View Full Version : Scumbag Ireland

sparkey
20/09/2005, 1:51 PM
From the indo. Another proud day for Scumbag Ireland (http://www.unison.ie/breakingnews/index.php3?ca=9&si=79525) :mad: :mad:

20/09/2005, 1:52 PM
Pickpocketing & other crimes are very common on O'Connell Street & not just by locals.

Galwayexile
20/09/2005, 1:58 PM
Last week i saw this little ***** steal somebody eles mobile, the guy chased after him and caught him.Dont know if he got his mobile back.

Im just back from the dentist and on the way there was a traffic jam just before stephens green shopping center as two whino's were beating the **** of each other, it was pretty much one sided. Where the hell are the guards in all this. Stephens green has become pretty dangerous now in my opinion after seeing those two events in the space of a week.

Also what the hell is up with bus drivers, i was leaving my apartment and crossing the road at the traffic lights.The light was at orange and there was people crossing but this dublin bus ***** nearly knocked me down.

20/09/2005, 2:01 PM
It's a society where personal wealth has taken over everything. You see it in who are elected, you see it on the streets, not suprisingly the scumbags will take any route to attain some of that wealth. We're getting what we deserve.

20/09/2005, 2:02 PM
I've never been invloved in any incidents but guy who used to work with me was pickpocketed on O'Connell St. When he realised what had happened & discounted any other possibility he returned, spotted the pickpocketer & when identifying to the Gardai they said could so anything as not allowed search people...

20/09/2005, 2:05 PM
We're getting what we deserve.

I don't agree. I won't disagree that irish society unequal but thats just a fact of life. There were thieves & scumbags per Celtic Tiger & if anything they have more legal opportunities now so less "excuse" to steal.

Guards need resources to do their job, ship off petty criminals to work farms in the bogs or something - better than rotting in prison cells.

20/09/2005, 2:37 PM
We've kept electing a Government committed to forever widening the gap between rich and poor, that has been obsessed with the nett pay rather than the standard of service, that has just left wastelands in Town's and city's as it's too hard to tackle. We elect them, we must pay the price with the society and culture that results.

20/09/2005, 2:44 PM
We've kept electing a Government committed to forever widening the gap between rich and poor

Ha ha ha, Macy thinks that things would be different under a different government from the choices available! Alan Mathews has made the Longball Town fans totally delusional about all aspects of life!

By the way, I thought civil serpents were to have no political allegiance?

20/09/2005, 2:49 PM
Ha ha ha, Macy thinks that things would be different under a different government from the choices available! Alan Mathews has made the Longball Town fans totally delusional about all aspects of life!

By the way, I thought civil serpents were to have no political allegiance?
We get the opposition we deserve too. If people didn't accept the alternatives or the current government then things would have to change. But sure once or nett pay keeps going up, fook everyone else....

btw I'm not a civil servant, not that I'm card carrying member of any political organisation other than my (not left enough these days) trade union anyway.

Galwayexile
20/09/2005, 2:55 PM
i dont think a change in government would make a difference. Fianna Gael aint exactly a better alternate to this joke of a goverment is it. The goverment should be putting more resources in getting ppl of the street. Too many people are sleeping on the streets of dublin these days, only last week there was a demonstration outside government buildings. I think far too many politicans now have sand in their eyes and forget who exactly elected them in the first place and what exactly they promised to get themselves into office. Its all promises promises and they continuesly fail to deliver. Enda kenny is too weak to replace bertie as the muppet to run this country.

20/09/2005, 3:11 PM
Change it to the politicians we deserve. Point remains, we as a nation are obsessed with our own wallet, and once we're okay, pull up the ladder on everyone else. This is shown by electing the most right wing government seen on these islands since Thatcher twice on the trot. Bit late for everyone to spot the underclass they created now....

20/09/2005, 3:13 PM
macy would ye ever stop going on about that...

20/09/2005, 3:14 PM
if it annoys you that much and the people deserve what they vote etc etc and the people annoy you that much then move back to your own country, dont stay here moaning about it the whole time or else do something about it. for example run for the election yourself.

