View Full Version : Stephen Carr

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

16/10/2005, 8:21 PM
Stephen Kelly will now have your place and he'll go on to in 70+ caps because he has something you never had - ABILITY.

In fairness, that's nonsense. First of all, lets not be building Kelly up just yet. Second of all, whatever about his attitude, before his injury at least Carr had ability and bags of it. A very good player, and he's still a competent premiership class full back.

livehead1
16/10/2005, 8:35 PM
i remember before his injury at spurs. barcelona were interested in signing him, he was outstanding in attack and defence. i dont like him but i think he maybe realises hes gettin picked because of past reputation...jst another angle

Qwerty
16/10/2005, 9:31 PM
To all you naysayers and losers I say sod off. Carr and everyone else on the Ireland team has done more than any of youze losers ever will, get off your bar stool and go home to the ould wan. :confused: :mad:

Marked Man
16/10/2005, 10:40 PM
Dont agree there Cosmo..of course its his own life but at 29 to retire from playing for your country is a bloody disgrace..he should be lucky to represent us..the guy walks around like the weight of the world is on his shoulders and a face that would sour milk..if he only looked at it from our side rather than his millionaire dont give a dam side..:mad:

And you honestly don't see any irony in your talking this way about a player who retired early from playing for Ireland?

16/10/2005, 11:05 PM
He went on loan to the first division. He looks like he could be a good player, hopefully he can be a great one, but lets not start hyping him up already before he's proven himself. Carr atm is a competent, decent premiership level full back, at his best he was far better than that. It is wrong to say both that he didn't ever have any ability and that Kelly was better than he ever was. It's just not true no matter how much you want it to be, though fingers crossed the Kelly one will be true one day.

16/10/2005, 11:05 PM
To all you naysayers and losers I say sod off. Carr and everyone else on the Ireland team has done more than any of youze losers ever will, get off your bar stool and go home to the ould wan. :confused: :mad:

hehe are you serious!
of course he has done more for the team than i ever will thats cos i am useless at playing football if i was as good as him though i would regard it as an honour to play for my country and would not quit untill i retired altogether

Irish Pride
16/10/2005, 11:41 PM
What a disgrace. I use to like Carr but since he came back from injury he hasnt been the same, but with the likes of Cunningham/Keane and maybe Breen retiring the Irish team is going to need leaders and i thought Carr might of stepped up but he has just show us what a disgrace he is.

Retiring at 29 with 39 caps and played a no international touraments. And does he not know that there is a European Tourament in 2008???

Good Riddens....Finnan and Kelly will do the job now. I've lost all respect for Carr.

Qwerty
17/10/2005, 2:31 AM
hehe are you serious!
of course he has done more for the team than i ever will thats cos i am useless at playing football if i was as good as him though i would regard it as an honour to play for my country and would not quit untill i retired altogether

Yes I am, this thread is infantile. Carr has been playing for Ireland probably since he was 14 or 15 - realistically we are not going to qualify for Euro2008 so he is making way so that younger plaers can get a chance. If there was any player in the 1st 11 who wanted to get a to a World Cup it was Carr. You should be thanking him for his years of service :confused:

Zidane
17/10/2005, 8:32 AM
I cant belive that a player would give up International football at 29. He might have used the excuse that that he cant mix club commitment and international fixtures. Newcastle are not playing in the Champions League or look as if they are going to be playing it in the next few years.

There is the European Championship in 2008 and he would have been one of the elder statesmen in the team and could have offered experience. I feel that he could have stuck around and helped Ireland and up and coming players who are going to be brought into the squad.

I have had this feeling recently that the Irish games are too much of a commitment to some players and he was one that I felt didnt want to be there.

Somebody else said on another forum that they would give their right b*ollox to play for Ireland, well I would give my left one and I just question some players commitment and do they give a b*ollox.

I really felt he was going to be a qualty player before his injury and I was sorry to see him miss out on the world cup with his injuries.

Sad to see any player retire, but if you dont want to be around then see you later.

Hither green
17/10/2005, 9:54 AM
What a disgrace. I use to like Carr but since he came back from injury he hasnt been the same, but with the likes of Cunningham/Keane and maybe Breen retiring the Irish team is going to need leaders and i thought Carr might of stepped up but he has just show us what a disgrace he is.

Retiring at 29 with 39 caps and played a no international touraments. And does he not know that there is a European Tourament in 2008???

