging from some of the posts on the Rovers MB, there's no need for those inverted commas. Between that, the carry-on after the Shels match and Roddy's ongoing sniping at the board, it looks like there's an imploding sense of unity at Rovers.

26/09/2005, 12:26 AM
It's mad that a LOI game is commentated on, in a language only a tiny minority of us can fully understand. Only in Ireland, as they say...

What next, LOI commentaries in Latin?????

Rovers followers were indeed at it again, judging by accounts of people who were there.... :mad:

26/09/2005, 3:19 AM
Rovers followers were indeed at it again, judging by accounts of people who were there.... :mad:

Well, good to see we're back on-topic.

I don't consider Rovers fans fighting amongst themselves to be crowd trouble. As usual, fans of other clubs with anti-Rovers agendas, appear to have over-hyped the "incident" again. :rolleyes:

Krstic
26/09/2005, 8:02 AM
It was nothing but a bunch of Drunks looking for a fight.
After the game outside the Brandywell the same idiots were still fighting amongst themselve's.

The sensationalist 'Derry News' has a front page headline today 'Brandywell Battle' with a big picture, yet on the sports page they say that Derry had a 2-1 victory :eek: ..................some Newspaper :mad:

Lazy journalism at it's best, cnuts didn't even send someone to the match, must have watched it on TV and couldn't speak Irish, so he made up a few stories instead :(

Wiseguy
26/09/2005, 8:46 AM
The only people that the Rovers fans are really letting down are themselves.All this does is add fuel to fire that is the Rovers fans image and it's up to themselves to sort it out.
As regards the Irish language,it's a national disgrace that it's not more widely spoken.It's our national language FFS.I do think it will make a comeback with the ever increasing popularity of TG4 and through the Gaelscoils that are springing up all over the country.The Irish language is something we should be proud of and be able to inentify ourselves with because with our nation becoming more multicultural by the day a lot of the Irish ways may become a thing of the past.
We should also be teaching our kids other languages aswell as we are miles behind our european friends and it's time to catch up.

Roverstillidie
26/09/2005, 8:56 AM
there really wasnt a lot to it, not even in the handbags column. two drunks got pulled apart by rovers fans and the stewards initially went in hard and fast on the peacemakers. the more senior stewards/rovers security arrived and calmed it down. a couple of derry stewards were escorted away before they made it worse.
the point wiseguy is that we did sort it out and the stewards came flying in anyway.

26/09/2005, 9:00 AM
The only people that the Rovers fans are really letting down are themselves.All this does is add fuel to fire that is the Rovers fans image and it's up to themselves to sort it out.
Agree, and the thick untsc causing the trouble are only costing their fellow supporters money via the 400 club.

On the language, I'm not anti it being compulsory but do have reservations about it counting towards university points. As someone who struggled with languages, despite being quite interested in them, I'm not sure it's fair that it can be so influential in deciding course and then career when it isn't required in that subject. For example, is it fair that someone doesn't get into medicine because they're not that good at languages?

26/09/2005, 9:08 AM
It's mad that a LOI game is commentated on, in a language only a tiny minority of us can fully understand. Only in Ireland, as they say... :rolleyes:

What next, LOI commentaries in Latin????? :eek: :D

It's even madder that a group of people can exhibit such antipathy and antagonism towards their own language/history/culture. That is indeed the type of thing that could only happen in Ireland...... :(

Any other country would have made a proper effort at revitalising Europe's oldest continuous written language 80+ years after they gained their independenace. Instead, we get a typical half-arsed botched effort and lots of bluff disguised as an official language revival, and then blame the language itself.

The Israeli's could take Hebrew - a language that hadn't been used in speech for 2,000 years outside of religious ceremonies - and make it the living language of millions within a couple of decades. The Welsh didn't even need their independence to put their language back on such a strong footing that a recent Economist article commented that the language there is in a real ascendancy, and that having Welsh is a significant contributor to your employment standing.

The irony is that I'm convinced that the Irish language would have been more secure now if the Republic was still under British rule (just like happened with Welsh).