View Full Version : Best breakthrough player of 2005...

ThatGuy
22/09/2005, 4:31 PM
IMO there are 3 candidates:

In no particular order...

Pat McCourt: Shamrock Rovers & Derry City
John-Paul Kelly: Bohemians
Andrei Georgescu: Bray Wanderers

McCourt seems to be a real fancy dan on closer inspection. His loses possession trying to do too much, and I believe that him losing possession resulted in both Bohs goals last week? At least one of them. He is a great talent though and a great signing by Stephen Kenny. Of my three candidates he has certainly made the biggest splash.

Joxer is an absolute gem. He is a fool for giving up on such a high level of football in Britain when he was wanted so badly, and if he curbs his temper he could develop into a class of player rarely seen in Ireland.

Andrei Georgescu I have only seen twice, but he looks like an absolute class act. Could be a real star of the league at a bigger club.

22/09/2005, 4:33 PM
Gary Dicker? Steven Hurley?

22/09/2005, 5:24 PM
Joxer and McCourt are great players. As someone who sees Franco week in, week out, I think he's a really good player but not one of the best breakthrough players. He doesn't know when to pass and he's not consistent enough. He does have amazing ability though.

I'd say Stephen Hurley is also up there, a Wicklowman himself. I can't think of any other players that have made a great impact but the Dundalk left back, Grimes(?), does seem very good for a seventeen year old. It's scary though that he's my age and playing First Division football.

22/09/2005, 5:25 PM
Not sure if he fits your definition of 'breakthrough player' but Mark Farren must be close to most improved.

22/09/2005, 5:32 PM
Not sure if he fits your definition of 'breakthrough player' but Mark Farren must be close to most improved.

I think Farren is most improved at top level but is not new to the league so doesn't qualify.

I would add Roy O'Donovan to the list. U21 International, Scored away in Europe & injured Heary to make league more intersting this season.

22/09/2005, 5:35 PM
& injured Heary to make league more intersting this season.
Cos that makes a great player. :rolleyes: :(

If someone were to say Dan O'Connor was the best player cos he almost broke O'Donovan's neck, there'd be hell to pay.

harry crumb
22/09/2005, 5:41 PM
Roy O'Donovan at Cork City
Gary Dicker at UCD
Pat McCourt at Derry

22/09/2005, 5:44 PM
Cos that makes a great player. :rolleyes: :(
If someone were to say Dan O'Connor was the best player cos he almost broke O'Donovan's neck, there'd be hell to pay.

It was a joke. I've rarely seen O'Donovan hack a player down as more often then not he just doesn't pull out of tackle & as likely to injure himself as anyone. He is young & first season of senior football & aggressive in good way - its that play that allowed him brush aside Arsenals Clichy in U21 International.

Dyl10
22/09/2005, 5:54 PM
Darren quigley and maybe stephan bradley could be up there

22/09/2005, 5:58 PM
Quigley played for us last year so probably doesn't count for this.

22/09/2005, 5:58 PM
It depends on your criteria. Quigley has half a season behind him from last season and Dicker a handful of appearances. Both have now gotten themselves U-19 and U-21 callups. Hurley however has never made a first team appearance prior to this season.

22/09/2005, 6:18 PM
O'Donovan
Dicker
McCourt

in that order

22/09/2005, 6:26 PM
Hasn't McCourt fizzled out since his move to Derry? It seems like they're employing him as a supersub as opposed to being superstar as Shamrock Rovers.

22/09/2005, 6:28 PM
Barry Murphy
Pat McCourt
O' Donovan

In that order with Murphy streets ahead of anyone else.

22/09/2005, 6:47 PM
Murphy is the lad who filled the void of goalkeeper left since Russel Payne started playing for you right? ;) How old is he?

22/09/2005, 7:17 PM
20 years old afaik and right through the ranks...

To quote a barstooler but ex-Rovers match going friend after the win in Bray:

"He's the best keeper they've had since Milltown"

I don't know whether I'd go that far now...Jodi Byrne and Alan O'Neill would be in front of him, but give him a few years.... :)

22/09/2005, 7:20 PM
biased but .. certainly in the first division either liam burns or faz kudozovic

22/09/2005, 7:24 PM
Robbie Kelleher (Limerick)
McCourt (Derry)
O'Hara (Sligo Rvs)

22/09/2005, 7:45 PM
From what I've heard, Kupono Low is a good player.

Colie
22/09/2005, 8:02 PM
Gotta be Dicker anyway

joeraki
22/09/2005, 8:17 PM
Breakthough....... hhhmmm not sure as I only see whats on TV. But that young lad from Rovers the keeper seems to be a find. I remember the SR v Shels game and he pulled off some saves. The last min point blank save v J Byrne was outsanding, the ball was actually behind him before he got a hand to it

Sam Savic
22/09/2005, 8:55 PM
Barry Murphy is an exceptional goalkeeper. If a "world class save" was equal to a goal Barry would be top scorer in the League. Safest pair of hands in the League. Meticulous with his match day preparation. 100% concentration and professionalism on the pitch.
The find of the season.

