View Full Version : 2025 UEFA European Under-17 Championship/FIFA Under-17 World Cup

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5]

14/11/2025, 5:04 PM
Not sure if it's fair to say that Canada have bottled the chance to win it in the last minute, but either way Alex Noonan makes a lovely one-on-one save.

14/11/2025, 5:10 PM
Penalties

14/11/2025, 5:15 PM
After 5 each:

Ireland 4 (Noonan, Sherlock, Umeh, Leonard, McDonagh saved)

Canada 4 (Noonan saves, they score, they score, they score)

Disgraceful carry on for sherlocks penalty.
There is serious niggle between these sides. And I'm starting to despise these Canadians, especially their little ****shivvler keeper.

What an incredible penalty from vinny leonard.

Sudden-death

14/11/2025, 5:25 PM
McMahon-Brown first up - scores.

Alex Noonan almost saves their effort

14/11/2025, 5:26 PM
Second up is Finneran - scores - super penalty

C'mon Alex.....

Great penalty by Canada. 6-6

14/11/2025, 5:28 PM
Victor - proves his worth. Gave sh'tstain the eyes.

C'mon Alex...
that's another brilliant reply. 7-7

14/11/2025, 5:29 PM
Grady McDonnell now, good lad. Bottle of maple syrup for you in the morning kiddo for your breakfast.

Up to you Alex. Nope. 8-8

14/11/2025, 5:31 PM
**** me this is incredible

14/11/2025, 5:31 PM
Butler, again with a super penalty - surely, surely, we're gonna do it....

14/11/2025, 5:32 PM
Yessss!!!!
Alex Noonan makes a brilliant right palmed save diving to the left - putting us through to the last 16 vs Switzerland.

We deserve this.

14/11/2025, 5:34 PM
That was actual torture to watch, god help anyone actually taking part

14/11/2025, 5:36 PM
Jaysus fair play to them. The bit of niggle with their keeper was good craic. Brilliant penalties even the ones saved were decent.

Eirambler
14/11/2025, 5:45 PM
Keeper was the biggest ***** since Dudu Aouat. Wouldn't normally say it in relation to kids but it was quite pleasing to see him in tears at the end, might maybe bring him down a peg or two. Some bottle from the Irish lads to deal with all his crap and still score nine penalties out of ten. Torture to watch but well worth it in the end - I shouted far too loudly for the last penalty save relative to an Under 17 game!

ontheotherhand
14/11/2025, 5:55 PM
From Noonan to Noonan. Great stuff.

Wasn't really a bad peno in the bunch. 3 excellent saves.

Likeable side this Irish team. Especially compared to some of the teams they've come up against.

rebelmusic
14/11/2025, 5:58 PM
Switzerland in the next round. They beat Egypt 3-1. I have no idea what that's means for us but I've always assumed the swiss have a very healthy youth setup?

Eirambler
14/11/2025, 6:00 PM
We drew with the Swiss in a warmup game apparently, so could be another close one.

14/11/2025, 6:21 PM
Great watch that but f*ck me O'Brien needs to learn to make a few subs. Players were out on their feet by the end and were probably lucky to get to penalties with all the Canadian play in the final ten minutes.

That being said, they showed immense bottle to win the penalty shootout and I enjoyed the sledging with the Canadian keeper.

14/11/2025, 6:51 PM
Canada had a player from NI in their squad but, also, a forward called Van Parker. If it doesn't work out for him in football he could always try his hand at parking vans.

14/11/2025, 7:58 PM
Keeper was the biggest ***** since Dudu Aouat. Wouldn't normally say it in relation to kids but it was quite pleasing to see him in tears at the end, might maybe bring him down a peg or two. Some bottle from the Irish lads to deal with all his crap and still score nine penalties out of ten. Torture to watch but well worth it in the end - I shouted far too loudly for the last penalty save relative to an Under 17 game!

Yeah I broke the Ireland v Canada at anything diplomatic rule of silence with the Canadian other half over that keeper. Happily retired to the doghouse - its not hockey so i'll live!

Eirambler
14/11/2025, 8:47 PM
As an aside, the ability of opposition managers to challenge a penalty save really just adds another layer of tension to shootouts. If that approach is rolled out across the wider game, you could end up with nearly every deciding penalty in a shootout being challenged as a last resort by the losing team. It was clear tonight on first viewing that there was no issue with Noonan's position on the line, but the Canadians had clearly pre-planned that they were going to challenge any sudden death penalty miss in the hope of the VAR official seeing something and saving them from elimination.

Eirambler
14/11/2025, 8:51 PM
Yeah I broke the Ireland v Canada at anything diplomatic rule of silence with the Canadian other half over that keeper. Happily retired to the doghouse - its not hockey so i'll live!

