View Full Version : Italia 90 songs cos we wont be singing germany 2006 songs
thepogues
09/09/2005, 3:57 PM
Hi, Im looking for an Italia 90 album. It had a cartoon picture of jack charlton on the front and the star newspaper sign. I brought it in a shop so I dont think it was a promotional thing. I remember most of the traks they were (not the right order.)
1/ give it a lash jack
2/ horaay horaay
3/ the team that jack built
4/ Boys in green
5/ oh ahh paul mcgrath,
6/ bless them all
7/ que sera sera
8/ mama mia what a beautiful team
9/ Deck Of Cards
10/Eamon Dunphy song by Dermot Morgan
There might have been more, but I cant remember .Does anyone have this excat same album. I used to have it but lost it. I have looked everywhere but can't find it. If anyone has it please let me know. Either you could upload it to the internet, converting from casette to mp3 is simple or we can come to another arrangement.
Thanks
oconghc2
09/09/2005, 6:06 PM
yeah wouldnt mind hearing them songs again! only 8 at time but remember family trip to France that summer - all we ever had on in the car!! ahh the memories and the innocence of it all!! :)
only song you can find on internet is Put em under pressure - never been able to find the others.
What bout asking RTE archives if theyve got anything - id imagine if they tried they could find one somewhere.
youngirish
09/09/2005, 6:18 PM
Ah Put em under Pressure a timeless classic.
Metrostars
10/09/2005, 3:03 AM
Ah Put em under Pressure a timeless classic.
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=23N67Z1D
11/09/2005, 3:45 PM
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=23N67Z1D
Nice one! Was class.... :D
llcoolj_14
12/09/2005, 11:39 AM
I remember having the tape of it alright....and I saw it about a year ago down in my home home in Limerick where my mom lives. Ill be down there next week and see if I can find it....Im not sure the quality of cassette to mp3 would be any good.How would I even do that actually????
Dawn_Run
12/09/2005, 1:10 PM
Not sure but i'm guessing hooking up the tape player to the PC from heaphone output to mic input and then use the sound recorder after you've 'Pressed play on tape'
Dawn_Run
12/09/2005, 1:12 PM
I have been looking for 'We are the boys in green' for years now. Would anyone on here have that on mp3?
michaelguineys
12/09/2005, 1:37 PM
We are the boys in green,
The best you've ever seen,
We just made history,
Now we're off to Italy,
We had to wait til now,
Big Jack has shown us how,
You'll wonder where we've been when you see the boys in green...
And you'll say Ireland, Ireland, Show them what you got
Ireland Ireland we can beat the lot,
Ireland Ireland we're on the way to Rome,
Ireland Ireland we'll bring the world cup home!!!!
Ha ha How the hell did i just remember that???
Divine inspiration or what!!!
Happy fcekin days!!
thepogues
12/09/2005, 4:22 PM
ZoolEire and llcoolj_14. I beg you to try and dig these up, It must be the memories but Im dying to hear these songs again, how good would it be to listen to these before the playoffs against England (You never know!). They were actually genuinly funny too, not like some of the crap football songs that get released. Dermot Morgan from father Ted was in a few of them.
As far as converting the casette to mp3 its pretty simple really. All you need is a line in on your soundcard im sure you would have it, then use a standard stereo cable to link from the headphone socket on your cassette player to the sound card. Then get some simple software to record it. theres a more detailed guide here.
http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-6450_7-5020866-1.html?legacy=cnet.
I converted zig and zag never mind the zogabongs from casette and the quality was as good as the casette, if anyone wants it.
Im sure I wont have any other chance at getting this album, I have been looking for ages, dying to hear these songs again, especially give it a lash jack.
Please try and dig this casette up boys, thanks
Drumcondra Red
12/09/2005, 4:47 PM
I converted zig and zag never mind the zogabongs from casette and the quality was as good as the casette, if anyone wants it.
Yes!!! Pass it on!!!
thepogues
12/09/2005, 5:26 PM
Drumcondra Red heres The Zig and zag album link(Your in for a treat classic songs) -
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=16MM4BIX
Boys In Green - I had the casette single of this (Another Classic) This songs on the album Im looing for. -
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=35P4HMNK
Ive got my fingers crossed that someone uploads or sorts me out with the Italia 90 Album. If I cant find it in a forum of irish football supporters I think Im stuffed! If you know anyone who has it or anything please sort us out!
oconghc2
12/09/2005, 8:08 PM
seriously impressive work there!!! its been a while since I heard that gem of a tune!!!
best of luck with the search - hope yous all share the wealth when completed!!
onenilgameover
12/09/2005, 11:39 PM
I have the song that the pouges sang..jack's heroes..One about how we were gonna lift the cup on Stephens green..I think if we hadda won the world cup that might have become a helth hazard....; ) . I've been looking for that album for awhile too. jaysus it'd be great if ye got a hold of it...fair play...
llcoolj_14
13/09/2005, 8:28 AM
I plan to be down in Limerick this weekend and will try find it then- I know when I moved out a few years back I put a lot of casettes into a shoe box-the reason I think this was one of them was I actually listened to it at the time and it was funny to hear those songs again-I was only 10 back in Italia 90, but 13 years later could still remember every tune on it!I really hope I can find it for yee.....
