Bohemians v Galway
Drogheda v Dundalk
Derry v Shelbourne

First Division play off Final

Saturday 2nd November

Bray v Athlone (16:00)

sbgawa
30/10/2024, 12:46 PM
Have to give Rovers credit for 5 wins in last 6 to keep Shels honest and also to Shels for winning two in a row when the chips were down after 1 win in ten previously.
With the way the league has gonr this year it would be entirely believanle for Shels to lose in Derry and for Rovers to lose at home to Waterford ....Again.
The subplot of Derry needing to win to avoid double devastation potentially of losing the cup final and missing out on Europe should keep them honest so its going to be interesting.

Would rather see Bray come up tahn Athlone so good luck to them

dcfc_legend9
30/10/2024, 12:55 PM
My enthusiasm has plummeted this week after our players decided they wanted to go out with a whimper.

Personally wouldn't want Shels winning the league in the Brandywell and hope that we can muster up some sort of pride and do a job. I wouldn't hold my breath though.

Sooner league and the cup is out of the way the better. I need a break at this stage albeit a week in the off season ill be pulling my hair out again.

P.S dont want Rovers winning the league either but hey ho.

Premier Division

Friday1st November (All 19:45)

Sligo v St Pats - PATS win
Shamrock Rovers v Waterford - ROVERS win
Bohemians v Galway - Draw
Drogheda v Dundalk - DUNDALK win
Derry v Shelbourne - SHELS win - Our players have let us down time and time again so what does another one matter.

Saturday 2nd November

Bray v Athlone (16:00) - ATHLONE Win

dundalkfc10
30/10/2024, 2:05 PM
My enthusiasm has plummeted this week after our players decided they wanted to go out with a whimper.

Personally wouldn't want Shels winning the league in the Brandywell and hope that we can muster up some sort of pride and do a job. I wouldn't hold my breath though.

Sooner league and the cup is out of the way the better. I need a break at this stage albeit a week in the off season ill be pulling my hair out again.

P.S dont want Rovers winning the league either but hey ho.

Premier Division

Friday1st November (All 19:45)

Sligo v St Pats - PATS win
Shamrock Rovers v Waterford - ROVERS win
Bohemians v Galway - Draw
Drogheda v Dundalk - DUNDALK win
Derry v Shelbourne - SHELS win - Our players have let us down time and time again so what does another one matter.

Saturday 2nd November

Bray v Athlone (16:00) - ATHLONE Win

Id be very surprised if we win on Friday. I've never dreaded going to a football game in all my life, even the young fella said today Daddy Friday is going to be hard listening to them singing about us all game

kksaints
30/10/2024, 2:17 PM
Id be very surprised if we win on Friday. I've never dreaded going to a football game in all my life, even the young fella said today Daddy Friday is going to be hard listening to them singing about us all game

I assume Live It Up will be played on the speakers in United Park either before or after the match.

dundalkfc10
30/10/2024, 2:43 PM
I assume Live It Up will be played on the speakers in United Park either before or after the match.

Hopefully after.
I've already told the little fella, we are going to the exit with 10 mins to go to see can we leave.
After the trouble in Oriel on the pitch, they must have kept us back for 45 mins after the cup game. I expect their fans to stay and team do usual end season lap of honour so it could be even longer on Friday

Since the home entrance is at the car park, no chance of them letting us out first either

Glen Of Aherlow
30/10/2024, 3:21 PM
Hopefully after.
I've already told the little fella, we are going to the exit with 10 mins to go to see can we leave.
After the trouble in Oriel on the pitch, they must have kept us back for 45 mins after the cup game. I expect their fans to stay and team do usual end season lap of honour so it could be even longer on Friday

Since the home entrance is at the car park, no chance of them letting us out first either

Maybe Drogheda will do what Pats did , let the away fans out first and tell the home fans they're being held back for the lap of honour .

that was a resounding success

31/10/2024, 3:18 PM
Have to give Rovers credit for 5 wins in last 6 to keep Shels honest and also to Shels for winning two in a row when the chips were down after 1 win in ten previously.
With the way the league has gonr this year it would be entirely believanle for Shels to lose in Derry and for Rovers to lose at home to Waterford ....Again.
The subplot of Derry needing to win to avoid double devastation potentially of losing the cup final and missing out on Europe should keep them honest so its going to be interesting.

