Friday 27th (all 19:45)

Bray v Cork
Athlone v Cobh
Kerry v Finn Harps
Treaty v Longford
Wexford v UCD

sbgawa
25/09/2024, 9:54 PM
We need a perfect weekend and ill start to believe again. A win for us combined with Derry and Shels dropping points and maybe just maybe.
Pats are on a great run and we will have to be at our best to beat them , that means a lot better than against Bohs, time for a big performance which we havent been able to do all season.
Waterford need to beat Galway probably but have to avoid defeat for sure to keep in with a shout of Europe and that combined with Galways legendary lack of goals screams a draw to me.

A drogs win and a Dundalk win would leave Bohs looking firmly over their shoulders.

First division match of the day is Wexford v UCD, A UCD win and a win for Harps in Kerry would have Harps back in the playoff spots....they couldnt scrape into the playoffs and go all the way.....good time to hit a bit of form, channeling the spirit of Ollie

25/09/2024, 9:58 PM
Simply a must win for Harps. No other result will do. If UCD and Cork do us a favour it'd be handy.

FabioMane19
26/09/2024, 9:15 AM
We need a perfect weekend and ill start to believe again. A win for us combined with Derry and Shels dropping points and maybe just maybe.
Pats are on a great run and we will have to be at our best to beat them , that means a lot better than against Bohs, time for a big performance which we havent been able to do all season.
Waterford need to beat Galway probably but have to avoid defeat for sure to keep in with a shout of Europe and that combined with Galways legendary lack of goals screams a draw to me.

A drogs win and a Dundalk win would leave Bohs looking firmly over their shoulders.

First division match of the day is Wexford v UCD, A UCD win and a win for Harps in Kerry would have Harps back in the playoff spots....they couldnt scrape into the playoffs and go all the way.....good time to hit a bit of form, channeling the spirit of Ollie

Dream stuff from a Drogs perspective. I'd snap your hand off for a Bohs win this week. Keep Dundalk out of arms reach for us has to be the goal I think.

placid casual
27/09/2024, 8:17 AM
The squeaky bums get squeakier by the week.
Every team, besides dundalk,have something to aim for this evening.
Shels should beat a sligo team who offered little resistance to Rovers a couple of weeks ago,but maybe that depends on how clinical they are in front of goal.
Derry have a tough,tough game in Drogheda and I wouldn't be surprised to see a draw there.
Rovers Vs Pats should be an open game with both teams at least trying to score so a high scoring draw awaits I presume.
Both Waterford and Galway will want 3 points to stay in the europe conversation so another draw awaits there!
Shels could seal the league with 2 wins in 3 days and should they do that then fair play to them.

sbgawa
27/09/2024, 8:47 AM
IF we defend like we did against bohs we will lose as PAts strikers will punish us where bohs didnt have the ability.
Wonder will the boo boys in the West stand be quietened down by being called out by Bradley if the match isnt going our way.
My experience of Rovers fans down the years tells me that they will have plenty of company if Pats are still in the game late on when nothing but a win will do for us.
Im praying for a win but i expect Derry and Shels to drop points and us to fail to capitalise again

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/09/2024, 1:00 PM
Shels have won 1 of their last 7 and we’ve beaten them the last 2 games we played them so not too worried about going there but our away form is very patchy (lost the last 3 conceding 14)

wonder88
27/09/2024, 2:23 PM
7.15 kick off for Shels v Pats on Monday I notice. A bit of a surprise with that time since the away team are also Dublin based. I do think it is a good idea to bring forward the kick-off time for Monday night games when there is a big travel distance involved. The 2 Monday night aways I managed to get to for Galway this year, Sligo and earlier this week in Drogheda, travel wise would have benefited from this.

27/09/2024, 2:26 PM
Derry to drop points only for Rovers to concede a late late equaliser after Richie Towell or someone ballons a sitter over the bar.

placid casual
27/09/2024, 3:04 PM
Shels have won 1 of their last 7 and we’ve beaten them the last 2 games we played them so not too worried about going there but our away form is very patchy (lost the last 3 conceding 14)
Yeah ,your home form is brilliant but the away form is poor,and shels appear to be crawling towards the finish line,so I'd love for you guys to do your fellow Rovers a big favour!

27/09/2024, 5:21 PM
Yeah ,your home form is brilliant but the away form is poor,and shels appear to be crawling towards the finish line,so I'd love for you guys to do your fellow Rovers a big favour!

I’m expecting a tight game in Tallaght, honestly wouldn’t surprise me which way it goes. A win would be a major statement from us I think. We’ve been playing really well lately, but this game is moving up a notch. Good record against Rovers this season, but they may well be due a win against us. Would I take a draw now ? Damn right I would. On to Monday, and I’d actually fancy our chances more of beating Shels.

