View Full Version : Rovers 1- 3Cork
23/09/2005, 9:15 PM
So,3-1 in Cork,we put up a great performance,i think! Low unlucky to be sent off,Cork man knew Low was the last man,so he went down with a feather. Raf was unlucky to concede peno. Cork were better team though. fair play to Rovers,we stayed with them all the way,were well able for Premier league
23/09/2005, 10:46 PM
Ya agree with all the above.
Now all thats left is to win the league....
nephin
24/09/2005, 10:04 AM
A good performance by Rovers particiularly in the first half. Once Low was sent off it was all Cork to be fair and I think Rovers just ran out of steam. I don't think they deserved to concede the third goal. I thought Faz and McCann had a bad day at the office. Faz's passing was very poor. He's better than that. McCann was at fault for the second goal as he was caught sleeping. I thought McT didn't do that well but in fairness the supply was limited especially in the second half. If we do get promoted I think we'll stay there.
24/09/2005, 10:05 AM
we were good,could have been better but they did us proud and we were unlucky...all about the league now...i dont want this to be a one off...i want tv games against big clubs every year,i think o hara raf,o grady burnsy faz showed their quality,some not often enough....if we go up we need 4 players to have a good premier divison...dublin city saturday,massive...come on pat do us a favour tonight!!!
ps.the roar is mooneys when kap scored....class :)
redrov2005
24/09/2005, 1:42 PM
I thought we did really well. Yer man went down very easily for the sending off and the penalty was a bit harsh.
Thought Raf was outstanding. O'Grady did well and defensively we held it together. Cork were the better side,but they are one of the best in the country. Sean will have to add to his squad if we win promotion,but i'm sure he knows that.
I think we should be very proud of the team and well done to all who travelled. Good times lie ahead !
Steveoc
24/09/2005, 2:08 PM
In fairness to Rovers players and management, they came to play football - unlike some,Longford and U.C.D. in particular, this season at the Cross.
From what I've seen Rovers are better than Waterford, Finn Harps, Longford & U.C.D. so you should have an extended stay in the Premier - hope so anyway, you've been away too long and it will be nice to have the One Red Army joining the Rebel Army !!
Thought Conor was excellent, but then again that wouldn't surprise us City fans.
See you in 2006.
agree with steveoc. you'll do fine in the premier playing like that, hugely impressed with o grady again, he held the whole team together, and the right back was excellent as well.
24/09/2005, 4:17 PM
I thought O'Hara was brilliant. Now I know what all the fuss is about!
Hard luck Sligo...looking forward to many games against you boys next season...have to say the one player who impressed me last night was the number 8 for you lads..good on the ball and spread play well...anyway good luck for the rest of the season and again well done on being one of the only teams besides Cork City FC that played football on our ground this season..
roversforever
24/09/2005, 5:54 PM
the lads did well last night.i think there was two key moments in the game.one was the sending off but for me the big thing was conceding the equaliser just before half time.i think if we had gone in ahead at half time it would have gave us great encouragement and gave us something to hold on to.o hara was outstanding last night,raf was also excellent.thought rossi was quiet again and stephen o donnell should take his place for the dublin city game.when steve feeney came on i thought he should have taken off mct.when your playing one up front it makes since to have a big man like browne up there to win things.anyway well done lads ye did us proud.
24/09/2005, 8:05 PM
O'Hara 10/10
Raf 10/10
Burnsy 10/10
Mac 10/10
Kaps 10/10
Rossi 10/10
Conor 10/10
Faz 10/10
Tim 10/10
McT 10/10
Browner 10/10
Well done boys ye were all brilliant..well done sean and gerry aswell!!
24/09/2005, 8:13 PM
Rossi 10/10
Redtop
24/09/2005, 9:06 PM
Tim 10/10
ur takin the **** rite were u watchin the same match as every1 else he was slaghtered by o donovan all night
24/09/2005, 9:12 PM
ur takin the **** rite were u watchin the same match as every1 else he was slaghtered by o donovan all night
yeah suppose i am.... just tryin to say that they all gave 110% even if the footballing ability wasnt always there from 1 or 2 of them! BTW, dont judge mccann on this game because he has been brilliant in recent weeks and last night he was playin out of position!
24/09/2005, 11:17 PM
fair f*cks to all the lads 110% all round. faz&kaps choked but u cud see it in faz's face&body language that he was sorry kinda. a lotta ppl are complimenting rovers on da performance but we have so much more in the tank creatively&a lotta da players were nervous&never got into full flow. surprised there wasn't more of us at the game but we made some noise for how many of us were there.
thank fukk we look likely to get promoted cos players like o'hara, raf, o'grady, burns deserve to be playin in front of crowds like that every week
red arrow
25/09/2005, 10:00 AM
anybody any idea how many at the match. the estimate was 4000 but it didnt look like that on the telly. if there was 4000 and we coservatively estimate 2000 x 15 euro that leaves gate at 30000 euro . rovers shar of that would be 40% which equals 12000. that would just about cover the weekend away and wages. i know for a fact that we are just about keeping our heads above water financially so it is very important that as many people as possible come to the next home game v dublin city. we need gates upward on 2000 people to keep club financially secure and if we are to make the premier divison we need money to buy players for next season. any comments.
