View Full Version : Limerick Fc 0 Galway Utd 1

Westside
09/09/2005, 11:15 PM
Absolutely shocked by this result, conditions for the game were terrible, not a night for football. We were well on top in the first half but we couldn't make our dominance pay in terms of getting on the scoresheet. Second half Galway came at us more and be fair they scored a very good goal, what worries me though is that our defence was no where to be seen for it. Lavine who didn't put a foot wrong all night ran in from the right and squared it to O'Brien who was completely unmarked to finish from the edge of the box. Limerick tried in vain to come back with Kelleher going closest but our plight was worsened by Jones's sending off, a 2nd bookable offence (diving). Thats 2 defeats in a row now and playoffs now look beyond us. Its very frustrating as a supporter to see what is going on, on the pitch especially now as we have some quality in our side. You would expect McGrath to shine at this level but gave away the ball too often tonight. Wolfe's distribution is terrible, Kerins is not good enough, Nolan is gutless (does this guy have it in his contract that he plays every game????) and Keating is also not up to it either. Does anyone know why Donnellen, Molan and Bakic were in the stand watching the game instead of being involved?? Also it would appear that NOC has no ideas when we go behind, why isn't Guerin getting more games and why is it only 5mins here and there, he showed more invention in the few mins he was on than Nolan showed in the whole game.Worrying times ahead for us, I hope the Limerick 2000 works, the way we're playing we'd be lucky to get 200.Big changes need to be made up front if we are to start scoring again, last 2 games we've scored 0 and conceded 5 not what you need facing into the final months of the season. Weather last night was cack, bit like our performance . :mad: :mad: :mad:

09/09/2005, 11:19 PM
Just back from the match.Terrible conditions and a terrible first half from both sides.Second half we totally dominated and probably could have scored one or two more.Sending off was a bit harsh tbh but we have been unlucky in recent games with sending off's aswell. Both teams have alot of work to do to challenge for promotion next year.Consistency is the main problem.

09/09/2005, 11:21 PM
Dunno should i write anything after seeing that. Pitch was playable but it rained heavy sice mid day and right tru. Good crowd for a miserable night but lets all push the limerick 2000 thing now, our season is very much over but its now that the fans of next year will get interesed. SC bus running to Kildare next week, new fanzine out for the limerick 2000 game so every fan make the effort to get yourself and (1+) to the Cobh game. On the playing side Kupec, Guiren, Bakic should all start from here on in as entertainment is the order of the day now. Religated should be Wolfe, Kerins and no surprise here Nolan IMO

Westside
09/09/2005, 11:52 PM
. Religated should be Wolfe, Kerins and no surprise here Nolan IMONot religated gael, binned would be a better choice, for these 3 individuals and if NOC can't see this then bin him aswell. :mad:

JohnD
10/09/2005, 1:31 PM
Inept is the word that springs to mind after last night's shambles. Inept management and inept play. Why does NOC persist with Wolfe, Kerins and Nolan (If I see him shrug his shoulders one more time ...!) when they are not performing.

When Jones came on he showed very well and was very harshly sent off by another Cork Ref (say no more ). Why did he not start and where was Kupec? :confused:

BTW our top scorer is Still DEREK mcCARTHY !!!. and how long has he been gone now ? Some of the Team are not capable of playing at this level and NOC has mismanaged a LOI team once more. It's time for a change on and off the pitch as the season is now over and we may as well prepare for the new campaign asap.

Cobh 2000....youre having a laugh boy !!

10/09/2005, 3:10 PM
agree with you on all John but we have to push for the limerick 2000 thing as next season might well depend on it. last night though with some good playmaking players on the bench (Kupec and Burke) they chose way too late IMO to throw on a big target man. FOR WHAT? For our fantastic winging duo of Kerins and Nolan to drop crosses onto his head? Its going to be hard but i still belive we can get a good crowd up for the cobh game.

willie john
10/09/2005, 3:46 PM
agree with you on all John but we have to push for the limerick 2000 thing as next season might well depend on it.
lads it a bit soon saying our season is over at this stage . cobh1 dundalk 1
athl 0 sligo0
dublin1 mon1
all we need is kildare and killkenny to draw then the table dosent change .a couple of wins changes it all .the last 2 weeks have been a kick in the ass lets hope next weeks changes .by the way a message for joe soap you pulled off a great stroke on wednesday how do you think up these scams YOURE A LEGEND but its a pity the scam involved your own club .never believed what people said about you but unfortunately last wednesday you proved these people right YOUR A GIT. bye bye

