View Full Version : EL Investigation Committee Report
harpskid
14/09/2005, 3:49 PM
Fines for offensive banners my arse!! :mad:
If that were the case then could we complain and get Derry fined for their flag "FHFC - Forever In Our Shadow" or could Dodge get Shels fined for their champions flag as he seems offended by it :D
FFS this is getting rediculous!
I wonder will I be fined following my unveiling of a banner to "welcome" Oily to Ballybofey next Friday night....
harpskid
14/09/2005, 3:52 PM
Also, will this now be the steps taken from now on. ie all offensive banners will be punished and if so what is deemed offensive?
I would have imagined that racism, sectarianism etc were the only offenisive to be banned and rightly so but do we now have to add Ollyism to that list...
FFS this is getting rediculous!
I find that offesive - did you mean "ridiculous"? are you using "REDiculous" to poke fun at all teams that play in RED - like shels????
are you implying that we are Oily? or Greasy in some way.....ok theres no logical follow on there but you started it by opening this can of worms!
I'm outraged. I call on the EL to issue three statements about this matter with mistakes in them so they have to issue three more - each specifying an inappropriate fine - each one more inconsistent than the last
Lets stamp this sort of thing out now!
14/09/2005, 3:53 PM
What about this for a new banner
Fined for using flares: €100
Fined for offensive banners €500
****ing off the FAI:Priceless
harpskid
14/09/2005, 3:55 PM
I find that offesive - did you mean "ridiculous"? are you using "REDiculous" to poke fun at all teams that play in RED - like shels????
are you implying that we are Oily? or Greasy in some way.....ok theres no logical follow on there but you started it by opening this can of worms!
I'm outraged
I meant ridiculous aye but if you don't believe me, fcuk off to that EL Investigation committee and get me fined :D
I agree this "investigation" in true FAI style has created more problems than it have tried to solve.
The only positive thing i can think of is that they are starting to act instead of toothless threats but i'm scraping the barrel on that one.
btw i noticed on TV3 that showed another bohs pitch invasion at Richmond Park & that kids on the pitch after the whistle too.
LOL
until the FAI give the clubs a few hundred grand for the amount of stewards neede to keep hundreds of kids off pitches they can fck right off
this is the fcking LOI not the premiership
live in the real world ffs
bohsbitch
14/09/2005, 4:01 PM
When a pat's representative brought the matter up in front of the Gardai, the FAI and the league he was told nothing will be done about it cos they're mostly kids.
until the FAI give the clubs a few hundred grand for the amount of stewards neede to keep hundreds of kids off pitches they can fck right off
Hehe. Too easy.
I don't think i've mentioned this before ;) but kids almost never seen on the Turners Cross or Dalymount pitches...
So we've a better youth system, whats your point pete?
14/09/2005, 4:41 PM
I'm surprised you're not more annoyed that the disgraceful "shoe robbing and throwing around" incident at Dalyer didn't get a mention?! :D
:D :D :D
Those ****ers got kicked out so I was happy then!
bohs - hooligans and animals
nice!
I agree! ;)
14/09/2005, 4:43 PM
LOL
this is the fcking LOI not the premiership
live in the real world ffs
I agree. It's easy to say it but it's pretty ****ing hard to stop 20-30 (or more) kids/adults getting onto the pitch.
So we've a better youth system, whats your point pete?
We've only 1 kid (http://www.sportcentral.ie/soccercentral/viewstory.asp?id=15411&mainheading=Eircom&viewstory=yes) on the pitch regularily.
14/09/2005, 5:20 PM
No, but he neither went by the pitch or the changing rooms, there you go!
Fair enough but I hope he stayed 50 metres from the pitch at all times - can anyone confirm the rumours that Nutsy was dropped onto the gantry by the Paratroop Regiment :confused:
Is CEO Ollie's official title these days? I know he's often called that (or chairman) but I've seen him described as the Shelbourne Secretary in previous warnings as to his future behaviour. I know he pretty much does everything there so he probably has many titles (some of which you're not allowed to put on a banner).
BohsFans
14/09/2005, 5:42 PM
Fair enough but I hope he stayed 50 metres from the pitch at all times - can anyone confirm the rumours that Nutsy was dropped onto the gantry by the Paratroop Regiment :confused:
Is CEO Ollie's official title these days? I know he's often called that (or chairman) but I've seen him described as the Shelbourne Secretary in previous warnings as to his future behaviour. I know he pretty much does everything there so he probably has many titles (some of which you're not allowed to put on a banner).
