Kerry v Cobh
Wexford v Finn Harps
Saturday 10th
Longford v Treaty 19:30
Monday 12th
Athlone v Wexford 19:45
sbgawa
09/08/2024, 1:35 PM
Derry should be beating Dundalk but Shels have a tough match up in Sligo.
If results go our way and we manage to overcome our bogey team Drogs (not easy as i assume Celje game will dictate team selection) we could be really starting to think of being back in it.
On the other hand it could all be over by Sunday.
Galway v Pats will have a bit of an edge and its vital for Pats to get sopmething iof they are dreaming of making Europe places.
culloty82
09/08/2024, 2:16 PM
Important game for Kerry, as despite the ongoing unbeaten run at Mounthawk Park, the last league win was against Longford back in June. Fairly even record between ourselves and Cobh, so if we can tighten up our defence from recent weeks, we're capable of claiming the three points here.
09/08/2024, 3:39 PM
Could nearly be a clean sweep of home wins across both divisions this weekend?
We should beat Dundalk tonight handy enough, but can just never trust us.
Be interesting to see how Sligo bounce back from last week.
Nice spread of games on Sunday too, so get to watch both.
09/08/2024, 4:08 PM
Nice spread of games on Sunday too, so get to watch both.
Agreed, the staggered kick offs are great to be able to watch a few other games over the weekend. Reminds me of the back to back Friday games during the COVID restart.
Regarding our game, I'm sure every Dundalk fan would rip your arm off for a point. Our last trip to Derry was the death knell for Stephen O'Donnell. Hopefully this isn't as bad as that performance was.
sbgawa
09/08/2024, 7:40 PM
Surprising scoreline in Derry. Had expected Derry to win easily, yhey still could but need to score early in second half
ger121
09/08/2024, 7:41 PM
Bohs 2 up in a game. I don’t know what to do or think. Panic probably.
RealJohn91
09/08/2024, 7:45 PM
Don't think we've even played well here. Defence is all over the shop when put under any type of pressure. Bizarre why he's bombed Mills out of the team and is playing lads out of position instead. He wasn't that bad.
RealJohn91
09/08/2024, 8:08 PM
There you go
ger121
09/08/2024, 8:15 PM
And panic was the right answer.
sbgawa
09/08/2024, 8:28 PM
Jaysus that's some collapse by bohs
RealJohn91
09/08/2024, 8:29 PM
Absolutely shocking stuff in this second half. Should be the end of Reynolds.
09/08/2024, 8:30 PM
Could nearly be a clean sweep of home wins across both divisions this weekend?
We've the (joint) best away record in the First Division, surprisingly.
Cork have brought Maguire on for Keating but are still 0-0 against Athlone...
ger121
09/08/2024, 8:31 PM
That is scandalous.
ger121
09/08/2024, 8:32 PM
The Rennie out chants have started
thebronze14
09/08/2024, 8:36 PM
5 losses in a row. One goal scored in that time. 1 win in ten. Not remotely good enough. Season has gone off the rails completely. Good enough team there but we've been shocking bar the first 5 or 6 games this season. We'll finish 8th id imagine
kksaints
09/08/2024, 8:40 PM
5 losses in a row. One goal scored in that time. 1 win in ten. Not remotely good enough. Season has gone off the rails completely. Good enough team there but we've been shocking bar the first 5 or 6 games this season. We'll finish 8th id imagine
Harps were particularly bad tonight. Don't think the Wexford keeper had a save to make. Wexford are fairly limited but Oluwa will always causes issues ath this level and the playoffs are definitely reachable.
joey B
09/08/2024, 8:41 PM
Sums it up well,Darren Murphy seems like a nice fella but he hasn’t a notion as a manager,we don’t create chances or even have spells of possession in the opposition half when we’re losing,Wexford were miles better in every facet of the game ….
joey B
09/08/2024, 8:41 PM
Harps were particularly bad tonight. Don't think the Wexford keeper had a save to make. Wexford are fairly limited but Oluwa will always causes issues ath this level and the playoffs are definitely reachable.
We’ve been that bad for a long spell now…
joey B
09/08/2024, 8:44 PM
Shels league to lose! A Higgins masterclass again!
ger121
09/08/2024, 8:46 PM
If anything sums up our season, it’s getting a lifeline with a dodgy injury time penalty and then missing it.
sbgawa
09/08/2024, 8:48 PM
Missed it on purpose I reckon to help waterford make Europe ;)
Shinkicker
09/08/2024, 8:49 PM
And panic was the right answer.
Bohs were worthy of their 2-0 lead at half time. In the second they were absolutely atrocious and handed Waterford their goals. The Bohs pen was not a pen it was outside the box. This is just not good enough. Bohs start like a house on fire, they score and then stop. Can't go on like this.
Jack B
09/08/2024, 8:53 PM
Derry are a ridiculous side, so much potential there which they occasionally display in the odd game and then a whole lot of flattering to deceive. They've had some feeble challenges for the league but this season has been another level.
Watched most of the Bohs-Waterford game which was the right call. Ridiculous ending to the game where that pesky hometown refereeing reared its head again only for Bohs to spectacularly fail to capatalise.
As much as there's a few teams - Dundalk in particular - that can cite goalkeeping issues as being a reason they've struggled this season, god knows where Bohs would be without Chorazka. The guy makes massive saves game after game and has been excellent whenever I've seen him play, but he has a pretty thankless task on the whole.
Onapointoforder
09/08/2024, 8:54 PM
Bohs 2 up in a game. I don’t know what to do or think. Panic probably.
Panic!
ger121
09/08/2024, 8:56 PM
As much as there's a few teams - Dundalk in particular - that can cite goalkeeping issues as being a reason they've struggled this season, god knows where Bohs would be without Chorazka. The guy makes massive saves game after game and has been excellent whenever I've seen him play, but he has a pretty thankless task on the whole.
He made 2 top drawer saves tonight. Otherwise it could have been a lot worse.
WoodquayBoy
09/08/2024, 9:42 PM
Ah, Damien MacGraith - proof, if it was needed, that it’s not just the GAAaahhh that Mayo are sh!te at
sulywaterfordfc
09/08/2024, 9:46 PM
In all fairness the Bohs fans had it out for him since the moment he was appointed. Who did/do Bohs fans want as manager? I do think Rennie works better as a coach than a manager. I also don’t feel like he’s had a proper crack at it either as Bohs fans have been unhappy since day 1 and the squad he’s managing wasn’t assembled by him either, granted he’s got rid of a few and brought a few in. Surely Fenlon should be the one Bohs fans want gone as he’s the common denominator between the previous and current management and by all accounts he oversees the recruitment.
RealJohn91
09/08/2024, 9:47 PM
He's won 1 in 14. What manager wouldn't be under pressure with that kind of form?
09/08/2024, 9:56 PM
I think Shamrock Rovers will win it.
A bang on-brand Derry City performance tonight. 79% possession, but how many actual decent chances did we create?
Incredibly frustrating to concede from a set piece, again, against a team that sits in. Uphill battle after that. Higgins can have his excuses for not signing for a centre half in the window, but it falls back on him.
Dundalk defended well, fair play to them, but we need to have more about us to win games like that.
A game like that is forgiveable if it's a once off, but it's not. It's once a month.
Shels need to win tomorrow, and probably nearly every week, if they're to have a chance.
Dermobohs
09/08/2024, 10:00 PM
We are awful.
Reynolds out.
oriel
09/08/2024, 10:06 PM
Repeat / Repeat / Repeat. Higgins is a coach not a manager.
Fully deserved point for Dundalk tonight. Could be valuable, but we need to win home games to be sure of getting play off.
2 Year Contract
09/08/2024, 10:07 PM
We are awful.
Reynolds out.
Your man at Waterford’s doing well. Could do a job at Bohs, Long or something his name is
oriel
09/08/2024, 10:10 PM
A bang on-brand Derry City performance tonight. 79% possession, but how many actual decent chances did we create?
Incredibly frustrating to concede from a set piece, again, against a team that sits in. Uphill battle after that. Higgins can have his excuses for not signing for a centre half in the window, but it falls back on him.
Dundalk defended well, fair play to them, but we need to have more about us to win games like that.
A game like that is forgiveable if it's a once off, but it's not. It's once a month.
Shels need to win tomorrow, and probably nearly every week, if they're to have a chance.
Not even sure our GK, (and guys he is poor) made an actual save in the whole game, Derry were very flat in first half, some of our ex crew were poor, Kelly did nothing, Connolly looks finnish, unless he is 28 (most will get the joke), Hoban quiet game, but he is always a danger, Dummingan and Patching were good mind.
A fair result even if Derry dominated from 88-90+6, all about the back of net.
As for winners, I think Shels will do it, not sure the standard is that good this year, they are hard working, not too stylish, reminds me of a poor Dundalk side in
1994/95 that somehow who the title, gritty / hard working, but not that easy on the eye. Still won it mind, I didn't care back then, nor will Shels fans, if they do.
I stand corrected, DLK keeper made a crucial save in second half, so fair play.
2 Year Contract
09/08/2024, 10:12 PM
If rovers were out of Europe maybe, but I can’t see it happening with that significant distraction of midweek games thrown in to fatigue an already massively injury prone squad. Shels have one hand on the title IMO barring a monumental collapse
sulywaterfordfc
09/08/2024, 10:12 PM
He's won 1 in 14. What manager wouldn't be under pressure with that kind of form?
Bohs fans wanted the previous manager gone because the team was ‘s**t’. A new manager working with the same players can’t perform miracles either and turn a supposedly bad team into a team challenging for Europe within the same season. Sounds like Bohs need a big clear out, sounds like too many average and below average players have been signed on multi year contracts at the start of the season. The form is terrible as are Bohs, but if the team is as bad as the fans made out during the previous management earlier in the season what were fans expecting from a new manager with the same players? Sounds like the issues with Bohs lay deeper than just the management of the men’s first team. New management same issues, been going on a few years now. The clubs priority doesn’t seem to be what’s happening on the field atm imo.
oriel
09/08/2024, 10:16 PM
Lucky for Bohs you have a few games in hand, but tough ones I think, can't see you finishing play off, Dundalk and Drogs are poorest by a margin this season, that said Bohs have a visit to Oriel Park in Sept.
Then again still can't see it unless its a mega collapse but Dundalk haven't won 2 in a row all season (last win was 3 weeks ago), so you are probably safe enough.
RealJohn91
09/08/2024, 10:30 PM
Bohs fans wanted the previous manager gone because the team was ‘s**t’. A new manager working with the same players can’t perform miracles either and turn a supposedly bad team into a team challenging for Europe within the same season. Sounds like Bohs need a big clear out, sounds like too many average and below average players have been signed on multi year contracts at the start of the season. The form is terrible as are Bohs, but if the team is as bad as the fans made out during the previous management earlier in the season what were fans expecting from a new manager with the same players? Sounds like the issues with Bohs lay deeper than just the management of the men’s first team. New management same issues, been going on a few years now. The clubs priority doesn’t seem to be what’s happening on the field atm imo.
We expected more that 1 win in 14, it's pretty simple. We're sleepwalking into relegation at the moment.
sulywaterfordfc
09/08/2024, 10:55 PM
We expected more that 1 win in 14, it's pretty simple. We're sleepwalking into relegation at the moment.
If the team is as bad as the fans claim who is the superstar manager that is available that’s going to take Bohs to the glory lands? You’d assume if Rennie leaves Bohs ODonnell will be at the minimum be promoted to interim manager for the rest of the season. What manager realistically do Bohs fans have in mind to replace Rennie?
I suppose it’s the managers fault Rooney bottled a gift of an equaliser in the minute.
oriel
09/08/2024, 11:23 PM
I can't see SOD getting that gig, he needs a year or more to work closely under a manager and take time to learn the trade.
As said before, Bohs are very lucky this season Dundalk and Drogs are as poor as they are, otherwise they could have been dragged right in, for all their modesty, I'm really not sure they can fall to 9th, stranger things and all that, but they would need to lose something like 3 or 4 of the next 5, then the Co Louth relegation crew win games, not sure that will happen.
Jack B
09/08/2024, 11:35 PM
I believe the next four league games for Bohs are Shels x2, Rovers and Derry, quite ominous reading given the existing form and the additional blow of the manner of the loss tonight. They're capable of winning games in there given the daft nature of this league, but from the odd game of theirs I've watched not against Pats they seem quite a naive team. They can play well when the game is level but give away all momentum whenever they go ahead, and Reynolds/SOD have them playing a system that in possession that really doesn't suit the fact they barely have any available centre backs which has them so vulnerable at times. There's no chance they go down but awful vibes there coming into the end of the season.
Knocklyonhoop
10/08/2024, 12:09 AM
Rovers ain’t winning the league this yr. focus has to be to make top 3 and have aEurope next yr
Knocklyonhoop
10/08/2024, 12:14 AM
I can't see SOD getting that gig, he needs a year or more to work closely under a manager and take time to learn the trade.
As said before, Bohs are very lucky this season Dundalk and Drogs are as poor as they are, otherwise they could have been dragged right in, for all their modesty, I'm really not sure they can fall to 9th, stranger things and all that, but they would need to lose something like 3 or 4 of the next 5, then the Co Louth relegation crew win games, not sure that will happen.
if Rennie were to go (I think they should keep him) be great if they went for “Skip” as the next man. He might actually take them down!
2 Year Contract
10/08/2024, 8:30 AM
Just watched the highlights from last nights games to see the Bohs penalty being given for a foul clearly about a yard outside the box and Derry not given a first half penalty for a Dundalk player handballing it in the box with his arm held out from his body. Where’s the pages and pages of uproar and match fixing shouts on here and the days worth of tweets on those decisions? Or maybe one certain clubs group of fans are just massive children? Who knows :)
total hoofball
10/08/2024, 12:18 PM
Bohs have only won 15 of the last 50 league games since end of April 2023, the rot really started last season and momentum is accelerating. With a banana skin trip to Kerry, Shels x 2, Rovers, Pats in the next 5 games Reynolds has to get a number of wins from those games otherwise he will be gone and things could get uglier for the club
Majority of Bohs fans I could see be it on here, social media and anywhere else seemed to absolutely certain their problems early in the season were all down to Devine. Previous to Devine many Bohs fans were adamant that Long was the problem and he needed to move on. Obviously Reynolds has the knives out on him now but the tide is increasingly swinging against Fenlon
When I posted here earlier in the season as outsider it looked to me that there was a deeper underlying on the field problems with Fenlon's haphazard recruitment, declining amounts players migrating from their academy/U19s into the first team and right up to Lambert who while being a very smart commercial CEO looks to me he lacks acumen on the field who needs a really strong sporting director alongside him which Fenlon definitely isn't that
10/08/2024, 12:46 PM
Bohs have only won 15 of the last 50 league games since end of April 2023, the rot really started last season and momentum is accelerating. With a banana skin trip to Kerry, Shels x 2, Rovers, Pats in the next 5 games Reynolds has to get a number of wins from those games otherwise he will be gone and things could get uglier for the club
Majority of Bohs fans I could see be it on here, social media and anywhere else seemed to absolutely certain their problems early in the season were all down to Devine. Previous to Devine many Bohs fans were adamant that Long was the problem and he needed to move on. Obviously Reynolds has the knives out on him now but the tide is increasingly swinging against Fenlon
When I posted here earlier in the season as outsider it looked to me that there was a deeper underlying on the field problems with Fenlon's haphazard recruitment, declining amounts players migrating from their academy/U19s into the first team and right up to Lambert who while being a very smart commercial CEO looks to me he lacks acumen on the field who needs a really strong sporting director alongside him which Fenlon definitely isn't that
Strong in terms of ability? I ask 'cause Fenlon would be a strong pigheaded character who would rarely admit to not knowing best. A strong character that would be hard to question by non footballing execs. It does look like he could be a common denominator. Ive never been fussed on the idea of a DoF recruiting for a manager if thats the case. Makes sense that theres continuity if theres a high turnover of managers of course but it needs the DoF to be top notch and on the same page as a manager. Fenlon is too much of different era imo.
oriel
10/08/2024, 12:47 PM
Just watched the highlights from last nights games to see the Bohs penalty being given for a foul clearly about a yard outside the box and Derry not given a first half penalty for a Dundalk player handballing it in the box with his arm held out from his body. Where’s the pages and pages of uproar and match fixing shouts on here and the days worth of tweets on those decisions? Or maybe one certain clubs group of fans are just massive children? Who knows :)
That looked a clear peno to me alright and I watched the whole game.
RealJohn91
10/08/2024, 12:50 PM
How many times do people have to be told that Lambert has no influence on the playing side of the club?
oriel
10/08/2024, 12:51 PM
Serious Question, do many Bohs fans (or others) think they will slip into the play off position? I really don't think they will, they are 4 points ahead of Dundalk with games in hand, albeit tough ones, that said they do have an away trip to Dundalk next month.
However for them to slip Dundalk (or Drogs) would need to win back to back games, and that's something we haven't done all season and unlikely to do with the current group, Bohs are in very poor form but I think they will still fall over the line and into 8th spot come season end.