View Full Version : League Cup final on Tuesday...

Pages : 1 [2]

20/09/2005, 12:25 PM
What is the official capacity of Belfield these days?
1900, though up to 2000 or so with the extra seats.

On a more serious note, getting the bars to show it live seems just a tad counter-productive.
The idea (or rather, my thinking) is that a lot of students aren't going to go the game anyway. However, if they're drinking in the bar (as they quite probably will be), it'll be good for them to see Belfield Park on the telly - at least then they'll have heard of it and will be able to see where it is. Particularly if they're freshers.

Up to 1,150 tickets sold now apparently, so the stand will be packed. Crowd may push 1500 in the end. Very slight possibility of a sell-out.

20/09/2005, 12:30 PM
1900, though up to 2000 or so with the extra seats.

The idea (or rather, my thinking) is that a lot of students aren't going to go the game anyway. However, if they're drinking in the bar (as they quite probably will be), it'll be good for them to see Belfield Park on the telly - at least then they'll have heard of it and will be able to see where it is. Particularly if they're freshers.

Up to 1,150 tickets sold now apparently, so the stand will be packed. Crowd may push 1500 in the end. Very slight possibility of a sell-out.

The game should be in either Longford, or Drogheda. I guess however, that the FAI wanted the game in Belfield, so there would be fans from both sides at it. If the game was outside Dublin, the support would be about 97% - 3% in Derry's favour.

20/09/2005, 12:37 PM
It was an open draw for home advantage - nothing to do with the FAI at all.

20/09/2005, 1:10 PM
I hope it does sell out.
No matter what anyone thinks about the venue or the clubs involved, this is the final of one of our major competitions and the better it comes across on TV, the better for all the league.

20/09/2005, 2:54 PM
What is the official capacity of Belfield these days?
Quick update...

848 seats in the AIB stand
333 being added
1100 standing
=> 2281 overall.

ccfcgirl
20/09/2005, 8:47 PM
UCD 1-Derry 2 Byrne for ucdand murphy and Mcwalter o.g ,This is a result

20/09/2005, 8:49 PM
UCD 1-Derry 2 Byrne for ucdand murphy and Mcwalter o.g ,This is a result
Delighted...Fair play Derry!!

Speranza
20/09/2005, 9:00 PM
Delighted, Setanta here we come. City 'til I die :)

20/09/2005, 10:48 PM
Setanta here we come

Couldn't have put it better myself :)

20/09/2005, 11:06 PM
Well done Derry, ye definitely deserve silverware this year and it's not over yet. If yerselves and Cork can see ye're way to meeting in the FAI Cup final then I'll be in even more generous mood if we keep up our form and take at least 4th!

21/09/2005, 1:14 AM
Aye, fair dues - the correct result in the end, unfortunately. Dont' know if it was because we didn't play or Derry just had us under too much pressure, but there was only going to be one team.
2174 was the pretty much official crowd, incidentally.

Ronnie
21/09/2005, 8:43 AM
Thats about 2000 down on the last two finals. What would you say the fan split was?

21/09/2005, 9:06 AM
500 or so Derry. The balance UCD or neutrals. Didn't see many other jerseys though.

21/09/2005, 9:14 AM
Didn't see many other jerseys though.

That doesn't mean much. Yesterday was the first time I got a jersey. It's hard to say how many were UCD fans. There were a fair few UCD students there who supported us but you couldn't call them regulars. I'd never have thought we'd hit over the 2k mark. There was a fair few emtpy seats in the temporary stand at the far end.

21/09/2005, 9:22 AM
I mean other club jerseys. At European games, you'll always see a good few other jerseys because lots of neutrals go in to support the Irish team. Didn't see that last night.

21/09/2005, 9:27 AM
I mean other club jerseys. At European games, you'll always see a good few other jerseys because lots of neutrals go in to support the Irish team. Didn't see that last night.

Ah getcha. But sure it's not the club jersey you wear that shows who you support, it's the desperation of a club's chairman. I saw 500 vocal UCD supporters wearing Derry colours at the near end of the ground, didn't you? :D

21/09/2005, 9:29 AM
I saw them waving OUR cut-out League Cup with "UCD Dublin" written on it, if that's what you mean! :D

21/09/2005, 9:30 AM
I saw them waving OUR cut-out League Cup with "UCD Dublin" written on it, if that's what you mean! :D

Lads we need that back for the FAI Cup! We're only poor students, that was supposed to go double duty. :eek:

21/09/2005, 9:37 AM
Anybody else notice that when the confetti stuff was sprayed into the air, the colours were blue, white and red? The colours of UCD and Derry, or the colours of the union jack!

Apparently, some official was outside the ground before the match desperately ringing around for a blue and white ribbon!

Aberdonian Stu
21/09/2005, 10:29 AM
I know they probably don't post here but well done to the UCD gaa lads who turned up to follow us, they were quite a few jerseys knocking about.

I estimated 700 of the 2174 for Derry in my article which I think most City fans will think is fair enough.

Congrats to Derry.