Finbarr Flood is the Shels chairman
Ollie is the secretary
I reckon all clubs should get a banner with the following
“HEY FAI, FINE THIS YOU PACK OF ****ING *******!!!”
(And without censorship that reads f.u.cking w.a.nkers)
Lets see what happens
If people continue to get fined I’m going to get Shels fined for every game they unveil a “Champion” banner. Dunno how the rest of you feel but I find it sickeningly offensive
Oh and LOL @ sanctioned flares... F***ing pussies
Wouldn't it be funny if supporters from every club organised banners this weekend and unfolded them at the exaact same time all around the country :D
joeraki
14/09/2005, 5:56 PM
If fans of other clubs used their heads next season or whoevers left to play in Tolka this season then they could cost Shels a lot of money in fines.
The Rovers banner seemed to be in the Ballybough end which is a bit of a neutral zone. All other fans have to do is make big baners slagging off something about their club. Take photos, let the Garda or security remove it after a few mins. Next EL meeting Shels getting fined for offensive banner.... After all the precedent has been set now
TheOwl
14/09/2005, 10:31 PM
Frankly I think the demonstration at the Bohs vs. Shels match was bang out of order and added another element of nastiness to an already tense fixture.
The Bohs fans think the three lads that left them are “Judas’” - fine, let them sing, chant, and unfurl banners to state this fact!
But, Bohs the club, shouldn’t be allowing their fans onto the pitch to so officially demonstrate this fact.
IMO Rovers have been harshly done by though.
I didn’t have a problem with their “Ollie is a thug” banner on Friday, but I would have if the 400 club, like the Bohs board, had allowed their fans to go onto the pitch to “officially” unveil the same said banner.
Dr.Nightdub
15/09/2005, 1:13 AM
We've only 1 kid (http://www.sportcentral.ie/soccercentral/viewstory.asp?id=15411&mainheading=Eircom&viewstory=yes) on the pitch regularily.
Well that answers the question posed in the other thread - Cork stewards are obviously shameless bullies who intimidate innocent kids from expressing their natural happy, exuberant, youthful urges. Cork stewards - child abusers.
The bit that bugs me here is that Shels officials checked the baners as they were being put up. They forced the lads to cut out sections of some banners and insisted others couldn't be displayed at all. In my opinion Shels gave their consent to what appeared on the night.
The flares on the pitch-side of the ad boards was a bit dodgy but there's logic in there somewhere. When it was planned, it was decided that it would be safer to set off flares on the other side of the barriers seeing as the Shed is used for the "Kids go Free" promotion. Also the drop between the playing surface and the bottom of the terracing at the front of the Shed is a long one, which couple with the height of the ad boards would have meant the flares weren't visible from the rest of the ground. The area in front of the Shed was used for several reasons (so I'm told)...1. The wind that night would have blown the smoke straight back into the Jodi if flares had been lit on that side of the ground. 2. The lights in the roof of the Jodi make it too bright for flares to be effective. 3. There weren't enough flares to go the length of the Jodi and there's no point in doing things by halves.
Apparently the lads who were on the pitch were all sound non-hoolie types who just wanted add to the buzz of the night. There was nothing very threatening about the whole episode. The "Judas" banner probably hadn't been in the plans at all... it just appeared. Access to the pitch was controlled so no undesirables got on, sand buckets were waiting at the corner so hot flares wouldn't be carried back into the spectator areas and the fire bloke was happy everything was being done as safely as possible. I honestly don't see what all the fuss is about.
The bit that bugs me here is that Shels officials checked the baners as they were being put up. They forced the lads to cut out sections of some banners and insisted others couldn't be displayed at all. In my opinion Shels gave their consent to what appeared on the night.
The flares on the pitch-side of the ad boards was a bit dodgy but there's logic in there somewhere. When it was planned, it was decided that it would be safer to set off flares on the other side of the barriers seeing as the Shed is used for the "Kids go Free" promotion. Also the drop between the playing surface and the bottom of the terracing at the front of the Shed is a long one, which couple with the height of the ad boards would have meant the flares weren't visible from the rest of the ground. The area in front of the Shed was used for several reasons (so I'm told)...1. The wind that night would have blown the smoke straight back into the Jodi if flares had been lit on that side of the ground. 2. The lights in the roof of the Jodi make it too bright for flares to be effective. 3. There weren't enough flares to go the length of the Jodi and there's no point in doing things by halves.
