View Full Version : Game weekend 30th August - 1st September
30/08/2024, 7:47 PM
Another one for the goalkeeper howler thread from Oriel.
An entertaining first half in Galway, surprisingly.
Meanwhile, Bray have gone mad against Treaty, and Longford are somehow winning in Turners Cross.
30/08/2024, 7:48 PM
And here's an unfortunate stat for anyone looking for a bit of entertainment value:
Derry City have failed to score in 21 of 29 first halves in the league this season.
https://x.com/thebiscuitg/status/1829605206692409628?t=JqjoyNe9xtv4ANNjQ3kkEg&s=19
30/08/2024, 8:24 PM
Shels lead, Derry trail. This time last week it was looking like Shels were starting to stumble; now they could be three points clear with a game in hand - and another game out of the way of course
What a fascinating season
Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/08/2024, 8:28 PM
Another one for the goalkeeper howler thread from Galway
Jack B
30/08/2024, 8:28 PM
I'm certain that Derry only look like a good team when they play Pats or Waterford.
30/08/2024, 8:30 PM
Not sure I've ever seen a worse first half performance in LOI history than Treaty v Bray.
bohsmug
30/08/2024, 8:30 PM
Flicking between the Derry and Shels game. Derry have a habit of never taking advantage of openings and that's being going on for about 3 years. Does feel like a proper title race when you flick between the 2 games. First in a long time and even in the top leagues it's very rare to have the 2 top teams playing at the same time (add in both being quite vulnerable). Forgot how exciting that can be as a nuetral.
30/08/2024, 8:39 PM
In the First, Athlone are now on a run of two points in five games - might be something in that earlier rumour that they don't want to get promoted!
UCD are the form team at the moment though - six wins in the last seven, 408 minutes since the last goal against. Two huge games coming up - Cork at home, and then Bohs in the Cup.
Cork will win the league if they win in the Bowl next week. Longford led twice in Cork tonight but Cork came back to win 3-2.
ger121
30/08/2024, 8:43 PM
In the First, Athlone are now on a run of two points in five games - might be something in that earlier rumour that they don't want to get promoted!
UCD are the form team at the moment though - six wins in the last seven, 408 minutes since the last goal against. Two huge games coming up - Cork at home, and then Bohs in the Cup.
Cork will win the league if they win in the Bowl next week. Longford led twice in Cork tonight but Cork came back to win 3-2.
If only you played away from the Bowl every week, you’d be top of the table.
ger121
30/08/2024, 8:45 PM
What can you say about Derry. Like what is another word for ruthless? Toothless…Useless…?
SwanVsDalton
30/08/2024, 8:49 PM
Fire this team into the sun, good lord
culloty82
30/08/2024, 8:52 PM
Not for want of effort by Gaxha, who now has four goals from six league games for the Midlanders. Kerry now have just registered four points out of 24 since the mid-season break - still should finish ahead of Longford, but much the same stuttering finish that they had towards the end of 2023, that said, the crowds are still relatively healthy, with almost 700 in attendance tonight.
El-Pietro
30/08/2024, 8:55 PM
Fun night at the cross. We played a 4 1 3 2 with essentially Greg Bolger as the only natural midfielder in midfield but with the full backs both also being midfielders supporting him
So it ws pretty much end to end stuff at least compared to what we're used to.
Goals from Ruairi and Seani twice.
Would not have minded a draw to give us a chance to hold off until out next home game to clinch it but now it's almost certainlt either next week away to Harps or away to Kerry the week after.
I'm gonna have to figure out if I gamble taking the day off next week or not
Buckett
30/08/2024, 9:26 PM
Third. Wow. And in the best standard season ever too.
joey B
30/08/2024, 9:27 PM
Decent second half from Harps finally brought us a win and stopped the extended rot,going to need a lot more to get the playoffs ,unfortunately we’re away 3 of the next 4 weeks and one of them is Cork !
2 Year Contract
30/08/2024, 9:38 PM
Another one for the goalkeeper howler thread from Galway
On first view from the camera angle zoomed out I thought it was a free out but upon looking at it closer up in slow mo (and in the below photo on the LOI twitter) Maher actually fell over his own player.
https://x.com/leagueofireland/status/1829629378763886925?s=46
Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/08/2024, 9:44 PM
On first view from the camera angle zoomed out I thought it was a free out but upon looking at it closer up in slow mo (and in the below photo on the LOI twitter) Maher actually fell over his own player.
https://x.com/leagueofireland/status/1829629378763886925?s=46
Yeah even the Derry Twitter account said it was his own player
El-Pietro
30/08/2024, 9:48 PM
Decent second half from Harps finally brought us a win and stopped the extended rot,going to need a lot more to get the playoffs ,unfortunately we’re away 3 of the next 4 weeks and one of them is Cork !
