View Full Version : Games weekend 18th 19th October
Jack B
19/10/2024, 11:05 AM
Yeah my point last night about Galway only trying to really play when behind wasn't a slight on them or the style of play, literally just that they were aggressive when behind and a bit passive when not. Very good at what they do though, it's weird to think Pat's have such a good record against them this season because it's felt like a real battle every time. Last night was probably the most entertaining game of the four I'd say.
WoodquayBoy
19/10/2024, 11:49 AM
All the sideline stuff aside, it was a belter of a game with the deserving side winning. Pats played some lovely stuff and are on a great run, if there was 6 more games left and not 2, they’d win the league.
ForeForeToo
19/10/2024, 12:20 PM
Yeah he commanded his box excellently. Playing against Caulfield's ogres pumping the ball into the box from all angles is always the most difficult games in the LOI for keepers this season but he dealt with it well
Referring to Galway players as ogres is a bit unfair. If that works for them, and it clearly has, then it is has proven to be a good tactic. It may not be beautiful but until points are awarded for style of play it makes no difference.
I am not one to expect entertianment at a football game. I go to the cinema or theatre for that. At a football match I go to see my team win 3 pts regardless of how they do it.
legendz
19/10/2024, 12:41 PM
That’s a lot of ifs.It is for sure! As a neutral I'm curious on the path for Pat's to win an unlikely title. A complete dark horse in the history of dark horses!
patsdad
19/10/2024, 12:57 PM
It is for sure! As a neutral I'm curious on the path for Pat's to win an unlikely title. A complete dark horse in the history of dark horses!
The path is easy to set out but unfortunately it’s now very unlikely.
Pats have to win their remaining two (very likely)
Shels must drop points to Drogs in next game and to Derry in last game (quite likely)
Rovers must drop points either away to Dundalk or home to Waterford (very unlikely) and add 2 less to their GD than Pats do.
That Dylan Watts goal for Rovers last night is going to be the difference.
sbgawa
19/10/2024, 1:39 PM
We are all assuming shels don't win their next 2....reasonable based on form but they are 2 clear with 2 to play.....if pats beat derry and rovers don't beat Dundalk its over , shels have won the league before even traveling to derry. Pats are favourites to beat derry and rovers have an awful record in Oriel.
legendz
19/10/2024, 1:55 PM
Shels must drop points to Drogs in next game and to Derry in last game (quite likely)
Rovers must drop points either away to Dundalk or home to Waterford (very unlikely) and add 2 less to their GD than Pats do.
That Dylan Watts goal for Rovers last night is going to be the difference.
We are all assuming shels don't win their next 2....reasonable based on form but they are 2 clear with 2 to play.....if pats beat derry and rovers don't beat Dundalk its over , shels have won the league before even traveling to derry. Pats are favourites to beat derry and rovers have an awful record in Oriel.
As a neutral shouting for Pat's currently, I'm pinning my hopes on Drogheda taking points off Shels. After Kenny's success with Dundalk, it will be some result if there is a kick in Dundalk and they take points off Rovers.
There is a scenario where Rovers and Pat's could be level on points and goal difference going into the final round.
19/10/2024, 4:19 PM
Yeah my point last night about Galway only trying to really play when behind wasn't a slight on them or the style of play, literally just that they were aggressive when behind and a bit passive when not. Very good at what they do though, it's weird to think Pat's have such a good record against them this season because it's felt like a real battle every time. Last night was probably the most entertaining game of the four I'd say.