Apparently the lads who were on the pitch were all sound non-hoolie types who just wanted add to the buzz of the night. There was nothing very threatening about the whole episode. The "Judas" banner probably hadn't been in the plans at all... it just appeared. Access to the pitch was controlled so no undesirables got on, sand buckets were waiting at the corner so hot flares wouldn't be carried back into the spectator areas and the fire bloke was happy everything was being done as safely as possible. I honestly don't see what all the fuss is about.
sounds pre-planned to me
the most heinous of all crimes is to pre plan things or to show initiative and thought before doing something - THE FAI CANNOT AND WILL NOT TOLERATE SUCH LIBERAL USE OF ONES NOGGIN - IRISH FOOTBALL CANNOT TAKE THIS ON BOARD!
higgins
15/09/2005, 1:19 PM
Does anyone read the text from the fines before they post here, or do you all just jump in and start to blame others for your clubs problems?
It further unanimously decided that Shamrock Rovers FC be fined €1,000 for the display of two offensive banners by its supporters and the encroachment of its supporters onto the playing area at the end of the Premier Division Shelbourne v Shamrock Rovers fixture on June 17th last.
The 1K fine was not just for banners and I very much doubt without the encroachment onto the pitch part would it have gone any further ?? If they get a similar fine because of the banner last Friday then fair enough but the fine was not just for the banner.
About Fenlon and the TV gantry,
Where will Gareth Farrelly go over the next few weeks while serving his ban?
At the time Fenlon was banned there was no time specified for after the game. These days it clearly says a time so thats why he exited by the car park at the Rovers game (or at least he would have if Rovers didnt come to say hello :) )
15/09/2005, 1:23 PM
the fine was not just for the banner.
No but a part of it clearly was.
At the time Fenlon was banned there was no time specified for after the game.
The TV gantry is within 50 yards/metres of the pitch.
How could Fenlon get to the gantry if not via the pitch?
higgins
15/09/2005, 1:30 PM
The TV gantry is within 50 yards/metres of the pitch.
How could Fenlon get to the gantry if not via the pitch?
Im not sure you even deserve a reply to be honest :(
BUT ,,,,,,,,,
How does any manager that is banned watch the game when at Dalymount? When you work it out then you may have an answer.
The eL/FAI changed the bans at the start of this season - all bans dictate that managers had to be 50m away from the pitch, technical areas etc... Last year the 50m issue didn't not exist so could watch from stand etc...
higgins
15/09/2005, 1:37 PM
thats great Pete...
but have you figured it out yet?
15/09/2005, 3:51 PM
so how about the fact that he walked across the pitch to leave Dalymount after the Bohemians match?
Drumcondra Red
15/09/2005, 4:59 PM
The ban stated it was for "the duration of the match" you tool!!!
chippie0001
15/09/2005, 5:19 PM
I personally think the FAI have made a mess of this. For having a protest on the pitch with flares it warrents a €3000 fine. For striking a player with a bottle warrants a €200 fine. Now personally I know which I gather to be far more serious, but maybe what the FAI want the fans to go down this route as it is far more cheaper and if you don't like the player far more dangerous to him.
bohs til i die
15/09/2005, 5:23 PM
higgins, you have to be the biggest hypocrit alive. You wont ackowledge the crimes of Ollie and are very quick to point the finger at other clubs.
Bohs have some stuff to sort, never denied it, but so have Shels and you wont admit to it.
Football in this country needs football fans, not Ole Ole brigade tossers like you who dont seem to want football fans in Ireland to do what football fans the world over do.
Football is a tribal thing, us against them, rivalry and hatred. The flares on the grass verge in front of the ad boards shouldnt have happened there, but its done, cant be changed. But there was no violence of any sort from Bohs fans, the only violence was threatened by Ollie and Fenlon. Will you admit that is wrong or bury your head in your paint riddled sandpit of a pitch?
Football 'fans' in this country need to start being football fans. This sanctimonious bullsh1t about prim and proper football fans is a load of ****. Nights lime our 2-1 defeat in Tolka were the riverside was crammed, there was raw passion and hatred. Thats football. Nights like that are few and far between in the EL, which is a real shame.
