Athlone v Bray
Cork v Cobh
Treaty v Wexford
UCD V Finn Harps
Saturday 24th
Longford v Kerry 19:30
sbgawa
23/08/2024, 3:16 PM
Another chance for Shels and Derry to give us a way back in to the league title fight and if they do hopefully we dont screw it up again like against Drogs.
Hopefully Drogs can get a point off Sligo at least and combined with a Rovers win on Sunday we should be looking at wraping up Europe for 25 at least.
Big game for Longford if they arent to finish bottom of the first division and will be intersting to see if Dundalk can take advantage of a weak St Pats side on Sunday.
After a great result in Tallght on Thursday and with several million on the line youd have to expect a very very weak St Pats to be turning up in Dundalk
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 7:41 PM
Kearns should really save Grant's goal, straight down the middle of the goal. Really bad positioning/anticipation/communication from Chorazka a minute later, good finish from Coote though
Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/08/2024, 7:46 PM
As bad a 45 as we’ve put in in a long time
23/08/2024, 8:05 PM
Derry take over the lead in the Premier as it stands - not sure when Shels were last off top?
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 8:08 PM
Drogs who started the night bottom are now 5-0 up on top of the form table Sligo Rovers. What a bleedin league!
placid casual
23/08/2024, 8:14 PM
Entertaining game at tolka, how many chances is Kearns gonna get away it!!
Shels look the mid table side they should be, and bohs defence and keeper look shaky, so good entertainment all round.
Sligo really are a feast or famine side,but fair play to drogs, improving their goal difference as they go
Knocklyonhoop
23/08/2024, 8:31 PM
Surely Talbot comes back as a starter soon for Boez? This fella a bag of nerves
what’s happened to `Sligo? Mad score
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 8:37 PM
7 (seven) nil to Drogheda!
Jack B
23/08/2024, 8:39 PM
Drogheda have been a different animal since the summer transfer window. They've improved to such an extent that from what I've seen in these last two games I'd be surprised if they went down. Though maybe the referee tonight is just from Louth and that explains it.
Conversely Shels look miles off it since Molloy and Jarvis have left. Still wouldn't trust them too but Derry are good enough to at least grind out unconvincing wins in this league and that should be all they need to win it. Whoever does will be horrifically uninspiring champions in what's been an otherwise crazy season.
23/08/2024, 8:41 PM
When was the last time anyone put 7 past Sligo? I'm assuming Drogheda never have before. Crazy result.
Calcio Jack
23/08/2024, 8:42 PM
Slip sliding away….. maybe
niallsparky
23/08/2024, 8:46 PM
Derry take over the lead in the Premier as it stands - not sure when Shels were last off top?
March I think...
Shinkicker
23/08/2024, 8:46 PM
Watched Shels v Bohs, very hard to tell who was fighting for the league title and who was fighting to get out of the relegation zone. Very good match to watch.
Buckett
23/08/2024, 8:47 PM
Great set of results tonight, we'll be 3rd after we beat Rovers on Sunday.
placid casual
23/08/2024, 8:48 PM
Shels look like a side hoping the finishing tape comes up and hits them soon.
Drogheda winning 7 nil against sligo is just the craziest result of the season, especially against a team that ,until they lost to ucd in the cup,were the form team in the league.
derry finally accept the opportunity afforded to them.
Rovers are 11 points behind derry with 3 games in hand. It won't happen...........
Dermobohs
23/08/2024, 8:51 PM
Surely Talbot comes back as a starter soon for Boez? This fella a bag of nerves
what’s happened to `Sligo? Mad score
Kacper has been superb all season for us,
One blip tonight, solid otherwise I thought.
Better than talbot by miles.
Calcio Jack
23/08/2024, 8:53 PM
Shels look like a side hoping the finishing tape comes up and hits them soon.
Drogheda winning 7 nil against sligo is just the craziest result of the season, especially against a team that ,until they lost to ucd in the cup,were the form team in the league.
derry finally accept the opportunity afforded to them.
Rovers are 11 points behind derry with 3 games in hand. It won't happen...........
This season is so crazy across the form of all teams at this stage anything could happen… sure Rovers might still do the double !!!!
23/08/2024, 8:54 PM
Straightforward win for UCD tonight - a goal a minute either side of the break lifts us up from second last in the home form table surprisingly.
Be nice to get some home form going ahead of the Bohs game. I think everyone left in the Cup can smell a Cup final
Shearer
23/08/2024, 9:07 PM
Rubbish from Treaty after going ahead.