20/09/2005, 3:18 PM
move back to your own country

:eek: Macy's Proper Irish. :p

Why don't you move back to your own country, Paul!? :D

20/09/2005, 3:19 PM
if it annoys you that much and the people deserve what they vote etc etc and the people annoy you that much then move back to your own country,
Oh, you make me proud to be Irish!! :rolleyes:

I agree with Macy. It seems to me that the rich-poor gap is widening and the Gobvernment couldn't be arsed doing anything about it.

Galwayexile
20/09/2005, 3:23 PM
so a fianna gael/ labour would do better, give me a break.Remember there were the ones who nearly crippled this country in the 80's. Who knows whats the answer but it aint enda kenny's party.

20/09/2005, 3:25 PM
@Why don't you move back to your own country, Paul!? @

im not moaning! :D

20/09/2005, 3:26 PM
if it annoys you that much and the people deserve what they vote etc etc and the people annoy you that much then move back to your own country, dont stay here moaning about it the whole time or else do something about it. for example run for the election yourself.
my own country? Go fĂșck yourself.

20/09/2005, 3:27 PM
im not moaning! :D

That'll be a first! :D

anto eile
20/09/2005, 3:50 PM
what we need is a revolution. wipe out the ruling class/politicians etc and start again

20/09/2005, 3:53 PM
I'd love that anto, but who's going to take over?

Galwayexile
20/09/2005, 3:56 PM
Have bono as the leader and eddie hobbs as minister for finance

20/09/2005, 4:04 PM
Bono?!

No, you need someone with a brain, Bono'd probably give all our money to other countries as aid.

Maybe, David Norris.

Partizan
20/09/2005, 4:54 PM
what we need is a revolution. wipe out the ruling class/politicians etc and start again

Clear the air time so to speak? indeed. I think a good revolution is needed every century to clear out the rotten wood. After all, history is not continuity and by nature changes.

Look at the decadence that is social democracy and neo liberal government model of the free market capitalism throughout the rotten edifice that is Europe/EU/NATO. Societies are creaking and groaning under the weight of their own crassness, ignorance, corruption, greed and sloth. The proponents of the NWO (FF leprechauns on this board )will be vanquished.

1789, 1917, we want a replay. :cool:

Partizan
20/09/2005, 5:00 PM
I'd love that anto, but who's going to take over?

A grand coalition of all progressive Republican & Socialist patriots.......

Give Ireland back to her people from the money grabbing, property/currency speculating corrupt and greedy ruling classes.

We are one of the most unequal societies in the developed world. This country reaks of sh1t from top to bottom.

Partizan
20/09/2005, 5:01 PM
Have bono as the leader and eddie hobbs as minister for finance

Bono is an exponent of the NWO .

21/09/2005, 12:15 AM
Bono is an exponent of the NWO .
Bono's a pro-wrestler?? ;)

cullenswood
21/09/2005, 8:24 AM
Give Ireland back to her people from the money grabbing, property/currency speculating corrupt and greedy ruling classes.

We are one of the most unequal societies in the developed world. This country reaks of sh1t from top to bottom.

I think you'll find that most people in Ireland are money grabbing, property/currency speculating corrupt and greedy. I know I am!

21/09/2005, 9:56 AM
Anto has a point in there BUT without neccessarily wanting to endorse Partizans Republican Socialist Utopia ...there is a fair way down this road we could go without anarchy and within the law.

Our Taoiseach, when asked about the housing crisis in this country, pointed out (confessed even) that the hub of the problem is that the vast majority of available land banks in the country are owned, controlled and drip fed onto the market so as to keep their prices artificially high (here's the rub) by NO MORE THAN EIGHT OR NINE INDIVIDUALS.

Why is that when we need to build roads we can issue compulsory purchase orders to property owners and (going global) when the price of oil starts to rise we can lobby opec to increase production to bring the price down ...but we can't just say to these identifiable entities and individuals "sorry -national interest -sign here for your compensation." and proceed to put roofs over peoples heads ???

It wouldn't be tolerated in other countries -and I'm talking other EU countries here -go beyond that and they'd be tried for treason and holding the state to ransom.

