View Full Version : Cyprus Meet Up
Dawn_Run
23/09/2005, 1:54 PM
Has anybody suggested a meet up on the Friday and Saturday?
My crew are based in Larnaca and well up for a meet-up session on the Friday. Also on the saturday, are we gathering anywhere in Nicosia pre-game? Kerr's Tribe, hows the project coming along? This was yours wasnt it? ;)
Green Army Girl
23/09/2005, 2:05 PM
I think we should organize a session before the under 21's match to that match is kicking of at 4pm so it will be a long one and i think its looking like Luke Kellys before the senior match thanks to the girls you fellas cant organize anything.We will prob all meet up and have nothing to say to each other except wat do you really think of Robbie Keane :D
23/09/2005, 2:46 PM
It might be a good idea to meet up at the U21 game?
ccfcgirl
23/09/2005, 2:58 PM
This might be of interest ?
www.thelukekelly.com
The Luke Kelly welcomes the Irish Supporters to Cyprus
The Luke Kelly the only genuine Irish owned pub in Cyprus has supported Irish fans in Cyprus since Brian Kerr’s under 18 team beat Germany in the European final at Larnica. A team that included Damien Duff and Robbie Keane, both regular visitors to the pub.
The Team at The Luke Kelly is only too happy to help you make your trip as enjoyable as possible. To make your stay as pleasant as possible The Luke Kelly Team has organized a series of events, all proceeds from these events will be divided equally between St. Michael’s House (a school for special needs children) in Ireland and a Cypriot equivalent.
As most of our customers are coming over a two week period we have events both weeks. We have organized Play Station soccer tournament with week 1 final at 5.00 pm Saturday afternoon before the match, week 2 final will take place Thursday the 13th at 5.00 pm. Entrance fee 5cyp, entrance forms and details behind the bar. 1st prize half the entrance stake plus a magnificent inscribed trophy sponsored by Carwash Disco. Wednesday 5th we have a pub quiz ½ questions are sport and ½ are general knowledge. Entrance fee for a team of 4 is 20 cyp; winners receive half entrance fee plus a trophy sponsored by www.discoverayianapa.com forms and details behind the bar. On Friday 7th at 7pm a Pre Match Bar-B-Q price10 cyp includes all you can eat plus a free drink you are advised to book this early, as a limited number of tickets are available. Match day most buses will leave from the car park behind the bar check with your tour operator buses will leave approx 2 hrs before K.O. Sunday Après Match see yourself on TV we will show a recording of the match .
Wednesday 12th soccer match in Ayia Napa stadium Irish Fans (Mark Greaney’s team) V Cypriot Fans (Loucas’ team) bus leaves pub at 4.30 pm afterwards all back to pub for Ireland V Switzerland game at 9pm
The Luke Kelly can through an agency organize golf on Mon. Wed or Fridays cost is 59 cyp price includes club hire, green fees, lunch or dinner, and transport to and from course, customers should note the nearest golf course is 1 and ¾ hours from Ayia Napa.
The Luke Kelly recommends the following to our customers.
Car or bike hire Rainbow call Mario @ 0035799629623, Ham Yam @ 23721825 or Maco. @ 99605578
Breakfast Geraldine from Dublin does a great breakfast at Anonymous 100 yds from The Luke Kelly.
Eating out Blueberries ask for Chris, Paula’s ask for Paula, Naxos ask for Mario.
Be sure to tell them you were sent from The Luke Kelly and you will get a good deal
We have VIP free entrance to Carwash Disco ask at the bar
We always recommend Gerry McMahon Travel the Cyprus expert
Live Music Every Night with the fabulous Gerry O’Donovan enjoy the craic agus ceoil from 10 pm till late
Paul, Chris and Loucas welcome you to The Luke Kelly and Cyprus cead mile failte
23/09/2005, 3:32 PM
"The Luke Kelly welcomes the Irish Supporters to Cyprus"
i bet they do!!!
Cowboy
23/09/2005, 4:28 PM
"The Luke Kelly welcomes the Irish Supporters to Cyprus"
i bet they do!!!
Yeah I agree, last place I want to be is a paddywhackery Bar.I wonder will they do what every other Irish bar abroad does and charge more.
I reckon anyone in Ayia meet up the Thursday for a cans session. I have a villa.
Agree on the 21's game meet up too.
Anyone up for cans outside the stadium for a few hours?
I'm not a scumbag, it's just wealth management!
Saint Tom
23/09/2005, 6:15 PM
im feeling that one pal! any others?
ccfcgirl
23/09/2005, 9:20 PM
I reckon anyone in Ayia meet up the Thursday for a cans session. I have a villa.
Agree on the 21's game meet up too.
Anyone up for cans outside the stadium for a few hours?