23/08/2024, 9:14 PM
Adequate performance by Derry in the RSC tonight. Played some nice football at times, but allowed Waterford too much control at other times.
Howler from Jones for the goal. Hard to tell, but may was over the line.
That's the best Waterford have played against us this year, but still four games without scoring.
Top of the league, and it in our hands, technically. I still think we'll be caught be Shamrock Rovers, mind!
ger121
23/08/2024, 9:18 PM
Good point away to the league leaders (at the start of the night) but then Drogs win 7-0 to inch ever closer to us.
More bad keeping tonight across the league will keep that LOI Goalkeeping Howler thread ticking along nicely.
Shinkicker
23/08/2024, 9:22 PM
Adequate performance by Derry in the RSC tonight. Played some nice football at times, but allowed Waterford too much control at other times.
That's the best Waterford have played against us this year, but still four games without scoring.
Top of the league, and it in our hands, technically. I still think we'll be caught be Shamrock Rovers, mind!
Piszechk worked shels harder I 15 mins the Akintunde did for 65mins. I think Bohs should start Piszechk more often
23/08/2024, 9:24 PM
When was the last time anyone put 7 past Sligo? I'm assuming Drogheda never have before. Crazy result.
They conceded five in the Brandywell once, off the top of my head.
Memorable as it was a cup semi-final replay played on Halloween night. Match kicked off at 9 o'clock because of the Halloween parade/fireworks in town beforehand. Few thousand fans in their costumes, fireworks and the rest.
According to StattoLoI, that equals Drogheda's highest ever scoreline.
Knocklyonhoop
23/08/2024, 9:24 PM
As bad a 45 as we’ve put in in a long time
extend that out to 90!
Knocklyonhoop
23/08/2024, 9:25 PM
Good point away to the league leaders (at the start of the night) but then Drogs win 7-0 to inch ever closer to us.
More bad keeping tonight across the league will keep that LOI Goalkeeping Howler thread ticking along nicely.
talbot be back in for ye soon?
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 9:30 PM
I know one was against Wilton but that’s 16 goals scored and 0 conceded in the last 2 games for Drogs!
Jack B
23/08/2024, 9:32 PM
Hopefully we can get our game against them called off next week, wouldn't be good for the integrity of the league if they stuck 12 past us.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
23/08/2024, 9:43 PM
extend that out to 90!
McGinty our best player as well. Absolutely brutal. Season done in 7 days.
2 Year Contract
23/08/2024, 9:49 PM
Hopefully we can get our game against them called off next week, wouldn't be good for the integrity of the league if they stuck 12 past us.
No rush, wait and see how we feel come Friday afternoon. Might call it off, or we could always just play it this time and just pay off the hometown referee instead
Shinkicker
23/08/2024, 9:52 PM
[QOTE=2 Year Contract;2198880]No rush, wait and see how we feel come Friday afternoon. Might call it off, or we could always just play it this time and just pay off the hometown referee instead[/QUOTE]
Luke Dennison with Bohs for almost 2 yrs and now playing a huge part in saving Drogheda. Maybe Bohs should have took a chance.
da bishop
23/08/2024, 9:58 PM
Poor defeat for Treaty at the MF as Wexford deserved the 3 points ,game lost on the sideline Barretts team selection meant the team lopsided and subs introduction plus their timing a disaster.Just heard his interview ..and true to form its back to the pathetic excuses ,all the teams above us are fulltime we,playing well.creating loads of chances, etc...fans are bored listening to it ,if McCormack and her new regime are serious about the investment they have already made and in the future time to look at squad mgt.they built this game up as a ..playoff clash...maybe 400/450 there
24/08/2024, 12:14 AM
That result is that mad it almost like losing to an Albanian side trying to lose mad. Its an anti Dundalk conspiracy!!
Waterford unlucky not to get a point. Shocking mistake from Jones. We hit the post in 2nd half just before goal and had a late goal ruled out for offside. Wisdom was good on his debut for Derry.
Dermobohs
24/08/2024, 8:40 AM
Piszechk worked shels harder I 15 mins the Akintunde did for 65mins. I think Bohs should start Piszechk more often
We watched different games mate.aki had a really good game, bringing his midfield in with good hold up and his link ups with Tierney in particular was excellent.
Big fella did well when he came on , should have dropped James back and taken off Adam Mac who looked shot at the time.
