View Full Version : Galway 0-Monaghan 1

23/09/2005, 9:56 PM
What a load of ****e!!We missed a penalty and hit the post but tbh if the Mons were any good they would have won it by a couple of goals!!Embarassing...Absoloute Joke! :mad:

(Report)
Galway United 0-1 Monaghan United
Former Irish youth international Keith Foy struck inside the first 60 seconds to fire Monaghan United to a vital victory at Terryland Park on Friday night.

Foy crashed the only goal of the game past Alan Gough in Mons’ first attack as the home side were caught napping.

Monaghan held on for the three points to open a seven-point gap on bottom side Athlone Town.

However, of more significance is the fact that Mick Cooke’s side are now just four points behind Kildare County in the race to avoid the enforced re-election that comes with a place in the bottom two.

Patrick Dunne
24/09/2005, 5:50 PM
... the players made a brief seond half flourish, but with ten minutes to go we gave up the ghost and Monaghan were unlucky not to score again.

Monaghan United are a joke. Several of their players are overweight, with the number 7 making Tony Folan look like Karen Carpenter. Their players bus arrived from Dublin at 7.05pm. This is the second time in a row that they have arrived late at a game against GUFC. This is the second time in a row that they have beaten us. However, they were far more committed than us, had a game plan, and stuck to it.

We may be making progress off the field, but football is played on the field. Players lack motivation and there seem to be no discernable tactics. Despite E10,000 a week being spent on the running of the club, and the best facilities being placed at our players disposal we continue with an amateur ethos.

At present, Galway United are unwatchable. We have won three, yes three, home games, this season. There will have to be changes to the playing and management staff, quickly, or the club will become like Monaghan and Athlone. Season tickets sale will plummet. The 300 plus who attended last night are the hardcore, many, like me, are on autopilot. We are immune to the torture inflicted on us.

Galwayexile
24/09/2005, 9:16 PM
something really needs to change, alot of the players just dont have the heart for the Utd shirt. Who knows what should be done but the bottom line is that Galway United have some of the best facilities in the country, they are run very well business wise yet they have a team that dont appear to have the desire or spirit to wear the Utd shirt. A city of Galways size shouldnt be lounging in the lower regions of the first divison. Maybe i sound a bit harsh but fair play to the 300 odd hardcore Utd fans who are sticking with the team at the moment.I know for one if i was living in Galway city i would go to every game regardless.

They need a total overhaul of the team.
At this stage they could be even reapplying for election to the league.

jambo08
25/09/2005, 4:49 PM
who shud stay who shud go.

25/09/2005, 7:11 PM
Stay.....Mixie,Moran,Goughie,Keady(not as captain)
The rest should all be told where the door is.

jambo08
25/09/2005, 8:08 PM
wat about the future aswell. reilly,russell rojas?

Eire06
26/09/2005, 7:58 AM
Poor performances all round on Friday night... :mad:
Noticed a big drop in the crowd numbers too and its only gona get worse

The team should have been made come out and apologise to the fans for that crap...

Really starting to annoy me now..
Some changes have to come in and fast, for players, management and the board...

26/09/2005, 10:24 AM
its the perfect time to sack lally...ye are going nowhere...no offence or anything but losing to monaghan in front of that poor att means its not going very well doesnt it!

26/09/2005, 10:45 AM
its the perfect time to sack lally...ye are going nowhere...no offence or anything but losing to monaghan in front of that poor att means its not going very well doesnt it!

I wont blame lally for it, he inherited this team and with the lack of funds had to use it. After a good year for Nick off the pitch, hopefully some of the money he has raised will go to lally and help him start his own generation at the club good or bad we'll have to wait and see !! :o

26/09/2005, 12:31 PM
as long as we can still use the headline "krisis in kamp krusty" ill be happy :)

26/09/2005, 12:40 PM
or ye could just make a fresh start and let somebody new judge the players,it worked for us so far :)

26/09/2005, 9:21 PM
its the perfect time to sack lallySomebody agrees with ya :D :

Welcome to our newest member, LallymustGo

26/09/2005, 9:23 PM
Ya but when he does go his name will be kinda stupid....but until then Welcome.

26/09/2005, 9:30 PM
Ya but when he does go his name will be kinda stupid....but until then Welcome.Yeah but he can chage it then ;)

Fr. Jessop
26/09/2005, 9:59 PM
Yeah but he can chage it then ;)

Good one :mad:

26/09/2005, 10:02 PM
Good one :mad:Thanks, but it wasn't supposed to be funny, :rolleyes:.