Would rather see Bray come up tahn Athlone so good luck to them

Its a season that many will be saying what if! Any sort of decent run like stringing 4 or 5 wins together would have had sides with something signficiant to play for. St Pats its was just about too little too late. Derry well its Derry, Rovers may do it in the maost dramatic way and did some job to get back in to the mix but like Derry, they should be clear and not a lst day winner take all. Its mad that Shels are still top after going 8 games without a win in the run but they stopped the rot and deserve it really even if they dont seal the deal. When you consider how a few weeks ago Galway had an outside chance, there is a old time feel to the league this year where being mean, hard to beat and taking 1-0 might have been enough - away from the trendy playing the ball out from the back and walking it in to the net. Targeting games rather than going all out ever game seems to be a throw back too - Galway/Shels compared to Derry again on GF/GA, head to head could be interesting.

Not that it matters now but Dundalk were pretty toothless all season. Gullan isnt a bad player but he was never a lone striker, hold the ball up type. Cameron Elliot want a striker either, O'Kane and Horgan played up front a couple of times on an experimental basis. One game before the break Gullan and Elliot played ina 2 up front and looked like it had potential, certainly more than other options. Soooo its a what if thing, that along with other ways that tactics have gne full circle that a 442 might have given us a chance. The damage was done 1st half of the season and it was all catchup after. When you look at how Pierrot came good, was summer before he scored and Douglas Taylor then in on loan, 'cheaper' options than Dundalk took on and it was the difference.
Oh yeah and the keepers, even with clangers, chopping and changing keepers just kills that connection with the centre halves thats needed.

Anyways fair dues to all sides that have made it an intriguing season. Even due credit to JC for his pragmatic approach getting close to Europe, hopefully he will kick on next season. Be it Shels or Rovers to win the league congrats for being i the position yer in last day and to Cork for promotion, be interesting to see the bridge the promotion gap. St Pats have plenty to look forward to. Waterford and Sligo I hope can better this season. Bohs, well they had better improve as like Dundalk there wont be a basement club to block that trapdoor in 2025. Derry have always been a favoured other club for me but not winning the league either of the last 2 seasons Im not sure they will get such a good opportunity next year.

Enjoy the off season folks. It wont be an easy one for Dundlk fans!!

Kingswood Rover
31/10/2024, 6:13 PM
Super stuff Nesta always thoughtful and interesting stuff posted and well worth reading. Happy off season and 2025 maybe year 1 in the lets get Dundalk sorted long-term once and for all project.

Dermobohs
31/10/2024, 6:36 PM
Don’t you worry your oul muja head about the bohs nesta, back with a bang next season!
Agree (painfully) the ringsend 2 deserve to be where they are… the league table NEVER lies.
Pats weren’t unlucky, just got going too late with arguably a squad only second to shams.
Bradley, even if he scrapes the league, has massively domestically underachieved again, I’d win with that squad.
Duff has a big enough budget don’t get suckered by the poor out nonsense, wages at shels are big for the top men, but he’s still managed to get them up a level, to be above pats and Derry takes a bit of know how.

placid casual
31/10/2024, 10:47 PM
So even if Bradley wins the league with Rovers,you still think he'll have underachieved in some way yeah? ?
Are you allowed near scissors?

01/11/2024, 12:19 AM
Would Badley have chosen to leave it to a last day and out of Rovers hands if Shels win? If the answer is no then he has underachieved and probably by his own results projections before a ball was kicked though he was probably looking at Derry rather than Shels to target. Its relative as you know, why people would say fair play to Galways but roll the eyes at Derry even if Derry finish higher in the league. Maybe Bradley has perfected his strategy, just peak and win on GD, dont waste any unnecessary time or energy, maybe he really is that good as a coach, watch out Pep.

Could nearly start the 2025 predictions thread Dermo. Have Bohs fans taken to Reynolds now or is the jury still out.

