View Full Version : Time For Trundle?

Pages : 1 [2]

25/09/2005, 10:52 AM
Who needs Trundle when you have Kevin Doyle,only that poor excuse for an international manager wont pick him

dynamo kerry
25/09/2005, 10:59 AM
the trundle debate is interesting. everyone laughed at him at first now he has a definite support lobby.

in 6 months the indo will be baying for his inclusion.

forza doyler

Qwerty
25/09/2005, 1:55 PM
dynamo - every quasi-Mick playing in Albion has a support lobby, some are just more comical than others. I don't mind recruiting a beefy striker with an Irish granny in-tow, not sure Trundle is going to add any real beef though.

Donal81
25/09/2005, 4:21 PM
What do you want him to do to prove his fealty Donal? :confused:

How you can draw such a conclusion from one line in a poor interview says more about you than it does about Trundle.

:ball: PP

Take it easy, will you? I said I don't know much about him, that's just the impression that I got, no need to get personal about it.

robbie_B
25/09/2005, 5:11 PM
I can't see him getting a call up any time soon, taking a player from league 1 and then putting them into an International fixture is quite the step up and I doubt Brian Kerr would see Trundle as the man to fire us to world cup success. I don't think Clinton will ever be a world beater, his finishing just isn't clinical enough but Kerr seems to be sticking by him. Trundle would add some physical strength to compliment Keane but they are both showboaters so it might be all tricks and no end product. If Swansea were to go up it wouldn't be such a shock to see him called up. Rowlands got his call up when QPR got promoted from that level. Has Kerr ever actually gone to see him play?

25/09/2005, 7:19 PM
Has Kerr ever actually gone to see him play?
I'm pretty sure he has gone to see Trundle play, even if he hasn't I'm certain he's been in contact with him.

25/09/2005, 7:50 PM
Take it easy, will you? I said I don't know much about him, that's just the impression that I got, no need to get personal about it.

I wasn't having a go at you, Donal, so rest assured that it's you who should take it easy. I just wanted to find out what players in Trundle's position have to do to satisfy you (and others who feel the same way) that they want to represent Ireland. I just think it's a bit lame that people expect these guys to be crawling over broken glass and all to play for us when they only need one Irish grandparent and a willingness to play international football in the green to qualify. And, let's face it, Trundle is at least one generation closer to Irish qualification than were either John Aldridge or Michael Robinson. I don't remember too much stick being meted out by supporters, certainly not in the former case anyway.

Donal81
26/09/2005, 12:40 PM
I wasn't having a go at you, Donal, so rest assured that it's you who should take it easy. I just wanted to find out what players in Trundle's position have to do to satisfy you (and others who feel the same way) that they want to represent Ireland. I just think it's a bit lame that people expect these guys to be crawling over broken glass and all to play for us when they only need one Irish grandparent and a willingness to play international football in the green to qualify. And, let's face it, Trundle is at least one generation closer to Irish qualification than were either John Aldridge or Michael Robinson. I don't remember too much stick being meted out by supporters, certainly not in the former case anyway.

You said it was more of a reflection on me than it was on Trundle. This is a forum for the debate of Trundle, not me, and I didn't appreciate it. Your point is fine buy you said nothing of the sort in the post that I had a problem with.

youngirish
26/09/2005, 5:41 PM
Here lads is this thread for real or what? 29 year old Trundle for Ireland when playing for Swansea in the third tier of English football? If anyone is seriously suggesting this then they should seek urgent medical attention. Who would be his striking partner - Paul Butler?

And before you get all snotty yeah I have seen him play on numerous occasions. Most of his goals are penos.

youngirish
27/09/2005, 5:23 PM
Here lads Kerr named the squad and unbelievable as it may seem Lee Trundle didn't make the 22.

27/09/2005, 5:33 PM
Here lads Kerr named the squad and unbelievable as it may seem Lee Trundle didn't make the 22.

Kerr hates Wales. If Trundle moved to a proper club like Chesterfield he would get a call-up.

youngirish
27/09/2005, 5:35 PM
Kerr hates Wales. If Trundle moved to a proper club like Chesterfield he would get a call-up.

If that's true I hope he stays at Swansea.

livehead1
27/09/2005, 9:42 PM
.....he wins many of them penalties himself..

o ye, and he scored again tonight, thats 9 in 8 for him this season

27/09/2005, 11:09 PM
He's obviously biased against players at Swansea City or players in League 1.

Zidane
30/09/2005, 8:23 AM
Just read that Sheffield Wednesday have had their bid of £475K for Trundle turned down.

Haven't bothered to check it out elsewhere.

youngirish
01/10/2005, 11:39 PM
Just read that Sheffield Wednesday have had their bid of £475K for Trundle turned down.

Haven't bothered to check it out elsewhere.
No one can sign Trundle until the transfer window opens again in January.

01/10/2005, 11:43 PM
The window doesn't apply to clubs outside the premiership I think

youngirish
02/10/2005, 12:59 AM
It applies this season to all League clubs.

zinedineontour
02/10/2005, 7:10 AM
I think Trundle should deffo get a call up for the feb friendly we will probably have .. He must be full of confidence and is the only " irish " player scoring at such a rate .. Fair enough its league 1 but he can only do what he can while he is at that level .... get connolly out for reasons based not just on ability and give trundle a run ...

02/10/2005, 9:37 AM
Was Trundle born in Ireland and if so where?

02/10/2005, 12:05 PM
Was Trundle born in Ireland and if so where?
Born in Liverpool but in an Irish family. Turned down a callup by Northern Ireland last year.

"I have no welsh family, I’m with Ireland through my Granddad, even when I was a kid I grew up supporting Ireland even though I lived in England, and all my mates had England kits on I always had an Ireland kit on so it’s not something that’s just cropped up, it’s always been in my family, all the time."

Soper
02/10/2005, 1:43 PM
Norwich are after him too.

Sliogán Dóite
02/10/2005, 3:35 PM
The Adriano of League One. Most of those skills would work on any defender.
I hope he signs for a Championship team in January as I can't see Kerr giving him a chance if he stays at Swansea.

02/10/2005, 3:42 PM
I think he is worth a place in the squad. He simply offers something you do not see very often in the game, let alone an Irish player. I think he would be a very handy option on the bench, particularly when playing weak teams. He could provide that spark of magic when it appears to be a dry day for creativity.

Soper
02/10/2005, 4:04 PM
Steve Bull was good enough for England!So Trundle definately deserves a chance, if only to show what he can do.

dr_peepee
05/10/2005, 10:25 AM
From a column he wrote last week on Sky Sports....

"Away from Swansea I have also seen that Reading's Kevin Doyle has been called up to the Republic of Ireland squad - and that really does give me confidence for the future.

It shows that Brian Kerr is looking outside The Premiership and I am hoping that, if I can continue my current form, he will take a look at me.

I would love to play for Ireland, a lot of my family are from there and that is the real reason - I am not merely looking to play international football at any cost.

Northern Ireland has been mentioned to me, and to be honest I haven't even looked into it."

It'll be the Freindlies next spring at the earliest if he is ever going to get a call up...

Hibs4Ever
05/10/2005, 10:31 AM
Lee Trundle is English, 29 and a player who likes to showboat, the sheer lunacy of even thinking of Trundle... :confused:

Didn't Trundle also slag off the Eircom League when Crowe was called in for Greek friendly? Something like he knew nothing about our league, but there's no way it is better than englands lowest division (which swansea were in at the time)

05/10/2005, 12:03 PM
Call up Mark Farren top scorer in the EL and from Inishowen
Pair up with Kevin Doyle up front and have North West/ South East partnership. According to the Herald Robbie Keane is finished never scores when it matters these days apparently.