LondonRover
25/09/2005, 11:19 AM
With the Jackeens only drawing 2-2 last night next Saturday is absolutely feckin massive now. A win for the BOR would put us 8 points clear with a game in hand. Anything less than 2000 (and it should be even more bearing in mind the size of the game) at the game would be a massive two fingers from the town and county to the club - I mean jesus, what else have people got to do for a couple of hours on a saturday night in Sligo?! :confused:
25/09/2005, 3:13 PM
i'd really love to think that there would be 2000+ on staurday but wouldn't get my hopes up. hopefully some ppl who watched on tv will have been impressed by the standard of football in friday's game&give this game a chance. i'd just over 4000 at friday's game
25/09/2005, 4:24 PM
Id say there will be a big crowd out for it.I know some people who used to go out to the showgrounds and are now ready to return after seeing them on TV.Call them sunshiners if you like but the more we get through the gates the better.
25/09/2005, 4:31 PM
Anyone any idea how many Rovers fans made it to the match in Turners? :confused:
25/09/2005, 5:49 PM
about 50
25/09/2005, 8:09 PM
I'd say about 50-60 only...dissapointing stuff but we made a lot of noise for the small amount of us that were there!
25/09/2005, 8:12 PM
about 50Is that all? A friend of mine said about 200. Wait til I see him again :D. It shows he's not the best at his maths though :rolleyes:.
25/09/2005, 8:15 PM
Is that all? A friend of mine said about 200. Wait til I see him again :D. It shows he's not the best at his maths though :rolleyes:.
Maybe were wrong but it was at the very, very most 100!
25/09/2005, 9:16 PM
i would maybe say 70 but even thats pushing it we were all in the one corner so its easier to judge
red_away
26/09/2005, 10:53 AM
If everyone who is going brought someone who would not normally go - hey presto!!! we would have a massive crowd - I am flying back for the game, just booked up!
Remember encourage, cajole or bully - but get more people thru the gate!
Some might even like it - but on the other hand why should we have to suffer alone!
26/09/2005, 11:05 AM
i would maybe say 70 but even thats pushing it we were all in the one corner so its easier to judgeWas this (http://www.sligorovers.com/images/match%20pics/2005/09/Connor%20salutes%20the%20Red%20Army.jpg) all that was there or was their more in another section of the ground? :confused:
26/09/2005, 11:21 AM
Interviews after the game and match highlights on Cork site (http://corkcityfc.ie/home.htm)
26/09/2005, 11:43 AM
as soon as faz hit that cross you knew we were going to score..eventually....ah memories..what might have been :rolleyes: :(
Bravo
26/09/2005, 12:44 PM
It was one of the worst Supported games I was ever at, in the corner where we were I would say 60/70 people & made plenty of noise (couldn’t here us on TV though) I would say another 20/30 scattered throughout the remaining stands (seen a few familiar faces out & about)
Taught the BoR done very well, Cork players had to resort to diving to win the game, they probably would have anyway but with 11 men on the field we could have got a draw, they didn’t want a Draw at all costs & it worked for them.
Class set up down there, the ground is class & the Fans were bang on.
26/09/2005, 12:46 PM
would you orgainse a bus again..did everyone turn up etc
26/09/2005, 12:51 PM
every1 turned up except my friend who isnt a rovers fan is actually from mayo :eek:
26/09/2005, 12:56 PM
It was one of the worst Supported games I was ever at, in the corner where we were I would say 60/70 people & made plenty of noise (couldn’t here us on TV though) I would say another 20/30 scattered throughout the remaining stands (seen a few familiar faces out & about)
Taught the BoR done very well, Cork players had to resort to diving to win the game, they probably would have anyway but with 11 men on the field we could have got a draw, they didn’t want a Draw at all costs & it worked for them.
Class set up down there, the ground is class & the Fans were bang on.
who was diving?
Wonder Boy O’Donovan, got a man sent off & won a penalty, Not a bad nights work. Or to Quote one report ‘’the consistently fragile-footed O’Donovan’’
would you orgainse a bus again..did everyone turn up etc
The Bus was Good craic & everything went well, as Gustavo said only the one no show, & we had a contingent from Leitrim as-well (fair play to him). It was a lot of work sweating over numbers & the sort, not worth it, I can see why the trust have problems…
Wonder Boy O’Donovan, got a man sent off & won a penalty, Not a bad nights work. Or to Quote one report ‘’the consistently fragile-footed O’Donovan’’
He was through on goal, and was clearly fouled. Nothing wrong with that. The penalty might not have been totally clearcut (haven't seen it on tv yet), but by all accounts the guy stuck his leg out which is always a risk. There's a difference between diving and going down when you could maybe stay up.