10/09/2005, 5:04 PM
im all ears too but would the hint be Wednesday = international day? tickets perhaps?

tooty
10/09/2005, 5:10 PM
if we lose in kildare next week i reckon our season is over,too many other sides
catching us up now,thought lavine was the difference between the teams last night,
6 points isn`t exactly mount everest but there isn`t much confidence in the team at the moment,think we`re missing donnellan big time....

4tothefloor
10/09/2005, 6:48 PM
athl 0 sligo0
dublin1 mon1
all we need is kildare and killkenny to draw then the table dosent change .a couple of wins changes it all .
That's all fine and dandy, but what about the small problem of us being sh!t? Are you not watching the games at all, or are you just delusional? We've been saying it all season - until the likes of Wolfe, Nolan and Kerins are given a one way ticket out of the first team we're going nowhere. I actually laughed at Wolfe a number of times last night, as did a few around me, as he managed to kick the ball back over his head when trying to kick it forward. :D The man is hopeless. Chris Kerins has no technical ability, can't pass, has no pace and a half arsed workrate. He shouldn't be near the team. Jamie Nolan's consistant appearances are a joke and it's as if NOC is purpously trying to make a point to the fans that he's the boss. There are other options but he persists with a player who offers nothing. That's bad management.

On the plus side I was happy enough with Chris Jones, John McGrath and Buckley. In ten minutes Jones made more of an impact and showed more guts than Nolan has all season. Says it all really. He looks a nippy, willing player and he was unlucky to be sent off. The first yellow was harsh as it looked worse than it was - Jones won the ball but because he had just been fouled before that it looked like a retaliation tackle, even though the Galway defender miscontrolled the ball. He did dive for the penalty though. Like wise Shane Guerin did well when he came on. John McGrath looked good at times, played some nice cross-field and angled balls, but as expected Kerins and Nolan were not on the same wavelength for some of those passes. Having said that I don't think Barrett and McGrath will work - they're both trying to do the same job and Barrett was anonymous last night.

As gael353 said, I want to see the likes of Kupec, Bakic, Jones, Guerin etc being played from here on in. What have we got to lose? Is Noel afraid that we might actually play some football :D . We're absolute rubbish as we are, so get the finger out Noel......

the last 2 weeks have been a kick in the ass lets hope next weeks changes.
The question is, are you going to give Noel a kick up the ass Danny? Or is there a love-in going on at Limerick FC? Is Noel bribing you with free packet and tripe?

10/09/2005, 9:57 PM
there isn`t much confidence in the team at the moment,think we`re missing donnellan big time....

well he hadnt scored in a long time and if we're missing him id bring him back on the right in place of Keating (who should be at right back) hit the road Wolfe!
Team for next week :)
Mooney
Keating, Buckley, Finnucane, Tobin (if injured Molem)
Donnellen, McGrath, Burke/Kupec/Molem, Bakic
Kelliher, Barrett/Guiren
= 3 points.

4tothefloor
11/09/2005, 12:32 AM
hit the road Wolfe!
You have it in for Wolfe big time lately :D

Westside
11/09/2005, 5:46 AM
You have it in for Wolfe big time lately :DHe is just 1 of at least 3 players who are not giving anything to the team and its frustrating to see that even though they are well below what you expect them to be, NOC continues to use them.I don't blame them as such, if they are playing to the best of their ability then its the manager that needs the rollicking because they simply are not good enough, IMO none of the 3 would have been good enough for last years team. Managers live and die by what happens on the field of play NOC is / should be on death row, just wondering how long we have to wait to see him walk the green mile.

11/09/2005, 12:36 PM
You have it in for Wolfe big time lately :D

:p Pot, Kettle, black! No no no i dont have it in for any player and Wolfe is a lovley guy but...as for a football player at senior level i have my doubts. Same counts for Kerins and :rolleyes: you guessed it, Nolan.

muls world
11/09/2005, 2:54 PM
From the few limerick games this season this so called player that goes by the name of Jamie Nolan should be shipped off to bournemouth/southampton or some deep water port with a one way ticket. Kerins should take the road west and as for Woulfe Cobh might take him back. Why does DD and NOC sign these players ( Kapic, Rose and Buckley to name a few) and dont play them for weeks?

Kerry Blue
11/09/2005, 4:42 PM
athl 0 sligo0
dublin1 mon1

Limerick FC 0 Galway Utd 1!!!!! :rolleyes:
You just don't get it do you willie john.
When all round us are dropping points and we have the opportunity to make inroads in to the teams ahead of us we shoot ourselves in the foot by losing at home yet again. Any time this season that we get a chance to get a good run going we never do and always fail to capitalise on the failings of other clubs when it happens. Our season IS OVER. We just have next year to look forward to now and hope that we have a decent squad of players who perform and start to get some consistancy going. I also hope that the promise of the early season which brought so many people to Hogan Park hasn't dwindled completely and that the crowds will increase next year. 1 year down. Only 4 to go.

11/09/2005, 5:59 PM
Agree with gael that Limerick2000 needs to be pushed to try and get some interest back in the club because it has fallen dramatically. Signing in rejects from England and former USSR main generate a short term interest in the casual Limerick support but thats all it will do.

Danny needs to realise that the football fans in Limerick who don't support lfc aren't going to pick up a copy of the Leader or the Post, look at a picture of himself and Noel smiling with some nobody who nearly broke into the Aston Villa reserve team and decide to start going to Hogan Park. The only way to get people up there is through word of mouth from the supporters that already go there. Now people have differant opinions on Noel/Danny/LFC this year, but realistically the feeling amongst most supporters this season has been very negative.

In what should have been a promising year for LFC and us supporters its been bogged down by Drew's antics and Limerick's sub-par performances. Where as when I have been asked about the club by non-LFC supporters I should have been telling them that the team were coming good and we should be in contention for promotion I've instead plumped for "our chairman's a tit, our manager is useless and team are tactically inept, long ball merchants" (I don't blame the players for that though, they don't decide on tactics after all).

Plus has anyone noticed when the focus of attention on this board has shifted towards the team Danny always pulls it back to himself? He may go on about us scumbags mouthing off about him at every turn, but I haven't been on here for a while, since before the Dundalk game anyway, and the way the last few topics have read to me is, the posters start talking about the new signings, Danny suddenly has a ridiculous argument with JoeSoap, no-one takes much notice, Danny posts a cryptic message about Joe screwing him over last wednesday, people start asking whats going on. The man is a egomaniac by the looks of things and hopefully people will start to wake up to that, I'm not even convinced that himself and Joe have fallen out, it's probably another attempt to pretend Willie John and Danny Drew aren't one and the same. Last time I was on I went on about Keely's 'Isn't Danny Great' column in the sun, saying that Danny probably put him up to it, and what happened, I was attacked again about my anti-Danny views. Fair enough when it comes to the club I think the man is an idiot, personally I have nothing against him, simply because I've never spoken to the man outside of buying a bag of crisps off him at the club shop one day. But the way the focus in the media and on this board is constantly on himself must have made others beside myself sit up and take notice? Theres still time to change your vote in 'Is Danny a Good Think for the Club' you know!?!

But either way you think, lets get behind the Limerick2000 thing anyway, and when thats over with then we can start talking about next season

4tothefloor
11/09/2005, 7:30 PM
Danny needs to realise that the football fans in Limerick who don't support lfc aren't going to pick up a copy of the Leader or the Post, look at a picture of himself and Noel smiling with some nobody who nearly broke into the Aston Villa reserve team and decide to start going to Hogan Park. The only way to get people up there is through word of mouth from the supporters that already go there. Now people have differant opinions on Noel/Danny/LFC this year, but realistically the feeling amongst most supporters this season has been very negative.

In what should have been a promising year for LFC and us supporters its been bogged down by Drew's antics and Limerick's sub-par performances. Where as when I have been asked about the club by non-LFC supporters I should have been telling them that the team were coming good and we should be in contention for promotion I've instead plumped for "our chairman's a tit, our manager is useless and team are tactically inept, long ball merchants" (I don't blame the players for that though, they don't decide on tactics after all).
Spot on. Exactly what I've been saying all along. A few people at the club are dying to know who '4tothefloor' is, just because you post an opinion on here. For those who want to know, I look like Gandolf from Lord of the Rings, complete with 4ft white beard. You can't miss me :rolleyes: :D . Only at Limerick........

12/09/2005, 7:57 AM
Fairplay to the people who were able to glean big posts out of that absolute debacle Friday night. Personally I got four things from the game:

1. Little Alan Gough IS in fact a scumbag and any sliver of respect I had for him has been wiped away.
2. Apparent credence for my theory that Jamie Nolan and Rio O'Brien were indeed both borne of the same, rather lethargic Cork sperm.
3. Got a good reminder that winter football is not big and not clever.
4. Realised Football Manager is right, I am more competent than NOC and really another four games to improve and thats his lot IMO

12/09/2005, 8:05 AM
What did Goughie do?

12/09/2005, 8:32 AM
What did Goughie do?

Everything is the little feckers business. If theirs an argument 40 yards down the pitch he has to give his two cents. Also Jones although looking for the penalty was touched and after he was sent off little Alan gave the Shed a look that just made me want to stand on him. In fairness to him I've had it in for him ever since he tried to beat up a child in Pike a few year's back but he is IMO a complete Ar$e

declan hide
12/09/2005, 9:50 AM
Heres my bit on Friday night.

Kerins must go. Full stop. He was dire Friday night and has been all season. I don’t want him even on the bench. His half hearted effort to close down the galway right back lead to the goal. If kerins had closed him down fully we would have had a throw in near galways box, instead kerins stopped up, turned his back, the ball struck him, stayed in play and moments later it was in our net.
Nolan if hes to play (and we gotta be desperate) must play right wing.
Wolfe – who can do outstanding things and has plenty of heart – is too wild for right back. Someone mentioned his overhead kick – he completely missed the ball in front of me and I was embarrassed for him.

Barrett was anonymous cos he was doing the holding job in midfield with Sweeney now gone. Good to see mcgrath going forward but he must learn to stay on his feet, not every tackle must be sliding.

Galway passed us off the field. We are now the worst footballing side in the division. We probably have been all season.

Anyone see the Jones incidents from the shed end? Did he get the ball with the tackle? How else did it puncture? And did he dive for the “peno” incident?

Where was NOC? And did my ears deceive me or did I hear him on 95fm the following morning claiming we had done enough for a draw?

Now on the Car draw. I’ve purchased a few tickets for this and my name is yet to come out. However what annoys me more is people like jan o Sullivan, Dermot keely and a few names of people who are never at matches have come out. Someone within the club is obviously buying the tickets and putting these names in. really fair to the fan who stand sin the ****ing rain hoping for their name to come out.

thelimerick
12/09/2005, 12:18 PM
I wasn't able to make it to Hogan Park on friday and by the sounds of it I was very lucky. The same problems continue to get highlighted week after week in terms of player selection and tactics or lack there of. Why or how this could go unnoticed by management for so long now is unbelieveable. As someone else put it, why get in new blood for the push for promotion if you're not even going to play them? Its just unbelievable.
In saying all of this though, I don't believe the season is over just yet. Results this season for all teams have been iratic and just when you think the top two will run away with it they too mess it up. Thats why the limerick2000 is vital in my opinion. If the crowd don't lift them at this stage who will? We could wait for NOC to give his "keys" rallying cry or else we can grab everyone we know to Hogan Park and blow the (one) roof off the place. Even if it all goes pear-shaped for the rest of the season no-one can say the supporters didn't at least try. We've had fantastic attendances all season long, when its p1ssed out of the heavens Hogan Park has still managed a respectable crowd. Throughout all the madness off the pitch this season the shed has always either been full or there abouts. There's always been good banter, classic chants and the best insults I've ever heard in my life!.
If everybody who regularly attends Lims matches grabs at least one other person we'll be laughing.
There's a text message going around if anyone wants to pass it on to everybody they know in one last push to do something this season: "Limerick2000 at Hogan Park, September 23rd, 7:30pm. Aiming to get 2000 Lims supporters in for huge match against Cobh. Spread the word. Everyone wear blue. thelimerick.95mb.com"

12/09/2005, 12:31 PM
by the way a message for joe soap you pulled off a great stroke on wednesday how do you think up these scams YOURE A LEGEND but its a pity the scam involved your own club .never believed what people said about you but unfortunately last wednesday you proved these people right YOUR A GIT. bye bye
Sent: 12 September 2005 13:31
To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Subject: Your post on Foot.ie

Regarding your post on Foot.ie:

http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=349187&postcount=7

Foot.ie is not a repository for unsubstantiated allegations, no matter who you are. If you feel the need to make an accusation of this nature on our website, it needs to be backed up with facts or retracted. The retraction should be placed in the original post, or a post that quotes the original. The original accusation should not be edited or deleted.

You have until end of business tomorrow (Tuesday) to comply with this request. If you do not comply we will be forced to ban you from the site permanently, and archive your messages for reference. We will also waive our usual requirement for a court order if and when identifying details are requested regarding your posts.

Regards,
Adam Beecher
Foot.ie.....

12/09/2005, 1:58 PM
Now on the Car draw. I’ve purchased a few tickets for this and my name is yet to come out. However what annoys me more is people like jan o Sullivan, Dermot keely and a few names of people who are never at matches have come out. Someone within the club is obviously buying the tickets and putting these names in. really fair to the fan who stand sin the ****ing rain hoping for their name to come out.

As most of you know i sell the tickets for the car draw at the game. Some supporters say that i shouldn't sell them for various reasons such as "dont sell them till O'Connor is booted," i dont like that Danny Drew you shouldnt be dong that for him etc etc...
My reason for selling them is simple. For every €5 you spend on a ticket the seller (in this case not me but the supporters club) gets €1. The supporters club has never asked for this in a cash payment instead we build up a sort of credit with the club/Kelly buses and we pay for the buses that way. Buses do not come cheap and i think you'll agree that the buses that we have been getting this year are top class. The amount we make from the sale of the tickets is never enough and the club pick up the tab for the outstanding balance. There are still seats available for next Sat trip to Kildare btw. www.fclimerick.tk

The draw itself is not riggid in anyway. All the stubs are put into a box along with the previous couple of months so once you buy, your ticket is in for the season. Two weeks ago Ronan Seery of Dublin City bought a book of tickets (€100) from me and Keelys name was on 5 of those tickets. On average the sale of tickets at games has been poor, about two books a game maxing at three! Some private individuals (such as you) can take a book of tickets and sell them themselves and this is what persons like MOS and others have done. The draw is made just after half time by the press members (local and other) who are reporting on the game for the various news media. IMO It is highly unlikely that the sale of tickets will equal that of the actual price of the cars and a loss is on the cards. If anyone would like to help me and John selling the tickets going around at the game please dont hesitate to offer, and yes you too can witness the draw taking place. Just thought id say all this before a typoon of abuse hits.

declan hide
12/09/2005, 2:45 PM
Wasn’t claiming it was rigged but thanks for the run down on how it works – makes a lot of sense now and fair play to Seery. So once you buy you’re in for the season? Well I didnt know that and that’s why I bought one the other night. (I’ve bought a couple before so tell Leonard to pull my name out next time! :D )

Btw I certainly wouldn’t subscribe to the belief you shouldn’t sell them because of NOC or DD. I don’t like seeing Chris Kerins playing but I still pay in.

Westside
12/09/2005, 8:01 PM
the limerick2000 is vital in my opinion. If the crowd don't lift them at this stage who will? We could wait for NOC to give his "keys" rallying cry or else we can grab everyone we know to Hogan Park and blow the (one) roof off the place. Even if it all goes pear-shaped for the rest of the season no-one can say the supporters didn't at least try.

There's a text message going around if anyone wants to pass it on to everybody they know in one last push to do something this season: "Limerick2000 at Hogan Park, September 23rd, 7:30pm. Aiming to get 2000 Lims supporters in for huge match against Cobh. Spread the word. Everyone wear blue. thelimerick.95mb.com"Have convinced a bus load around 35 to come to the game on the 23rd, ok albeit a lot of them kids from our local soccer club , but some of their parents are making the trip also, hopefully they'll catch the bug and come back. I think its a great idea guys, don't let it go pear-shaped like the Galway 500 fiasco, that IMO was never gonna work, its at Hogan Park where we need the support, c'mon guys we've got a $h1t load of posters on here from Limerick just bring a few along, just tell em, its 2 hours outta your life for 1 Fri night on 23rd and all it'll cost you is a poxy tenner and we owe those Queenstown hoofers a drubbing. :ball:

12/09/2005, 8:11 PM
If your bringing a bus load of people then make sure you get in touch with someone from the club (ill give you a number) and you'll get a bus for free. pm me for the number

dutchie
12/09/2005, 10:25 PM
Hoping to run a bus for this game aswell,we dont mind paying for the bus but just wondering will the kids be left in for free,and can the bus park inside the grounds.

declan hide
13/09/2005, 7:30 AM
bus inside the ground would be no unless of course you get a special pass from the club i presume. as for kids being free its usally 2 euro for a kid when with an adult.

13/09/2005, 12:37 PM
As most of you know i sell the tickets for the car draw at the game. Some supporters say that i shouldn't sell them for various reasons such as "dont sell them till O'Connor is booted," i dont like that Danny Drew you shouldnt be dong that for him etc etc...

That's a very selective description gael and I'm a little disappointed to see you whitewashing for the club here. As you've asked me not to say certain things I'll hold my tongue but there's a lot more to people's reservations than 'i dont like that Danny Drew' and if you're not going to explain that in detail it's probably best if you say nothing?

willie john
13/09/2005, 4:44 PM
That's a very selective description gael and I'm a little disappointed to see you whitewashing for the club here. As you've asked me not to say certain things I'll hold my tongue but there's a lot more to people's reservations than 'i dont like that Danny Drew' and if you're not going to explain that in detail it's probably best if you say nothing?
slk what are you trying to say .if you want to say something do it . :eek: THE CLUB does not need whitewashing somebody will allwas have something bad to say about the club and the management no matter what they do so slk say your bit please :)

willie john
13/09/2005, 5:26 PM
athl 0 sligo0
dublin1 mon1
all we need is kildare and killkenny to draw then the table dosent change .a couple of wins changes it all .the last 2 weeks have been a kick in the ass lets hope next weeks changes .by the way a message for joe soap you pulled off a great stroke on wednesday how do you think up these scams YOURE A LEGEND but its a pity the scam involved your own club .never believed what people said about you but unfortunately last wednesday you proved these people right YOUR A GIT. bye bye
i wish to retract what i said here about joe soap and will put it up again when i have the paper work from the courier company on friday

4tothefloor
13/09/2005, 7:12 PM

I agree to a certain degree. There's been a lot of cosying up between the SC and club this season, which may be no bad thing, but one thing that is very noticable is that certain members are no where near as vocal on hot issues as they used to be. By being vocal I mean expressing their own views in public, rather than in private. You referred to it above SLK. :ball:

13/09/2005, 7:31 PM
slk what are you trying to say .if you want to say something do it . :eek: THE CLUB does not need whitewashing somebody will allwas have something bad to say about the club and the management no matter what they do so slk say your bit please :)

I'm happy to oblige you in any way that I can willie john. :D

Effectively I was just challenging the implication that certain people dislike our honourable chairman just for being Danny Drew. There may well be a few people in that position. For my part I am grateful to the man for keeping the show on the road this year but I do feel that his behaviour at times has not been in keeping with what is expected from the Chairperson of a semi-professional football club.

Any reservations that I have about the SC selling tickets for the club have a lot to do with club voices (such as your own) chastising the SC for doing nothing to help the club this year. Fair play to gael353 for being as patient as he has been all along though.

Any reservations that I have about Danny Drew are rooted in the likes of Thomas McGauley's departure, the Derek McCarthy departure, the criticism of Paul Finucane in Drogheda, the bellowing of 'Scumbags' at some fans who, just for a moment, responded to Aidan Ryan's professional remonstrations with them. I think if Danny actually tried to get on with the support a bit more he might find us to be a much more helpful bunch than he currently imagines.

Anyway willie john, I hope that helps to clarify things for you. If you have any other questions please don't hesitate to ask. :)

4tothefloor
13/09/2005, 7:36 PM
Any reservations that I have about the SC selling tickets for the club have a lot to do with club voices (such as your own) chastising the SC for doing nothing to help the club this year. Fair play to gael353 for being as patient as he has been all along though.
Is the SC walking on egg shells then? Caught between being the fans representative, but also having to tow the line with the club because of a few paranoid loose cannons about the place?

JohnD
14/09/2005, 8:26 AM
Hi There:

Any SC will always have to tend towards the middle ground. The nature of the relationship in a passionate arena such as football will always dictate this.

The SC HAS and WANTS to work with the club officals whilst all other supporters can stay in the periphery and vent their views. This year the work that the SC club has done is limited to a few hard working individuals as is usual in any committee. Please dont knock them and understand the nature of their relationship with the club.

Buses, Fanzines, Discounts etc would not have happened without the SC work. The SC, through it's officers, DOES make it's views public to the Club. Ask DD and KJ about that and are not afraid to do so. This Forum, however is not the forum for airing SC views in public (dirty linen in Public etc...). All SC members can become Committee memebers but at tlast years AGM the usual 3 or 4 put their name into the ring. Fair play to Gael 353 for keeping the flag flying and raising monies for the SC.

Hope this clears up matters.

JohnD (Members Secretary Limerick FC SC) :ball:

LFC in Exile
14/09/2005, 10:17 AM
I remember when the SC was being set up initially there was a big debate about the extent to which the SC would be linked to the FC. There was a consensus that the SC would be independent of the FC (previous SCs had been subsumed into the FC) and it was even the case that nobody can sit on committees of both SC and FC.

I think the SC is above reproach and every single member of the committee that I know has highest integrity, is straight up and 100% dedicated to the club. I am sure that individuals have their own opinions on the owners of the club and how things are going this year - but the SC has to reflect everyone's views to an extent and has to keep good working relations with the club - even when it is difficult to do. :ball: I think suggestions that the SC are cosying up to the FC or are pandering to FC is unfair and shows a lack of appreciation of the role of the SC. I would be very wary of members of the committee expressing certain views in public that may be taken as the viewof the SC. This is a consequence of being on the committee.

LFC Blue
14/09/2005, 11:09 AM

Whats in that bag of yours SLK?? I'd say Hogan Parks security personel are keeping a close eye on it. I'd say you'd be taken out if you were seen making any sudden moves towards Mr Drew!! :D

declan hide
14/09/2005, 12:23 PM
i wish to retract what i said here about joe soap and will put it up again when i have the paper work from the courier company on friday

whats all this crap about...joesoap hadnt a good word to say about anyone last season, then he comes on board with the club this season and defends everyone to the hilt, then he lays low, returns and spends most of his time winding cork city supporters up on their board and now to cap it all danny john is baying for his blood... boredom on the field, but serious entertainment (for every other club i might add) of it.

LFC in Exile
14/09/2005, 1:12 PM
whats all this crap about...

Could you be ar sed? I'm getting really tired of it all I have to say. :(

willie john
14/09/2005, 1:56 PM
whats all this crap about...joesoap hadnt a good word to say about anyone last season, then he comes on board with the club this season and defends everyone to the hilt, then he lays low, returns and spends most of his time winding cork city supporters up on their board and now to cap it all danny john is baying for his blood... boredom on the field, but serious entertainment (for every other club i might add) of it.
joe soap HAS NOT EVER been part of lfc management and NEVER WILL BE part of it he might speak for certian people but NOT the club

lim abroad
14/09/2005, 2:06 PM
does anybody care anymore?? put away your handbag!!

willie john
14/09/2005, 2:21 PM
Any reservations that I have about Danny Drew are rooted in the likes of Thomas McGauley's departure, the Derek McCarthy departure, the criticism of Paul Finucane in Drogheda, the bellowing of 'Scumbags' at some fans who, just for a moment, responded to Aidan Ryan's professional remonstrations with them. I think if Danny actually tried to get on with the support a bit more he might find us to be a much more helpful bunch than he currently imagines.

slk what did tmg do for the club?he could have done a good job for them .he was given the chances and he messed up .derek got a chance to play prem football he was not part of the managers plans for the rest of this season paul fin can the man not watch the game and make a comment with out it been counted as a slagging i think pf and dd get on well together as for the scumbags i think that was derected at 2 people only and i think he gets on well with most other people if im wrong please let me no and i will tell him

14/09/2005, 3:24 PM
Lads im sorry i was so honest in my answers reg the car draw. First up if im wrong about anything in the club then it will be on my head the axe should fall and ive always said that. But one thing when the accounts are published at the end of the year by the sc every single cent has been raised by either myself or John D. I always let the rep. of the club know exactly how the various fans feel and have had good and often heated conversations with same. As john said, ask them. At the end of the day we're a supporters club and our aim is to support the team and the club. Good, no great things will happen in the club in the comming years and maybe ill still be involved but to hit out at the sc committee is harsh i think. The PRO is excellent and informs all media (even the leader) of everything to do with all things blue, the members sec is helpful and informative and always available to anyone who wants him, the tresurer is efficent and reliable and ill let whoever wants to make a comment on me make it, i dont care **** rubs off so say what ye like :)
now lets get back to Saturday and the game against Kildare. Im going for a 2 1 loss with Robbie getting a goal. As usual the same team and even subs will be used and it will be like 11 against 8 :) from the outset. See, like all of us i support the team/club but i too have a voice.

14/09/2005, 5:41 PM
slk what did tmg do for the club?he could have done a good job for them .he was given the chances and he messed up.

He was balled out of it in public by the chairman. This was not professional. Emotive and sincere perhaps but it should never have happened. And there have been worst players than Thomas McGauley in a blue shirt...

derek got a chance to play prem football he was not part of the managers plans for the rest of this season

I accept that. Do you accept then that our still current top scorer was inexplicably not part of the managers plans and was forced, against his will, to play for another club? Why?

paul fin can the man not watch the game and make a comment with out it been counted as a slagging i think pf and dd get on well

I'm sure they do. And I agree that the man can watch and comment on a game without it being counted as slagging. However even at the same match he rounded on somebody (not me I should stress) for daring to criticise Jamie Nolan. It works both ways here, if it's ok for DD or anybody else to watch and comment on a game he can't react with ire and fury just because one of our lame ducks might suffer occasionally.

together as for the scumbags i think that was derected at 2 people only and i think he gets on well with most other people if im wrong please let me no and i will tell him

I know it was directed at two people (and again happily I wasn't involved in this). I'm going to stress again though that I think it was a very foolish thing for the chairman of our club to verbally abuse any supporters in so public a place. It reflected poorly. As for him getting on well with most people, sadly I'm not sure that's the case. In fact just today I was told that he hates me and refers to me as 'that long-haired fcker'. I'm at a loss to understand this to be honest. :( ;)

4tothefloor
14/09/2005, 6:07 PM
please let me no and i will tell him
No need, you've just read it. ;)

Regarding the SC and the FC - the working relationship between the two has improved greatly this season and that has to be applauded. It needed to. Nobody is 'having a go' at the SC, the likes of gael353 and JohnD probably do more work than some of the FC committee members, their dedication is unreal and something I could never match as I simply don't have the time. But it is a fact that some SC committee members hardly post on here anymore, only to give out information etc. All I'm saying is, that's the difference between this season and last season, between the old regime and since Drew took over. There seems to be a slight reluctence to air views, which was certainly not the case during MOS's tenure.

15/09/2005, 12:41 PM
I'd like it noted for the record that I've specifically asked willie john to keep his argument with joeSoap off the site, as I consider it extremely unprofessional and disruptive. I can't stop him without banning him and I'm not going to do that at this time, but I did want to make it clear that I asked him.

It's my opinion that arguing issues like this on a public web forum is not how adults or gentlemen behave.

15/09/2005, 5:42 PM
I'd like it noted for the record that I've specifically asked willie john to keep his argument with joeSoap off the site

Duly noted.

18/09/2005, 5:33 PM
Once again I must say that Danny Drew has manged to turn this club into a complete and utter joke, you seriously couldn't make up half the stuff that goes on in and around LFC, the on-going Willie John saga being somewhere in the middle of the Danny Drew shame pile at the moment