Eminence Grise
01/11/2024, 8:01 AM
After the Covid season, Rovers had 78,79 and 72 points in the final standings, an average of 2.17, 2.19 and 2 points per game. The Covid season was 48 from 18 games - 2.67 points per game. Heading into the last game of this season they could end up on 58, 59 or 61 points - 1,61 to 1.69 points per game. Maybe it's not underachievement, but it's definitely a lower achievement. Maybe it's a good manager getting all he can from a squad that's he's let go a season past its peak: even if performances and standards slipped a bit below last season's points per game, Rovers would have hit 62 points and won the league two or three games ago. That fall off can't be imagined away. One game to go, they've done well to still be in with a shout, but, where in the last four years they were convincing champions, now they're relying on Shels to slip up - if Shels had won just one of the four games that they drew in their slump, we'd have been talking about Rovers the former champions, not the contenders, since last week. Even if Rovers squeak the title tonight and do the five in a row, the club needs to hit the refresh button. Changing anything that looks stale - players, coaches and manager - has to be up for consideration.

Glen Of Aherlow
01/11/2024, 8:09 AM
After the Covid season, Rovers had 78,79 and 72 points in the final standings, an average of 2.17, 2.19 and 2 points per game. The Covid season was 48 from 18 games - 2.67 points per game. Heading into the last game of this season they could end up on 58, 59 or 61 points - 1,61 to 1.69 points per game. Maybe it's not underachievement, but it's definitely a lower achievement. Maybe it's a good manager getting all he can from a squad that's he's let go a season past its peak: even if performances and standards slipped a bit below last season's points per game, Rovers would have hit 62 points and won the league two or three games ago. That fall off can't be imagined away. One game to go, they've done well to still be in with a shout, but, where in the last four years they were convincing champions, now they're relying on Shels to slip up - if Shels had won just one of the four games that they drew in their slump, we'd have been talking about Rovers the former champions, not the contenders, since last week. Even if Rovers squeak the title tonight and do the five in a row, the club needs to hit the refresh button. Changing anything that looks stale - players, coaches and manager - has to be up for consideration.

First world problems

Eminence Grise
01/11/2024, 9:23 AM
Succinct. But then, so too is: pig + lipstick = pig.

Dermobohs
01/11/2024, 9:55 AM
So even if Bradley wins the league with Rovers,you still think he'll have underachieved in some way yeah? ?
Are you allowed near scissors?
You don’t feel he could have got more out of that squad? Biggest most expensive squad, huge players like Byrne Burke mandriou watts ferritin etc., really should not be needing shelbourne to slip up to win it.
Everyone has been poor but you would have thought that left the gate open for the winners of the last four titles to slip in and take it going away.

Dermobohs
01/11/2024, 9:58 AM
Would Badley have chosen to leave it to a last day and out of Rovers hands if Shels win? If the answer is no then he has underachieved and probably by his own results projections before a ball was kicked though he was probably looking at Derry rather than Shels to target. Its relative as you know, why people would say fair play to Galways but roll the eyes at Derry even if Derry finish higher in the league. Maybe Bradley has perfected his strategy, just peak and win on GD, dont waste any unnecessary time or energy, maybe he really is that good as a coach, watch out Pep.

Could nearly start the 2025 predictions thread Dermo. Have Bohs fans taken to Reynolds now or is the jury still out.
Jury is resembling a lynch mob atm nesta, he’s most definitely having to hit the ground running next season. Have heard he’ll cut as many as seven from the squad.

01/11/2024, 10:05 AM
Don’t you worry your oul muja head about the bohs nesta, back with a bang next season!
Agree (painfully) the ringsend 2 deserve to be where they are… the league table NEVER lies.
Pats weren’t unlucky, just got going too late with arguably a squad only second to shams.
Bradley, even if he scrapes the league, has massively domestically underachieved again, I’d win with that squad.
Duff has a big enough budget don’t get suckered by the poor out nonsense, wages at shels are big for the top men, but he’s still managed to get them up a level, to be above pats and Derry takes a bit of know how.

Have to agree with you about Pats. We can’t say we were unlucky. At the start of the season I genuinely thought we had the squad to challenge, so the start to the season was deeply disappointing. We’ve had a remarkable run in, but really, if. Shels, Rovers and Derry had their acts together we wouldn’t have got near the top three. However, we’re motoring now, and can look forward to next season with excitement. No guarantees of course, but it’s looking good.