Flares, banners [offensive or otherwise], smoke, colour, noise, passion, hatred. T Thats football. You dont like that, then fukk off.
Drumcondra Red
15/09/2005, 5:38 PM
Riverside crammed??? Few pints beforehand? Seeing double were you???
15/09/2005, 9:26 PM
higgins, you have to be the biggest hypocrit alive. You wont ackowledge the crimes of Ollie and are very quick to point the finger at other clubs.
Bohs have some stuff to sort, never denied it, but so have Shels and you wont admit to it.
Football in this country needs football fans, not Ole Ole brigade tossers like you who dont seem to want football fans in Ireland to do what football fans the world over do.
Football is a tribal thing, us against them, rivalry and hatred. The flares on the grass verge in front of the ad boards shouldnt have happened there, but its done, cant be changed. But there was no violence of any sort from Bohs fans, the only violence was threatened by Ollie and Fenlon. Will you admit that is wrong or bury your head in your paint riddled sandpit of a pitch?
Football 'fans' in this country need to start being football fans. This sanctimonious bullsh1t about prim and proper football fans is a load of ****. Nights lime our 2-1 defeat in Tolka were the riverside was crammed, there was raw passion and hatred. Thats football. Nights like that are few and far between in the EL, which is a real shame.
Flares, banners [offensive or otherwise], smoke, colour, noise, passion, hatred. T Thats football. You dont like that, then fukk off.
It depends how you define "hatred", but a bitter, gut-wrenching dislike of opposing teams is NOT part of the culture of football everywhere. Nor has it been part of the culture of football anywhere for any great length of time (i.e. only a small number of decades).
Football fans have their favourites, and their dislikes. They have teams who they consider the enemy etc. But if you're saying that all-consuming, bordering on extreme anger/violence hatred is endemic to football then you're quite simply wrong. It's a relatively recent manifestation in only some football countries. There is little genuine 'hatred' within the Eircom League (again - I'm taking a strong definition of a word that covers a wide spectrum of emotions...)
joeraki
15/09/2005, 9:53 PM
It depends how you define "hatred", but a bitter, gut-wrenching dislike of opposing teams is NOT part of the culture of football everywhere. Nor has it been part of the culture of football anywhere for any great length of time (i.e. only a small number of decades).
Football fans have their favourites, and their dislikes. They have teams who they consider the enemy etc. But if you're saying that all-consuming, bordering on extreme anger/violence hatred is endemic to football then you're quite simply wrong. It's a relatively recent manifestation in only some football countries. There is little genuine 'hatred' within the Eircom League (again - I'm taking a strong definition of a word that covers a wide spectrum of emotions...)
Maybe in places like Andorra and the Faores and the likes. I've done a fair amount of travelling around Europe and the level of hatred some clubs (even the usually unheard of ones) have for their rivals is crazy. Even in crap leagues like the Slovenian where creat craic watching some teams fans going mad at games.
True theres very little hatred in the EL. Everyone seems to hate Rovers and Bohs and they really hate each other. If either of them clubs where on top of their game around the same time, you watch the hatred level grow within the EL.
Love in's are too gay anyway for my likings :D
15/09/2005, 11:55 PM
Football merely mirrors the societies in which it exists.
It's therefore no coincidence that the level of 'hatred' grows as you travel towards less stable, politically mature, or dare I say it 'advanced' nations.
Billy Lord
16/09/2005, 12:38 AM
Having been to around a hundred games across Europe, I can vouch that what passes for hooliganism in the EL is nothing compared to the stuff that goes on in Britain or elsewhere across Europe.
A little thought, some objectivity and an ounce of realism would prevent 99.9% of what is clearly minor trouble at games in Ireland. Smart stewarding and proper policing would be a start.
higgins
16/09/2005, 10:22 AM
What have I defended Ollie over?
I have seen all the incidents that I spoke about. I seen the Rovers fans the other night as they went towards the shed, I seen the fight outside Tolka with Bohs fans a few weeks back. I was at the game where Bohs did their little flare/judas piece, I was in Tolka when the Rovers fans came over to the Drumcondra Stand.
Quick to point the finger on matters that I know a little about.
What have I defended Ollie about that was later proved to be untrue.
Trouble is with you lot that when Shels or Ollie come out on the good side its due to Shels and Ollie making up the rules ??? You cant win!!...