Really good chance we've wrapped up the division and players are on the **** by then
WoodquayBoy
30/08/2024, 9:51 PM
Yeah even the Derry Twitter account said it was his own player
Yeah, he clattered into Mullan who wasn’t long on - good spot by the ref and I think we deserved that win as well
kksaints
30/08/2024, 9:52 PM
Entertaining game in Ferrycarrig with Wexford doing enough to win to continue their run of good form. Both teams had chances and it wasn't for lack of trying that Athlone didn't get something out of the match. Their defending at setpieces is a bit shabby though and Wexford's first could have been prevented. Wexford are much improved since earlier in the season and their backline since Temple and Divin have come in is solid. Oluwa is still scoring reasonably regularly and with Dobbs, Rowe and Curtis they've a good attacking threat. Midfield is probably the weakest spot Boyle and Lovic aren't bad but they struggled at times against tonight when Athlone played it on the ground.
joey B
30/08/2024, 10:06 PM
Really good chance we've wrapped up the division and players are on the **** by then
A drunk Cork side would probably still have a great chance against us I’d say!
30/08/2024, 11:17 PM
To dominate a game, AND score two goals..well, I missed that greatly.
Could have been more. Cobh were very poor.
thebronze14
31/08/2024, 7:23 AM
Don't know about dominate Nigel. It was 50/50 before we scored. We dominated after mind you and started playing very well. First goal in particular was excellent. Hopefully it gives us the confidence to compete in the run in. Sadly we're off tho the graveyard of dreams that is Athlone next
dundalkfc10
31/08/2024, 11:44 AM
Dundalk wouldnt have scored if we were there till next Friday
Not looking good at all and Daly's refusal to change the goalkeeper is insane. If he starts Thurs and makes another mistake, I wouldn't be surprised see fans turn on Daly
On a separate note something needs done about the officials in this league. Some of the decisions (for both sides) was an absolute disgrace. It's every week at this stage with every official
Shearer
31/08/2024, 1:01 PM
Abysmal stuff from Treaty last night. Less said the better.
Good effort from Longford last night but their new 'keeper Halwax must be the worst in the division. It was never going to be possible for them to replace Brady granted.
31/08/2024, 3:42 PM
Abysmal stuff from Treaty last night. Less said the better.
Good effort from Longford last night but their new 'keeper Halwax must be the worst in the division. It was never going to be possible for them to replace Brady granted.
Yeah have to agree with you on Halwax. Hes shocking for us. Jack brady is a huge loss for us but dont blame him for moving on.
2 Year Contract
31/08/2024, 8:30 PM
Sligo jump up to third place with a -4 goal difference after 29 games #GreatestLeagueInTheWorld
Nah Nah Nah Nah
31/08/2024, 9:36 PM
Could have scored 7 tonight
Pity you didn't score 8 last week !!!, christ lads some week to take off, Drogs !!!
Neish
01/09/2024, 10:41 AM
Don't know about dominate Nigel. It was 50/50 before we scored. We dominated after mind you and started playing very well. First goal in particular was excellent. Hopefully it gives us the confidence to compete in the run in. Sadly we're off tho the graveyard of dreams that is Athlone next
Yeah we dominated the last 30 min but it was fairly evenly lackluster from both Harps & Cobh up to the hour mark
Jack B
01/09/2024, 10:53 AM
Thank god Bohs had the keeper pull the fake injury so they can have a teamtalk taxtic, they might have conceded even earlier than they did if not.
Buckett
01/09/2024, 11:26 AM
Entertaining enough first half. Really hope Bohs win here
Calcio Jack
01/09/2024, 12:00 PM
Lee Grace is a moron …. Better enjoy Group stages as we’ll struggle to qualify for Europe
Shinkicker
01/09/2024, 12:14 PM
Entertaining enough first half. Really hope Bohs win here
Commentators saying how well the ref has done. He'd did make a V. A. R. sign at one point and did get some basic things wrong. Must have been on the lash last night
Jack B
01/09/2024, 12:30 PM
After looking more than comfortable at 2-1 Bohs were hanging on a bit at the end, with a big save from Chorazka, couple of goalmouth scrambles and a miss from Honohan.
It continues to be a mad league. Feels like it's so predictably unpredictable that no team will put enough of a run together to alter what the table currently looks like too much.
sbgawa
01/09/2024, 12:39 PM
Time for change at Rovers. Squad is underperfoming to a degree that is not acceptable. To be in 6th place is not acceptable with the biggest budget in the league. Europe is papering over the cracks and we were the width of a post away from losing to vigkingur.
The budget next year will be massively reduced as no champions path and maybe no Europe at all.
Shinkicker
01/09/2024, 12:43 PM
Dermobohs View Post
We watched different games mate.aki had a really good game, bringing his midfield in with good hold up and his link ups with Tierney in particular was excellent.
Big fella did well when he came on , should have dropped James back and taken off Adam Mac who looked shot at the time
I can guarantee you that Akintunde wouldn't have scored that goal. That's what I meant about pischek. He is direct and aggressive, he hassles and hurries defenders and attacks the ball. In the first half Bohs put in plenty of crosses but nobody to attack or score from them. Second half we have less crosses and a goal. That ball should have been the rovers keepers ball, so pischek did really well to get to it.
2 Year Contract
01/09/2024, 12:50 PM
Darragh Burns started the season off on fire for rovers but he’s looked absolutely muck any time I’ve seen him play lately, way off the levels required
Jolly Red Giant
01/09/2024, 1:40 PM
This is a huge win for Bohs and a significant setback for Rovers (which personally I am quite happy about).
Dermobohs
01/09/2024, 2:34 PM
Dermobohs View Post
We watched different games mate.aki had a really good game, bringing his midfield in with good hold up and his link ups with Tierney in particular was excellent.
Big fella did well when he came on , should have dropped James back and taken off Adam Mac who looked shot at the time
I can guarantee you that Akintunde wouldn't have scored that goal. That's what I meant about pischek. He is direct and aggressive, he hassles and hurries defenders and attacks the ball. In the first half Bohs put in plenty of crosses but nobody to attack or score from them. Second half we have less crosses and a goal. That ball should have been the rovers keepers ball, so pischek did really well to get to it.
I would ****ing love it if the big lad kicks on from here, we need a finisher soooo badly.
You miss my point regarding James akintunde though, I agree he’s out of position as a main striker, just that he gives it all when he’s on the pitch.
Shinkicker
01/09/2024, 2:54 PM
I would ****ing love it if the big lad kicks on from here, we need a finisher soooo badly.
You miss my point regarding James akintunde though, I agree he’s out of position as a main striker, just that he gives it all when he’s on the pitch.
Gaols are what we need and goals are what we got today. Just to beat that shower means a lot. I think Bohs would have won it without the sending off. We are on the same wavelength, supporting the same team wanting the same results.
Another Bohemia
01/09/2024, 4:05 PM
Hardly a vintage performance from Bohs but a cracking goal to win it. Nervy at the end but I think that is because it's been so long since our last win and even longer since our last win where we were trailing! Hopefully now that Bohs have a settled back line a bit of defensive solidity will start to appear. We've had 7 or 8 different players play at CB, 4 at RB (2 of them are no longer at the club) and a few at lb as well. With that amount of chopping and changing the defensive struggles were inevitable. Up front I think Danny Grant is starting to rediscover his form from before he went to the UK. Rooney chips in with goals and assists (although I do think he's a bit limited from open play). Get a striker in and I think this team is well set up for next year. As for the end of the year if we can up the goal average closer to 2 a game there's no reason we can't go on a bit of a run.
Looking forward to the Pats and Drogs game now. The greedy fecker in me wants a nice 0-0 draw so Bohs add a bit of space between themselves and Drogs and pull Pats back towards us.
01/09/2024, 4:16 PM
Think it was a very poor first half but only one side was ever going to win it.
da bishop
01/09/2024, 7:12 PM
Tough viewing in Bray Friday watching that shambles of an effort from Treaty.Now tbf Bray were at it from the start setting the tempo and ran out comfortable winners easing up considerably in the second half..Treaty setup poorly ,midfield missing in action all game ,team littered with poor errors ,organisation and any sign of a game plan.Under Barretts tenure in senior football down here these results are,not altogether a surprise,loads of big defeats ...8-0 Dundalk,7-0 Shelbourne.plenty of 5-0s ,to mention just a few of many that come to mind.To insult the fans intelligence after it by claiming the team actually ...performed well... whilst also claiming the team is...overachieving...beggars belief.Treatys squad which is very experienced in terms of this division deserves better than this.
D24Saint
01/09/2024, 7:23 PM
Badly needed win that. We played very well in spells of the game. It was a lovely goal by Melia that should do his confidence the world of good. In fairness Drogheda are a very solid team and one of the better ones that have been in the relegation battle in recent seasons.
placid casual
01/09/2024, 8:49 PM
Allegations of racial slurs from Pat's fans to Drogs James Taylor. Not the 1st time this season there's been racist abuse by the locals at Richmond Pk.
placid casual
01/09/2024, 8:52 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/its-absolutely-horrendous-st-pats-victory-over-drogheda-united-marred-by-alleged-racist-incident/a1924935181.html
Not good to hear about the alleged racist abuse by Pats fans.
On the football matters, it seems clear now after Bohs win earlier in the day, and probably not a surprise to most, the relegation and play off spot will be contested from those of a Co Louth persuasion.
Huge game for Dundalk v Pats on Thurs, we probably didn't deserve to lose to Shels on Fri, but we did !
patsdad
01/09/2024, 9:51 PM
What a pity the season isn’t starting now. SK has St Pats motoring very sweetly. It’s a big ask to make Europe from where we stand now but it looks like we can carry our European form into the league which means it’s not impossible.
patsdad
01/09/2024, 9:54 PM
On the racism allegation, a lot of the fans who were in the area the Drogheda player pointed towards are adamant that there was nothing racist in the language thrown in his direction.