Good Riddens....Finnan and Kelly will do the job now. I've lost all respect for Carr.

I agree, a great player before his operation but has never really refound his form. And it says something for his attitude that he's retiring at 29. I bet if he refinds his form and we refind our form he'll reconsider and frankly he can fcuk off.

I think it's probably good for us anyway. Finnan's about the same age isn't he. It saves us doing the usual trick of having 2 players of the same age fighting over the one position, not blooding back up and then being left high and dry when they both retire at the same time. Hopefully giving Kelly a few games may help him with his club place too.

Paulie
17/10/2005, 10:19 AM
Ok so he's giving up intl. football now on the basis that he doesn't think he will be up to it in 5 years time. Maybe this was one of those times when it made more sense in his head.

Stormin Normin
17/10/2005, 10:19 AM
Great player or not before his operation his attitude has always been up his ar*e. What's worse in recent years he has become a poisonous little wa*ker.

Carr looks like a miserable bol*x when playing for Ireland in recent years with his performances also being of a similar vein.

We don't want or need players who don't want to play for their country or who won't give it 100%. Carr is gulty on both counts. Good riddance to him.

raytown red
17/10/2005, 11:29 AM
who is this kelly lad i haven heard of him and who he playin with

Shelsman
17/10/2005, 12:16 PM
Finnan will get an automatic start in that position now and was always the better of the two.

Let's not forget the away match to Russia where we collapsed to lose 4-2....If a clown was on the pitch he would have done better than Finnan. But I suppose we shouldn't judge him on one game! What I'm really trying to say is that if Finnan is either injured/suspended/in bad form then we're really stuck. Finnan and Carr both got on the Premiership XI of the season at various stages and IMO Carr was potentially a world class player before he moved to Newcastle. Maybe a bigger move would have been better and he is p!ssed off with football in general seeing he's on the losing side more often than he would like at the Toon? Maybe O'Shea's best position is right back ( and before you all start knocking him let's remember that we have f*ck all players now, so we have to support the remnants of the Ireland team as they are ).

Personally I'm dissapointed Carr's 'retired' ( deserted? ) and it's a bit much for him to tell everyone to back Kerr and then abandon the ship himself!!! :mad:

Don Vito
17/10/2005, 12:19 PM
As far as I know Carr has never played in a tournament finals with Ireland. This really smacks of throwing in the towel. Where is his hunger? So he's happy just winding down his career at rudderless Newcastle? He hasn't earned the right to announce his retirement from international football - it seems very arrogant. It really makes you appreciate the likes of McGrath, Irwin and Aldridge all the more.

Best comment I've read about Carr here, just shows how little interest he has in playing for Ireland. Its such a contrast with Ryan Giggs who you have to admire for his dedication to the Welsh cause and his desire to represent Wales at a major tournament, and you can bet Ferguson has been piling the pressure on Giggs to call it quits.

I bet Giggs retires this week!!!

youngirish
17/10/2005, 1:32 PM
Hopefully O'Shea, Kilbane, Connolly and Doherty will follow Carr's lead and also announce their retirement soon to give some of the younger players a chance. Kerr should also do the decent thing and retire to give a better manager a chance.

StuttgartVet
17/10/2005, 2:53 PM
Some right rubbish in this thread!! I would have Finnan ahead of Carr on the basis that Steve has lost the pace that set him apart as a great full back. I believe that Steve knows this and isn't going to have himself exposed to ridicule in an Irish jersey. Against the Swiss, he was rounded by a centre-half and was left for dead for pace!!!

Guy played 39 times for Ireland - wish he wasn't going but so be it

John O'Shea is a quality footballer whose confidence has been seriously undermined by playing out of position, not getting his place in his club team etc. Very disappointed to see him signing a new contract with MUFC - Should have gone to a club where he can hold down a regular spot and build his confidence. Kilbane is in the same boat - doesn't take a genius to work out his confidence is rock bottom and he is NOT a winger
Connolly should get a couple of runs in friendlies, God knows we are short of talent up front and he is getting goals in the Premiership
Doherty - once again a guy who gives his all for the jersey

17/10/2005, 2:55 PM
Kilbane is in the same boat - doesn't take a genius to work out his confidence is rock bottom and he is NOT a winger

On Kilbane, what is he then?

On Doherty, excellent, but he's still sh*t.

Noelys Guitar
17/10/2005, 3:33 PM
Carr going is no loss. Lost his pace 3 years ago but was a good servant for Ireland and wish him the best. Finnan will step in. O'Brien who had an excellent game the weekend will step in for Cunningham. Elliot looks better each game and if he can keep up a good level of scoring goals will be a huge benefit for Ireland. Again Stephen Ireland has real possibilities. Great passing ability and a toughnut for his size. If we can get 1 or 2 other good players into the squad I believe the next manager whoever that is can get us to the euro's. The seeding dosen't really mean a lot. It depends on the direction the teams we get in our group are going forwards or backwards.

Chippy
17/10/2005, 4:51 PM
I don't understand this "retiring from International football" nonsense. If you were 50 years old & the National team manager asked you to pull on a green shirt you should jump at the chance. It should be up to the manager to decide who plays and anyone with Irish blood should be available for selection. I'm sure anyone here would give their right arm to play for their country. Carr's (and Cunnninghams & Keane's) attitude sickens me. I'll bet Shay Given never "retires" from International football. Playing for his country actually means something to the likes of him.
FcUk off Carr you lazy ***** ......

Shelsman
17/10/2005, 4:53 PM
Kilbane is in the same boat - doesn't take a genius to work out his confidence is rock bottom and he is NOT a winger

Not a centre midfielder either. Left back?

Connolly should get a couple of runs in friendlies, God knows we are short of talent up front and he is getting goals in the Premiership

Have to agree -he's been completely under used and always works his socks off, not like the whinger Robbie or Duff the diver. I have to say that Duff only makes a significant impact in one in every 3 games for Ireland at best, his best position is probably between midfield and attack in a free role so he can't be marked out of the game. I'd seriously give Harte a few games on the left wing as he could get crosses into the box all day and would be fantastic getting a header in at the back post with crosses from the right. Now is the time to experiment with these things.

So would I and most other fans, he's still the worst touch I've seen from ANY Irish international. Jason Byrne would be much better ( why not give Byrne 4/5 full games and then say he is good enough or not, rather than 30 seconds at the end of a solitary friendly ).

18/10/2005, 1:33 AM
So a mad stampede to jump on the carcass of Carrīs international career. I thought it was to our advantage that we had an an ex Attica convict lookalike shoring up the defense. How do you imagine S. Kelly is going to scare some attacker, drown him in hair gel after a shake of the head? Of course he has lost much of his game in the last few years, before he was injured he did well, especially against Figo, after the injury he was badly missed not least when Gary Kelly had to replace him against Holland. He doesn't look like a bull5hitter to me maybe he knows he hasnīt got much left to offer, unlike some players. Even with what little he has got at present he was still able to keep a meek Steve Finnan out of the team.

JoeSemi
18/10/2005, 1:31 PM
The best news to come out of the non-qualification in my opinion. Carr has looked a pale image of the player who was continually vaunted as the best full-back in the Premiership not so long ago. To use his cruciate injury as an excuse for, what looked like, a lack of enthusiasm in the green shirt doesn't wash; other players like Alan Shearer and Roy Keane have come back as strong from similar injuries and nobody ever used it as a get out clause for them. Carr's weaknesses are probably in his head more so, hence the early retirement. People always seem to notice Robbie Keane's antics when things don't go his way, but Carr is of a similar breed of arm-waving and petulant footballer. It shouldn't be long until he's taking a back seat at Newcastle aswell with the emergence of Stephen Taylor.

During the qualification campaign Carr, along with John O' S hit, gave many people more cause for dishing out abuse at an Irish player than any others. This, if nothing else, is in indication of how he has slipped in the estimation of lots of Irish fans. Steve Finnan should now get the extended run he rightfully deserves and I don't think many are sorry that Carr's retirement will facilitate this.

TheJamaicanP.M.
18/10/2005, 2:04 PM
The best news to come out of the non-qualification in my opinion. Carr has looked a pale image of the player who was continually vaunted as the best full-back in the Premiership not so long ago. To use his cruciate injury as an excuse for, what looked like, a lack of enthusiasm in the green shirt doesn't wash; other players like Alan Shearer and Roy Keane have come back as strong from similar injuries and nobody ever used it as a get out clause for them. Carr's weaknesses are probably in his head more so, hence the early retirement. People always seem to notice Robbie Keane's antics when things don't go his way, but Carr is of a similar breed of arm-waving and petulant footballer. It shouldn't be long until he's taking a back seat at Newcastle aswell with the emergence of Stephen Taylor.

During the qualification campaign Carr, along with John O' S hit, gave many people more cause for dishing out abuse at an Irish player than any others. This, if nothing else, is in indication of how he has slipped in the estimation of lots of Irish fans. Steve Finnan should now get the extended run he rightfully deserves and I don't think many are sorry that Carr's retirement will facilitate this.

Have to agree with you Joe. Some contrast between Carr and Niall Quinn. Quinny returned from a cruciate on both legs. His courage and commitment to the Irish cause puts Carr's retirement at 29 into context.

I just hope we haven't left it too late with Steve Finnan. I'm half-expecting him to retire also. He was treated very poorly by Kerr. Since when did we have the luxury of leaving a Champions League winner on the bench?

18/10/2005, 4:58 PM
The difference between Carr and Shearer, Keane and the rest is they didn't rely on their pace as much as Carr did.

18/10/2005, 5:12 PM
Over THIS wc qual. campaign, neither of the two players mentioned, Finnan and Carr, distiguished themselves. Apart from the attempts to mindread Carr´s intentions with his decision to retire is there any evidence to support that Finnan put in any more effort or commitment than Carr? I did not see that Finnan brought much more to the team than Carr did in the qual. games, imo. Finnan (a classy player) is one of the players on the team who went off the boil during this qualification campaign. Indeed it could be argued that Finnan demonstrated less effort and commitment against Cyprus than any other player, was substituted and subsequently lost his place in the last game.

18/10/2005, 5:14 PM
Yes having stupidly been picked on the right wing

zerocoolie
19/10/2005, 11:49 AM
Agree that Carr is a disgrace to quit, how many of us on our deathbeds would jump at the chance to pull on the green jersey for the 30 seconds that Jason Byrne got?

Weak sauce, Carr.

RE: Finnan starting on the right against Cyprus..
..picking a defensive minded player in rightside midfield position in an away WCQ is hardly a stupid decision...imho

skbio_toronto
20/10/2005, 7:42 PM
Retiring from playing football for your country at the age of 29. You, Stephen Carr, are an idiot of the highest order.

Yeah, he has'nt been the Stephen Carr of old since the surgery. Unquestionably he's still good enough (performance wise) to be at least a squad member. But in his undoubted wisdom, concentrating on playing for a dead end mid table Premiership team is the height of his ambitions.

I grew up watching Kevin Moran putting his head in where many would'nt venture with a pick axe, John Aldridge closing down the opposing defender as if his life depended on it, Packie Bonner with that grimace of intent before booting the ball towards Niall Quinn (another loyal servant) at Italia '90 against the Dutch. Players who made themselves available for selection right up to the end of their club careers.

Retiring at 29 to focus on playing for a mediocre English club side. Man, I just can't fathom it. I can only summarise my opinion on the matter with a rant.

Stephen Carr, Go fook yourself you arrogant fook!! And go say 'howay to the lads' if you see them you sad excuse for an Irishman.

Tenderloins
17/01/2006, 9:44 AM
So Staunton is going to ask players to reconsider their International retirements.
Would you bother asking Stephen Carr to come out of International retirement?
I wouldn't waste my breath.

Rover 2 U
17/01/2006, 9:50 AM
Not a chance!

17/01/2006, 9:51 AM
No. I wouldn't either.

This from football365 sums it up

Bye Bye Carr
So Stephen Carr has retired from international football. Never again shall the Lansdowne Road faithful see the tubby little perma-tanned ******* smiling to himself after yet again running with the ball at his feet into a crowd of opposition midfielders instead of clearing the bloody thing. Never again shall we see him waddle out of position as a Swiss / Cypriot / French winger simply stands still and 'moves' into the small amount of space behind his fat arse. Never again shall we see him chop down Zidane on the edge of the penalty area for the second time in five minutes. Never again shall Champions League winner Stevie Finnan sit on the bench while the mighty Newcastle fatboy tries his best to balls things up. What will we ever do without him?
Austin Lysaught

Roadend
17/01/2006, 9:51 AM
Good god no.

Tired&Emotional
17/01/2006, 9:56 AM
Definite no...better rb's available. He's carrying a few extra pounds & played terrible in the last few intls he played....his intl days are well and truely behind him...

17/01/2006, 9:57 AM
What about Gary Kelly? I've really gone off Carr as well as noting that he's not half the player he was. But Kelly has been playing well for Leeds & AFAIK is close to Staunton & Alan Kelly.

Kelly is credible cover but I also think the likes of Foley & Kelly should be intoduced to the squad.

Tired&Emotional
17/01/2006, 9:58 AM
No. I wouldn't either.

This from football365 sums it up

Bye Bye Carr
So Stephen Carr has retired from international football. Never again shall the Lansdowne Road faithful see the tubby little perma-tanned ******* smiling to himself after yet again running with the ball at his feet into a crowd of opposition midfielders instead of clearing the bloody thing. Never again shall we see him waddle out of position as a Swiss / Cypriot / French winger simply stands still and 'moves' into the small amount of space behind his fat arse. Never again shall we see him chop down Zidane on the edge of the penalty area for the second time in five minutes. Never again shall Champions League winner Stevie Finnan sit on the bench while the mighty Newcastle fatboy tries his best to balls things up. What will we ever do without him?
Austin Lysaught

Think that's a bit harsh from Football365 - he did serve us well, at times;)

Tired&Emotional
17/01/2006, 10:01 AM
Not sure about GK - haven't seen him play recently. i know it was asked if Mark Kennedy should get another shout & I agree but think GK has been out in the cold for too long....not sure he would be still up to scratch but then if he is playing well, then yes, he should get a chance with Stan - new begining 'n' all that...

17/01/2006, 10:06 AM
I think they should ask Roy Keane to come of out of retirement and play at the back ha ha

Den Perry
17/01/2006, 10:13 AM
I think they should ask Roy Keane to come of out of retirement and play at the back ha ha

Neil, that would not be such a bad idea. I wouldn't think he's being extended as much in Scotland as he was at Utd. I wonder would he have retired from International football if he could have foreseen what would happen at Old Trafford over the last few months?

That said, there is probably a better chance of hell freezing over than Staunton and himself ever talking again, never mind working together

17/01/2006, 10:37 AM
Thank God I'm not the only one who wants him playing again!!1

17/01/2006, 10:51 AM
Neil Horgan, Owen Heary, Joey O'Brien, Steve Finnan are all better right backs than Carr, Cheerio then.

Den Perry
17/01/2006, 10:54 AM
yes, its been a long time since Carr "motored" on down the touchline

Den Perry
17/01/2006, 10:55 AM
in fact it would be safe to say that the "brakes" have probably been put on his career.....his engine doesn't appear to be the same as it was

17/01/2006, 11:05 AM
NO WAY LADS - Carr has an attitude problem blood some new younger players

17/01/2006, 11:47 AM
He hasn't performed at club or international level since he left Spurs for Newcastle. Seems he is just not motivated anymore. No use calling him up if not committed.

17/01/2006, 1:16 PM
Carr in his day was an excellent fullback. He never fully recovered from his injury but if Roy Keane can come back, I don't see why Carr can't except for those wearing red blinkers. We're not big enough to be fussy and although he's not worth a place in the team right now, he would be a useful squad member since he is playing Premiership football.

Robson signed him when at Newcastle so although they haven't spoken since he left Newcastle, there is a possibility he may be asked. I would also take back Dean Kiely even though he's lost his place at Charlton. The bigger squad of potential players the better. I am not proud. God knows I'd even welcome back........

17/01/2006, 1:21 PM
Would you bother asking Stephen Carr to come out of International retirement?Yes, of course I would. Obviously Finnan is going to get the RB position before Carr but he's still adequate enough cover for him. I think a lot of ye are being too hard on Carr, he's not as bad as ye are going on about.

If Staunton is asking players to return, I wonder will he ask Roy Keane?:eek:.

17/01/2006, 1:32 PM
No point. iIf you looking for backup to finnan might as well look to the future and kelly or possibly o brien who is RB at the moment for bolton, (i know its not his first position )

17/01/2006, 1:45 PM
If reports are to be believed Kevin Foley could be playing Premiership footy soon for West Ham.

FarBeag
17/01/2006, 1:53 PM
No.. He would now be more of a hindrance than an asset.He is retired so leave him out to pasture. A good player before the injury while at Spurs but nothing more than average now.