Edit - actually meant to reply to sbgwa.

27/09/2024, 5:47 PM
Do wonder is tonight when we finally lose second place (temporarily). We've a brutal record in Drogheda, and this has a draw written all over it. In saying that, we've bossed Drogs at home this season. Time for the lads to step up. I'm not confident.
The Tallaght tie is an interesting one. Pat's on form, but haven't won there in years. Don't even fancy them for a draw, TBH.
The Tolka match is on Virgin, and who knows what Sligo team will show up?

FD-wise, Harps need to win tonight, and it would potentially put them into the playoff spot on GD.

CorribsideSteve
27/09/2024, 6:44 PM
Anyone struggling with the stream for Waterford Galway? Its a dead link for me while every other match links up with no issues??
Edit: Seems like they're working on something

sbgawa
27/09/2024, 7:07 PM
Do wonder is tonight when we finally lose second place (temporarily). We've a brutal record in Drogheda, and this has a draw written all over it. In saying that, we've bossed Drogs at home this season. Time for the lads to step up. I'm not confident.
The Tallaght tie is an interesting one. Pat's on form, but haven't won there in years. Don't even fancy them for a draw, TBH.
The Tolka match is on Virgin, and who knows what Sligo team will show up?

FD-wise, Harps need to win tonight, and it would potentially put them into the playoff spot on GD.

Nothing to worry about, as usual when the opportunity is there to get back into things we screw up

27/09/2024, 7:21 PM
Nothing to worry about, as usual when the opportunity is there to get back into things we screw up

What a start from Pats. Could be 3 up, though 8n fairness Burke had a great chance that took a great block from Joe Redmond. Mason Melia giving a master class :cool:.

redarmyfaction
27/09/2024, 7:47 PM
Looks like we can beat Shels with a clear conscience now.

27/09/2024, 8:04 PM
As it stands, the top five teams are picking up just two points - and that's Sligo and Shels level at 0-0.

With 4/5 games to go, Shels can still finish seventh.

This season is mental.

Edit - as I type that, Galway equalise against Waterford, meaning it's now four points for the top six tonight, while Drogheda, Bohs and Pat's all lead.

sbgawa
27/09/2024, 8:15 PM
As predicted derry and shels drop points while we **** up. Time for change.

Dermobohs
27/09/2024, 8:22 PM
As predicted derry and shels drop points while we **** up. Time for change.
Oooh the 1% moaning fans in the we st stand
(copyright S Bradley) must be spreading!!

27/09/2024, 8:29 PM
Superb from Pats so far tonight. We’ve been great on the break.

Dermobohs
27/09/2024, 8:43 PM
Shels 0-0 ing their way to a title, weird stuff.

joey B
27/09/2024, 8:50 PM
Dreadful performance by Harps in Kerry this evening,playoffs look a massive ask now….

ger121
27/09/2024, 9:07 PM
Still nobody wants to win it.

SwanVsDalton
27/09/2024, 9:11 PM
Weird to be in touching distance of a double and still lowkey hate this team. Can't cross. Can't create. Can't defend. Apart from that, great.

Just let Pats and Drogheda play-off for the league.

27/09/2024, 9:17 PM
We just love the way we’re being ignored. What a team and club. Good luck to the ladies tomorrow evening

27/09/2024, 9:23 PM
We just love the way we’re being ignored. What a team and club. Good luck to the ladies tomorrow evening

Did someone say something ?;);).

Nah, fair play to Galway in fairness. Great result tonight. Mad season all round. Delighted with Pats performance too, obviously.

Calcio Jack
27/09/2024, 9:23 PM
Pats in total command this evening aside from a few half chances - weird thing is (not that we will ) if we win our last 4 games we’ve a decent chance of winning the league …. Back in the real world sad to see this dynasty fall without as much as whimper ….. good news is we always come back and will be interesting to see how Bradley goes about rebuilding .

Expect Pats to replace Shels as a contender next season alongside us and Derry

27/09/2024, 9:27 PM
Weird to be in touching distance of a double and still lowkey hate this team. Can't cross. Can't create. Can't defend. Apart from that, great.

Just let Pats and Drogheda play-off for the league.

Ah here, it's so frustrating. We've six points from the last seven games.
Galway are a point behind us. Sligo are three behind us. Which team is getting the best value for money there?
Meanwhile, Shels creep a little bit further to the league.

That second half was brutal from us. Appalling defending for the goals, and nothing going forward. Poor Hoban had to drop back to midfield to try and get a sniff of a touch.