22/09/2005, 9:06 PM
He's been good any time I've seen him alright, though I haven't seen enough to judge just how good he is.

22/09/2005, 9:09 PM
I cannot directly comment but I'd content Quigley is as good as him. Excellent positioning and very clear catcher of the ball, good kicking with both feet and can pull off the obligitary world class saves. Plus he's a year younger and has been called into the U-19s and U-21s.

Bosco
22/09/2005, 9:10 PM
Mc court
O'donavan
Dicker

22/09/2005, 9:30 PM
I'd say Stephen Hurley is also up there, a Wicklowman himself. I can't think of any other players that have made a great impact but the Dundalk left back, Grimes(?), does seem very good for a seventeen year old. It's scary though that he's my age and playing First Division football.

Yeah, Shane Grimes, he is very talented - got man of the match again tonight. He scored a blinder of a free kick in the first half and loves to get down the left wing. Hopefully he won't be poached off us.

22/09/2005, 9:32 PM
Sounds like just the player we need! Has he done his Leaving Cert? ;)

22/09/2005, 10:04 PM
Pat McCourt and Andrei Georgescu .... cant seperate them.
Roy O'Donovan has been great at times but really cant put him up with the two lads. He has gone missing in some vital games, he is young and no doubt will be a great player for us, but hes just not the best break through this year.

22/09/2005, 11:08 PM
Lads cant believe nobody has mentioned Marco Van Leecho (mark leech) - natural talent, hopefully we'll see more of him in the final third of this season but i guarantee you'll all be talking about him next season.

MccCourt obviously.

UCD keeper is a must. I hear Shay Kelly will be on his way to ucd next season, where does that leave quigley :confused: (off on his travels somehere ;) )

Rovers young keeper also deserves a mention

23/09/2005, 8:28 AM
Lads cant believe nobody has mentioned Marco Van Leecho (mark leech) - natural talent, hopefully we'll see more of him in the final third of this season but i guarantee you'll all be talking about him next season.
Yeah, what little we saw of him at UCD suggested he had plenty of talent. Questions of temperment gone?

UCD keeper is a must. I hear Shay Kelly will be on his way to ucd next season, where does that leave quigley :confused: (off on his travels somehere ;) )
I hadn't heard that. If we get Kelly though, it'll be to replace the then-poached Quigley. That said, if we lose Quigley, Gallagher's a good young keeper too (was first choice for start of last season).

23/09/2005, 9:19 AM
Yeah, what little we saw of him at UCD suggested he had plenty of talent. Questions of temperment gone?

I hadn't heard that. If we get Kelly though, it'll be to replace the then-poached Quigley. That said, if we lose Quigley, Gallagher's a good young keeper too (was first choice for start of last season).

Leechos attitude is spot on.

Heard that rumour about kelly going to ye last weekend

23/09/2005, 9:20 AM
Leechos attitude is spot on.

Heard that rumour about kelly going to ye last weekend
Thank god, Cassin the break through player of 2006 then ;) :D

declan hide
23/09/2005, 9:27 AM
[QUOTE=gael353]Robbie Kelleher (Limerick)
QUOTE]

will you shut up gael or he wont be with us next season!!!

declan hide
23/09/2005, 9:28 AM
[QUOTE=ThatGuy]
QUOTE]

he has looked really good for bohs but what happened him at liverpool? breach of discipline? they had high hopes for him over there i thought?
another richie partridge?

hoops1
23/09/2005, 9:30 AM
Tony Sheridan :eek:
Mark Kenny :eek:

Gary Dicker UCD

bluemovie
23/09/2005, 10:29 AM
Curtis Fleming?

ThatGuy
23/09/2005, 10:38 AM
[QUOTE=ThatGuy]
QUOTE]

he has looked really good for bohs but what happened him at liverpool? breach of discipline? they had high hopes for him over there i thought?
another richie partridge?
Do a google/yahoo search for him and you will see how highly he was rated. His departure was even covered in the Liverpool papers.

Official line is he was home-sick or couldn't settle in Liverpool, and apparently Ronnie Whelan was in Dublin trying to persuade him to come-back before he signed for Bohs.

Funny thing is though that Celtic wanted to take him, as other clubs in Britain did too, and he trained with Ipswich. He seems a bit of an eccentric, and that is not just from judging what happens on the pitch.

His deal with Bohs is apparently full of clauses which prevent us from selling him to another British club bar back to Liverpool apparently.

