View Full Version : Games weekend 2nd August

Pages : 1 [2] 3

ger121
03/08/2024, 1:10 PM
Kerry need an experienced no nonsense defender. Throwing away two goal leads isn't good enough. Bray and Athlone taking a share of the spoils.

Saw they were 3-1 up and well into the 80th minute and yet I thought that could finished 3-3 or 4-3 to Athlone. They just have form throwing away big leads in the closing stages.

03/08/2024, 1:35 PM
You’ve a very short memory so - Ross Munro did the exact same thing back in May when we beat ye 2-0 down here, he threw the first goal into the net

Naw it wa more miss timed and through the hands, what Im talking about is throwing the ball in to the net....but maybe there have been so many calamities recently they are merging.

WoodquayBoy
03/08/2024, 2:23 PM
They are - he tried to palm it over the crossbar but instead just flapped it into the net

sbgawa
03/08/2024, 2:25 PM
Rovers wre good last night with a good bit of squad rotation as well with Europe inm mind.
Good to see McEneff on the bench and also only 20 to 30 mins for clarke farrugia honohan burke all of whom i would expect to start in europe mid week.

if Derry could beat Shels on Monday we would be 7 points behind (if wewin our game in hand).
Its do able but we havent even approached the levels needed to go on a 4or 5 game wiining streak...........be a good time to start

oriel
03/08/2024, 2:35 PM
Rovers would also need Shels and Derry to drop points over at least 2 more weekends, and to win at the same time to get back into serious contention.

That said PP odds are shortening:

Shels........ 11/10
Derry........ 6/4
Rovers.......9/2

To finish bottom

Drogs .....4/11
DFC........13/5
Pats........14/1
Bohs.......20/1

No even sure why Pats / Bohs are even priced, its a straight shoot out between the two from Co Louth who are easily the worst 2 in the division this year.

redarmyfaction
03/08/2024, 5:46 PM
Rovers would also need Shels and Derry to drop points over at least 2 more weekends, and to win at the same time to get back into serious contention.

That said PP odds are shortening:

Shels........ 11/10
Derry........ 6/4
Rovers.......9/2

To finish bottom

Drogs .....4/11
DFC........13/5
Pats........14/1
Bohs.......20/1

No even sure why Pats / Bohs are even priced, its a straight shoot out between the two from Co Louth who are easily the worst 2 in the division this year.

Stranger things have happened, I remember Tony McCoy coming off a horse and the beast was put out to 999/1 by Betfair traders trying to catch the unwary, he was heading back to the weighing room in a Jeep when he became aware that the other runners had fell too, he remounted and won his race, they banned remounts after that.

In this case Dregs and Dun are only overriding over round to about 1.01, all the other teams mathematically relegateable represent the layers profit.

redarmyfaction
03/08/2024, 5:57 PM
Stranger things have happened, I remember Tony McCoy coming off a horse and the beast was put out to 999/1 by Betfair traders trying to catch the unwary, he was heading back to the weighing room in a Jeep when he became aware that the other runners had fell too, he remounted and won his race, they banned remounts after that.

In this case Dregs and Dun are only overriding over round to about 1.01, all the other teams mathematically relegateable represent the layers profit.

The Racing Post memorably interviewed one of the traders on the day who had spunked his assiduously won and substantial Bank to win, I think a diver, gave his account and finished with" I can't talk any more about it, I am going out to get bladded".

03/08/2024, 9:11 PM
They are - he tried to palm it over the crossbar but instead just flapped it into the net

No they're not - your turn!

04/08/2024, 9:43 AM
Harps in a bad run of form. Success' inconsistency has shone through after a bright start, just one goal in his last ten.

Would take him back in the morning tho.

Seems to be a serious lack of confidence in the squad at the minute. Awful run of form and really needs to turn around before it's too late.

After Fridays game, it was easily the most angry I've seen Darren Murphy post match. He was absolutely raging with our defending of set pieces, which has been a huge achilles heel for us this season.

Going forward there's a real lack of goals, and Success is definitely struggling in that regard now too. We've only scored 6 goals in our last 11 games and on a run of 4 defeats in a row including the cup game at Cork, and now two more away games in a row to Wexford and UCD.

Been pointed out that aside from Cork, we're the only team who hasn't been outside the playoff places this year, but I'd fear that'll soon change unless a spark comes from somewhere.

sbgawa
04/08/2024, 7:03 PM
Rob hennessy does what he does and gives Pats an unbelievably awful decision for a last minute penelty winner.
One of the sligo staff got a straight red for saying something to him after the match finished. I presume it was something along the lines of you are a ducking clown

Knocklyonhoop
04/08/2024, 7:03 PM
That last min pen formPats was an awful decision…..even if it is a good result for Rovers! Sligo still playing v well. An enjoyable match

joey B
04/08/2024, 7:08 PM
We should start a refereeing howler thread,that’s a joke,how we send Rob Hennessy to do European games is mind boggling….

ger121
04/08/2024, 7:10 PM
I have to look at this penalty as it is all over the place.

redarmyfaction
04/08/2024, 7:13 PM
The guards spent 4 or 5 years investigating match fixing in the LOI to no avail, I know the door they should be knocking on and the same guy will be out next week doing the same thing without any rebuke.

sbgawa
04/08/2024, 7:16 PM
I know your probably not serious about the matchfixing I think its just rank incompetence

redobit
04/08/2024, 7:21 PM
I know your probably not serious about the matchfixing I think its just rank incompetence

Its as bad a decision I can remember, its so bad it would question the match fixing angle. It really is that bad.
Either way there are zero consequences for bad decisions/ performances which means it will keep happening and the standard if ref will not improve.

Thewhitepele
04/08/2024, 7:21 PM

You have to be sure for such a big decision. Pats really did spend big this week.

sbgawa
04/08/2024, 7:22 PM
I agree one of the worst decisions in a career littered with some absolute howlers. A thread on refs is a good idea.

Dermobohs
04/08/2024, 7:29 PM
The Anthony Buttimer finishing school.
Absolutely unaccountable , and he’s not alone.

redarmyfaction
04/08/2024, 7:33 PM

I don't believe in match fixing in our league

total hoofball
04/08/2024, 7:40 PM
I have warned and warned about Rob Hennessy about some of the utter dog-shyt refereeing 'decisions' he has given against Shels during the past 2 years which has caused Duff to lose his mind but then Duff gets the brunt of his comments with suspensions and criticisms over his character on social media

I have wondered with Hennessy it is a personal vendetta against Shels or is the guy genuinely hilariously incompetent who you wouldn't have referee at your kids under 8 level football or does he have pre-determined interests in whom which of the teams wins the games he is refereeing in. One of those three determinations is solidified for me based on his latest 'decision' today in the 8th minute of stoppage time today

Jack B
04/08/2024, 7:41 PM
Given the feedback above and online I must be wrong but I was in line with it and honestly thought it was a penalty. He had a hold of Turner's jersey and dragged him, a couple of us were even saying we'd be fuming with the stupidity of it were we Sligo fans. Haven't seen it back though so maybe just caught in the moment.

For what it's worth I think the linesman gave it too rather than Hennessey.

2 Year Contract
04/08/2024, 7:41 PM
You have to be sure for such a big decision. Pats really did spend big this week.

Hennessey was shocking tonight and the winning penalty indeed looks a howler from the TV angle, but to burst the bubble of the rather enjoyable tinfoil hat posts like this one, I was right in line with it on the camac and the defender pulled Luke Turners shirt. He dropped to the ground straight away once it happened but it was an absolutely clueless piece of defending to allow a ref like Hennessey an opportunity to give a peno. The jersey pull itself wasn’t enough for Turner to naturally go down, but it’s the only way refs give fouls these days

sbgawa
04/08/2024, 7:42 PM
I think most clubs could give you a check list of awful decisions by Hennesy against them. He is incompetent on an equal opportunities basis I reckon

2 Year Contract
04/08/2024, 7:43 PM
Given the feedback above and online I must be wrong but I was in line with it and honestly thought it was a penalty. He had a hold of Turner's jersey and dragged him, a couple of us were even saying we'd be fuming with the stupidity of it were we Sligo fans. Haven't seen it back though so maybe just caught in the moment.

For what it's worth I think the linesman gave it too rather than Hennessey.

Exact same reaction from around where I was on the camac. Firstly celebrated winning the peno then pure laughter and disbelief at the defender’s stupidity

Thewhitepele
04/08/2024, 7:47 PM
Hennessey was shocking tonight and the winning penalty indeed looks a howler from the TV angle, but to burst the bubble of the rather enjoyable tinfoil hat posts like this one, I was right in line with it on the camac and the defender pulled Luke Turners shirt. He dropped to the ground straight away once it happened but it was an absolutely clueless piece of defending to allow a ref like Hennessey an opportunity to give a peno. The jersey pull itself wasn’t enough for Turner to naturally go down, but it’s the only way refs give fouls these days

It was tongue in cheek, rather than tinfoil hat...but none the less an amazing decision.