I'm not a scumbag, it's just wealth management!
we are not Irish if we dont have a few cans on the streets and if everyone is welcome we would be well up for it .
24/09/2005, 12:14 AM
i'm up for the cans, i'm on a tight budget! :D
24/09/2005, 12:16 AM
U-21 games sounds good. Not really fond of going into Irish pubs on holidays, but I suppose one day out of five couldn't hurt!
i'm up for the cans, i'm on a tight budget! :D
Your in.
ccfcgirl
24/09/2005, 11:41 AM
Cyprus cant come quick enough ,Id say Irish bars is where most things will be happening ,Not all Aiya Napa will be open as we will be there at end of season .
Saint Tom
25/09/2005, 3:36 PM
How far away is the villa from the town centre col?
Green Army Girl
26/09/2005, 8:35 AM
How far away is the villa from Limassol? :D
How far away is the villa from the town centre col?
5 mins walk from centre (apparantly)
ccfcgirl
27/09/2005, 8:14 PM
Make sure when yer out there ye try Nissi beach when ye are in Cyprus .Djs play there all day .
Saint Tom
28/09/2005, 5:37 PM
so is there a place and time for this meet up or is the thread pre-trip boredom at work? :eek:
ccfcgirl
30/09/2005, 8:13 AM
so is there a place and time for this meet up or is the thread pre-trip boredom at work? :eek:When are you Flying out ?pRE-TRIP HANGOVER (city game last night ).I must get to work .,,,,,,,,,,,,,,:confused:
Saint Tom
30/09/2005, 6:29 PM
me and eddie (via stansted) and colie's crew (via prague) are out monday with Beavis following on thursday.
how bout you all?
ccfcgirl
30/09/2005, 6:47 PM
me and eddie (via stansted) and colie's crew (via prague) are out monday with Beavis following on thursday.
how bout you all?Me and five girls via stanstaed- larnaca staying in Anthea apartments aiya napa.23 others on our Ryanair flight to stanstead but then there going to phaphos
30/09/2005, 7:14 PM
Thursday via Budapest and Athens. Just myself travelling now, though I'm meeting up with a couple of others out there who don't have to worry about 20 holiday days per year...
Saint Tom
30/09/2005, 7:18 PM
what day is that ccfc girl?
Saint Tom
30/09/2005, 7:19 PM
think we are the the paloma(?) apartments.. i'll find out when i get there i suppose!
ccfcgirl
30/09/2005, 7:20 PM
Wed-Wed .
Saint Tom
30/09/2005, 7:23 PM
ah grand.
finished up work now.. thanks be to jaysus! bring it on! I work in a bank and I have never seen such a rush on foreign currency. every punter on the southside looking for Cypriot pounds!! must have fifty seperate orders! got mine today hehehe.
a word for others, you'll be lucky to get some at this stage
ccfcgirl
30/09/2005, 7:38 PM
I changed some as well ,I was in Cprus in July and I found that they had better rates over there.
Saint Tom
30/09/2005, 7:43 PM
the rate of exchange seems very expensive, but ive been told by a mate (who's a travel agent) to expect to pay CYP£1.50-£2.00 for a pint. its a little cheaper (not much) than here
30/09/2005, 8:09 PM
Do people nothave PASS cards or credit cards?
ccfcgirl
03/10/2005, 4:56 PM
Do people nothave PASS cards or credit cards?I dont have a visa and my cash card dont work out there ............................. :D
04/10/2005, 12:23 AM
flying out wednesday 5th from gatwick @ 09:10 - Larnaca :eek:
:D woo-hoo!
managed to book VERY last minute after complicated week
still on for a can meet-up then? where? :confused: :D
Beavis
04/10/2005, 5:53 PM
still on for a can meet-up then? where? :confused: :D
The lads are gone...their dreams of meeting you have faded and they're now in Ayia Napa feeling gloom and trying to salvage what remains of a ruined trip.....
05/10/2005, 5:37 AM
The lads are gone...their dreams of meeting you have faded and they're now in Ayia Napa feeling gloom and trying to salvage what remains of a ruined trip.....
heh heh bol-locks :D in gatwick now, fcuking knackered, maybe last time on foot.ie til i come back, no doubt run into a few people with cans ;)
Condex
05/10/2005, 9:25 AM
Anyone else on the Helios flight to Larnaca tonight at 10:15pm from Heathrow, as suggested by another poster I'm taking a duffel coat and a flask of hot tea :D
(and a set of rosary beads)
Yeah anyone that wants can come to my villa. It's a total pad, 3 stories & rooftop balcony. It's in Napa. Tell the taxi man, Evergreen villa, Kokinos. You can't miss it, it's the one with the 20ft x 15ft Ireland flag tied to the front!
