View Full Version : Matthews calls for summer soccer to go as Longford show another lack of ambition
Drumcondra Red
11/09/2005, 6:22 PM
Why's it lack of ambition to say you think something is wrong?
Not agreeing with cork = lack of ambition :rolleyes:
I'm not going to read every post but I'll reply to Macy's, its not disagreeing with Cork, its disagreeing with results, Longford are the only team to have embarassed themselves in Europe since the switch was fully enforced, we have to keep summer soccer!!!
Its mainly local gaa which we compete with,inter-county football in longford tends to last about 2 games regarding the championship.Theres is alot of people involved in local gaa,players,trainers etc.Superfrank,march to september is hardly year round
11/09/2005, 10:24 PM
Sure we could all go down to Trabolgan for de holidays biy ..........
Must say, us bogmen thoroughly enjoyed our Summer holiday in the beautiful West Choker-land when the secretary of the lowly Longford Town married a beautiful Corkonian .............. then again, seeing as West Choker-land is not exactly as cosmopolitan as de city biy, I guess anywhere outside of de cross might be termed bogcountry/amateur/lacking in sophistication ......... but they've got lovely fuschia bushes, so I guess that's a saving grace. The only red thing at the cross so far this season was the cheeks of the much lauded strikers (you know who they are by now surely!!) who failed to score against the mighty Longford Town for over TWO HUNDRED minutes & Longford playing with their third choice keeper!!!!!!!!!
will you please ever just shut up. Do you have to wreck every thread you post in? :mad:
11/09/2005, 10:26 PM
I'm in the camp that believes that the timing of our football season is almost irrelevant - attendances will not improve - that is the bottom line. Its fantasy to suggest otherwise.
The league needs a cohesive and consistent strategy - changing ships in mid stream is part of the reason for the consistent failure of the league.
A tv driven, properly marketed and consistent league - with regard to fixtures would get modest increase in attendances
and modest attendances are the best that can be hoped for
spot on
11/09/2005, 10:28 PM
The one's with the chip seem to be you Corkies who constantly have to do us down at every opportunity. You were much more fun when you didn't take yourselves so fookin seriously. Dolan inflatted your ego's, and unfortunately you still believe the hype. It's a genuine shame....
Did you have to bring him into it? He's nothing to do with it. Bottom line is this: our club is ambitious, and as fans we share in that ambition. Where people see other clubs doing things/saying things which they view as contrary to that, they'll speak out about it. IMO Longford fans are taking this way too personally. Also, the fact is that most City fans have always had massive respect and admiration for LTFC as a club, and its only in the very recent past that this has changed- as far as I can see, thats mainly down to one individual: Matthews.
11/09/2005, 10:29 PM
I know what you mean, but don't forget that there's plans to change the adoption laws to allow same-sex couples become parents so this could become a problem for Cork players in the future.
:D :D LOL.
11/09/2005, 10:33 PM
Personally I loved winter football, I thought the atmosphere was great, especially around christmas. From a personal point of view, and being totally selfish, I prefer winter football, but IMO the progress made under summer football is obvious, so it gets my vote.
12/09/2005, 5:24 AM
In longford anyway summer football hasnt worked. Attendances are a disaster for us in july and august. People simply have plenty of other things to do during the summer on a saturday evening,this is the main reason for our low attendances in my opinion.
:D :D
These are the shower of hypocrites who wanted to ban people attending games at their ground, - in July, I may add! What kind of message does that send out when you try to attract people to games?? No wonder the neutrals won't turn up!!
I haven't actually voted as I'm really not sure.
Maybe it's a Longford thing, but the county championship games draw up to and over a 1000 on the gate all summer long. In a small county maybe there's just too much competition.
Also I think there's much more to compete with during the summer. Billy Lord said that his wife only just noticed he goes to Rovers during the summer because you can go places and do things - that's exactly the problem imo. Maybe others don't have the understanding missus he has, or they simply have too much to do (the later in my case with a new house). At least in the winter the weather is too bad to do half the bloody chores....
On Europe, it's been pretty much 50-50 imo. We may have had the worst results no arguement from me, but Bohs haven't reached previous winter season heights either, and shels weren't too hot this year...