That result is that mad it almost like losing to an Albanian side trying to lose mad. Its an anti Dundalk conspiracy!!
I blame Stephen Kenny !
Another Bohemia
24/08/2024, 9:17 AM
Shels look a different team without Molloy. Not as solid defensively. Attacking wise they've always been limited so their defensive solidity was always important. Losing that in the run in is less than ideal.
On Bohs. Thought we played really well. Danny Grant had his best game since his return to the club. Genuinely delighted for him as well as he's had a rough time of it with the injuries. Unfortunately Bohs are just a team that lack confidence at the moment. Some of the misses were inexcusable (the open goal, Piszcech header, scramble at the back post) and that shows in defence with the Shels goal as well. I think they're really missing a leader at the back as Cian Byrne, Leigh Kavanagh and the new RB Smith look like capable defenders but need to be organized by someone with more experience. Hopefully Cornwall can offer that next season. Get a Striker in who can score 10+ goals and it could be a great season next year.
nr637
24/08/2024, 10:59 AM
Drogheda United 7 Sligo Rovers 0, and Drogheda are a part-time out fit from what I believe while Sligo Rovers has been a full-time set up now for along time!
total hoofball
24/08/2024, 11:25 AM
Shels look a different team without Molloy. Not as solid defensively. Attacking wise they've always been limited so their defensive solidity was always important. Losing that in the run in is less than ideal.
Molloy overall was great he did have his moments of inexperience the problem his departure Duff has been indecisive as to whom is the best partnership at CB with Barrett flipping between Bone, Griffin and Ledwidge. Bone was meant to be Molloy's replacement but he is nowhere near as agile or technical as Molloy, then Bone had a horrorshow last week against Sligo for their opener passing the ball out from the back resulting in benching last night
Barrett has been the superglue on the defence all season he has been ridiculously good we are very lucky he has avoided anything more than minor injuries. Kearns has regressed this season he is increasingly having hairy moments not providing that backline with assurance
Attacking I don't believe any team in football can win a league over a 36 game season scoring barely above an average of a goal a game maybe there could be a first time for that statistic but our signings in the window were front loaded to that attacking area of the field and we don't look any better there even more blunt without Jarvis. I've got to trust Duff can fix this flat spell, Shels are entering a juncture now it's either going to be a title challenge to the end of season or we are actually in the middle of fizzling out and would be clinging to 2nd or dropping to 3rd spot
Another Bohemia
24/08/2024, 1:12 PM
Molloy overall was great he did have his moments of inexperience the problem his departure Duff has been indecisive as to whom is the best partnership at CB with Barrett flipping between Bone, Griffin and Ledwidge. Bone was meant to be Molloy's replacement but he is nowhere near as agile or technical as Molloy, then Bone had a horrorshow last week against Sligo for their opener passing the ball out from the back resulting in benching last night
Barrett has been the superglue on the defence all season he has been ridiculously good we are very lucky he has avoided anything more than minor injuries. Kearns has regressed this season he is increasingly having hairy moments not providing that backline with assurance
Attacking I don't believe any team in football can win a league over a 36 game season scoring barely above an average of a goal a game maybe there could be a first time for that statistic but our signings in the window were front loaded to that attacking area of the field and we don't look any better there even more blunt without Jarvis. I've got to trust Duff can fix this flat spell, Shels are entering a juncture now it's either going to be a title challenge to the end of season or we are actually in the middle of fizzling out and would be clinging to 2nd or dropping to 3rd spot
Yeah chopping and changing is a disaster for defensive cohesion. Something Bohs have seen a lot of this year and something I think lead to your goal last night. I've never seen a player try to clear the ball the way Smith did and I don't think our keeper has either. Keeper shouldn't have been in the position he was anyway but c'est la vie. Why hasn't Duff stuck with Ledwidge as Barrets CB partner? Imo that would be the closest thing to continuity as at least Ledwidge knows fully how you want to play and has worked in there before? Based on last night I wouldn't rate Griffin highly. He has a tendency to carry the ball too far forward which I don't think suits your defensive style.
In attack, yeah blunt is the best way to say it. You certainly have the players to be scoring more goals but for whatever reason you don't seem to be able to exploit it? Prime example is Paddy Kirk being an a yellow for about an hour last night? You really want to be trying to isolate him against Coote or Burt when he came on but you just didn't seem to try to do that. Coote was allowed drift into the middle a lot and that was already congested so attacks kinda broke down because the space was too crowded. I think you need your wingers to stay wide and give a bit more space to work in to Wood and O'Brien. Having the players part of the puzzle is sorted. Need to figure how they play together now.