Athenryboy
05/10/2005, 3:31 PM
fair play colie, might wander up for a look some night! looks like a good weekend to be had by all!!
Cowboy
10/10/2005, 12:37 AM
As a harded cynic:rolleyes: this place was actually OK. Good service & prices the same as rest of Ayia Napa(generally a rip-off by Cypriot standards!).
I'm a cynic too but the Blarney stone in Larnaca was cheaper than other bars and better service, they even had some guy singin Johnny cash on karoake:)
11/10/2005, 1:03 PM
I'm a cynic too but the Blarney stone in Larnaca was cheaper than other bars
We were in the pub next door on Sunday night - the owner said the Blarney Stone put their prices up 70p a pint for the Irish. The owner also came into the other pub and offered everyone a free pint to get them into his pub. Wasn't very popular!
Cowboy
11/10/2005, 1:08 PM
We were in the pub next door on Sunday night - the owner said the Blarney Stone put their prices up 70p a pint for the Irish. The owner also came into the other pub and offered everyone a free pint to get them into his pub. Wasn't very popular!
Yeah I've since heard that the locals from the blarney were not too happy, I still found it cheaper than other bars though and faster service. I wonder had all the bars put up their prices, one we went to in Nicosia was definitely taking the p***
Saint Tom
11/10/2005, 2:51 PM
luke kelly's was disgraceful. the pints were dreadful and you couldnt get served for love nor money
i had bought bottles for the bus to go to Nicosia and the owner of Luke Kelly's promptly told me that they were not permitted, but he would galdly sell me a 330ml can of budweiser for CYP2.00. robbing *******.
The bus had no aircon and we all paid 20euro for the privilidge of travelling for a whole hour. Mind you a crowd of lads from Finglad provided cracking entertainment
11/10/2005, 3:18 PM
luke kelly's was disgraceful
Finbarrs in Nicosia was the worst ever!
Couldn't tell you how much drink cost because in our 40 minutes there, we failed to get served.
These lads (http://peadar.yafro.com/photo/9763802) had the right idea. (http://peadar.yafro.com/photo/9763803)
They bought the buckets and ice and everything.
Enterprise Ireland, I was calling them. :)
ccfcgirl
13/10/2005, 1:52 PM
[QUOTE=gonzo]As a harded cynic:rolleyes: this place was actually OK. Good service & prices the same as rest of Ayia Napa(generally a rip-off by Cypriot standards!).[/QUOTE Be sides match day ,I never went there
I can't believe you're still going on about it Tom. Jaysus that's about 3 times a day everyday since it happened. It's not like you even bought any of the fookeen cans either.
holteender
13/10/2005, 4:50 PM
Had a few drinks in Luke Kellys, tried to avoid the irish bars as much as i can but ive got to say that Paul the owner was a true gent. I showed up 10 mins before the bus left for the u21s and when he told me it was full, he was on the phone organising a taxi for me and my mate.
Dawn_Run
14/10/2005, 10:20 AM
I think you'll find that most of the crew that were based in Larnaca were not ripped off at all. We certainly werent. The most we paid for a pint was 2 Cypriot Pounds.. and that was in our hotel !!
The locals were very accomodating, got a bit annoyed over noise in the wee hours which is understandable.
The whole affair was Cheap-as-chips.
ccfcgirl
14/10/2005, 12:52 PM
I think you'll find that most of the crew that were based in Larnaca were not ripped off at all. We certainly werent. The most we paid for a pint was 2 Cypriot Pounds.. and that was in our hotel !!
The locals were very accomodating, got a bit annoyed over noise in the wee hours which is understandable.
The whole affair was Cheap-as-chips.
I hope you kept some money and brought a present home for Breda;) ?
Dawn_Run
14/10/2005, 2:09 PM
I hope you kept some money and brought a present home for Breda;) ?
Got her a lovely nice roundy football but someone nicked it at the U-21 game so, Slab of KEO and 1500 fags, she can share if she wants!
ccfcgirl
14/10/2005, 3:59 PM
Got her a lovely nice roundy football but someone nicked it at the U-21 game so, Slab of KEO and 1500 fags, she can share if she wants!My big Cork city Flag got nicked , ............Keo and fags were a great present to bring home ...........
14/10/2005, 5:31 PM
My big Cork city Flag got nicked , ............Keo and fags were a great present to bring home ...........
Better keep your eye out for it next time and if you see it grab it and run like hell!!! Feckers! That's dead sly and a horrible thing to do, big flags are expensive! :mad: Hope you meet with it again! :D
14/10/2005, 5:32 PM
Got her a lovely nice roundy football but someone nicked it at the U-21 game so, Slab of KEO and 1500 fags, she can share if she wants!
:D :D Class!