View Full Version : Tipp South & District League 2005/06

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

tipp man
19/12/2005, 9:42 AM
If I can quote JUG2004 he stated that "Rock always seem to get their act together over the x-mas" obviously the act he was talking about was a Panto and yesterdays display !

Even with 4 players sent off......1-0 to Town ?? Somewhat of an unusual result to say the least !!
Ya, I would say unusual, Expected Town to win by more. I wasn't at it and my earlier post was wrong, Clonmel were at home, which makes it a bit more surprising. Anyway, if a team is reduced to 7 and you only win 1-0?

How many does a team have to be reduced to before the game gets abondoned? I am thinking of Neil Warnock's antics with Sheffield Utd some years ago?

Van The Man
19/12/2005, 10:17 AM
Ya, I would say unusual, Expected Town to win by more. I wasn't at it and my earlier post was wrong, Clonmel were at home, which makes it a bit more surprising. Anyway, if a team is reduced to 7 and you only win 1-0?

How many does a team have to be reduced to before the game gets abondoned? I am thinking of Neil Warnock's antics with Sheffield Utd some years ago?

Considering Town have 10 from 10, the 1-0 looks a bit odd to say the least. The rules state that if you have "fewer" than 7 players on the pitch the match can be adondoned. But in fairness as long as I'm watchin the TSDL I can't recall 4 been sent off. What on earth was going on ?:confused:

tipp man
19/12/2005, 10:49 AM
anyone know what nenagh celtic are like???

whats there set up like???

Best side in North Tipp; not that that tells you anything. Solid, well organised, all the usual cliches. Not much flair though. Tough to break down. They had another good win in NTDL yesterday but it was only at home to Clonmore. If you have them at home then you would fancy your chances. Clonmel Town struggled to break them down in the FAIJC this year despite dominating possession.

papa-j
19/12/2005, 11:41 AM
cheers for that.we are away to them, whats there set up like

Tommy, we were down there last year in early Jan. Do u not remember?
Set up is quite average, dodgey pitch & no dressing rooms.

Den Perry
19/12/2005, 11:47 AM
To check if there was ever a mathch abandoned, I'm sure there must have been more than 4 players from one team in North Tipp sent off over the years....probably for fighting each other

Van The Man
19/12/2005, 2:26 PM
To check if there was ever a mathch abandoned, I'm sure there must have been more than 4 players from one team in North Tipp sent off over the years....probably for fighting each other

Den I'm sure there have been plenty of teams with 4 or more sent off up in the NTDL, but I'm talking about the TSDL, a total different ball game altogether !

Van The Man
19/12/2005, 2:32 PM
na i wasn't involved last year

Nenagh Celtic took on Tralee Dynamos last month in the Munster Junior Cup and were beaten 2 1 away from home. Celtic deserved the victory but just couldn't hold on to their lead. As as you know Tralee Dynamos are in the 6th Round of the FAI Junior Cup at this stage.

So you can judge for yourself on this form of late.

Van The Man
19/12/2005, 3:29 PM
not sure if your post is correct because newtown from clare league are to play nenagh in next round of the munster junior away:rolleyes:

Sorry about that Tommy, it was the Munster Senior Cup....Not Junior Cup.:cool:

C.T.F.C
19/12/2005, 9:55 PM
[QUOTE=tipp man]Ya, I would say unusual, Expected Town to win by more. I wasn't at it and my earlier post was wrong, Clonmel were at home, which makes it a bit more surprising. Anyway, if a team is reduced to 7 and you only win 1-0?

Was at the game Sunday. Rock Rovers are a disgrace to the league. Their idea of football is to kick people all over park. Amazing somebody wasn't seriously injured. Ian Barnes in particular took woeful punishment. Credit to the lad that he held his temper.

In answer to the 1-0 scoreline, rock put 9 men behind the ball for the entire match. Very hard to break down. Town created numerous chances. Thought it was going to be one of those days.

Merry Christmas All.:ball:

Tipperary_Man
04/01/2006, 9:08 PM
good to see a former schoolboy of the league beginning to make a name for himself across the water. the player in question is of course Shane Long

C.T.F.C
05/01/2006, 6:59 PM
Always nice to see a local boy doing well. Will Borrris or Michaels recieve any compensation from Reading for player development?:D

Tipperary_Man
05/01/2006, 9:39 PM
its hard 2tel. cork city wud b 1st in line id say. if e wer transferred den dey mite but the percentage gets smaller down the line. he did most of his development at borris, he was with michaels for less than 2years

Tipperary_Man
05/01/2006, 9:42 PM
good to see aswell that another young lad called marky power from clonmel will be making the move nex summer across the water to aston villa. the standard of young talent is increasing because more and more people are getting coaching badges

cupsgalore
07/01/2006, 9:05 PM
hey van man, what game were you at or watchin. tralee dynamos totally dominated their game against nenagh celtic fully deserved their victory should have won by more.