01/11/2024, 10:13 AM
You don’t feel he could have got more out of that squad? Biggest most expensive squad, huge players like Byrne Burke mandriou watts ferritin etc., really should not be needing shelbourne to slip up to win it.
Everyone has been poor but you would have thought that left the gate open for the winners of the last four titles to slip in and take it going away.
Plus how many points has Pohls cost them? It was Bradley's call to effectively replace Mannus with Lee Steacy. That wouldn't have you confident for the rebuild that clearly needs to happen.

And given every year since covid, Rovers have been going backwards (won by 16, then 13, then 7, now at best by one point, all despite huge Euro money), and given Pat's are a clear threat for next year (and the huge Euro money that means), I think it's reasonable to have question marks over Bradley.

01/11/2024, 10:29 AM
I would reckon Bradley deserves as much of a chance of a rebuild of the squad as much as the current squad deserved their chance to go for 5 in a row.

It's certain for everyone looking in from the outside that Rovers need to clear out and start again, and there's little excuse for doing so now as they have plenty of money behind them to do it.

Glen Of Aherlow
01/11/2024, 11:16 AM
Have to agree with you about Pats. We can’t say we were unlucky. At the start of the season I genuinely thought we had the squad to challenge, so the start to the season was deeply disappointing. We’ve had a remarkable run in, but really, if. Shels, Rovers and Derry had their acts together we wouldn’t have got near the top three. However, we’re motoring now, and can look forward to next season with excitement. No guarantees of course, but it’s looking good.

Not sure you could say at the start of the season we had a squad second only to Rovers . We did'nt have Anang , Keena , Elbouzedi ,Kazeem until halfway and Tom Grivosti and Axel were out injured until well into the season .

dundalkfc10
01/11/2024, 12:02 PM
All this talk about Pats next season being certs and favourites is way over the top imo

Obvs they have an excellent manager and should go close, but Rovers will be alot better and Derry will be too without Higgins as they have money to get the top players too

As for Rovers underachieving, in a few weeks you could be looking at a team that's League Champions 5 in a row and qualified for the knock out stages of a European competiton.
I doubt any Rovers fan cares if they win the league by 20 or Goal Difference, a title is a title

01/11/2024, 12:30 PM
Rovers will be alot better
Citation needed. When was the last time Rovers were stronger than the previous season? 2020 maybe.

and Derry will be too without Higgins as they have money to get the top players too
This is also far from certain. It's the LoI after all. If Higgins goes (is he going?), who will replace him? Will that person be any good? I think Kenny and Duff have shown the standard of manager in the LoI is quite poor.

As for Rovers underachieving, in a few weeks you could be looking at a team that's League Champions 5 in a row and qualified for the knock out stages of a European competiton.
I doubt any Rovers fan cares if they win the league by 20 or Goal Difference, a title is a title
Rovers fans probably won't care for sure. But if they do win the title this year, they shouldn't be falling over the line, they shouldn't be going backwards in terms of points, and they shouldn't be avoiding successive first round European elimination by virtue of a missed penalty. It doesn't paint a good trend for future years. Celtic would sack their manager for what Bradley has achieved this year for example.

joey B
01/11/2024, 12:59 PM
Will there be many Dundalk fans in Drogheda tonight? I’d personally rather be anywhere else if I was a Dundalk fan but I’m sure there will still be a crowd down…..

Kiki Balboa
01/11/2024, 5:04 PM
Will there be many Dundalk fans in Drogheda tonight? I’d personally rather be anywhere else if I was a Dundalk fan but I’m sure there will still be a crowd down…..

Sold out away section apparently.

01/11/2024, 5:55 PM
17 and a half years after I first set foot in Tolka, I'm actually in disbelief it's come down to this tonight.

I haven't enjoyed a single moment of this season (bar the European games) as I've been a nervous wreck every single week.

Whatever happens tonight happens, but I'm glad I'll get to see it in Tolka. Tis only right.

Been an unbelievable season either way, and great to see our league finally breaking through to more corners of the country.

Those barstooler threads we used to have here feel like decades ago.

UTFR

01/11/2024, 6:41 PM
Not sure you could say at the start of the season we had a squad second only to Rovers . We did'nt have Anang , Keena , Elbouzedi ,Kazeem until halfway and Tom Grivosti and Axel were out injured until well into the season .

Not necessarily saying that, but I certainly thought we had a squad good enough to challenge. The difference in my view is the return of Grivosti and Sjoberg, the signing of Elbouzedi and the transformation of Jake Mulraney, who has improved dramatically since SK came in.

As for next season, I kind of agree with Dundalk FC10. I don’t think we’ll run away with it by any means, but I expect us to put in a really strong challenge.

01/11/2024, 6:52 PM
Rovers winning anyway. You'd imagine they'll see the game out from here. Waterford's form has been crap lately; can't see them coming back from an early goal

01/11/2024, 7:29 PM
Pat's take the lead in Sligo - that's them on course for 11 straight wins in all competitions. Last non-win was in Turkey in August

01/11/2024, 7:49 PM
Pat's take the lead in Sligo - that's them on course for 11 straight wins in all competitions. Last non-win was in Turkey in August

Just about deserved I think. Remarkable run really. Hopefully we can finish the job now. Squeaky bum time for Shels. Not sure they’re the best side to be chasing a goal. Am watching on a second screen, and obviously he Pats match has my attention, but Derry look to be edging it to me ?

joey B
01/11/2024, 7:55 PM
Shels haven’t created much but they’ve missed 2 one on ones with the keeper,might regret them at full time….

01/11/2024, 8:31 PM
Shels score! 5 to go - can they hang on?

joey B
01/11/2024, 8:46 PM
Congratulations to Shelbourne ,well deserved league title for them !

redarmyfaction
01/11/2024, 8:47 PM
Well done Shels, deserved title winners.

Buckett
01/11/2024, 8:48 PM
What a season!

CorribsideSteve
01/11/2024, 8:54 PM
Yeah, congrats to Shels, winning on merit. Some scenes at the Brandywell. Top for the entire season virtually. Derry get what they deserve, 4th. It's good for the league that Duffer wins it. Like him or not, he brings eyes and ears onto our League. We finish off our season with another draw. 26 of 36 unbeaten, finishing just 3 points off Europe. Things like drawing 6 games 0-0 have caught up with us ultimately, but pretty happy overall considering we were relegation favorites for a few people surely. Congrats to Pats for finishing 3rd, thats a major achievement considering they were 8th in July or thereabouts. So another season done, on to the Cup Final and then into the long winter, but it'll be a bit shorter and warmer in Drumcondra.

Quick question, sorry if it sounds daft, or has been answered already. Watching Shels lift the trophy in Derry. What IF Shamrock Rovers had won it, were they going to have it helicoptered from Derry or was there two?

01/11/2024, 8:54 PM
Can't say they fell over the line when they won the last 3 matches. I know some people are sick of hearing about Duff, but himself, Joey and the staff have done an incredible job with that group.

Calcio Jack
01/11/2024, 8:59 PM
Can't say they fell over the line when they won the last 3 matches. I know some people are sick of hearing about Duff, but himself, Joey and the staff have done an incredible job with that group.

Well done Shels …. Our lads will regret in years to come failing to complete the 5 in a row …. At least we have our ongoing European Odyssey to help numb the pain …

joey B
01/11/2024, 9:03 PM
Derry or Pats first signing in the off season should be Sean Gannon !!

oriel
01/11/2024, 9:05 PM
Shels to be fair were top for most of the season, they even had the points built up to on was it 4 weeks during August, no wins.

Best team wins it, so congrats to Shels, and their fans, enjoy the celebrations.

Some achievement only 3 years up from the PD, and now up to joint 2nd most league titles with 14, some going.

joey B
01/11/2024, 9:06 PM
The trophy presentation was an absolute embarrassment from the FAI, still completely useless they are ......

Dermobohs
01/11/2024, 9:07 PM
An amateurish shambles, total disrespect from them

01/11/2024, 9:21 PM
What happened with the trophy?

