Bray v Wexford
Cobh v Athlone
Cork v Kerry
Treaty v Finn Harps
Saturday 27th
Longford v UCD (19:30)
sbgawa
26/07/2024, 1:34 PM
With Europe next year for Rovers in mind ill be hoping for wins for Drogs and Dundalk as well as a draw in Sligo.
If we don't qualify for Europe next year with our Co efficient it would be real shooting yourself in the foot stuff
UCD need to winning in Longford they need a bit more consistancy to have any belief for the playoffs, still think there is a team in there , need Finner fit though.
Equally Harps need to pick up 3 points in Treaty and push on.
sbgawa
26/07/2024, 4:04 PM
Actually Bray wexford is a big match tonight. A win for bray could split the division in terms of playoffs 1-5. A win would create a 5 point gap from 5th to 6th.
culloty82
26/07/2024, 6:23 PM
The scoreline could get grisly in Turners Cross - Spain passing a fitness test does help somewhat, but no Tuta, Williams, or Daire McCarthy.
Kiki Balboa
26/07/2024, 6:32 PM
Why are the Bohs fans split in the Jodi?
Also... Last chance for Dundalk to get out of the bottom 2
sbgawa
26/07/2024, 6:35 PM
I think the split is with the traditional bohs supporters and the handlebar moustache vegans. Stewards were afraid it was going to kick off with the traditional supporters throwing beefburgers at the vegans and the vegans retaliating with mc veggie burgers they had smuggled in.
culloty82
26/07/2024, 7:07 PM
Delighted to see Leo's already off the mark for Athlone!
legendz
26/07/2024, 7:24 PM
Kerry are away to Athlone next. Shootout between Gaxha and Kelliher!
culloty82
26/07/2024, 7:35 PM
Tús maith, leath na hoibre - literally.
legendz
26/07/2024, 7:43 PM
Cork and Kerry are scoreless at half time. Kerry missing a few regulars. Doherty with a couple of early chances for Cork. Gleeson hit the crossbar and a later effort to flew over the bar.
26/07/2024, 7:46 PM
Intriguing game in Dalymount. Not a lot of quality expectedly. Bohs the better side but need to stitch good passages of play together. Soft goal for Dundalk to conceded with no pressure on at all and a tap in that needed a bit of s finish and was taken. Dundalk goal, keeper was unsighted but still a daisycutter between the legs with no great power on it, very soft with defending poor also. Bohs shot off the post was well worked but no closing it down or defenders to get bodies in the way. All in all 1-1 is the better scoreline for Dundalk and we will need to be better 2nd half to get even a point. Big 45mins ahead that could change the season and how to target the remainers of the season - actively really chasing sides ahead or play it very conservatively to try and kee Drogheda at arms length but thats a risk strategy when you see how they can pick up results. We could really do with a big half from Waterford too. Go 7 pints off top and theres a very outside chance pushing at the 2 above but more importantly put that 6 points ahaed of 4th.
Still dont get thoe long looping frees and corners that should be bread and butter for any half decent keeper, only reason I can think for not whipping in at pace is the risk of hitting it short and open to the break.
legendz
26/07/2024, 8:15 PM
Cork had been turning up the pressure after the break. Charlie Lyons with their goal.
Buckett
26/07/2024, 8:48 PM
Two great results in the Premier tonight!
26/07/2024, 8:50 PM
For a split second I thought Eoin Kenny had written himself in to the legendary moment book with a last Dundalk chance that looked heading in to the top corner. Felt strangely like a must win game. Couldnt lose either but the different between a credible draw or not was Drogs result. That is 8th done and dusted now imo. Its all about keeping the noses ahead of DUFC and go in to a play-off in some sort of from and confidence. All if and buts but if we had been as effectively bad earlier in the season rather than just bad we'd be a wedge ahead of Bohs at minimum who are awful too.
Hope kills but a single reversal of 1 weekends results and yer 1 or 2 points behind Pats and Bohs, and likewise swaping spots with Drogs, GD aside. Its still a lot tighter than it should be for some.
legendz
26/07/2024, 8:51 PM
Ronan Teahan was sent off after picking up a second yellow. Barry Coffey with Cork's second. Daire McCarthy rumoured to be leaving.
sbgawa
26/07/2024, 8:54 PM
A draw between sligo and Galway tommorow will see Rovers drop into the bottom half. Still probably the best result for us long term though. Bottom half of the league after almost 3 quarters of the season gone....I'd say you could have got good odds on that.
legendz
26/07/2024, 8:54 PM
Two great results in the Premier tonight!
Terrible result for Waterford obviously.
Two horse race for the title. Four way battle for third place.
Dermobohs
26/07/2024, 9:07 PM
I think the split is with the traditional bohs supporters and the handlebar moustache vegans. Stewards were afraid it was going to kick off with the traditional supporters throwing beefburgers at the vegans and the vegans retaliating with mc veggie burgers they had smuggled in.
? like it! Truth is a bit more boring, older heads have moved to “a” section, younger lads and the nbb heads in f and g.
I think it adds a bit, makes the stand a bit noisier anyhow.
26/07/2024, 9:58 PM
The return of Lee Lynch was the catalyst for a much improved Treaty performance. He was at the heart of everything we did and we were faster and more positive and purposeful than we've been all season.
Harps not up to much - I thought we deserved the points.
Shearer
26/07/2024, 9:59 PM
Deserved three points for Treaty tonight, the downside being that they didn't score more.
oriel
26/07/2024, 10:31 PM
Happy with that point for Dundalk, every goal and every point counts.
Can't see us finishing any higher than 9th, but we should be more than capable of beating whoever wins the FD playoff if we can hold it, just those pesky ones south of the county, never saw them beating Waterford.
Be some craic last game of the season if its winner takes all at Weavers, Dregs v Dundalk !
27/07/2024, 9:25 AM
The return of Lee Lynch was the catalyst for a much improved Treaty performance. He was at the heart of everything we did and we were faster and more positive and purposeful than we've been all season.
Harps not up to much - I thought we deserved the points.
Harps have been very poor for a while now. 2 wins in 11 games.
Another Bohemia
27/07/2024, 9:51 AM
Ultimately disappointed in the result last night but there are some positives. I think Leigh Kavanagh is going to be a fantastic CB. He was at fault for the goal imo but having seen other young CB's grow they are liable to make these kinds of mistakes. Once they learn from them they rarely happen again. Bohs are creating chances and dominating possession but I think we lack a striker who is even semi clinical. I think Akintunde & Grieve both did well but I also think they might be more suited to a wide forwards type role (will have to wait and see with Grieve on that one but that's my initial impression). If Bohs can sign Keena or someone like Maguire who is clinical at this level I can see games like last night turning into comprehensive wins
ger121
27/07/2024, 10:50 AM
Have not won a league game since 17th May and have not won at home since April. Bottom of the table on the from guide. Yes, we signed some good players and look a bit better but if we don’t start winning soon I think we will be caught by Dundalk eventually. Cannot understate how big of a game it is next Friday up in Drogheda. Lose that, coupled with Dundalk winning at home to Galway and we really will be looking over our shoulders.
27/07/2024, 11:50 AM
Just beat Drogheda and dont look over the shoulder. We can look a some sort of a chase when there is a nice gap built with the bottom feeder, Galway will more than have the measure of us and we will need to move the ball quicker and accurately to undermine Galways physicality.
Dont know whether Im watching games through the prism of relegation fear but Drogheda seem to me that they are better equipped to climb out of this mess, better than Bohs also. We just have to keep going and try to match or better results while accepting that any lead built up can change with a couple of fixtures. Its why I had a sense of last night being a must win game.
RealJohn91
27/07/2024, 1:42 PM
I think Leigh Kavanagh is going to be a fantastic CB. He was at fault for the goal imo but having seen other young CB's grow they are liable to make these kinds of mistakes. Once they learn from them they rarely happen again.
I thought Paddy Kirk was at fault for the goal, have absolutely no idea why he decided to go running into a blind alley in midfield. Poor Kavanagh got exposed one on one as a result. I do agree that Kavanagh looks a player, though it feels like he won't be back here for long. That lad Hakiki looks some player, he was running the show when he came off the bench. We couldn't get near him.
27/07/2024, 3:14 PM
A draw between sligo and Galway tommorow will see Rovers drop into the bottom half. Still probably the best result for us long term though. Bottom half of the league after almost 3 quarters of the season gone....I'd say you could have got good odds on that.
Yet win your two games in hand, and you'll be four points behind us with 11 games to play. Hardly insurmountable.
Such a tight league.
ger121
27/07/2024, 3:50 PM
I thought Paddy Kirk was at fault for the goal, have absolutely no idea why he decided to go running into a blind alley in midfield. Poor Kavanagh got exposed one on one as a result. I do agree that Kavanagh looks a player, though it feels like he won't be back here for long. That lad Hakiki looks some player, he was running the show when he came off the bench. We couldn't get near him.
Kavanagh was terrible for the goal. Got done on the outside for pace and strength from Gullan, a player not really known for either. Players get pulled out of position all the time and they have to do a job when taking on the player with the ball.
Both goals last night came from left full defensive errors / bad set up by the two sides.
Hakiki did make a good impact when he came on, plus Dervan started to come into it second half, amazingly we had 2 or 3 chances to win a game in the last 10 mins, in a match I`m not sure we even deserved to take a point in !!! Bohs should have been easily 2 up well before we scored.
Its a funny old game.......................
joey B
27/07/2024, 7:22 PM
Lovely volley from Wilson Waweru to give Sligo the lead against Galway….
ger121
27/07/2024, 7:29 PM
Oh that is bad goal to concede by UCD. Keeper should be wearing a cap I think.
legendz
27/07/2024, 7:39 PM
Sligo lead the Connacht derby at the break, in the mid-table battle of 6th versus 5th.
CorribsideSteve
27/07/2024, 8:39 PM
2 goals of cracking quality tonight from Sligo. You can see why we have the second lowest goals scored though.
ger121
27/07/2024, 9:00 PM
Sligo have been brilliant lately. Lose Mata and Hartmann and don’t even miss a beat.
Bunny Kelly
27/07/2024, 9:01 PM
Sligo have scored 6 goals from 11 shots on target across their last 3 games, they have improved lately but also have been getting the breaks
joey B
27/07/2024, 9:02 PM
John Russell doing a very good job at Sligo this season,joint 3rd now and after a significant reduction in budget is a decent return from him….
legendz
27/07/2024, 9:03 PM
UCD beat Longford away for a stronger grip on third. While the current First Division playoffs has given more teams a lifeline, it seems a bit excessive that the semi-finals are played over two legs. They will all have played each four times over the course of the regular season.
It should be a more straightforward matter of 2nd home to 5th and 3rd home to 4th. The playoff final should also be one game, with the higher league finisher with home advantage. Offers more of a reward for higher league finish.
The promotion/relegation playoff is the round that should be over two legs. Two teams who haven't played each other during the regular season.
Bunny Kelly
27/07/2024, 9:12 PM
I’m guessing end of season playoffs are a nice money maker from gate receipts so I can’t imagine anyone will vote for a change even if sporting merits may justify one
CorribsideSteve
27/07/2024, 9:13 PM
Sligo have been brilliant lately. Lose Mata and Hartmann and don’t even miss a beat.
They were brilliant defensively tonight also.
da bishop
27/07/2024, 9:15 PM
Well deserved win for Treaty ,should have won more comfortably,you can only beat whats in front of you and Harps were a shadow of the team i saw earlier this season.
oriel
27/07/2024, 11:14 PM
Sligo are by far the form team of the PD this summer, glad we beat them 1-0 weeks and weeks ago, they are now currently joint 3rd.
What an outstanding job John Russell is doing.