Dawn_Run
13/09/2005, 12:47 PM
Boys In Green - I had the casette single of this (Another Classic) This songs on the album Im looing for. -
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=35P4HMNK
You legend - excellent work - thanks!!
14/09/2005, 11:39 AM
roberto baggio roberto baggio lives in a fish and chip shop outside Rome.......
those were the days!!!! Must have the cassette somewhere in my folks house.
thepogues
14/09/2005, 6:11 PM
Lads and Ladies were in Luck, someone from another Forum (Im not alowed to say the name?) called The Muppet uploaded the beauties. Love each song, and their as good as I remembered. Thanks for offering lads. Hope you enjoy them as much as me. Id buy The Muppet a pint but were on the feckin Internet.
Im pretty sure all the songs are on there let me know if theres any missing
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=240JBWDK
59 cheers for The Muppet! And I hope Ray Darcy doesnt go looking for them now. Im gonna ask Ray Darcy to get videos of him on The Den. Thanks everyone this is a great day in Irish History. Ill be listening to them after we beat England in the playoffs.
oconghc2
14/09/2005, 11:18 PM
fair play thepogues!!!
fantastic
Dawn_Run
15/09/2005, 1:02 PM
God bless the internet is all i say - this is excellent - i'd never have gotten these again - not in a million years. Ah Memories...
onenilgameover
16/09/2005, 7:21 AM
Champion stuff! So so glad to get these old songs...Truely a great day for Ireland!!!
thepogues
25/09/2005, 10:45 PM
Anyone who had this remember the track order the songs are below? I cant remember apart from Give It A Lash Jack being the first and Not A Great Player last.
Liam Harrison - Give It A Lash Jack
Padraig Bailey - Horray Horray
Penneys Winning Team - The Team That Jack Built
Pat Good - Bless Them All
Frank O'Meara - Here We Go
Dublin City Ramblers - The Boys In Green
Dublin City Ramblers - Que Sera Sera
Dermot Morgan - World Cup Rap Paul Mcgrath
Dermot Morgan - What A Beautiful Team
Dermot Morgan - Not A Great Player
Dermot Morgan - Deck Of Cards
Seamuslawless
26/09/2005, 1:15 PM
Now all we need is "We're gonna start a fire"... I think it was by "The Memories" ...anyone got this one, another classic!!!
thepogues
26/09/2005, 1:55 PM
Ye I have the fire song by the game. The same guy who gave me that album gave me that song too. What a bloody legend, he works for some radio station altough he didnt tell me what one. It might be Ray Darcy!
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=52T82WS2
Seamuslawless
26/09/2005, 2:18 PM
Cheers pogues.... you and your mate are legends! I've been searching for those songs on Limewire and other internet p2p networks for months!!
26/09/2005, 2:49 PM
"my ma threw the cassette in the bin years ago, stupid b!tch"
so its not just my ma that does that too!!
why do mammys do that? they love throwing things out especially if its of no importance or interest to them.
Think thats bad, my Mam gave away all my old Ireland jersies.
I had planned framing all them whenever I bought a house!
Still though, listening to those tunes cheer me up no end :)
26/09/2005, 4:26 PM
my god, feck sake why the hell did she do that?
Id grown out of them so they were of no use she reckoned!
holteender
27/09/2005, 12:39 PM
Id grown out of them so they were of no use she reckoned!
I think she got €150 on ebay for them ;)
Just downloaded all them songs, memories of being in 5th class :D
thepogues
28/09/2005, 6:06 AM
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=01NLX9ZL
The same fella put up a usa 94 album too. I warn you in advance 90% of these songs are bruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuutal. Too bad to be funny, but some of yez might appreciate them, it does have put em under pressure on it though.
nedder
01/10/2005, 6:22 PM
has anyone got the paul mcgrath black pearl song? legendary..::cool:
thepogues
03/10/2005, 2:37 AM
Its on that there album above no 08 - Watch Your House Feat Paul Mc Grath - Ooh Ahh Paul Mc Grath. Tis ****e in my opinion, infact that whole album is a sin
Donegalcelt
18/01/2006, 10:04 PM
Any chance of uploading those as they're shut due to inactivity. cheers
18/01/2006, 11:31 PM
Any chance of uploading those as they're shut due to inactivity. cheers
This one works:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=240JBWDK
Dermot Morgan - Deck Of Cards
Dermot Morgan - Not A Great Player
Dermot Morgan - What A Beautiful Team
Dermot Morgan - World Cup Rap Paul Mcgrath
Dublin City Ramblers - Que Sera Sera
Dublin City Ramblers - The Boys In Green
Frank O'Meara - Here We Go
Liam Harrison - Give It A Lash Jack
Padraig Bailey - Horray Horray
Pat Good - Bless Them All
Penneys Winning Team - The Team That Jack Built
Donegalcelt
27/02/2006, 12:48 AM
Cheers for that. Good man
Forever Dreamin
27/02/2006, 7:51 PM
"my ma threw the cassette in the bin years ago, stupid b!tch"
so its not just my ma that does that too!!
why do mammys do that? they love throwing things out especially if its of no importance or interest to them.
they do that to leave more room for their own junk!!