I've attempted to console myself with the fact that I thought we'd draw, and Shels and Rovers would win. So we're in a better position than I thought we'd be.
But that's a nonsense really. We've no balls. I don't know if any other team does, but the league was there for us if we wanted.

placid casual
27/09/2024, 9:44 PM
Fair play to Pats they got their tactics spot on,and badly exposed Rovers woeful defending by hitting them on the break continually and with purpose.
Bradley clearly prioritised the European game on Thursday by leaving Kenny and Byrne on the bench for this game and combined with POTY contender Honohan going off injured and that sad excuse for a keeper in goal Rovers meandering "process" ran out of luck.
Pat's fans must be wondering what might have been this season if they'd made a change in the dugout earlier . If they beat shels on Monday they have a great chance of getting into Europe next season.
As for Rovers the changes in personnel for next season become more stark.

derry are a joke in my opinion,they have great players but a $hite mentality and shels have mediocre players but a desire to do their best at least. Nobody wants to win the league so maybe Galway will do it after all. Id love for that to happen just to see Ollie Horgan as part of a league winning team ! :)

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/09/2024, 9:54 PM
They’d win the league and he’d straight away be talking about how hard it will be to stay up next season

Decent game in Tolka. Could have gone either way. Denham lucky not to give away a penalty for a push but he was superb in general.

Shearer
27/09/2024, 10:04 PM
Playoffs are gone but a good 3-1 win for Treaty, a scoreline that probably flattered the visitors.

Plenty of young lads getting minutes

oriel
27/09/2024, 10:37 PM
It was almost a relief to finally all but have it confirmed as relegated tonight, for a club that hasn't won a game since 14 July, I wouldn't have been putting too much money on a play off win !

We were by a measure the worst in the PD this season, and can have no complaints really.

joey B
27/09/2024, 10:37 PM
If Higgins wins the cup but fails in the league will he be let go?

2 Year Contract
27/09/2024, 11:04 PM
Brilliant win in Tallaght, to a man every Pats player had a great game. Amazing really how Kenny has turned this team around from July onwards once he got some time to actually work on the training ground with them after a hectic first month in charge fixtures wise. If there were an extra 4 or 5 games I genuinely think Pats would’ve had a shot at winning it this year but they’ve ran out of runway for that sort of talk unfortunately. Rovers didn’t seem particularly bothered once it went 2-0, I couldn’t believe the lack of effort from their players to even close down Anang standing on the ball waiting to be pressed. Between that and constant misplacing of passes under no pressure they were dirt tonight

oriel
27/09/2024, 11:25 PM
If Higgins wins the cup but fails in the league will he be let go?

I can't think why not, he has not delivered in the league if he fails to win it this year, and as things stand its not looking great.

On the other side, if they don't win the cup, I'd say he'll gone fairly quicky. That would also have a big impact on the chasing pack if Derry don't win the cup, as all of those playing for 4th place will be in vain, as it will mean that Bohs, or Drogs/Wex will be taking the 4th and final euro spot, and 4th spot will get nothing.

Galway in a great position for example to nick 3rd. They are guaranteed 3 points next friday anyway !

joey B
28/09/2024, 2:26 AM

Stevie Wonder running the line at Bray tonight,he looks about 3 yards onside there….

Nah Nah Nah Nah
28/09/2024, 5:57 AM
I can't think why not, he has not delivered in the league if he fails to win it this year, and as things stand its not looking great.

On the other side, if they don't win the cup, I'd say he'll gone fairly quicky. That would also have a big impact on the chasing pack if Derry don't win the cup, as all of those playing for 4th place will be in vain, as it will mean that Bohs, or Drogs/Wex will be taking the 4th and final euro spot, and 4th spot will get nothing.

Galway in a great position for example to nick 3rd. They are guaranteed 3 points next friday anyway !

Derry certainly not guaranteed top 3 the way they’re going

Bunny Kelly
28/09/2024, 9:27 AM
I think Rovers win their last 4 games they get to 61 points, can we see either ot the other 2 beating that number?

28/09/2024, 9:28 AM
Any of the top six can still finish anywhere in the top six so far as I can see. Wouldn't rule out Pat's winning it yet - only side that can keep some form it seems.

The final table if all sides get the same number of points in their last 4/5 games as they got in their last 4/5 games -

Shels 60
Pat's 57
Rovers 56
Galway 56
Derry 55
Sligo 54
Waterford 46
Bohs 43
Drogheda 39
Dundalk 24

Didn't think much of the half-hour of Shels v Sligo I caught on VM2. Lots of effort and tackles and passion, but skill was largely absent and long balls abounded. Shels' crossing let them down time and again. Sligo seemed to settle for the draw from maybe 20 minutes out. Not a great advertisement for the league leaders v Euro challengers tbh.