This is really niche, but I'm still ****ed off about the Irish (field) hockey team being denied a place at the Olympics a few years back due to some dreadful, and frankly suspicious, decisions against us in an away qualification decider against Canada. So any opportunity to beat them in any sport at any level.is welcome as far as I'm concerned.

14/11/2025, 10:48 PM
This is really niche, but I'm still ****ed off about the Irish (field) hockey team being denied a place at the Olympics a few years back due to some dreadful, and frankly suspicious, decisions against us in an away qualification decider against Canada. So any opportunity to beat them in any sport at any level.is welcome as far as I'm concerned.

Oh I recall, it was my opportunity to show Hockey which I played, (Ice) a term which I had been banned from saying as there is only one Hockey of course. I learned very early on that Hockey on Ice really is a Canadian cult so I just nod and agree for safety reasons. When we went ice skating once I said its just skating ok.....I can still feel the look I got!

liamoo11
14/11/2025, 11:22 PM
Oh I recall, it was my opportunity to show Hockey which I played, (Ice) a term which I had been banned from saying as there is only one Hockey of course. I learned very early on that Hockey on Ice really is a Canadian cult so I just nod and agree for safety reasons. When we went ice skating once I said its just skating ok.....I can still feel the look I got!

I was having a look at the Canadian forum and mcdonnell getting a good bit of abuse which is understandable. The English forum on bigsoccer very keen on finneran been brought into the England fold.

Eirambler
15/11/2025, 4:56 PM
Germany knocked out by Burkina Faso after a fairly mad period of injury time that included two video challenges relating to goals scored at either end. West African teams have won this competition outright seven times in the past, which is obviously wildly out of proportion with their performances in senior football, so you can decide for yourself whether that result is a shock or not!

Eirambler
15/11/2025, 6:03 PM
Uzbekistan also through on penalties, they brought on a penalty specialist sub keeper for the shootout and it worked for them. So all three teams from Ireland's group ended up in shootouts in their round of 32 games, with Paraguay losing to Brazil and Ireland and Uzbekistan winning their shootouts.

Incidentally it's the first time I've seen a commentator lose count of the score in a penalty shootout, the FIFA commentator thought the last penalty was to force sudden death and was then confused why the Uzbeks were celebrating so much after they scored it. Not his finest moment.

I'm not sure the VAR challenge system that they're trialing is working, an awful lot of time is being wasted late on in games on challenges that are blatantly speculative relating to decisions that are never going to be changed.

16/11/2025, 12:21 AM
I was thinking that when the Canadians tried to review the winning penalty yesteday. It was a total Hail Mary if he had been allowed to use the review in the shootout which I think it wasnt. I like the system, dont know how they can prevent it being used tactically any more than late subs, keeper sitting down fo a rest etc. A challange a half, or possible 4 in total shouldnt really be too disruptice if the review process is streamlined and the officials/coaches involved get used to the process. Maybe very maybe do it like tennis where if a review is called correctly yoy keep the review, wrong and you lose it and allow 1?

liamoo11
16/11/2025, 12:29 PM
Uzbekistan also through on penalties, they brought on a penalty specialist sub keeper for the shootout and it worked for them. So all three teams from Ireland's group ended up in shootouts in their round of 32 games, with Paraguay losing to Brazil and Ireland and Uzbekistan winning their shootouts.

Incidentally it's the first time I've seen a commentator lose count of the score in a penalty shootout, the FIFA commentator thought the last penalty was to force sudden death and was then confused why the Uzbeks were celebrating so much after they scored it. Not his finest moment.

I'm not sure the VAR challenge system that they're trialing is working, an awful lot of time is being wasted late on in games on challenges that are blatantly speculative relating to decisions that are never going to be changed.

Rhe fifa TV coverage of this is fantastic. Fifa TV actually has a great amount of underage football. The under 19 game against Holland is on it on Wednesday I think

Eirambler
16/11/2025, 7:42 PM
What a week for Irish football, hopefully watching the senior game today will give the 17s another shot in the arm for the Switzerland game on Tuesday.

17/11/2025, 10:06 AM
Germany knocked out by Burkina Faso after a fairly mad period of injury time that included two video challenges relating to goals scored at either end. West African teams have won this competition outright seven times in the past, which is obviously wildly out of proportion with their performances in senior football, so you can decide for yourself whether that result is a shock or not!

I could be wildly wrong, but I think there's been some claims that their squads may not always have contained players who were age-eligible

Eirambler
17/11/2025, 2:02 PM
That's putting it mildly. Apparently the problem remains as ingrained as ever, and not necessarily just in West Africa either. For instance it now appears that all of Youssoufa Moukoko's underage caps for Germany were not legitimate, and they won the Under 21 Euros while he was with them.