Unreal Madrid
10/01/2006, 9:38 PM
its hard 2tel. cork city wud b 1st in line id say. if e wer transferred den dey mite but the percentage gets smaller down the line. he did most of his development at borris, he was with michaels for less than 2years

He would prob not have not got the break at Borris. Aiden Ryan had him in Mick's Fai squad at 15. He recommended him to Noel O Connor (assistant to Dolan at the time in Cork) and the rest is history. To be honest, he would prob not have been spotted without this. If your not in Dublin you need the extra break no matter how good you are.

balls
13/01/2006, 11:58 PM
also gary frewen saint michaels on his way to england and timmy kiely another ex saint michaels player now with glasgow celtic

Den Perry
16/01/2006, 9:38 AM
anybody at the Villa game yesterday? It was absolutely brutal....I do not know what is going on there. It can't be Finnan's fault, his record speaks for itself.

Van The Man
18/01/2006, 3:00 PM
anybody at the Villa game yesterday? It was absolutely brutal....I do not know what is going on there. It can't be Finnan's fault, his record speaks for itself.

Can't say I was there. But that's a very poor result for Peake. It's just not happening for them this year. They had a better season last year and a good run the FAI Junior Cup. What had Dwyer last year that Finnan hasn't this year ?

Can this be a building year for them ? Ponder ponder.....

Van The Man
18/01/2006, 3:02 PM
Can anyone tell me is there agro going on between Clonmel Town and the Oscar Traynor Team. I see Town are down for a fixture this Sunday and so are the Oscar Traynors ??

tipp man
18/01/2006, 4:02 PM
I dont think its anything between Clonmel and the OT team but lets face it, Clonmel have bigger priorities than the Oscar Traynor and the league should excuse the players from this dead rubber. The Nationalist a few weeks back was calling for more committment from players; how about some bloody committment from the powers that be in the league towards this competition. The players are treated like s**t and no-one can blame them for not bothering. Whoever wrote that rubbish in the Nationalist is merely the mouth piece of the dictator!

Galla
19/01/2006, 12:57 PM
Is the 'Bridge v St. Kevin's match to be played in Ferryhouse or Green Lane. As can be seen it's a while since I've been to a Bridge game so excuse the ignorance.

C.T.F.C
19/01/2006, 1:05 PM
Probably Ferryhouse, the bog is hardly playable.

tipp man
19/01/2006, 3:25 PM
Is the 'Bridge v St. Kevin's match to be played in Ferryhouse or Green Lane. As can be seen it's a while since I've been to a Bridge game so excuse the ignorance.

That game is on at Clonmel Celtics pitch on the by-pass. An enclosed pitch is needed.

Van The Man
20/01/2006, 2:03 PM
I dont think its anything between Clonmel and the OT team but lets face it, Clonmel have bigger priorities than the Oscar Traynor and the league should excuse the players from this dead rubber. The Nationalist a few weeks back was calling for more committment from players; how about some bloody committment from the powers that be in the league towards this competition. The players are treated like s**t and no-one can blame them for not bothering. Whoever wrote that rubbish in the Nationalist is merely the mouth piece of the dictator!

So basically every Team involved outside of League fixtures i.e. FAI Junior Cup should have their players excused from OT Duties ? If that was the case there would nearly be no OT Team any season as the TSDL Team make good progress in the FAI Competition. Why should the OT Team differ than any other county when it comes to fielding a county team. I'm not familiar with how the players are treated, obviously from your statement they don't get treated very well.

jug2004
20/01/2006, 2:38 PM
van the man...no offence but ya should quit while your ahead there now.Its not just teams that are involved in the FAI junior either,the oscar trainor had a good chance of qualifying before the last game( v MSL) yet peake villa and town were down to play a league game at 10am that morning,and all players involved expected to be at the oscar trainor game at 2 o clock again the same day. That sounds like the league have no respect for the players involved. When you look at it of the team that won the oscar trainor a few years back(2 seasons ago) how many of that team are still yop players in the league....all bar 1 or 2 i think? now you should ask why those same players will not play oscar trainor anymore? lack of respect is right,teams that come to tipp rarely get food after a game and even if they do the tipp team hardly get anything where other teams often have meals etc prepared for travelling teams.Its sad to see it gone the way it has but it seems that it has been rotting away from the top down and not from the players up.

Nemesis
20/01/2006, 2:49 PM
van the man...no offence but ya should quit while your ahead there now.Its not just teams that are involved in the FAI junior either,the oscar trainor had a good chance of qualifying before the last game( v MSL) yet peake villa and town were down to play a league game at 10am that morning,and all players involved expected to be at the oscar trainor game at 2 o clock again the same day. That sounds like the league have no respect for the players involved. When you look at it of the team that won the oscar trainor a few years back(2 seasons ago) how many of that team are still yop players in the league....all bar 1 or 2 i think? now you should ask why those same players will not play oscar trainor anymore? lack of respect is right,teams that come to tipp rarely get food after a game and even if they do the tipp team hardly get anything where other teams often have meals etc prepared for travelling teams.Its sad to see it gone the way it has but it seems that it has been rotting away from the top down and not from the players up.

its the same in the limerick league, players have no interest in the competition and fake injury to get out of playing, its badly managed and their is no incentive or reward for players picked to play. It has to come from the top down otherwise scrap the competition which would be a shame as it could be good once more.

tipp man
22/01/2006, 12:22 PM

Thanks Jug2004, you are more articulate than me and that was the point I was trying to make. Unless the powers that be invest some effort and resources into this thing then they should just forget about it. To enter a tounament half arsed is a nonsense. It does the TSDL no credit and the players have enough demands on them already. Some Cork guy once went on about failing to plan and planning to fail; don't know his name though!

jug2004
23/01/2006, 10:49 AM
great to see old bridge flying the flag along with town for the TSDL,hats off they are a good cup side. They always seem to produce it on the day at the moment,Passage and now kevins boys sent packing,pity about the draw but i'd say both teams are happy enough, they would both love nothin more than to send each other outa the cup...........Roll on feb 5!!! :D

Van The Man
23/01/2006, 11:03 AM

Jug2004, just to note that my initial replay was to Tippmans comment suggesting that Clonmel Town have bigger priorities than the Oscar Traynor and that these players should be excused. There is no bigger priority than the league or any of the cups so in face I was saying should all players not be excused from the Oscar Traynor !!! I don’t deny the fact that the players are ill-treated, as I have mentioned I’m not familiar with the ill-treatment of players by the hierarchy within the TSDL. And also Peake Villa were down to play on the Saturday night before the OT game, and this was then put back to the Sunday morning, and was then infact cancelled. I totally agree with you on these matters that the top level of the TSDL are in fact there own worst enemy, again this can been seen yesterday when Town played Glengoole in the Tipp Cup at 11.00am in Fairyhouse and the OT were playing in the afternoon in Borris. So quitting while I'm ahead really doesn't come into it !!

Van The Man
23/01/2006, 11:05 AM
great to see old bridge flying the flag along with town for the TSDL,hats off they are a good cup side. They always seem to produce it on the day at the moment,Passage and now kevins boys sent packing,pity about the draw but i'd say both teams are happy enough, they would both love nothin more than to send each other outa the cup...........Roll on feb 5!!! :D

Of Course ithey would both love nothin more than to send each other outa the cup, but it would of been nice to see the teams apart and both TSDL side progress a little further....But such is the joys of Cup Football !!!

Tipperary_Man
23/01/2006, 1:46 PM
well done also to cashel youths on reaching the quarter finals of the FAI youths cup after a hard earned victory over bangor hibs at the weekend. hard luck to michaels u17s who lost on penalties to shamrock rovers

jug2004
30/01/2006, 11:38 AM
unfortunately st michaels won again the weekend in the u18 munster cup, don't like the club but its good for the youth of tipperary i guess,cashel will meet them in the semi final of the same competition if they can over come a a strong wembley team from limerick, they have also been handed a tough draw in the Q Finals of the FAI youth cup away to shamrock rovers, hard to see them getting a result out of dublin city though

balls
30/01/2006, 6:29 PM
cant see cashel getting result in either game wembley are very strong and have cup pedigree over past few seasons as a team where as cashel are just coming together as a team this year. also read in a paper somewhere that pat scully rovers senior team manager blooded a few of there underage players into there 1st team lately in a friendly so i assume there youth team is strong.

Den Perry
31/01/2006, 10:46 AM
unfortunately st michaels won again the weekend in the u18 munster cup, don't like the club but its good for the youth of tipperary i guess,cashel will meet them in the semi final of the same competition if they can over come a a strong wembley team from limerick, they have also been handed a tough draw in the Q Finals of the FAI youth cup away to shamrock rovers, hard to see them getting a result out of dublin city though

Villa got a rsult away in Dublin in the 2000 semi-final. Beat Hillcrest 4-2. It can be done again hopefully

Van The Man
03/02/2006, 10:05 AM
Some good game worth viewing over this weekend. Sat nite Saints V Rockmount under lights in the 4th Round of the MJC. Bridge and Town in the FAI on Sunday and in the league the local derby game between Villa and Borris.....

Might catch all of the game if time suits......

tipp man
03/02/2006, 12:41 PM
Some good game worth viewing over this weekend. Sat nite Saints V Rockmount under lights in the 4th Round of the MJC. Bridge and Town in the FAI on Sunday and in the league the local derby game between Villa and Borris.....

Might catch all of the game if time suits......
Cork City are bringing a full strength squad to Cahor on Saturday to play Cahir Park. I think it was supposed to be Monaghan Utd but Cahir filling in at last minute. KO 2pm I think.

Tipperary_Man
15/02/2006, 11:35 AM
what happened Peake villa 0on sunday losing 1-0 to clonmel celtic? will finnan be in charge next season

Van The Man
15/02/2006, 4:10 PM
what happened Peake villa 0on sunday losing 1-0 to clonmel celtic? will finnan be in charge next season

If it was you, would you stay in charge ?:confused:

balls
16/02/2006, 3:47 PM
an awful result for peake .celtic are brutal this year.premier league very disappointing this year cant see any team in the league thats gonna mount a challenge against big 2 in newt 2 or 3 years to be honest

Tipperary_Man
18/02/2006, 8:09 PM
congrats to cashel town on reaching the munster youths cup semi final after a hard fought 2-1 victory over wembly rovers of limerick. they are playing rangers from dublin next sunday in the fai youth quarter final

balls
19/02/2006, 8:13 PM
was paul stone playing for cashel or is he gone. why he not playing with them recently

Tipperary_Man
20/02/2006, 10:26 AM
Paul Stone is gone. he transferred back up to killavilla just after Christmas. a big loss no doubt to any team as he was a top striker. what are st brendan's park like? it would be nice to see an all tipp semi final in the munster youths cup

teckno
21/02/2006, 6:03 PM
Well lads after the recent success of Shane Long, just interested to know who are the top players coming through the league now at youth level etc, who ye think can go on to bigger things in the next few eeks

C.T.F.C
24/02/2006, 3:14 PM
Lads, Does anyone think it's possible for Tipperary to establish and sustain a League of Ireland team?

tipp man
25/02/2006, 8:47 PM
Lads, Does anyone think it's possible for Tipperary to establish and sustain a League of Ireland team?
No afraid not

balls
26/02/2006, 6:02 PM
best young players at youth level are richie ryan st.mikes,dwayne (rooney) burns clonmel town michael coady rock rovers and tony egan bansha celtic none really good enough to move on further id say like shane long accross the water but will all be top junior players. richie ryan maybe league of ireland standard in a few years. cashel also have very strong players best in league by a long sot one of strongest teams since peake villa had glory days in late 90s at youth level. with james o sullivan being there star player and will prob win tsdl youth player of year award this year

Tipperary_Man
27/02/2006, 9:21 AM
Colin Bargary is also having a great season for them. probably been their best player all season. heard michaels were unlucky down in kerry friday night

Tipperary_Man
13/03/2006, 10:05 AM
any match reports from the michaels or town games at the weekend?

tipp man
13/03/2006, 11:06 AM
Will Rock Rovers survive for yet another season. Its unbelieveable how they stay in the Premier League each year.

C.T.F.C
13/03/2006, 11:57 AM
They will probably pull off another miracle escape. They are by far the dirtiest team in the league. Have they ever played a match and not had 1 or more players sent off. They have 4 games left and need six points for survival, or 5 points to force a playoff with St Nicholas. Town still have to travel to Deerpark for the annual punch up:D . Who else do they have left to play?