That said, the main takeaway from this season is how much Bradley and Higgins have been shown up by Kenny and Duff.

28/09/2024, 9:34 AM

Stevie Wonder running the line at Bray tonight,he looks about 3 yards onside there….
That is mental. He's not even in an offside position when he heads the ball, let alone when the ball is played.

You have to assume the lino missed the guy standing three yards behind the rest of his defence - though how he continued to miss him as he challenged the Bray attacker I don't know.

Also a farcical winner for Galway last night - Waterford defender cleared the ball into the Galway attacker, and it rebounded into the net. Here from 5:45.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEwQSpa6sl4

WoodquayBoy
28/09/2024, 10:54 AM
Any of the top six can still finish anywhere in the top six so far as I can see. Wouldn't rule out Pat's winning it yet - only side that can keep some form it seems.

The final table if all sides get the same number of points in their last 4/5 games as they got in their last 4/5 games -

Shels 60
Pat's 57
Rovers 56
Galway 56
Derry 55
Sligo 54
Waterford 46
Bohs 43
Drogheda 39
Dundalk 24

Didn't think much of the half-hour of Shels v Sligo I caught on VM2. Lots of effort and tackles and passion, but skill was largely absent and long balls abounded. Shels' crossing let them down time and again. Sligo seemed to settle for the draw from maybe 20 minutes out. Not a great advertisement for the league leaders v Euro challengers tbh.

That said, the main takeaway from this season is how much Bradley and Higgins have been shown up by Kenny and Duff.

That would be such our luck - do enough to finish fourth, Derry win the cup but finish outside the top three so the euro place doesn’t filter down to fourth

28/09/2024, 12:12 PM
Dundalk relegated, Shels winning the league, talk of expunging result, maybe an asterisk on the league table, country awash with money and being splashed around wastefully, rants about immigration, soaring house rices etc etc - its feels very 2002, if the country is on its knees fiancially in 5 or 6 years i'll be convinced we're in some looping error of the matrix.

legendz
28/09/2024, 12:13 PM
Kerry's draw with Finn Harps was enough to climb off the foot of the First Division table last evening in the battle to avoid the wooden spoon. There'll be a few twists and turns yet. Longford have better momentum.

Another Bohemia
28/09/2024, 2:07 PM
Dundalk relegated, Shels winning the league, talk of expunging result, maybe an asterisk on the league table, country awash with money and being splashed around wastefully, rants about immigration, soaring house rices etc etc - its feels very 2002, if the country is on its knees fiancially in 5 or 6 years i'll be convinced we're in some looping error of the matrix.

Is the country awash with money? Seems every other person is struggling in some way. Either can't save for a house, rent is getting too much for them, can't afford child care, groceries & bills too expensive. Some people are certainly showing they have money but I reckon a lot of that is on credit cards or loans.

28/09/2024, 2:22 PM
Kerry's draw with Finn Harps was enough to climb off the foot of the First Division table last evening in the battle to avoid the wooden spoon. There'll be a few twists and turns yet. Longford have better momentum.

The real story in the LOI.

28/09/2024, 3:33 PM
Is the country awash with money? Seems every other person is struggling in some way. Either can't save for a house, rent is getting too much for them, can't afford child care, groceries & bills too expensive. Some people are certainly showing they have money but I reckon a lot of that is on credit cards or loans.

25bbillion gov surplus, the country is awash with money, wheter it is getting to those who need it is another debate. The parallels from 2 decades ago are there maybe minus cheap credit,

Thewhitepele
28/09/2024, 4:29 PM
25bbillion gov surplus, the country is awash with money, wheter it is getting to those who need it is another debate. The parallels from 2 decades ago are there maybe minus cheap credit,

And yet we have one of the highest national debts in the world. I haven't heard one person suggest we should just pay some of that off. The next recession will be epic.

From a Sligo Rovers perspective we tend to do well in a recession when all the billionaires decide they have had enough.

Thewhitepele
28/09/2024, 4:40 PM
It was almost a relief to finally all but have it confirmed as relegated tonight, for a club that hasn't won a game since 14 July, I wouldn't have been putting too much money on a play off win !

We were by a measure the worst in the PD this season, and can have no complaints really.

While I don't watch all the Dundalk games what I have seen they must be one of the better sides to finish bottom in my memory. There will be a few in for their players.

28/09/2024, 6:24 PM

Still scratching my head at this really. It was an utterly crap game on the most horrendous pitch in all of professional football, but Harps should have won comfortably.

sbgawa
28/09/2024, 7:18 PM

Can't wait for the shinners to get in we all get a free house including refugees and a new hospital on every crossroads,