17/11/2025, 3:05 PM
They reckoned that Nwankwo Kanu was a lot older than even Arsenal thought when signing him.

18/11/2025, 2:16 PM
One change to the starting lineup from what I can see; McDonagh out, Sherlock in.

18/11/2025, 2:55 PM
That's superb football from Ireland to win the corner.
I'd worry that this ref isn't going to do us any favours.

18/11/2025, 3:11 PM
We're starting to turn the screw here, I hope we can capitalise upon it, because they are bound to have a spell of their own later too.

18/11/2025, 3:18 PM
Random Sporting event #748 with a Kerry jersey in the audience...

18/11/2025, 3:24 PM
Might be hard harsh considering the age, but I think Noonan should probably score there.

ontheotherhand
18/11/2025, 3:39 PM
Few of them look very leggy and Victor is having a poor game. He's really not a defender.

Well in the game but the Swiss have some tidy players.

18/11/2025, 3:59 PM
That's been coming.

18/11/2025, 4:01 PM
Victor is having a poor game

Honestly, bar a few really smart touches to get himself out of tight positions, I don't think he's had anything that could be considered a good tournament - especially given his profile, while fully accepting that he's been suffering with injury in the run up to the tournamnt.

18/11/2025, 4:12 PM
agus sin é. 2-0

Strongbow10
18/11/2025, 4:14 PM
Solanke hooked. He's not been at the races at all defensively in this tournament unfortunately

rebelmusic
18/11/2025, 4:29 PM
Fair dues to the lads. They had a good run and should walk away with their heads held high

ontheotherhand
18/11/2025, 4:45 PM
Honestly, bar a few really smart touches to get himself out of tight positions, I don't think he's had anything that could be considered a good tournament - especially given his profile, while fully accepting that he's been suffering with injury in the run up to the tournamnt.

Id agree completely. Max was far more effective. You'd be hard pressed to pick Victor out as the €2m signing.

Think the system killed us a bit there, playing with wingbacks when none of the options available really suit it, and not adjusting when it was clear Solanke and Victor were struggling. Solanke was quite disappointing as well. At least defensively.

All in all probably just a bridge too far but they've done brilliantly.

18/11/2025, 4:59 PM
Good effort all considered. Demanding schedule and no doubt conditions. Think a few of them can join Noonan in the U21s.

Id agree completely. Max was far more effective. You'd be hard pressed to pick Victor out as the €2m signing.
Solanke was quite disappointing as well. At least defensively.

Yeah, Solanke has struggled instinctively and positionally on the back foot. Gave the attacker his inside for the second, for example, which is a defender no-no.

I think you can see there is a footballer in Victor and that's why you can expect more. Didn't really happen for him today but he was quite good against Paraguay the longer that game went on and was flying at the end.

18/11/2025, 5:10 PM
Fair dues to the lads. They had a good run and should walk away with their heads held high

100%. They've brought great joy to all of us who've watched them from way back when and one could argue they kickstarted the fantastic football fortnight with the trouncing of Panama.
Sometimes you've got to give the other crowd their dues - the Swiss (grrrrrrrrr) were superb and could easily go on and win it.

ontheotherhand
18/11/2025, 5:12 PM
Good effort all considered. Demanding schedule and no doubt conditions. Think a few of them can join Noonan in the U21s.

Yeah, Solanke has struggled instinctively and positionally on the back foot. Gave the attacker his inside for the second, for example, which is a defender no-no.

I think you can see there is a footballer in Victor and that's why you can expect more. Didn't really happen for him today but he was quite good against Paraguay the longer that game went on and was flying at the end.

He's a talented kid but I don't think playing him at right wing back is helping. Whenever Bradley speaks about him he talks about his dribbling and desire to run at players. Don't think we saw much of that. He was trying to stay disciplined defensively I suppose and he does look like he's not fully fit. Few times today where he had space to run and didn't.

From what I saw, the brightest prospects were Noonan, Noonan, Finneran, Leonard, Max and Umeh.

18/11/2025, 5:26 PM
I think we need to remember that Ozhianvuna and Spaight(both born January 2009) and Mooney(November 2009) will be eligible for next year's tournament

rebelmusic
18/11/2025, 6:08 PM
I did hear that the English are sniffing around Finneran so hopefully this experience has removed any doubt around that. He has a bright future

Watching Braveheart again last night is having the usual effect 😂

elatedscum
19/11/2025, 5:30 AM
I did hear that the English are sniffing around Finneran so hopefully this experience has removed any doubt around that. He has a bright future

Watching Braveheart again last night is having the usual effect 😂

Did anyone else notice him belting out Amhrán na bhFiann?

Eirambler
21/11/2025, 4:46 PM
Switzerland were dispatched comfortably enough by Portugal in their quarter final today - 2-0.