I can see the benefits of training and on pitches. However, I think most clubs trained on astro turf under lights anyway - not like most were trying to train in the dark. The pitches have definitely improved, and this is where Dundalks new pitch raises the stakes in the debate.
I'm still undecided, nudging towards winter. I just don't think the competition element for summer football was really thought through enough. When it was muted and I was single and mortgage free I didn't really think of the non-sport ones, even if I did have reservations about county's like Longford where the local GAA scene is so big.
Current results are heavily in favour of summer football. It does seem to be an urban v rural issue & in that case urban will always win out as the bigger clubs & crowds are urban based.
European football the is the big plus. Sure thats only for a few teams but i do think it brings a feel good factor to the whole league. I've never seen crowd of more than 1500 at Longford ever so don't see that crowds down that much. Maybe with a push for 3rd place in the league crowds will return.
The reality is that even in the "summer" football season we have October & November which are certainly winter months. Do crowds improve for those months?
coislaoi
12/09/2005, 11:50 AM
I haven't actually voted as I'm really not sure.
Maybe it's a Longford thing, but the county championship games draw up to and over a 1000 on the gate all summer long. In a small county maybe there's just too much competition.
Also I think there's much more to compete with during the summer. Billy Lord said that his wife only just noticed he goes to Rovers during the summer because you can go places and do things - that's exactly the problem imo. Maybe others don't have the understanding missus he has, or they simply have too much to do (the later in my case with a new house). At least in the winter the weather is too bad to do half the bloody chores....
On Europe, it's been pretty much 50-50 imo. We may have had the worst results no arguement from me, but Bohs haven't reached previous winter season heights either, and shels weren't too hot this year...
I can see the benefits of training and on pitches. However, I think most clubs trained on astro turf under lights anyway - not like most were trying to train in the dark. The pitches have definitely improved, and this is where Dundalks new pitch raises the stakes in the debate.
I'm still undecided, nudging towards winter. I just don't think the competition element for summer football was really thought through enough. When it was muted and I was single and mortgage free I didn't really think of the non-sport ones, even if I did have reservations about county's like Longford where the local GAA scene is so big.
That's a good post where you make a few decent points. I think the argument swings both ways and it is not possible to give a definitive answer one way or the other. Mind you attending a match in my shirtsleeves :D or freezing my bóllox off :( .....
It's because of attitudes like yours that clubs like Longford will never progress.
I think the level of your ambition is summed up nicely when you give 2 wins over Waterford and win over Rovers as your highlights of the season. Pathetic.
Jaysus,you cork lads are good for a laugh anyway,whats your ambition?maybe win something!!!How long is it now since a piece of silverware went Leeside apart from Mc Carthy cup that is.So lets look at where the mighty Cork is,2points clear of Derry in a mediocre league thats average entertainment for a Fri or Sat night before a few scoops in the local,hardly edge of the seat stuff even from your pro lot.Sure you will have a few decent away Euro games but you'll never win the bloody thing so come on back to planet earth and enjoy the EL for what it is,mediocre entertainment.
As for Longford,well,I've gotten great value out of their 3 cup wins and for a bunch of part-timers their league position this season is amazing considering all the top pro outfits around like yourselves,BTW how are you fareing against them this season,an endless supply of goals from Flynn and co no doubt?????????.Not a great performance in the lovely valleys of Wales but what the hell we'll be in there again next year hopefully with a third spot finish and wont that realllllly pi*s you off.Anyway enough of this typing my fingertips are black (and red) and I have cows to milk so as city folk like yourself ,i,m sure, can enjoy your cornflakes in the morning.
So lets look at where the mighty Cork is,2points clear of Derry in a mediocre league thats average entertainment for a Fri or Sat night before a few scoops in the local.
come on back to planet earth and enjoy the EL for what it is,mediocre entertainment.
Talk about proving our point for us!!
In terms of EL fans, only someone from Longford would refer to our league like that.
Talk about proving our point for us!!
In terms of EL fans, only someone from Longford would refer to our league like that.
Wow, what a reply,anyway 2 little points for you,firstly what in Gods name is the point that your trying to prove,is it that your the best team in the EL because your not you know,Derry are better,better team,better manager,much much better fans and a bettttttter place to visit and I pray to the Dear Lord either above or below that Longford beat you on Sun and Derry go on to win the League.Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees,Happppppy Days.
BTW you assume too much,like Cork winning the league,Cork progressing further in Europe,Cork,Cork,Cork and me being from Longford,actually i'm from a little place probably not to far from you called Clonakilty,now,put that in your pipe and smoke it.
12/09/2005, 10:34 PM
you cork lads
actually i'm from a little place probably not to far from you called Clonakilty
:confused: :rolleyes:
a mediocre league thats average entertainment for a Fri or Sat night before a few scoops in the local,hardly edge of the seat stuff even from your pro lot.Sure you will have a few decent away Euro games but you'll never win the bloody thing so come on back to planet earth and enjoy the EL for what it is,mediocre entertainment.pathetic. absolutely pathetic. I've always thought that this league needs every fan it can get, but that kind of attitude is disgusting.
Wow, what a reply,anyway 2 little points for you,firstly what in Gods name is the point that your trying to prove,is it that your the best team in the EL because your not you know,Derry are better,better team,better manager,much much better fans and a bettttttter place to visit and I pray to the Dear Lord either above or below that Longford beat you on Sun and Derry go on to win the League.Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees,Happppppy Days.Thats why Derry are top, and have finished above us over the last couple of seasons........ oh no wait. Whoever wins the league will have the right to call themselves the best team in the country. I believe that team will be Cork City, but its up to us to prove it. If Derry win it, they'll have that right, and also my respect and congratulations.
I pray to the Dear Lord either above or below that Longford beat you on Sun and Derry go on to win the League.Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees,Happppppy Days.Must be hard milking the cows with that huge chip on your shoulder :rolleyes:
blutil
13/09/2005, 1:46 AM
the players are unable to take holidays.
what about the players who cant take skiing holidays because of winter soccer eh ? :mad: ;)
johno
13/09/2005, 10:15 AM
pathetic. absolutely pathetic. I've always thought that this league needs every fan it can get, but that kind of attitude is disgusting.
Thats why Derry are top, and have finished above us over the last couple of seasons........ oh no wait. Whoever wins the league will have the right to call themselves the best team in the country. I believe that team will be Cork City, but its up to us to prove it. If Derry win it, they'll have that right, and also my respect and congratulations.
Must be hard milking the cows with that huge chip on your shoulder :rolleyes:
Are you reaching for your sick bag already? Pathetic and disgusting only if it doesn't conform with your attitude maybe!! Now I consider myself a very reasnoble EL fan with no particular allegiance anywhere in particular but it is sad when you "big clubs" slag off the "small clubs" who have probably achieved more for their fans and given them a huge sense of pride with a fraction of your budget.Expectations aren't blown out of proportion by over zealous fans and limitations are acknowledged and accepted and this combination leads to a much more enjoyable atmosphere for this humble supporter anyway.
Derry will also get my respect and congratulations when they win the title.;)
Now I wonder where will the chip be on Sun night after Longford beat you and on what shoulder will it rest????:rolleyes:
BTW dont take any of this too personal,I'm a very cynical EL fan who loves taking the "urhyne" out of Cork,Shels,Bohs,Pats,Long....Ooops.;)
Interesting to hear the comments of Osam & Scully on TV3 last night.
Scully a manager of "small" 1st division cluib in GAA heartland welcomes sumemr football. Osam says that professional footballers have ajob to do so basically tough luck if can't take holidays. Afterall even part-time professional players get paid to play.
Shelsman
13/09/2005, 12:36 PM
I presume that a good few of you saw eL weekly last night, for those of you who didn't, the presenter asked Scully and Osam what they thought about Matthew's idea of moving back to a winter season. Osam and Scully were both against the idea, this was because the training pitches are better and it is bright in the evenings. They both laughed at the idea that the change should be made to accomodate players going on holidays, stating that if they are a professional footballer that they should take holidays in the close season.
I think if that part time footballers want to take holidays in the summer -let them off and see if they can get back in the team when they return. I know some say that summer soccer is only benefitting the big clubs but would there really be the same buzz about the league if all of our teams had been knocked out of europe in the first round for the past few years?
I think that the other clubs should try and emulate the success of the bigger clubs rather than sit back and b!tch about it and try and drag the successfull clubs down to their level.
If some people are critical of the expense of having full time squads then too bad if they can't afford one. If other clubs decide to take the risk of a full time set up it is their decision and if they end up like Shamrock Rovers then so be it. I'd sooner see two or three full time clubs in a part time league than none at all.
As for other aspects to the winter change. Gerrit already made the point about matches postponed because of foul weather and a garbled league table -I remember these days well and it was a joke. I also remember clubs not having a match for 4 or 5 weeks and ending up in financial bother as they had no income to pay the players with.
It's a bit of a ridiculous idea coming from Longford to suggest that we return to cold, dark and wet evenings when only one side of their ground is covered!
As for the idea of people being distracted by other events or activities in the summer I think this can't be true -either you're an eL fan and you go to matches or you're not.
For those you talk about a preference for floodlight games, surely this is possible for most of the summer season?
dublinred
13/09/2005, 1:32 PM
Looks like majority of fans favour the summer foorball , we should do a poll of the clubs and the players and save the FAI a fortune, from what I heard Sligo rovers preferred winter football any other verdicts rom the clubs out there .
I feel strongly enough that we should not return to the old season that i'd protest outside Merrion Square if was ever to happen.
13/09/2005, 1:48 PM
I presume that a good few of you saw eL weekly last night, for those of you who didn't, the presenter asked Scully and Osam what they thought about Matthew's idea of moving back to a winter season. Osam and Scully were both against the idea, this was because the training pitches are better and it is bright in the evenings. They both laughed at the idea that the change should be made to accomodate players going on holidays, stating that if they are a professional footballer that they should take holidays in the close season.
I think if that part time footballers want to take holidays in the summer -let them off and see if they can get back in the team when they return. I know some say that summer soccer is only benefitting the big clubs but would there really be the same buzz about the league if all of our teams had been knocked out of europe in the first round for the past few years?
As for other aspects to the winter change. Gerrit already made the point about matches postponed because of foul weather and a garbled league table -I remember these days well and it was a joke. I also remember clubs not having a match for 4 or 5 weeks and ending up in financial bother as they had no income to pay the players with.
Like most NL fans, I voted to play in Summer, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. However, the Summer Holiday question is going to crop up EVERY summer, and I fear that over time, the smaller clubs will gang up to change back to winter for their own reasons, and all the good work that has been achieved in the last few years will be wasted. As usual, selfish short-term interest will win over the long-term good of the league, and we'll end up like the Northern Irish league, going nowhere. :(
13/09/2005, 3:12 PM
Clicked winter in error :o , summer all the way for me. The European results have proved beyond doubt that it is beneficial to the teams in the league.
blutil
13/09/2005, 4:41 PM
2week mid season break perhaps give the players a week to go away, still think holidays should'nt have a big bearing on it though, as i said they can head to the snow !
13/09/2005, 7:28 PM
I couldn't give a monkies what the players think.
They get paid to entertain, I'm the customer and they'll damn well play when it suits me, not when it suits them.
There is still a view within football that the League should be run for benefit of the officials and the players. Which is one of the reasons why attendences are crap.
"They don't get a summer holiday"!!! Boo-f*cking-ho. Haven't they heard of winter sun?
As for the idea of people being distracted by other events or activities in the summer I think this can't be true -either you're an eL fan and you go to matches or you're not.
What a ridiculous statement,maybe we should put up a sign outside the gorund."Fans,unless you are hardcore and intend to attend every single match this season,dont bother coming in"
Dont agree with players wanting holidays but was dissapointed the way osam and scully only focused on the players asking for holidays and not the other aspects.To ask to change back to winter just because players want holidays would be ridiculous
13/09/2005, 10:50 PM
Are you reaching for your sick bag already? Pathetic and disgusting only if it doesn't conform with your attitude maybe!! No, pathetic and disgusting because your attitude is demeaning to the league you claim to support. With fans as "committed" as you, the league will never go anywhere.
it is sad when you "big clubs" slag off the "small clubs" who have probably achieved more for their fans and given them a huge sense of pride with a fraction of your budget.I'm not slagging off any small club, I'm disagreeing with the manager of a club that has been very successful in recent years,and which I respect greatly.
Now I wonder where will the chip be on Sun night after Longford beat you and on what shoulder will it rest????:rolleyes:If longford beat us on sunday, then fair enough. I'll be disappointed, but I'm sure I'll get over it. Once it isn't because of a dodgy ref or something
13/09/2005, 10:51 PM
I couldn't give a monkies what the players think.
They get paid to entertain, I'm the customer and they'll damn well play when it suits me, not when it suits them.
There is still a view within football that the League should be run for benefit of the officials and the players. Which is one of the reasons why attendences are crap.
"They don't get a summer holiday"!!! Boo-f*cking-ho. Haven't they heard of winter sun?spot on. on a (sort of) related note, what is people's obsession with taking their holidays in the summer?! Its the only time of year we get half-decent weather, surely its better to go off to Spain/Portugal/Morocco in the middle of winter, when its ****ing rain here and its 20+ over there :confused:
13/09/2005, 11:47 PM
spot on. on a (sort of) related note, what is people's obsession with taking their holidays in the summer?! Its the only time of year we get half-decent weather, surely its better to go off to Spain/Portugal/Morocco in the middle of winter, when its ****ing rain here and its 20+ over there :confused:
Tradition Eanna. Apparantly, the league must conform to the demands of about 100 LOI players, so they can take their holidays when it suits them, and hold up the league's development, while they're at it. :rolleyes:
We all split our sides laughing down here, when Glentoran's players couldn't disturb their holidays to play Shels. Do we want that to happen here?? :o
Youse are using the Footballer's holidays to mask the real issues. It's only a minor thing imo (far less important than the 100's of fans missing while they're on the holliers).
Shelsman - you want to wake up to the realities of having a life outside of football.
14/09/2005, 12:31 PM
I've lost all respect for Matthews over this. Is he insane? Does he want to go back to getting hammered in Europe? Oh wait :D
Attendances have not been down or up overall. The facts are that teams are playing on better pitches and are (longford excepted) getting better results in Europe.
WTF would we want to go back? :eek:
Scully was spot on on monday night. Players holidays? Are you for real? That smacks of amateurism and harks back to the bad old days when one of our players didnt play in Turkey in 98 cos he had booked his hols. Lets leave those days far behind us.
Stick to the real issues. Improving facilities, 10 team premier, audits of ALL clubs, increased marketing and throwing out convicted criminals running clubs.
Anybody got spare welsh flags?! We'll need them for the 30th :D
The facts are that teams are playing on better pitches and are (longford excepted) getting better results in Europe.
I can take the stick (well this year where it's justified), but other teams haven't done to well in Europe either with the summer season. Shels and Cork last season, Cork this season - progress getting worse as summer seasons go on... ;)
audits of ALL clubs
This is the most important thing, moreso than winter or summer football. Make it unacceptable for clubs to live beyond their means. As far as I can see only really Harps and Rovers that are genuinely doing so (including us).
14/09/2005, 12:41 PM
Macy you are too level headed to be a longford fan :D
See you on the 30th. If you're bringing cop on we can accommodate him/it in the boez bog!!
bigmac
14/09/2005, 12:46 PM
spot on. on a (sort of) related note, what is people's obsession with taking their holidays in the summer?! Its the only time of year we get half-decent weather, surely its better to go off to Spain/Portugal/Morocco in the middle of winter, when its ****ing rain here and its 20+ over there :confused:
For people with kids it's when the kids are off from school.
I agree that it's better go somewhere in the Autumn or winter though and for me it's summer soccer all the way - i think it's the best thing the league ever did. I think there's a hell of a lot of things that clubs and the league could do to improve attendances without reverting to playing football in a mud bath again.
Macy you are too level headed to be a longford fan
Ever read Kimmage's Rough Ride? Clubs in the eL are doing the equivalent of the domestiques he talks about taking drugs - (financial) doping to survive, not even to win in most cases. It's it's not if there's going to be another club in trouble more a case of who and when....
Has to be Summer soccer,good quality pitches,better atmosphere (usually),and much easier to travel to and from games and of course much better quality photos.Having said all that,it has dented attendances especially in rural areas where there is an inevitable clash with local GAA,but it is then up to the relevant clubs PROs to find solutions to the problem and to entice as many "bums to seats" as they can.
With fans as "committed" as you
Cant recall saying I was "committed" to anything or anyone other than mé féin.
I'm not slagging
Which part of "dont take it personal" do you not understand?
Once it isn't because of a dodgy ref or something
Plenty of them around.:D
Shelsman
14/09/2005, 4:38 PM
Jaysus,you cork lads are good for a laugh anyway,whats your ambition?maybe win something!!!How long is it now since a piece of silverware went Leeside apart from Mc Carthy cup that is............Sure you will have a few decent away Euro games but you'll never win the bloody thing so come on back to planet earth and enjoy the EL for what it is,mediocre entertainment.
Winning a Europen tie is MUCH bigger than winning a domestic cup final -why? because you have to be sucessfull domestically to qualify for Europe in the first place and you are then playing the BEST teams from the other European countries, most of which have stronger leagues and clubs than us.
Cork City won their place by playing good football over a full season, yet ye got into Europe last season by winning around just four consecutive FAI cup games, one of which was against a non-league team and another against a First Division club !!!!! :mad:
Talk about good for a laugh! :p
As for calling the eL mediocre entertainment -I think you've seen too many matches at Flancare Park! :D
johno
15/09/2005, 11:39 AM
Winning a Europen tie is MUCH bigger than winning a domestic cup final -why? because you have to be sucessfull domestically to qualify for Europe in the first place and you are then playing the BEST teams from the other European countries, most of which have stronger leagues and clubs than us.
Cork City won their place by playing good football over a full season, yet ye got into Europe last season by winning around just four consecutive FAI cup games, one of which was against a non-league team and another against a First Division club !!!!! :mad:
Talk about good for a laugh! :p
As for calling the eL mediocre entertainment -I think you've seen too many matches at Flancare Park! :D
What is your problem with Longford Town and why do you associate me with same??:confused:Theres always something to whinge about,their football,manager,players,FFS even their stewards,is it just sour grapes that a part time club can be successful,cup wins,good home venue,mid-table league finish or is it lack of ambition on your part to support smaller clubs when results go against them(Wales),instead of berating them at every opportunity.If,as it seems,you want the El to progress both domestically and abroad then for gods sake support all your clubs big and small and especially when results are poor,maybe the leagues entertainment level will rise from mediocre then.
Anyway I'm sure there are plenty of Longford fans out there who are able to defend themselves without me adding anything.
harry crumb
15/09/2005, 8:51 PM
It means yee won the cup over a few matches and did not do it over the longer period.
Shelsman
16/09/2005, 12:28 PM
Precisely........and that it is a bit dodgy for the eL and Ireland to be represented in European Competition by a club that won just four games to get there!
Be that as it may, that's football for you, minnows sometimes cause upsets ( the romance of the cup and all that ) but are always found out in the end.
harry crumb
16/09/2005, 2:29 PM
Your twisting things to suit your point of view.
:mad:
anto eile
16/09/2005, 3:51 PM
What is your problem with Longford Town and why do you associate me with same??:confused:Theres always something to whinge about,their 1: football,2: manager,3: players,4: their stewards,is it just sour grapes that a part time club can be successful,cup wins,good home venue,mid-table league finish or is it lack of ambition on your part to support smaller clubs when results go against them(Wales),instead of berating them at every opportunity.If,as it seems,you want the El to progress both domestically and abroad then for gods sake support all your clubs big and small and especially when results are poor,maybe the leagues entertainment level will rise from mediocre then.
Anyway I'm sure there are plenty of Longford fans out there who are able to defend themselves without me adding anything.
1,2,3,and 4 are all VALID points!!!!!!
anto eile
16/09/2005, 3:52 PM
returning to winter football would eb ridiculous.im sure its been covered in this thread so im not going over it again.just adding my disapproval
Precisely........and that it is a bit dodgy for the eL and Ireland to be represented in European Competition by a club that won just four games to get there!
Be that as it may, that's football for you, minnows sometimes cause upsets ( the romance of the cup and all that ) but are always found out in the end.
So what would you suggest,the top 4 qualify for europe instead?In which case us minnows would only have been one place off it last season and may have pushed further if we'd had something to play for and this season we would be on course for qualifying again