Interesting that - in a season where no-one could get any consistency going - the top three all ended on I think their longest winning runs of the season (3 for Shels, 5 for Rovers, 11 for Pat's)

Next year will be very interesting - Shels could get group stage football, but they'd need to strengthen I think. Pat's are favourites for me right now. Rovers then without CL money and in need of a big rebuild - but the academy funding is important stuff medium-term

I still think it's been a fairly poor standard overall, but can't remember a more dramatic season for all that

sbgawa
01/11/2024, 9:23 PM
Shels deserve it , yeah they stumbled at the end but finishing with 3 wins and going to derry and winning is some going.
We have been muck for most of the year if we had sneaked it it would have been incredible.
On to next season and congrats to Shels

Jack B
01/11/2024, 9:34 PM
Hate to be that guy but...was it offside? Would actually be quite fitting for the league if that's how it was won to be fair! Congrats to Shels regardless, it's been such a weird season that it feels weird to say anyone "deserved" it, but they're a very well coached side and overperformed while their competitors did the opposite. In a mad season it feels fitting a team like them pulled it out of the bag.

Another win for Pats, almost getting boring at this stage. 9 wins on the spin and securing Europe for next year is incredible going relative to where we were only a few months ago. I'm both already looking forward to next season and wary of how much expectation there now will be.

I don't have the words to express how embarrassing I find Derry. How they've managed to finish 4th in a two horse race I have no idea but they continue to outdo themselves. Losing to Drogheda in the final would really top it off, glad we don't need to rely on them to get a result.

Kiki Balboa
01/11/2024, 9:35 PM
Shels probably benefited from the League being so top-heavy with the fixtures in the first couple of months of the season.

Rovers and Pats are probably the strongest teams to finish the year. Doubt Shels will care.

Will be an interesting off-season for them. They could build upon this year, or continue as they have since the summer break and struggle.

Drogheda are such a poor side. Dundalk only have ourselves to blame for not even keeping in touch. If Drogheda play like they did today, Derry could put them to the sword next week. Wouldn't rule out the first division side in the playoff final.

Dundalk have a couple of gems from the academy. If we are around next year, will be interesting to see how they get on in the First. Kenny and Keogh only 18. Luke Mulligan looks decent. TJ Molloy made his debut at 15 (but looks a bit off the first team). Mayowa has definitely become a bit more refined as the year went on. Hopefully we can keep O'Kane, and it should be a decent core of young local lads.

01/11/2024, 9:39 PM
Hate to be that guy but...was it offside? .

Don't think so?

legendz
01/11/2024, 9:50 PM
Congrats to Shels!
Pat's fully deserving of their European place. An incredible winning run.
Both Rovers and Pat's, the top two performers in Europe will be starting from Q1 next year. Shels, Rovers and Pat's will be optimistic of making an impact on Europe next year.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/11/2024, 11:10 PM
Yeah, congrats to Shels, winning on merit. Some scenes at the Brandywell. Top for the entire season virtually. Derry get what they deserve, 4th. It's good for the league that Duffer wins it. Like him or not, he brings eyes and ears onto our League. We finish off our season with another draw. 26 of 36 unbeaten, finishing just 3 points off Europe. Things like drawing 6 games 0-0 have caught up with us ultimately, but pretty happy overall considering we were relegation favorites for a few people surely. Congrats to Pats for finishing 3rd, thats a major achievement considering they were 8th in July or thereabouts. So another season done, on to the Cup Final and then into the long winter, but it'll be a bit shorter and warmer in Drumcondra.

Quick question, sorry if it sounds daft, or has been answered already. Watching Shels lift the trophy in Derry. What IF Shamrock Rovers had won it, were they going to have it helicoptered from Derry or was there two?

They had the old league trophy in Tallaght

02/11/2024, 12:48 AM
What a year.

17 and a half years of going to Tolka through absolute misery and pure fury, but there's nothing that I can say that even comes close to the emotions I feel right now as I saunter down O'Connell Street on the way back home to Drimnagh.

The contentment is beyond words. I NEVER thought I'd have moment like Dublin winning the All-Ireland in 2011 or being there for us beating the All Blacks in 2018...

But, standing there in Tolka when Harry scored tonight will live with me forever. Never heard nor felt anything like it.

What a ****ing season.

There is a love that never fades...

UTFR