View Full Version : Worst Location In Lansdowne

09/09/2005, 3:34 PM
I wasn't impressed with East Wing Bucket seats on wednesday & thats for game with good atmosphere. Probably not as bad as South Terrace but bad all the same.

09/09/2005, 3:40 PM
South terrace is the worst IMO

09/09/2005, 3:49 PM
i have never been in the south terrace for either rugby or soccer, whats it like, full of schoolkids is it?

09/09/2005, 4:53 PM
You should try South Touchline [sic] behind the goal. :mad:

keenanboy
09/09/2005, 4:56 PM
At home 'cos you couldn't get a ticket. I forked out 150 bananas for north terrace bucket. good seat but ouch my wallet!

09/09/2005, 5:04 PM
South Terrace is shocking. If it rains it is up high enough that no cover. Access to it is terribel as only about 2-3 entry points. Lansdowne Road is harder to acess too than North side.

redgav
09/09/2005, 9:56 PM
South Terrace is shocking. If it rains it is up high enough that no cover. Access to it is terribel as only about 2-3 entry points. Lansdowne Road is harder to acess too than North side.

jaysus ,was there for the scotland game 3 or 4 years ago and ended up with 3 days off sick i got so wet

Worse part of the ground without doubt is the west upper near the press ...absoloutly full of the sit down ole ole brigade and suits crawling up the walls - terrible place

Colie
09/09/2005, 11:28 PM
Blah blah blah, N Tce is better than S Tce blah blah blah. For the sh1tty China Friendly the N Tce (where I usually get the tix for) was so fookeen sh1te that I went down to the S Tce which was just as crap. They're both rubbish. Why would anyone distinguish. It all depends on who's in them at the time.

FYI Paul O'Shea - South schoolboys are in the corner under the TV studios & the North schoolboy section is above the wall there so you can't get away from the nonsence on either terrace I'm afraid. :mad:

tonycuna
10/09/2005, 11:09 AM
I was in the South Terrace for the friendly match against Italy, and I definitely loved the place. :)
But maybe that's because in italy we don't have terraces and place like that in our stadiums, and it reminded me good old type of football :rolleyes:

10/09/2005, 12:19 PM
The bucket seats in front of the south terrace were top according to alot of drogs that were at the match.

Btw shut up the whinging, at least ye got a ticket for the match

10/09/2005, 2:12 PM
Ive been to both teraces and the South is cr@p. Atmosphere aside, the view is different as its a bit flatter and further back. Have been to the East Tce for a rugger match and thought it was good. Havent sat in either of the stands yet and in no rush to either (although thats coz Im broke :o)

Sliogán Dóite
11/09/2005, 1:11 PM
EUQ (East upper, back row, top left-hand corner). I've sat there before and there is a big semi-clear wall blocking your view of the goals. It doesn't help that the east upper doesn't go to the end of the pitch. I've been in the south terrace and it is better as you can actually see the game.

Saint Tom
11/09/2005, 2:25 PM
eircom league section at the havelock square end is alwasy decent.. though we were in East wing buckets on weds.. view was terrible

12/09/2005, 11:14 AM
I wasn't impressed with East Wing Bucket seats on wednesday & thats for game with good atmosphere. Probably not as bad as South Terrace but bad all the same.

the view was shocking. couldnt see the corners being taken!

Green Army Girl
12/09/2005, 3:11 PM
Landstown isnt the greatest stadium i agree but there has to be something right about it as we didnt lose a match there in 20 years, well up until last Wednesday but i dont want to talk about that i can still taste my hat in my mouth. :D

I think Croke Park will take an awful lot of getting use to but it will be good for the fans who cant get tickets for home matches.

12/09/2005, 3:28 PM
Landstown

spoken like a true ireland fan!

Green Army Girl
12/09/2005, 3:38 PM
I have no excuse except its Monday and my dad is from Ballyfermot so thats the way i hear it pronounced. im sorry again :D

Actually i do have one other excuse Cork City i was down there for the weekend dont think ill ever be the same again, there mad well done lads.

Beavis
12/09/2005, 6:28 PM
SOUTH TERRACE SCHOOLBOYS

this is the worst area of the ground, yea tickets are only a fiver but jesus
my brother and his mate where there for the italy game last month, just before kickoff he said a group of 5-6 young-ones walked in with there jerseys tied up above there stomach, and there just went around the crowd of boys getting off with them.......
I spent my early years in the schoolboys and most of them are idiots who are more concerned with being hard and impressing the mates than what's taking place on the pitch.
It seems nothing has changed since(Used to be only £2 in my day though :)) .. We were singing on our own in the South bucket in front of the schoolboy for the Faroes game and they began throwing stuff at us. I was forced to use the stare of death, which quickly brought their antics to a halt ;)

13/09/2005, 11:57 AM
Landstown isnt the greatest stadium i agree but there has to be something right about it as we didnt lose a match there in 20 years, well up until last Wednesday but i dont want to talk about that i can still taste my hat in my mouth. :D

I think Croke Park will take an awful lot of getting use to but it will be good for the fans who cant get tickets for home matches.

We lost against Switzerland in 2002, Austria in 1995 Spain in 1993 so I am not sure where you are getting the 20 years.

Green Army Girl
13/09/2005, 3:18 PM
We lost against Switzerland in 2002, Austria in 1995 Spain in 1993 so I am not sure where you are getting the 20 years.

Im not getting much right this week but at least i can spell lansdowne Road. I could have sworn before the match on Wednesday that it was said that we hadnt lost a competative match in lansdowne for the last 20 years.

13/09/2005, 5:24 PM
Im not getting much right this week but at least i can spell lansdowne Road. I could have sworn before the match on Wednesday that it was said that we hadnt lost a competative match in lansdowne for the last 20 years.

you probably heard that we hadnt been beaten by the french for 20 years

Green Army Girl
14/09/2005, 8:18 AM
you probably heard that we hadnt been beaten by the french for 20 years

Noted. Thanks