27/09/2005, 2:20 PM
i've seen gufc bout 7-8 times this season&i don't think lally's much good. bout 4-5 good players da rest are muck

27/09/2005, 2:26 PM
i've seen gufc bout 7-8 times this season&i don't think lally's much good. bout 4-5 good players da rest are muck

have to agree with you there. There will be a lot of changes next season, this I know for certain, with players going abroad, others retiring from the senior level and what not.

27/09/2005, 4:34 PM
i saw a galway fan today...ill ask him next time i see him

should he stay or should he go

it also gives me a chance to talk to strangers

27/09/2005, 4:36 PM
Ya but he might not be wearing his jersey tomorrow so how you gonna know its him?
BTW does any Galway fan on this site go to Sligo IT?

27/09/2005, 4:40 PM
you can smell the stench of arrogance from galway people

-------------

anyway...that budget **** is no excuse...and success of the pitch...you dont win trophys for work off the pitch and i f you do they suck

Fr. Jessop
27/09/2005, 10:33 PM

-------------

anyway...that budget **** is no excuse...and success of the pitch...you dont win trophys for work off the pitch and i f you do they suck

I suppose you mean all the non-GUFC fans aswell! You know your just giving more ammunition to some of the GUFC fans dont you?

Patrick Dunne
27/09/2005, 11:07 PM
Don't insult our intelligence, dear boy. Someone travelling all the way to Sligo to attend a glorified FAS course !

Modules in reading, writing and d'internet.

Of course we're arrogant. It's merely because we're better than you.

thanatos80
28/09/2005, 1:32 AM
He sounds like the kind of idiot who'd fit in perfect with our arch rivals supporters, the Timbers Army. They're all a bunch of whining, trolling, euro-posing, hooligan wannabes.

28/09/2005, 7:41 AM

-------------

What? Are you for real? How then is a football team run successfully, tell us? All the top clubs in Europe must be kicking themselves for worrying about money when " the budget sh*t" has nothing to do with it !!! :rolleyes:

galwaygirl
28/09/2005, 8:28 AM

-------------

If you think we've got a stench of arrogance off us, keep out of our forum and stop trolling.

What? Are you for real? How then is a football team run successfully, tell us? All the top clubs in Europe must be kicking themselves for worrying about money when " the budget sh*t" has nothing to do with it !!! :rolleyes:

C'mon Terry, you're a moderator on this Forum. Dont let him rise you, cause that's all he's trying to do.

28/09/2005, 8:40 AM
Hes not rising me, I just cant believe people are this stupid! :confused:

28/09/2005, 11:12 AM
wild rover banned from the Galway forum.

28/09/2005, 1:15 PM
Don't insult our intelligence, dear boy. Someone travelling all the way to Sligo to attend a glorified FAS course !

Of course you are better than us.....wild rover is very sorry and was only offering advice from his simple immature mind,he only wants the best for GUFC,that being Sally to be sacked and for Galway to take a few risks.

lets get back to the topic anyway,ye lose to the worst team in the league....

Patrick Dunne
28/09/2005, 1:16 PM
.... we're not due to loose to the worst team in the league until Friday night.

28/09/2005, 2:41 PM
.... we're not due to loose to the worst team in the league until Friday night.

again! :o

28/09/2005, 3:08 PM

Brillaint :D :D

28/09/2005, 3:25 PM
What are ye on about FÀS course.You cant do a FÀS course in Sligo I.T.

28/09/2005, 3:33 PM
Well he does have complaints.He was singing Galways praise today but couldnt post it cos hes banned.
Anyway I cant believe ye banned someone from Galway anyway.He was born and raised there and only supports Rovers to be one of the lads so to speak.

28/09/2005, 3:42 PM
Well he does have complaints.He was singing Galways praise today but couldnt post it cos hes banned.
Anyway I cant believe ye banned someone from Galway anyway.He was born and raised there and only supports Rovers to be one of the lads so to speak.
How ironic that the day he gets banned from the GUFC forum he was just about to come on and say how much he loves Galway...pity :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

29/09/2005, 9:53 AM
To All Galway Fans.
Check Out the songs myself and wild rover posted for ye on the Sligo forum in Songs for Saturday......ya enjoy them

29/09/2005, 1:35 PM
I think its fair to say that this thread is going completely off the topic, so before it goes overboard Im locking it!

Anyone who has a problem with it can PM me