23/09/2005, 11:16 AM
I can't see any sense to Shay Kelly coming back unless as John said that someone poaches Quigley. I'd say Quigley would come at quite a price. Surely U-19 and U-21 callups would make good arguing for his worth at a tribunal. Only question is, are we entitled to a fee? It's only roughly 1 year since his debut, how long has he been at the club? :confused:

declan hide
23/09/2005, 12:01 PM
[QUOTE=ThatGuy][QUOTE=declan hide]
Do a google/yahoo search for him and you will see how highly he was rated. QUOTE]

did that google search. bohs were lucy to get him....

"John grew up on a farm just outside of Lloydminster. He played minor hockey in the Lloydminster system and one year of Midget hockey in Marwayne before playing one year of Junior B in Vermilion.

At age sixteen John left home and played Junior A Tier II in Maple Ridge, BC. From there he went to play three years of Major A Junior hockey with the New Westminster Bruins ins winning back to back Memorial Cup Championships. He was drafted by the Los Angeles Kings in 1979 going fiftieth overall in the third round. John played over four hundred games in the seven seasons he was with the Kings"

Krstic
23/09/2005, 12:09 PM
[QUOTE=ThatGuy][QUOTE=declan hide]
Do a google/yahoo search for him and you will see how highly he was rated. QUOTE]

did that google search. bohs were lucy to get him....

"John grew up on a farm just outside of Lloydminster. He played minor hockey in the Lloydminster system and one year of Midget hockey in Marwayne before playing one year of Junior B in Vermilion.

At age sixteen John left home and played Junior A Tier II in Maple Ridge, BC. From there he went to play three years of Major A Junior hockey with the New Westminster Bruins ins winning back to back Memorial Cup Championships. He was drafted by the Los Angeles Kings in 1979 going fiftieth overall in the third round. John played over four hundred games in the seven seasons he was with the Kings"

:D :D :D :D Cracker!!!

23/09/2005, 12:23 PM
Barry Murphy is possibly best keeper in the league although hard to tell in relegation battle.

How old is he anyway? Does he qualify for U21s?

ThatGuy
23/09/2005, 12:27 PM
After paying Rovers €10,000 for Mark O'Brien I will take the hype surrounding their new young goalkeeper with a pinch of salt!

23/09/2005, 12:29 PM

Agreed, he's looked excellent whenever I've seen him. A potential 20+ goal a season man when he hits his prime.

23/09/2005, 2:14 PM
I hear Shay Kelly will be on his way to ucd next season, where does that leave quigley :confused:
If he's still with us it'll leave him on the pitch looking at Kelly warming the bench.

Poor Student, Quigley was on the bench for us from the start of last season until he broke into the team bar a short period when he was doing his Leaving. That'll be two years by the end of this season. :)

Cosmo, Leech played for us two years ago. Does he still count as breakthrough? :p Quality player though. :(

23/09/2005, 2:40 PM
Does Joey Gamble count? He only played about 10 games last year had has probably been the 'enforcer' type midfielder of the season. A class act and as consistant as a pint of Beamish in a world gone mad! :)

Roverstillidie
23/09/2005, 2:50 PM
After paying Rovers €10,000 for Mark O'Brien I will take the hype surrounding their new young goalkeeper with a pinch of salt!

Grunt, Keddy, O'Brien, Palmer.... Do the boyezzzz buy players soely based on information gleaned on the Ultras MB? :D

Jaime
23/09/2005, 3:30 PM
Grunt, Keddy, O'Brien, Palmer.... Do the boyezzzz buy players soely based on information gleaned on the Ultras MB? :D

Grant actually tries, Keddy has been one of our most consistent performers this season, and aside from the fact that he wishes he was still playing for Rovers (and probably can't want for the next do in Knightsbridge), and makes no effort, Palmer clearly has ability. Mark O Brien clearly has potential (although not €10,000 worth). So apart from O Brien's price tag, and the fact that Jason McGuinness has turned out good (as we knew he would - he just didn't get on with Rain man), our business with Rovers hasn't exactly been a disaster.

Dyl10
23/09/2005, 4:45 PM
Does mccourt count as a breakthrough player??? because in fairness he already had an international cap before going to rovers!! so maybe he would be in the catagory of best new player as opposed to best breakthrough player!?!

23/09/2005, 4:55 PM
Michael Funston has been Harps most consistent player in a very difficult season. A hardworking midfielder with a great energy. He only moved from junior football during last season.

Colie
23/09/2005, 5:13 PM
Does Joey Gamble count? He only played about 10 games last year had has probably been the 'enforcer' type midfielder of the season. A class act and as consistant as a pint of Beamish in a world gone mad! :)
Looks brilliant whenever I've seen him allright. I'd put him down for one of the best breakthrough but I'd have to disagree with the Beamish comment. :rolleyes: