View Full Version : Is there a Bus to Cork or not?
18/09/2005, 1:15 PM
Can the trust please tell everyone will there be a bus to cork!! they are leaving it very late to do so!! some of us have to arrange a way different down if there isn't! so hurry up and tell us!!! :confused:
We were discussing it after the match on Saturday & it seems that the Trust are not running a Bus, however I might run one myself, Who is interested. I fear that this is going to be the worst supported game of the season causes Feck all seem to be travelling. If I get enough interest I will post details this afternoon, need 11/12 min. let me know if you have any mates intending to travel.
19/09/2005, 10:21 AM
We were discussing it after the match on Saturday & it seems that the Trust are not running a Bus, however I might run one myself, Who is interested. I fear that this is going to be the worst supported game of the season causes Feck all seem to be travelling. If I get enough interest I will post details this afternoon, need 11/12 min. let me know if you have any mates intending to travel.
got 3 people including myself,to posssibly go
Bravo
19/09/2005, 11:00 AM
Would ye prefer to stay overnight or return Friday evening (Leaving Sligo at 12.00 & returning at 04.00 Saturday Morning
19/09/2005, 12:28 PM
return friday evening!!
I have provisionally booked a Bus, Leaving from Mooneys Bar At 12.00 on Friday Afternoon & Returning straight after the game, Due to the potential risked involved (Cost wise) to me I need all names confirmed with a deposit By Wednesday 21st. If sufficient numbers are not reached by then I will have to Cancel. Remember We can watch the Game on TG4 like everybody else or we can go down & support the ”Bit of red” The cost per head is c35.00 I have the hard work done now all you have to do is ring 0872181777 & confirm your place.
20/09/2005, 12:14 AM
fair f**ks to bravo. is there any chance paraic could put sumthin bout bus on official website? i can't see it bein worst away support of season anyway. i know at least 6 or so goin who aren't regular travellers
20/09/2005, 8:18 AM
me and a friend have a place booked on bravos bus
btw: the reason we couldn’t stay overnight is because only one Bus company in the county can make the journey & they are reluctant to Stay due to commitments on Saturday, all other companies have contracted school runs on Friday afternoon.
Guys: anyone interested? You need to be letting us know ASAP
20/09/2005, 9:46 AM
Guys: anyone interested? You need to be letting us know ASAPI would normally go without a doubt but I´m away at the moment :( :mad:
20/09/2005, 12:12 PM
thats ok i might just get the bus up and stay the night in cork and find my way back home somehow the next day!
20/09/2005, 12:18 PM
no one! i thought Sligo would bring 200-300
I think we're the only club who can bring that kind of support to games on a regular basis these days.
Rovers do bring big support aswell to some games in fairness and Derry to the odd game even though they only had about 50 in Dalymount the other night.
I wouldn't expect those numbers out of a club like Sligo though but it is their biggest game of the season so I would have thought they'd bring 100+ anyway??
20/09/2005, 12:28 PM
I think we're the only club who can bring that kind of support to games on a regular basis these days.
Rovers do bring big support aswell to some games in fairness and Derry to the odd game even though they only had about 50 in Dalymount the other night.
I wouldn't expect those numbers out of a club like Sligo though but it is their biggest game of the season so I would have thought they'd bring 100+ anyway??
i can remember Sligo bringing a huge croed last time we played them in the cup in Cork
20/09/2005, 12:35 PM
normally we would bring loads....dont know why we arent this game...should be a few regardless of 1 bus
20/09/2005, 12:37 PM
dont know why we arent this gameProbably cos it´s on TG4 :(
20/09/2005, 12:39 PM
the journey is too far and the game is on the telly anyway.
nephin
20/09/2005, 1:13 PM
I can't make it because I'm working. I'm sure there are lot of others in the same situation.
sligo1
20/09/2005, 1:23 PM
I think one of the main reasons is that the game is on Friday night and not Saturday.It's a pity nobody thought of changing it.
the journey is too far and the game is on the telly anyway.
are you being serious? does that matter. dear o dear
I think one of the main reasons is that the game is on Friday night and not Saturday.It's a pity nobody thought of changing it.
Eh why? We always play on Fridays. FFS, its no more than a 4 hour drive, at absolute most.
In fairness there will be a couple of hundred From Sligo, No Questions,
A lot are going by car, some of my mates wont come on a bus cause they want the night in Cork on the ****! To far to go to come home sober at night!
20/09/2005, 4:23 PM
are you being serious? does that matter. dear o dear
no im joking...its not on T.V and cork is only a 2 minute drive.......thats why Im not going.
sligo1
20/09/2005, 7:13 PM
It's a good 5 hours - fair enough if your home games are on a Fri night but it would be impossible to get off work for a lot of people.Also if it was on Sat night, you could get up to a 1000 no problem from Sligo and Dublin to support Rovers which would mean extra revenue for Cork City plus the city of Cork would benefit from people looking for hotel rooms, b&b's, restaurants, pubs, maybe petrol etc. That's why I thought it might have made sense to put it on Sat night. It would also have led to a better atmosphere at the game.Personally I don't know anybody going.
Redtop
20/09/2005, 8:47 PM
i dont think that many people :( are goin but im definitly goin its the biggest game of the season so far and it will be good craic :D i doubt there will be even 2 busloads from what i hear
20/09/2005, 9:06 PM
I'll more than likely go, trying to get a few lads to go aswell.....just have to ok it with the parents! I'll PM ya or ring ya tomorrow if im going!
20/09/2005, 9:08 PM
it is their biggest game of the season
wouldnt agree that its our biggest game of the season , highest profile certainly but i wouldnt take a win if i thought it would affect our promotion chances . huge game v dublin city on 1st October thats our biggest game of the season!
TG4 are showing the Shams game on Saturday night, so I think it’s because of TV rights they are entitled to pick two ¼ finals to show. This probably dictates the nights the matches are on.
I'll more than likely go, trying to get a few lads to go aswell.....just have to ok it with the parents! I'll PM ya or ring ya tomorrow if im going!
Any chance the Parents will come! We could look at a family discount….
Thanks to everybody who showed an interest & helped spread the word. At this stage its looking good, we have the majority of the Bus filled but some seats are still vacant we will decide this evening for sure (99.9%), So if you can coax any one into going, Let us know ASAP.
21/09/2005, 2:42 PM
every1s sayin there's no1 goin but no1 made a big deal of athlone game recently&there was more than 300 at that. we've had fantastic away support for nearly every away game this season. no other team in the country could expect the numbers we've had this season considering the shi*hole division we're playin in. we'll defo bring 300 min. to cork i'd say. pretty dissapointed that some1 wud say they're not goin cos it's on tv.
betty swollox
21/09/2005, 4:59 PM
i know of a good few travellin from dublin,galway etc(including myself),what time will the bus be arriving down there at and what pub are ye heading for?the one near the x sounds like the best bet
1 9 2 8
21/09/2005, 5:45 PM
what pub are ye heading for?the one near the x sounds like the best bet
Ya a few pints in their to losing up the vocal cords
21/09/2005, 6:47 PM
is there much more seats availible for d bus to cork game
21/09/2005, 6:49 PM
ill more than likely go ill confirm in next few hours (if there is any more spair seats
Philbo
21/09/2005, 10:51 PM
Bravo,
Left you a personal message wondering about seats for bus. If there are any left could you give us a text to confirm cause probably wont have internet access until the weekend. Thanks
22/09/2005, 7:47 AM
would it be possible to fill a second bus at this late stage?
Bravo
22/09/2005, 10:31 AM
Because of the names used here I am not 100% sure who is looking for what, The Bus is full as it stands & To be honest I would have no interest in running another one. What pub would you recommend close to the ground for the post match greasing?
22/09/2005, 10:38 AM
would it be possible to fill a second bus at this late stage?
surely a 24 or 30 seater could be filled.
if bravo doesn't want to do it, Im sure he has no problem in passing on the bus company details to someone who is still looking for a seat and they can arrange the second bus themselves?
I have provisionally booked a Bus, Leaving from Mooneys Bar At 12.00 on Friday Afternoon & Returning straight after the game, Due to the potential risked involved (Cost wise) to me I need all names confirmed with a deposit By Wednesday 21st. If sufficient numbers are not reached by then I will have to Cancel. Remember We can watch the Game on TG4 like everybody else or we can go down & support the ”Bit of red” The cost per head is c35.00 I have the hard work done now all you have to do is ring XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX & confirm your place.
we have had a cancellation anyone interested ring the # above orXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ASAP......