Don't be silly...:rolleyes:
this is the most blinkered view of a game I've ever seen.
City dominated the game from start to finish, had 3 clear penalties, never mind just one, and there wasn't a solitary dive from a City player during the entire game.
What about the broken nose John O'Flynn got off the ball?
OR the elbow Kearney got to the face?
You played well and gave a decent account of yourselves, but don't get carried away with scoring a goal at Turner's Cross.....
ranting rover
26/09/2005, 1:35 PM
Why do Cork have blue and white striped nets?
:rolleyes: ...That quote is either from you yourself or a Sligo report.
O'Donovan was persistently fouled by your left back, and a stronger referee would have sent your man off for that.
I'd love to know. The ground is owned by the MFA, so presumably it's their decision- maybe their colours?
Munster Football Association colours....
He was touched slightly on the left side & he dived like an American in Baghdad, for the peno he came over Raffs back, & you say I am blinkered, This is the way I saw it, its my opinion. Ye are getting worse than the Dubs we are all entitled to our opinion, If I wanted Cork fans pov I would have expressed my opinion on the Cork forum not the Rovers one.
Btw he was persistently fouled by our stand in left back (McCann) who had to cover for low whom in MY OPINION was unfairly sent off but it was a bit of shirt pulling innocent enough stuff.
He was touched slightly on the left side & he dived like an American in Baghdad, He was touched, i.e. he was fouled, i.e. it wasn't a dive. A dive is when someone goes over without contact. Your player made contact with the player and not the ball- what are you complaining about again?
for the peno he came over Raffs back, he put the ball past the player, and they collided. I've looked at it again on the highlights, and maybe an indirect free kick for obstruction would have been fairer, but it was a foul, no question.
This is the way I saw it, its my opinion. Ye are getting worse than the Dubs we are all entitled to our opinion, If I wanted Cork fans pov I would have expressed my opinion on the Cork forum not the Rovers one. Of course you are, as are we. No need to be so defensive about it
it was a bit of shirt pulling innocent enough stuff.
Innocent enough? It's against the rules and he should have been at least booked for it.
[A dive is when someone goes over without contact. Your player made contact with the player and not the ball-
He made a meal of it. Shame on Him! What about the etiquette of the game and the rules of fair play
maybe he did, but he didn't dive. IMO, if contact is made and it affects the chance of scoring (as it did in this case) its a foul and the player is entitled to go over.
What about the etiquette of the game and the rules of fair play
Well if your players had observed the "etiquette of the game and the rules of fair play", the referee would not have had to send one of them off, and give a penalty against another one.
You are entitled to your opinion, but when you contradict yourself, you are just being silly.
McSligo
26/09/2005, 3:13 PM
Enough of this petty stuff, the better team won on the night!.......... Like it or not, players diving or going down too easily is part of the game,
are we suggesting our forwards wouldn’t do the same if the opportunity arose?? Lets not be naive, we need to toughen up………….
In fairness to Rovers, they battled hard and gave a good account of themselves, but only for O’Hara and the woodwork it could have been
an embarrassing shoreline. Let’s not knock the opposition, they are a good team and deserved their win, we’ll learn from this game and move on
Enough of this petty stuff, the better team won on the night!.......... Like it or not, players diving or going down too easily is part of the game,
are we suggesting our forwards wouldn’t do the same if the opportunity arose?? Lets not be naive, we need to toughen up………….
In fairness to Rovers, they battled hard and gave a good account of themselves, but only for O’Hara and the woodwork it could have been
an embarrassing shoreline. Let’s not knock the opposition, they are a good team and deserved their win, we’ll learn from this game and move on
There was NO DIVING whatsoever, and to suggest or even imply that there was, and thats how City won the game, is silly and ridiculous.
Most Sligo fans can see that City were much the better side, Sligo gave them a bloody good game, I can't see why one poster has to claim that City won by diving.
26/09/2005, 3:24 PM
embarrassing shoreline.
Ah come on now.....we have the best shoreline in the country.
There was NO DIVING whatsoever, and to suggest or even imply that there was, and thats how City won the game, is silly and ridiculous.
Most Sligo fans can see that City were much the better side, Sligo gave them a bloody good game, I can't see why one poster has to claim that City won by diving.
I certainly agree the better team won, No doubt about it. But I am entitled to MY OPPINION, no matter what you think, I was at the game and left with no qualms about it But when I looked at it on the telly I couldn’t believe how little contact was made He made a meal of it........ we can go on and on and on