I think Derry will just about win it, fall over the line stuff, Shels do indeed look like a different team without Jarvis. It will also help Derry with Rovers in the group stage.
I can't say it will be a quality league winner to remember whoever wins it, but they won't care, most points wins the league, that said it will possibly be the 'lesser quality' league winners since 1995 when er.........................Dundalk won it !
We didn't have a single player in the team of the season, lost 8+ games, just put in a big run at the end, won 4 or 5 out last 6, Derry were probably the better side that season, but they messed up away to Athlone last day. Dundalk won it by 1 point.
Shinkicker
24/08/2024, 7:05 PM
We watched different games mate.aki had a really good game, bringing his midfield in with good hold up and his link ups with Tierney in particular was excellent.
Big fella did well when he came on , should have dropped James back and taken off Adam Mac who looked shot at the time.
I'm not saying he played badly, hold up play and all that is good but it's goals we need. He had a great chance in the first half but turned the wrong way and took too many touches so the attack fizzled out and he pulled one wide that should have at least brought a save from the Shels keeper. While pischeck tested the keeper with a header and pushed their defenders harder. Last week the Kerry CF forced a mistake from choradska and scored Akintunde plays so deep other keepers are under no pressure when the ball is played back to them and kearns looked ropey with the ball at his feet. We need goals and Akintunde isn't scoring them.
Dermobohs
24/08/2024, 7:50 PM
I'm not saying he played badly, hold up play and all that is good but it's goals we need. He had a great chance in the first half but turned the wrong way and took too many touches so the attack fizzled out and he pulled one wide that should have at least brought a save from the Shels keeper. While pischeck tested the keeper with a header and pushed their defenders harder. Last week the Kerry CF forced a mistake from choradska and scored Akintunde plays so deep other keepers are under no pressure when the ball is played back to them and kearns looked ropey with the ball at his feet. We need goals and Akintunde isn't scoring them.
All fair except we need his work rate in the team, and he and Rossi are building a great understanding.
As I said I’d drop him a bit deeper and play the big fella up top but I don’t trust him, had a great opportunity to lob kearns from halfway and wasn’t even looking up was watching his own feet.
The first chance that fell to aki as well was a pass from Danny that should have been Danny’s shot, he bottled it and played a pass to aki who had his back to goal with two cbs behind him.
We lack the instant strike on goal, overplaying everything.
Just ****in hit it.
legendz
24/08/2024, 8:38 PM
2 all draw between Kerry and Longford. Longford came back from a goal down in the first half. Kerry came back from a goal down in the second. That man Kelliher again with another goal. Kelliher could possibly be putting himself in the picture for a Premier Division move next year.
24/08/2024, 9:36 PM
2 all draw between Kerry and Longford. Longford came back from a goal down in the first half. Kerry came back from a goal down in the second. That man Kelliher again with another goal. Kelliher could possibly be putting himself in the picture for a Premier Division move next year.
Top scorer across both divisions now.
Entertaining enough second half, but you can see why both teams are where they are in the league.
Longford lacked any sense of urgency towards the end, even though beating Kerry was their best chance of finishing above them. The BTS lads on commentary were exasperated by the whole thing (but did a good job given the medical incident at one point).
Tough year to be a Longford fan.
24/08/2024, 10:02 PM
Top scorer across both divisions now.
Entertaining enough second half, but you can see why both teams are where they are in the league.
Longford lacked any sense of urgency towards the end, even though beating Kerry was their best chance of finishing above them. The BTS lads on commentary were exasperated by the whole thing (but did a good job given the medical incident at one point).
Tough year to be a Longford fan.
Cheers.
kingdomkerry
24/08/2024, 10:33 PM
Kelliher contracted to end of 2025 season. Not sure if a premier side could afford the €20m fee.
Was about to write that it's looking like a matter of time until Rovers go ahead and then Galway create a great chance down the other end. McCarthy could only hit it at Poels on his weaker foot.
Game opening up a little now which wouldn't suit Galway you'd imagine
25/08/2024, 7:32 PM
Galway take the lead, dumping Rovers into the bottom half.
Mad stuff
ger121
25/08/2024, 7:41 PM
Rovers want to get their act together if they want Europe next season.