2 Year Contract
04/08/2024, 7:50 PM
Refereeing aside… I thought Jamie Lennon had an absolute howler of a performance, he won the ball back a fair bit as usual but constantly gave it away and both Sligo goals came from him cheaply giving it away with wayward passes. Thought Sjoberg was Pats best player tonight and Elbouzedi and Kavanagh were both excellent when they came on. Great to get a win 3 days off the back of a European away game, particularly against a good in form side like Sligo

04/08/2024, 7:57 PM
Refereeing aside… I thought Jamie Lennon had an absolute howler of a performance, he won the ball back a fair bit as usual but constantly gave it away and both Sligo goals came from him cheaply giving it away with wayward passes. Thought Sjoberg was Pats best player tonight and Elbouzedi and Kavanagh were both excellent when they came on. Great to get a win 3 days off the back of a European away game, particularly against a good in form side like Sligo

Spot on. Jamie gave the ball away repeatedly, and as you say, for both Sligo goals. Mind you, it was a cracking finish for the first goal.Big three points for us, and I thought we did well considering the game on Thursday. Brandon Kavanagh was excellent when he came on, Kian Leavy was very good too. Can’t comment on the penalty, as I didn’t see it from where I was sitting. Sligo will be kicking themselves though, as they spurned a glorious chance gifted to them by Anang at 2-2. We’ve been on the wrong end of results in these tights games so often this season, maybe our luck is finally starting to turn.

2 Year Contract
04/08/2024, 8:09 PM
Spot on. Jamie gave the ball away repeatedly, and as you say, for both Sligo goals. Mind you, it was a cracking finish for the first goal.Big three points for us, and I thought we did well considering the game on Thursday. Brandon Kavanagh was excellent when he came on, Kian Leavy was very good too. Can’t comment on the penalty, as I didn’t see it from where I was sitting. Sligo will be kicking themselves though, as they spurned a glorious chance gifted to them by Anang at 2-2. We’ve been on the wrong end of results in these tights games so often this season, maybe our luck is finally starting to turn.

Yeah a big let off with them hitting the post at 2-2. The game was in the balance at that stage and could’ve gone either way with Lennon hitting the bar too. Thought a draw would’ve been a fair result but delighted it went our way

Jack B
04/08/2024, 8:12 PM
Love Jamie but he's been so poor generally this season by his usual standards. Still gets through trojan work (think he has the most tackles won in the league) and sometimes I think he's hung out to dry by being the only midfielder with any defensive responsibility to his game, but he's made heaps on errors in possession. Talk he's off to America in the off season and it'd be a shame for him to go out on this note.

On a similar note I feel like Joe Redmond has been playing half fit all season. His movement has looked awkward and he's seemed like he's playing through pain the majority of games and been half the player he has been previously.

ger121
04/08/2024, 8:40 PM
Watched it in slow mo a few times frame by frame and it is a penalty for me. You see the tug on the jersey. I was expected something way worse when I saw all the comments.

04/08/2024, 9:11 PM
I think most clubs could give you a check list of awful decisions by Hennesy against them. He is incompetent on an equal opportunities basis I reckon

Our win ratio halves when he's in charge, but I agree he's not biased.
I know some of the ones here saying it looked like a penalty, but it looks ridiculous on the replays.Turner's dive was pathetic.
I'd have questions marks over the first penalty too, btw.

As an aside, according to StattoLoI on Twitter, that's the latest goal ever scored in the Premier Division.

Thewhitepele
04/08/2024, 9:31 PM
Our win ratio halves when he's in charge, but I agree he's not biased.
I know some of the ones here saying it looked like a penalty, but it looks ridiculous on the replays.Turner's dive was pathetic.
I'd have questions marks over the first penalty too, btw.

As an aside, according to StattoLoI on Twitter, that's the latest goal ever scored in the Premier Division.

And bar Malley going off not an injury in the game

2 Year Contract
04/08/2024, 11:07 PM
And bar Malley going off not an injury in the game

There was 5 mins added on at the end of the game, mainly due to McGinty/other Sligo players time wasting in the second half, Mulraney going down injured, 2 goals and 5 separate substitution breaks up to that point. During that injury time Malley was down injured for a few minutes, as well as the tantrums that needed to be dealt with after the penalty was awarded

Rover'n'out
05/08/2024, 1:20 AM
I don't normally post on this forum, I use it to keep in touch with news, but the penalty decisions against Sligo Rovers tonight were an absolute disgrace. I watched on LOI and have spoken to a number at the game and watched the highlights over and over. I'm sorry but the referee really has some questions to answer. If that is an example of the officiating we have at the elite level of football in this country, we are screwed. I have accepted dodgy decisions many times over the years in the past, but I genuinely think that you really have to question this guy. If he is not capable of reffing at this level then it needs to be addressed. A disgrace. I see some Pats fans at the game are saying otherwise. I mean, come on.

05/08/2024, 10:51 AM
I fully expect referee Rob Hennessy to be disciplined by head of refereeing Rob Hennessy.

ger121
05/08/2024, 11:34 AM
I don't normally post on this forum, I use it to keep in touch with news, but the penalty decisions against Sligo Rovers tonight were an absolute disgrace. I watched on LOI and have spoken to a number at the game and watched the highlights over and over. I'm sorry but the referee really has some questions to answer. If that is an example of the officiating we have at the elite level of football in this country, we are screwed. I have accepted dodgy decisions many times over the years in the past, but I genuinely think that you really have to question this guy. If he is not capable of reffing at this level then it needs to be addressed. A disgrace. I see some Pats fans at the game are saying otherwise. I mean, come on.

Thanks for posting and hope you’ll stick around.

ger121
05/08/2024, 11:35 AM
I fully expect referee Rob Hennessy to be disciplined by head of refereeing Rob Hennessy.

Robbed Hennessy.

legendz
05/08/2024, 12:13 PM
Treaty are still in the promotion hunt. A creditable draw on Friday. Athlone and UCD are near certainties. Bray and Finn Harps are the teams to catch for those in pursuit.

joey B
05/08/2024, 2:56 PM
Treaty are still in the promotion hunt. A creditable draw on Friday. Athlone and UCD are near certainties. Bray and Finn Harps are the teams to catch for those in pursuit.

Between 5 teams for the last 2 places,I wouldn’t put a penny on us to make it either,Bray haven’t even got a manager and look better than us Atm,I think they’ll make it to but you can flip a coin for the last spot….

Jack B
05/08/2024, 3:12 PM

The first penalty I initially thought was outside the box at the game, but it was absolutely a blatant foul in any case. There's a reason Pijnaker was trying to argue that it was outside the box rather than not a foul at all, and it's because he got skinned and cynically tried to take Mulraney down outside the box as many defenders would in that situation. When watching back though it continues into the box and therefore is a penalty, he still has a hold of Mulraney's arm when he first touches the ball in the box so I don't really see the argument personally.

The winner I can see that it's soft having watched it back but Chapman is still stood about a yard behind Turner - who is favourite to win the ball - with a hold of his jersey so is just asking for problems. The angle on the Camac made it seem quite clear too but can appreciate the camera angles on LOI TV make that less apparent. Hennessy had loads of shockers anyway between hilarious non-calls of foul throw-ins, Pats getting a dangerous free kick for Jamie Lennon falling over the ball etc, but don't really get all the commotion with the penalties.

oriel
05/08/2024, 5:38 PM
Watched it in slow mo a few times frame by frame and it is a penalty for me. You see the tug on the jersey. I was expected something way worse when I saw all the comments.

The second pen, injury time, when I watched it on my mobile, I thought disgraceful decision, then I watched on my 26inch monitor, there is a slight tug of the jersey, but christ the Pats guy made a meal of it, that said I can now see how it was given.

05/08/2024, 7:11 PM
The second pen, injury time, when I watched it on my mobile, I thought disgraceful decision, then I watched on my 26inch monitor, there is a slight tug of the jersey, but christ the Pats guy made a meal of it, that said I can now see how it was given.

After watching it back I don’t think the camera angle fully caught it, but there does seem to be a tug on the shirt. It’s probably debatable, but some of the reaction, with talk of corruption etc, has been hysterical.

oriel
05/08/2024, 7:18 PM
Now I will be clear, there def was a slight pull on the jersey, but just for 2 seconds or so, silly by Sligo player as he only had to jockey the ball out, or get goalside.

Then we look at the Pats player, there is no way that 2 second pull warranted his collapse on the deck, but it was 2-2 and prob last kick, so would most players do it, possibly?

I can see why ref gave it though, but again there was not enough in it for me as clear cut, if was exact same challenge / contact in centre circle, would ref have given a free, I am not so sure he would. The classic 'remain to be convinced' scenario.

Pats were very lucky to get it, Sligo have every right to feel devastated.

joey B
05/08/2024, 7:22 PM
Red for Derry,very naive from Sam Todd already on a booking,the first one was very soft I thought though….

Dermobohs
05/08/2024, 7:39 PM
Shocking by the ref, shouldn’t be a yellow in this game at all, stupid challenge by Todd though.
How poor is kearns ‘ distribution though?

2 Year Contract
05/08/2024, 7:59 PM
Shocking by the ref, shouldn’t be a yellow in this game at all, stupid challenge by Todd though.
How poor is kearns ‘ distribution though?

Both of Todd’s bookings were warranted in fairness. Derry have continued to be the better side here even since the red card. Can still see Shels winning it though

ger121
05/08/2024, 8:27 PM
Have not been watching the match since the first half but I think I am not going to suffer from FOMO.

joey B
05/08/2024, 8:38 PM
Have not been watching the match since the first half but I think I am not going to suffer from FOMO.

Missed absolutely nothing,poor fare ….

sbgawa
05/08/2024, 8:40 PM
Best possible result for Rovers, its the hope that kills you.