Wiseguy
21/09/2005, 10:28 AM
We have a government that are only interested in figures and having money to expect any change.When it comes to the crunch the govt. come out spouting about this economy that they have created and how much money the country has and ignore the facts that we are now the most expensive country in Europe.So many people would be fcuked without Aldi and Lidl.Every where we go and everything we do we are being ripped off through the nose.Everyone is looking for any fcukin reason to put up prices and line there own pockets.I hope the Grocery Order is abolished and that half the rip off little corner shops close because if they didn't rip us off they would survive.The Pub trade is dying because for years they ripped us off and came out with crap about the great service they provide blah blah blah.At the end of it all they only have themselves to blame.It's all grab,grab,grab in every industry and if it goes tits up we can only blame poor management and greed.

Now back to scumbag Ireland.I was staying in a friends house in Galway and i caught a little fcuker in my car trying to take my fishing gear a few months ago.The poor sod didn't realise that i was standing behind him with the handle for my net.I bet the living sh1t out of him and his friend who was "lookout".It's the only way to deal with these people.I don't buy the social exclusion crap.If you break the law you should be dealt with very severly and swiftly no excuses.

21/09/2005, 12:16 PM
I don't buy the social exclusion crap.If you break the law you should be dealt with very severly and swiftly no excuses.

Exactly.

I don't disagree generally with government policy i just think they can't manage the country within budget & are too cocky now. FF need period in opposition to bring them back to reality. Country needs a change in leaders but not too much in economic policy.

21/09/2005, 12:26 PM
I know I am!

Me too, well in so much as I can be.
I'd be worse if I didn't have to pay so much bloody tax! :mad: :D

21/09/2005, 1:14 PM
1789, 1917, we want a replay. :cool:

Yeah, cos those worked out just SUPER for all concerned! :D

I think La Revolucion is long overdue but power corrupts so it will only work if someone like me is in charge of it. Just wait and see how wide the gap between rich and poor gets when that happens! ;)

21/09/2005, 4:20 PM
I just want to get Bertie out. I'll be able to vote from next year and it's not going to the FF.

Also, I'd like to restore every nations identity. Globalisation sucks.

21/09/2005, 4:29 PM
I just want to get Bertie out. I'll be able to vote from next year and it's not going to the FF.

I'm not Berties biggest fan but when the only other options are Pat Rabbite and Enda Kenny,i can safley say Bertie has my vote

21/09/2005, 4:47 PM

What is "every nations identify"? I'm sure you didn't intend it that way but but sounds very BNP-ish.

21/09/2005, 7:29 PM
Just to clear things up, I'm not a racist.

I'm in a sticky spot though, it's hard to explain.....

If globalisation continues, we're going to be the same as everyone, which has it's bonuses but is that really what we want? We should be proud of our culture, whatever it is.

One of the best things about travelling is experiencing different cultures and speaking diffferent languages. That could be lost if we all act the way Hollywood/Washington/Wall Street want us to.

del fuego
21/09/2005, 8:42 PM
I agree with Anto McC. Viva le Revolution! We'll need a dictator too. I nominate you. What's the worst that could happen? :D

liam88
21/09/2005, 9:30 PM
Ya gotta love this.....muggings and pickpocketings and you guys are having a revolution! The original post actually shows a lot about how good Ireland is that someone takes this kind of thing so seriously. It's a city it happens!
I London there are hundreds of muggings, robbings, beatings every day-i'm not saying that makes what is happening in Ireland right but it certainly shows something!
Thankfully this century the Republic of Ireland has rarely seen things along the lines of what has happend in England. I'm not saying it's perfect but even in proportion Ireland has had a lot less racist murders, children abducted and killed, whole families whiped out etc. than Britain.
How often has Ireland seen people end up the way of Jamie Bulger, Daniel Jones, Jodie Jones, Sarah Pain, Holly Wells, Hessica Chapmen etc.?
That's where the real evil lies and thankfully this stuff does not go on so much in Ireland as in other countries.

21/09/2005, 10:57 PM
Ya gotta love this.....muggings and pickpocketings and you guys are having a revolution! The original post actually shows a lot about how good Ireland is that someone takes this kind of thing so seriously. It's a city it happens!
I London there are hundreds of muggings, robbings, beatings every day-i'm not saying that makes what is happening in Ireland right but it certainly shows something!
Thankfully this century the Republic of Ireland has rarely seen things along the lines of what has happend in England. I'm not saying it's perfect but even in proportion Ireland has had a lot less racist murders, children abducted and killed, whole families whiped out etc. than Britain.
How often has Ireland seen people end up the way of Jamie Bulger, Daniel Jones, Jodie Jones, Sarah Pain, Holly Wells, Hessica Chapmen etc.?
That's where the real evil lies and thankfully this stuff does not go on so much in Ireland as in other countries.

Liam is right, it shocks me how many child murders there are in England, it is really horrible, we have never had that problem to such an extent, thank God.

22/09/2005, 9:19 AM
...or maybe we just institutionalised our child abuse.

Only yesterday the cops were excavating a graveyard in this country where they'd been informed a child was secretly buried over a decade ago.

Then you've the Kerry Babies...

As for "bogey man" type abduction/killings ala Soham or Sarah Paine -Try telling Philip Cairns folks this is a safer place to raise kids.

liam88
22/09/2005, 10:42 AM
...or maybe we just institutionalised our child abuse.

Happend everywhere sadly :(

Only yesterday the cops were excavating a graveyard in this country where they'd been informed a child was secretly buried over a decade ago.

Never said it didn't happen-just said proportionally less extent.

Then you've the Kerry Babies...

Your going back to 1973 here arn't you? At the same time Britain had the babes in thw wood etc. the difference is it now has monsters like huntley, whiting etc. that Ireland has proportionaly less of

As for "bogey man" type abduction/killings ala Soham or Sarah Paine -Try telling Philip Cairns folks this is a safer place to raise kids.

You've proves your own point-all of these atrocities are at least a decade on......Britain has a lot now

22/09/2005, 11:23 AM
Your going back to 1973 here arn't you? At the same time Britain had the babes in thw wood etc. the difference is it now has monsters like huntley, whiting etc. that Ireland has proportionaly less

1984 I think

You've proves your own point-all of these atrocities are at least a decade on......Britain has a lot now

Not so sure Liam. We don't seem to have the same headline grabbing child killers (in the same proportions). There's a few factors at play there ...geographic dispersal of population being one (but decreasingly so). The anonymity of the larger urban jungle has been a camoflaging factor for these individuals too.

There used be a time when people used look at the type of crimes your descibing taking place in the UK and say 'that's never happen here' on the basis that we were a tighter knit society with a stronger sense of community.

But if that was the case it failed a considerable number of people and in any case it's a vastly declining one here as Irish society increasingly apes it's bigger neighbour in both good and bad ways.

22/09/2005, 11:43 AM
Our Taoiseach, when asked about the housing crisis in this country, pointed out (confessed even) that the hub of the problem is that the vast majority of available land banks in the country are owned, controlled and drip fed onto the market so as to keep their prices artificially high (here's the rub) by NO MORE THAN EIGHT OR NINE INDIVIDUALS.
And he's done what exactly to solve this, bar invite them in to the tent in Galway? All he has to do is put a time limit on re-zonings or give them a certain amount of time before tax is due on the increased value of the property if nothing is done. He has the power to do something about it, but is getting too many backhanders/political donations (delete as applicable) to leave the status quo in place.

rebs23
22/09/2005, 3:43 PM
its not only dublin where you get mugged.
cork is 10 times worse at night.

Absolute rubbish. You really are obsessed with all things Cork. Of the 27 posts so far only one or two are not about Cork
http://foot.ie/search.php?searchid=275761

How about Waterford being the place with the second highest murder rate in Ireland?

sparkey
26/09/2005, 11:30 AM
The English lady in question at the top of this thread who had her bags snatched after being knocked down by the bus died of her injuries on Friday. May she rest in peace.

26/09/2005, 11:37 AM
yes sparkey well said. horrible tragedy, made so much worse by a few scumbags actualy scumbags is too good a word for these individuals. animals. i would treat this as bad as killing someone in terms of a jail sentence. no matter what state you are in, to do that is just sick sick sick.

sparkey
29/09/2005, 2:05 PM
The scumbag (http://www.rte.ie/news/2005/0928/dublin.html) who mugged the now dead English lady was arrested, may the cops give him the mother of all kickings before the courts unfortunatly let him of on "probation" or something.