I didnt say it was ineffective, Ive recently said that Galway should be give the league trophy for their season, Cauldfields Cork sdes were effective too and went toe to toe at times with Dundalk, at times in that one off games like cup finals they'd arguably be favourites but over a league season Dundalk would finish ahead. Head to heads were nip and tuck, it was against other sides away from home where leagues were lost. I have little time for his sideline tantrums but because he denies it, Horgan just doesnt care. In terms of his football philosophy the short comings are not the style of football but how much more cautious his sides are away from home for example, and when there is no option that to go at sides they are more than just in a game. Imo if he was braver, didnt treat away fixtures in an old way really, where you're happy with a 0-0 point, he'd probably overall have picked up more points than what were saved by sitting in. It is an anomaly season where Derry and Galway could be top of the league with such contrasting GD but I dont think there will be seasons like it often and there will be clear top 2 or 3 next year. If Derry dont win anything and Higgins is moved on they have potential to be excellent. Rovers need to freshen things up but are still easilt top two potential. St Pats will be favourites next season. Shels will be good but need to move from on hard to beat and the could. Galway are hitting their heights this season.
da bishop
19/10/2024, 4:26 PM
the form team in the division Treaty with a win to go 5 unbeaten.....oh wait no pressure with those 5 ,when there was pressure it was 14 without a win.Cant wait for our new ....hybrid model[managers new baby phrase] setup next season ,we are expecting huge things.Harps went missing second half after yet again dominating a first half with a lead.
smasherdrog
19/10/2024, 6:44 PM
The end of the Drogs v Rovers was marred by a racial slur from the away section directed at Drigs defender Ahui .
Fair play to Graham Burke for calling out the Rovers fan involved and reporting to Gardaí.
joey B
19/10/2024, 8:27 PM
Bohs 2 up in Sligo and safe now,Drogheda confirmed for the relegation play off and Sligo's European hopes finished as well .....
Shinkicker
19/10/2024, 8:43 PM
Bohs well worth their win. Best team, maybe not so much 8n the second half but rovers never posed a problem. Bohs safe time to start rebuilding NOW
Bohtastic
19/10/2024, 8:49 PM
Jaysus. Safe for another year.
Now, let the season end with no winner declared.
Bohtastic
19/10/2024, 8:51 PM
Actually, hang on,could we overtake Waterford???
Probably not.
2 Year Contract
19/10/2024, 8:59 PM
So we’ve gone from Shels and Derry not wanting the league in recent weeks to Galway and Sligo not wanting Europe! If Pats win one of their two games now both Connaught sides miss out on the top 4 having remained in and around there for most of the season. If Galway and Sligo draw next weekend then a draw from the two games will be enough for 4th place for Pats
legendz
19/10/2024, 9:05 PM
With Drogheda consigned to the playoffs, hard to see them causing any upset in Tolka Park next week.
joey B
19/10/2024, 9:10 PM
With Drogheda consigned to the playoffs, hard to see them causing any upset in Tolka Park next week.
I dont know about that,there's a few players in that Drogheda squad who'd love to throw a spanner in the works, Shane Farrell being the most obvious and it would be very funny if he did!
Another Bohemia
19/10/2024, 9:19 PM
I dont know about that,there's a few players in that Drogheda squad who'd love to throw a spanner in the works, Shane Farrell being the most obvious and it would be very funny if he did!
Let's not forget they are playing for a starting place in the cup final. No better motivation needed than earn the chance to start in the biggest domestic game in the calendar and the biggest game for the club in a while as well.
Dermobohs
19/10/2024, 11:29 PM
Be resting key players no?
CorribsideSteve
19/10/2024, 11:33 PM
Although it looks like Europe might be slipping away, it's been a great year. We really need a leading front man. Best defence in the league for a promoted side must be a very rare occurrence in LOI circle. But, conversely, having almost the worst goals for, and too many 0-0's (6) has left us a bit short going into the last hurrah. It seems silly to be too critical of the season though. JC and Ollie have molded a seriously well drilled side together, whatever of their sideline antics. The trick now will be to see if we can sustain a similar effort again next season, just with a few more goal scoring moments! Great attendances all season for the most part in Terryland as well which has been great to see, remembering going to games 15 years ago with 800 at them.
WoodquayBoy
20/10/2024, 12:30 AM
now both Connaught sides
Where? Just because ye West Brits sold out to anglicisation doesn’t mean us hardy men of ConnACHT did the same
legendz
20/10/2024, 6:59 AM
I'm not a fan of the playoff structure. UCD & Bray and Wexford & Athlone have played each other four times over the course of the season. While 2nd to 5th being in the playoffs is serving its purpose of giving First Division clubs a lifeline, playing over two legs seems excessive.
Single knockout rounds could suffice. UCD 2nd at home to Bray. Wexford 3rd at home to Athlone. The highest ranked club then with home advantage in the final.
The promotion/relegation playoff is where clubs are meeting for the first time, unless they have met in the cup. The promotion/relegation playoff seems more appropriate to be played over two legs. There should be no dallying on home advantage for the first and second legs either. 9th in the Premier have a higher ranking. The First Division club can host the first leg. The Premier Division club can host the second leg.
Last year that would have resulted in Waterford hosting Cork, before the return leg in Turner's Cross.
placid casual
20/10/2024, 7:14 AM
Congratulations to bohs on securing their position in the Premier division for another season.:)
It'd be no craic if we lost both bohs and dundalk from the league, who'd we have left to generate the ire necessary for a seasoned LOI fanatic like myself
Shels have 1 hand on the trophy now, a meaningless game for Drogs on friday,and derry won't win in inchicore. That leaves Rovers going to the lawless El Paso looking for a win.... dundalk fans will surely derive a modicum of pleasure in an otherwise disastrous season in denying us 5 in a Row.
2 Year Contract
20/10/2024, 7:56 AM
Where? Just because ye West Brits sold out to anglicisation doesn’t mean us hardy men of ConnACHT did the same
Bloody west brits out in your province setting up 'The Connaught Telegraph (https://www.con-telegraph.ie/)' to confuse us stupid dubs eh? ;)
20/10/2024, 9:28 AM
Congratulations to bohs on securing their position in the Premier division for another season.:)
It'd be no craic if we lost both bohs and dundalk from the league, who'd we have left to generate the ire necessary for a seasoned LOI fanatic like myself
Shels have 1 hand on the trophy now, a meaningless game for Drogs on friday,and derry won't win in inchicore. That leaves Rovers going to the lawless El Paso looking for a win.... dundalk fans will surely derive a modicum of pleasure in an otherwise disastrous season in denying us 5 in a Row.
The greatest of backhanded compliments, love-hate is strong in you PC;)
Buckett
20/10/2024, 10:24 AM
Bloody west brits out in your province setting up 'The Connaught Telegraph (https://www.con-telegraph.ie/)' to confuse us stupid dubs eh? ;)
That's a Mayo paper, the Connacht Tribune is Galway. Mayo doesn't count.
Another Bohemia
20/10/2024, 11:48 AM
Be resting key players no?
Could be, wouldn't surprise me if they kept their starting 11 intact to try and keep a bit of form going into the playoff and cup finals.
Even if they rotate key players the guys coming in will see it as an opportunity to earn a place in the respective games. They'll see an opportunity to impress against potential champions in waiting. Don't think it's an easy game for Shels in the slightest.
ger121
20/10/2024, 6:35 PM
The Dundalk squad is already out the door and have nothing to play for now. You’ll win your last 2 and you know it. All the remains to be seen, is if 61 points will be enough to win the title.
WoodquayBoy
20/10/2024, 6:50 PM
That’s in Mayo, an even bigger sh!theap than what’s inside the Pale ??
forza rovers
21/10/2024, 8:25 AM
So we’ve gone from Shels and Derry not wanting the league in recent weeks to Galway and Sligo not wanting Europe! If Pats win one of their two games now both Connaught sides miss out on the top 4 having remained in and around there for most of the season. If Galway and Sligo draw next weekend then a draw from the two games will be enough for 4th place for Pats
more like having a bare bones squad not being able to cope with having no striker available.
21/10/2024, 12:42 PM
That Dylan Watts goal for Rovers last night is going to be the difference.I think if both Derry and Shels win on Friday (away to Pats, home to Drogs) it becomes almost impossible for Rovers due to GD, unless we get two big wins. I think only once in recent years (the 0-4 game with Jack Byrne's amazing goal from a tight angle) have Rovers won well in Oriel. In normal circumstances I'd take any win up there.
Equally Shels could do with a big win over Drogs. Drogs have nothing to play for now I think but I expect will relish the occasion.
I think if both Derry and Shels win on Friday (away to Pats, home to Drogs) it becomes almost impossible for Rovers due to GD, unless we get two big wins. I think only once in recent years (the 0-4 game with Jack Byrne's amazing goal from a tight angle) have Rovers won well in Oriel. In normal circumstances I'd take any win up there.
Equally Shels could do with a big win over Drogs. Drogs have nothing to play for now I think but I expect will relish the occasion.
It could go either way for Drogs. They could well play with more freedom now that the result is academic, or they may have one eye on the cup final. Shels will have got a boost from beating Waterford, so I suspect they may have enough to get the job done. If they do win they become favourites again I would think.
total hoofball
21/10/2024, 4:54 PM
Two seasons ago Shels played Drogheda in the exact same penultimate game of the season at Tolka and we trashed Drogheda 6-0 who were uncharacteristically awful that night looking like like they had downed tools on their season where they achieved their goal of survival with a minimum 8th place finish
You would think Doherty won't allow a repeat of that but they certainly cannot afford any injuries or suspensions to key players with these two massive games ahead. I remember Shels after that Drogheda game against Pats on the final night away with the Cup Final the following week and our mainly full strength starting XI were clearly timid and were easily trashed by Pats 4-0
Onapointoforder
21/10/2024, 10:02 PM
Although it looks like Europe might be slipping away, it's been a great year. We really need a leading front man. Best defence in the league for a promoted side must be a very rare occurrence in LOI circle. But, conversely, having almost the worst goals for, and too many 0-0's (6) has left us a bit short going into the last hurrah. It seems silly to be too critical of the season though. JC and Ollie have molded a seriously well drilled side together, whatever of their sideline antics. The trick now will be to see if we can sustain a similar effort again next season, just with a few more goal scoring moments! Great attendances all season for the most part in Terryland as well which has been great to see, remembering going to games 15 years ago with 800 at them.
Enda Curran to Galway ???
CorribsideSteve
22/10/2024, 8:02 AM
Enda Curran to Galway ???
I mean, we could do worse, but I think he's close to the end of his playing days.
Kiki Balboa
22/10/2024, 9:31 AM
Derry were poor for large spells in Oriel.
Really, it was Dalys subs that changed the tie - for the worst for Dundalk. After Daly "made his impact", Derry looked very comfortable.
Some very strange decisions from Daly.
Taking off Dundalks most technical players in Ostenbrink and Hakiki at once, took any Dundalk ability to hold onto the ball away. Putting Mayowa at full back marking Duffy is bizarre- gave Derrys best player all of the freedom. The game was tight until this point. Moving Mountney into center midfield has never worked.
I don't want to criticise players or managers at Dundalk considering all of the shannigans off the park... but in a pure football sense... since the summer, Daly has done some very inept things with this squad.
We should have been more competitive ... even though again the off field stuff probably meant we were destined for the drop.
Anyways... Will be glad Daly is gone at the end of the season. Completly the wrong man for the moment. Clearly doesn't want to be at Dundalk any longer, and is managing like he didn't want to us to be competitive.
Very disappointing after a bright start. (Can hear all the Pats fans cheering when they read this).
Ps. I hope Derry win the league, but I would be very surprised if they win their last two.
Rovers have the two most winable games left.
22/10/2024, 10:56 AM
I mean, we could do worse, but I think he's close to the end of his playing days.
He's said himself in interviews his body simply can't cope with full time football so highly doubt he'll move to a PD club. As for the Dundalk shouts on here, no way is he signing for a club that play on astro.