I have never made a comment on the incidents involving Ollie, Fenlon and others asking for fights after the game as I simply didnt witness it. I never said that it never happened and dont think I made any comment on it at all. Who did I defend?? As for the muppets who come along to shels games now, if you seen the shels message board you would know I have not defended them.
16/09/2005, 10:57 AM
you tool!!!
I find that comment directed at me to be grossly offensive.
I demand that you now pay me €3,000 and stay 50 metres away from this forum for the duration of two hours before, during and after the next home game.
16/09/2005, 11:08 AM
I demand that you now pay me €3,000 and stay 50 metres away from this forum for the duration of two hours before, during and after the next home game.
You tool! You didn't say how long after the game he has to stay 50 metres away! Shelbourne will have this ban overturned and now you'll have to pay Drumcondra Red €3,000! :eek:
16/09/2005, 11:10 AM
I find the tone of your demands offensive, and request your settlement from Drumcondra Red, in addition to €50 for every vowel in your preceeding written statement, and a doughnut.
Drumcondra Red
16/09/2005, 11:10 AM
Its a term of endearment Réiteoir!!! ;)
Roverstillidie
16/09/2005, 11:11 AM
You tool! You didn't say how long after the game he has to stay 50 metres away! Shelbourne will have this ban overturned and now you'll have to pay Drumcondra Red €3,000! :eek:
and rovers somehow end up paying €2,000 as well!?! :rolleyes:
16/09/2005, 11:12 AM
For asking stupid questions! :D
16/09/2005, 2:25 PM
That's it.
I'm going to come round his house tonight and paint "TOOL!!!" in big white letters on his lounge carpet
Drumcondra Red
16/09/2005, 2:39 PM
Lucky I don't have carpets downstairs!!! Advantages of wooden floors :D Although the obvious disadvantage is falling in the door píssed, ouch!!!
Roverstillidie
16/09/2005, 3:21 PM
That's it.
I'm going to come round his house tonight and paint "TOOL!!!" in big white letters on his lounge carpet
it would be much funnier if you painted it on the tolka park pitch.....
anto eile
16/09/2005, 3:45 PM
Football merely mirrors the societies in which it exists.
It's therefore no coincidence that the level of 'hatred' grows as you travel towards less stable, politically mature, or dare I say it 'advanced' nations.
your point makes no sense.
youre as likely to see rampant violence in a rich 1st world country like england as you are in a a relatively and comparativley poor south american country like Argentina or Brazil
rivalry comes in various forms, a generally non-bitter one like Rovers-shels (dont mistake hate for ollie byrne as hate for shelbourne), then a bit more bitter like Rovers pats and then full on hate, Rovers-gypos.
hate/rivalry doesnt just vary according to country, it varies in each country from team to team from match to match
Drumcondra Red
16/09/2005, 4:01 PM
Yeah, I'd agree with that Anto eile, good point, and at the end of it all, its all about passion for your own club, Forza Shelbourne!!!
16/09/2005, 4:02 PM
your point makes no sense.
youre as likely to see rampant violence in a rich 1st world country like england as you are in a a relatively and comparativley poor south american country like Argentina or Brazil
rivalry comes in various forms, a generally non-bitter one like Rovers-shels (dont mistake hate for ollie byrne as hate for shelbourne), then a bit more bitter like Rovers pats and then full on hate, Rovers-gypos.
hate/rivalry doesnt just vary according to country, it varies in each country from team to team from match to match
You're right that there isn't just violence randomly at football - it's generally between certain teams. But the intensity and severity of that inter-team violence clearly differes by country.. And there are clear correlations between the general socio-economic development of countries, and the level and intensity of their inter-team football violence, where it ccurs.
For example - the level of football violence in places like Argentina (double-figure deaths per season, shootings, stabbings, the entire league suspended for a period of time due to trouble) or Turkey (everyone is pretty much aware of how 'heated' their supporters are, and the 'ring of steel' protective measures that have to occur at many matches there) are clearely worse than anything that happens regularly in the likes of England, Germany or France. That is indisputable.
joeraki
17/09/2005, 10:32 PM
Another €500 fine for Bohs. This time for racist comments aimed at a Wayside player in the Cup replay.
And two new pitch invasions in two weeks, that they'll probably be fined for as well when there's a next FAI think tank get together. Bohs fans don't exactly make life easy for themselves :rolleyes: