View Full Version : Games 13th June
Nah Nah Nah Nah
14/06/2024, 7:22 AM
Sligo terrible.
Yup. Consistently inconsistent. Need to figure out what we’re doing up front. Think the only time the 19 year old keeper looked in trouble was from a cross from a free kick way out. It was awful game not helped of course by that awful pitch. The bounce on it is getting worse and worse. Outstanding dive by Andy Boyle at the end that the ref fell for the stopped us probably getting a point we didn’t deserve.
Kiki Balboa
14/06/2024, 7:39 AM
Amazing what a last minute winner does for St. Pats.
Seen them play vs Drogheda, and they looked awful. Thought to myself Dundalk have a chance in catching them - Now suddenly Pats are looking to catch Rovers again...
Winning two more games than the pack ahead of us is already doable a bit of daunting task for Dundalk, and we found some form and are at the non -winning end of the table.
Rovers winning 4 more than Shels or Derry in 15 games is a hell of a task ...
Running out of road (even if Rovers could).
Kiki Balboa
14/06/2024, 7:42 AM
Yup. Consistently inconsistent. Need to figure out what we’re doing up front. Think the only time the 19 year old keeper looked in trouble was from a cross from a free kick way out. It was awful game not helped of course by that awful pitch. The bounce on it is getting worse and worse. Outstanding dive by Andy Boyle at the end that the ref fell for the stopped us probably getting a point we didn’t deserve.
Hahaha. The video shows there was a clear nudge on him.
Good game at the RSC. Not too many clear chances but plenty of attacking play and effort. Bad mistake from Grant Horton to give the ball to Jarvis for Shels goal. Waterford then had a goal wrongly disallowed for offside in last 10 minutes. One of our fans had a perfect video of it online and Amond is clearly onside when ball was played. Good atmosphere there.
14/06/2024, 7:57 AM
Clock must be ticking for Bradley. Even when winning we're the most one dimensional and predictable team. Imagine getting undone by Stephen Kenny's in-game management. I think you can cite injuries as a contributor but only at the margins imho. Too many established players are underperforming. Greene and Kenny, maybe Honohan, are about the only ones playing to potential.
14/06/2024, 8:12 AM
Clock must be ticking for Bradley. Even when winning we're the most one dimensional and predictable team. Imagine getting undone by Stephen Kenny's in-game management. I think you can cite injuries as a contributor but only at the margins imho. Too many established players are underperforming. Greene and Kenny, maybe Honohan, are about the only ones playing to potential.
And on that note actually, I see Honohan came off in the first half, so presumably another injury to add to the suspiciously long list
Nostradamus
14/06/2024, 8:22 AM
Not sure if Bradley can use injuries as an excuse at all, it’s not exactly a shock that half the Rovers squad is injury prone. Availability is a skill all by itself after all, and it’s a skill a lot of Rovers players are missing.
I wonder if this season as finally changed Rovers fans opinions on Bradley and this 4 in a row team to a lot of what rival fans had already came around too, they aren’t as good as the great teams from the past. Not even the best team of the last decade, with Kenny’s Dundalk levels above, and proving that since they managed to go on to relative success even after he lad left despite some shocking managers( Perth & good old Filipo).
End of an era.
Europe the only hope to rescue something from this shambles
Thankfully Rovers are usually very good in Europe....oh wait.
What we are seeing this season from Rovers is exactly what I warned would happen for years and all I got was told off for being a "hater"
What we are seeing now is the roosters finally coming home to roost.
14/06/2024, 8:34 AM
We're hard for First Division sides to beat. (1 defeat in 17 now, when our debutant keeper fumbled the ball into the net).
Premier opposition is a different kettle of fish.
I reckon Harps would have won with 11 players on the pitch last night. Idiotic sending off from O'Donnell.
Hoping we should be a stronger opposition for sides in the second half of the season with a full squad back from injury.
14/06/2024, 8:37 AM
Bohs were shocking in that second half, absolutely no idea how to create a chance and camping in our own half praying for a draw in the last 20. Wouldn't be surprised if the news that Reynolds is gone in came out in the next few days. Really felt like he lost the support with the U21s shambles.
Yep, agree with that, except that the U21 shambles is all on Bohs, not Reynolds. Couldn't understand why Bohs sat back, and it felt like the pressure would eventually tell. Fair play to Higgins for going two up top. Draws are no good, and he's got a bit more adventurous with his subs and tactical changes.
Really poor penalty for Diallo to give away. Rooney knew exactly what he was at, and won the foul easily. Maher has now saved three out of three penalties this season, which is some improvement.
Getting straight back into the game would have been a killer for Bohs. Noticeably, Diallo didn't celebrate after he scored.
Second half, Bohs had no inclination of going to try and win it, contrasted with how they played last time we were in Dalymount. Thought we deserved our goal, which was really well taken by Mullen.
14/06/2024, 9:25 AM
And on that note actually, I see Honohan came off in the first half, so presumably another injury to add to the suspiciously long list
It's incredible really
desaintsno.12
14/06/2024, 10:13 AM
Am i right in thinking Honohan went off a few weeks back with a concussion ?
Last night he sat down in the first half apparently with concussion symptons again, received no actual treatment. Medical staff let him play on.
He eventually went off as aresult of the symptoms it seems.
Open to correction on any of the above, but if this is right, its really poor by the rovers medical staff.
2 Year Contract
14/06/2024, 10:16 AM
Am i right in thinking Honohan went off a few weeks back with a concussion ?
Last night he sat down in the first half apparently with concussion symptons again, received no actual treatment. Medical staff let him play on.
He eventually went off as aresult of the symptoms it seems.
Open to correction on any of the above, but if this is right, it’s really poor by the rovers medical staff.
You’re correct. One of the papers had an online article out with a post match interview with Bradley who said Honohan had a recurrence of his concussion symptoms last night. Also Grace’s injury was hamstring related and he’ll be out for a number of weeks he said
desaintsno.12
14/06/2024, 10:19 AM
What were thinking letting him play on after he sat down himself with symptoms.
2 Year Contract
14/06/2024, 10:30 AM
you wish!
2.33 pts per game v us (without playing well)
1 pig v the rest
Another stat I’ve just seen is
Pats have earned the same amount of points against Rovers so far this year as they have in the previous four seasons combined
I had a look into the stats on Axel Sjoberg’s 14 appearances for pats since signing in March of last year. He’s finished 90 minutes on 3 occasions including last night. Going into a break is probably a good thing for him after his first game back, here’s hoping he’s over the worst of his hamstring issues because there’s signs of an excellent right fullback in him if he can overcome the injury/fitness issues. It’s undoubtedly going to take some luck to keep the injuries away but both he and pats are due a bit of injury free luck at this stage
14/06/2024, 10:36 AM
Rovers winning 4 more than Shels or Derry in 15 games is a hell of a task ...
Running out of road (even if Rovers could).
Tough, but certainly not impossible. Presumably Rovers have a decent budget available if Bradley wants to strengthen over the summer?
I thought Rovers would win the league, with Derry second, and I'm just about sticking to that at present.
placid casual
14/06/2024, 10:51 AM
Brendy, Rovers haven't a prayer of winning the league for a record 5th time in a row this season. We are a spent force.
No doubt all the little richard hammonds on here will get brave and start bad mouthing Rovers achievements in the last few years, but that's to be expected I suppose when you've little else going ok with your own team
I can see Derry overcoming shels in the end
Is there any chance young Whelan could make an appearance soon? - He looked a $hit hot prospect before his cruciate injuries.
Another Bohemia
14/06/2024, 11:02 AM
Really poor display from Bohs last night. Lots of players out there that looked like they were already on their holidays and when your manager isn't in the country the week of the match it kind of undermines the importance of any game. I don't know whether Reynolds went away with the 21s off his own bat or if the board were in the know but that has to be the last time it happens. Amateur stuff, I know O'Donnell, Detser and the other coaches can still take training and probably do for a lot of games but we all know that there are some who skive off when the big boss isn't around and that needs to be cut out. We are blessed the Chorazka is such a good keeper. Pulled off 2-3 saves at 1-1 that kept us in the game and ultimately kept the score respectable.
I want to say I expect a lot of signings in July for Bohs but I actually don't. I think there will be more leavers than joiners. Lilander wasn't on the bench last night and Reinkort hasn't been on it in weeks so I'd wager they're on their way out. Bart Kukoloviec was released already and I can't see us keeping 3 GK's on the books for the full season and Piszczek is one of the worst footballers I've ever seen. He's 6ft 4 and can't win a header because he wants to jump at the player instead of trying to win the ball. Disaster of a season that was preceded by a disaster of an offseason. If things don't pick up after the break I think Fenlon will be out the door because I can't see what he's doing to justify his wage. Rant over...for now
Jolly Red Giant
14/06/2024, 12:04 PM
Really poor display from Bohs last night. Lots of players out there that looked like they were already on their holidays and when your manager isn't in the country the week of the match it kind of undermines the importance of any game. I don't know whether Reynolds went away with the 21s off his own bat or if the board were in the know but that has to be the last time it happens. Amateur stuff, I know O'Donnell, Detser and the other coaches can still take training and probably do for a lot of games but we all know that there are some who skive off when the big boss isn't around and that needs to be cut out. We are blessed the Chorazka is such a good keeper. Pulled off 2-3 saves at 1-1 that kept us in the game and ultimately kept the score respectable.
I want to say I expect a lot of signings in July for Bohs but I actually don't. I think there will be more leavers than joiners. Lilander wasn't on the bench last night and Reinkort hasn't been on it in weeks so I'd wager they're on their way out. Bart Kukoloviec was released already and I can't see us keeping 3 GK's on the books for the full season and Piszczek is one of the worst footballers I've ever seen. He's 6ft 4 and can't win a header because he wants to jump at the player instead of trying to win the ball. Disaster of a season that was preceded by a disaster of an offseason. If things don't pick up after the break I think Fenlon will be out the door because I can't see what he's doing to justify his wage. Rant over...for now
It was poor, particularly in the second half - but conceding so late is unacceptable for any team.
I suspect that the involvement of Reynolds in the U21s was agreed before he was appointed - and I think that it would be a decision by Reynolds to back away from that more than anyone else.
There does seem to be some deadwood in the squad that are not up to the standard needed - the problem, from my recollection, is that the likes of Lilander, Reinkort, Miller and Piszczek are not on short-term contracts (I think they all have at least a 2 year deal) and that is an issue in terms of getting rid of any of them. Clearly the top division in Estonia (or the Japanese 3rd tier) is not a place to go looking for players in their late 20s and expect them to be LOI standard. The loss of Cornwall at the start of the season and the continued absence of Buckley is hurting Bohs at the moment - and there is a gaping hole at RB now that Matheson has gone back to Bolton.
Kiki Balboa
14/06/2024, 12:05 PM
5 points ahead with 2 games in hand is a big cushion.
It would be great if yous fully collapses please.
D24Saint
14/06/2024, 12:25 PM
Another stat I’ve just seen is
I had a look into the stats on Axel Sjoberg’s 14 appearances for pats since signing in March of last year. He’s finished 90 minutes on 3 occasions including last night. Going into a break is probably a good thing for him after his first game back, here’s hoping he’s over the worst of his hamstring issues because there’s signs of an excellent right fullback in him if he can overcome the injury/fitness issues. It’s undoubtedly going to take some luck to keep the injuries away but both he and pats are due a bit of injury free luck at this stage
The best game he has played for Pats , he was like a new signing. I was very cynical of his value to the squad with his injuries but last nights performance shows that he can make a big contribution. There is no point getting carried away after last night even considering how enjoyable a win it was. The performance last night versus last week in Drogheda was chalk and cheese. The break will give Kenny a chance to work on a few things and so also help with our injuries.
14/06/2024, 12:27 PM
Brendy, Rovers haven't a prayer of winning the league for a record 5th time in a row this season. We are a spent force.
No doubt all the little richard hammonds on here will get brave and start bad mouthing Rovers achievements in the last few years, but that's to be expected I suppose when you've little else going ok with your own team
Is there any chance young Whelan could make an appearance soon? - He looked a $hit hot prospect before his cruciate injuries.
Get brave and bad mouthing Rovers achievements...are you taking lessons from Dondald Trump by setting out your defence in advance of things maybe not going your way, and being one of the foot.ie posters most inclined to bad mouth other clubs and revel in end of era commentary. Its football, its starndard rivalry behaviour and not much to do with little else going on at ones own team (Dundalk FC fans have hardly been bored to death with stable mid table mediocrity on or off the pitch to need to hunt for something interesting to sound off about).
It isnt mouthing off about Rovers to observe that the league has declined in terms of quality, Rovers were the best of an average bunch and deserved their 4 in a row (maybe 5 if they can make u the gap), its often been said that the roll of honour wont have an asterick saying 'worst standard league ever'. but your are hardly so blinkered PC to think that this Rovers side, especially over the last 2-3 years would stand up to the quality of other great sides. That European results have been up to scratch, that there isnt something very unusual about the injury epidemic at the club, that the club is at risk of missing it own financial minimums that could require a firesale of shareholdings, that in a very similar position to Dundalk 4 odd years ago that there could have been reaally long term dominance and that an era has quite possibly been cut short due to something amiss. It should not be anywhere near a possibility that Rovers dont qualify for Europe never mind fudge a title run in tilt, as unlikely as that reality is so to premept any such obervation as invald due to a form of begrudgery is you being an ostrich at best or just poor attempt at a preemptive defence while being particularly p!ssed off at things.
Any medical team that leaves a player with high risk of concussion on the pitch should be dragged over hot coals at any time, a medical team that dont immediately respond tp a reoccurance of symptoms of historic concussive head injury should be sacked and reported. You dont run off thee things, you risk a players career and even their life and that is not an exaggeration. It does fit with the general question mark over the standard of the SRFC medical team!!
14/06/2024, 12:27 PM
The only reason I think there's still hope for Rovers is the transfer window. I'd guess Bradley will be given a whack of cash to sort things out. The money should be there, and he knows what he's at.
Whelan is back playing for the U20s. They're being careful not too rush him back, fair enough. If guess it'll be August when he's back in the squad properly. Since we tend to only play one up top, it'll be some competition between him, Hoban and Danny Mullen.
14/06/2024, 12:39 PM
The only reason I think there's still hope for Rovers is the transfer window. I'd guess Bradley will be given a whack of cash to sort things out. The money should be there, and he knows what he's at.
Whelan is back playing for the U20s. They're being careful not too rush him back, fair enough. If guess it'll be August when he's back in the squad properly. Since we tend to only play one up top, it'll be some competition between him, Hoban and Danny Mullen.
Wasnt that the root cause of publically calling out whether he would be backed or not at the end of last season and that there are factions developing in the boardroom. He stayed so he must have had a budget increase. Rovers are already running at an accumulated loss so a poor performance in Europe, no champions league next year, maybe no European football next year, well throwing a wedge at things in July could be classed as reckless. Maybe its just time for a freshending up of team management at Rovers and go again next season rather than take a riskier short term approach in July. Or maybe spend the money on recruiting a new medical department and get all those injuries sorted - they have been the root of all that has not gone to plan at Tallaght for the last 400 years or so....does he really know what he is doing at this stage?
14/06/2024, 1:05 PM
Whelan only lasted 30 minutes against Harps under-20s last week. Not sure if it was injury or precaution, but strange to be taken off so early.
dcfc_legend9
14/06/2024, 1:25 PM
Whelan only lasted 30 minutes against Harps under-20s last week. Not sure if it was injury or precaution, but strange to be taken off so early.
That was all he was scheduled to play and what a 30 mins he had. Bagged a goal after 10 mins which was an absolute cracker and then set up one for young Patton.
The club wont take any chances of another injury occurring with Colly Whelan so they will slowly phase him back in again. Once he does come back in though it will be like a new signing.
14/06/2024, 1:33 PM
What happened with his second injury? Was it a recurrence of the cruciate injury or was it something else? I thought at the time a cruciate injury had been ruled out
placid casual
14/06/2024, 1:40 PM
Jeez, bit of a complex there Nesta:;
I wasn't actually referring to you,mate,as I know already how you feel about Rovers- Your extended monologue there is evidence itself!!
Any club can technically win 1 league,good clubs win 2/3 in a row,but only the best win 4 in a row.
Enjoy your weekend buddy.
2 Year Contract
14/06/2024, 3:03 PM
I got a laugh out of this Keith Long interview calling for more praise/coverage to be put on how well Waterford and Galway have done this season
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/listen-it-is-what-it-is-waterford-boss-keith-long-believes-clubs-outside-dublin-deserve-more-credit/a1700312525.html (https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/listen-it-is-what-it-is-waterford-boss-keith-long-believes-clubs-outside-dublin-deserve-more-credit/a1700312525.html)
The general argument may be true, but the funny part comes with the quote "I’m happy to go under the radar, of course, we are as a club." which therefore renders the entire argument and a lot of the points he made irrelevant :)
sbgawa
14/06/2024, 3:30 PM
Budget is well and truely blown. no league win this year means no CL next year, there isnt a prayer of us signing anyone
Knocklyonhoop
14/06/2024, 4:00 PM
Tough, but certainly not impossible. Presumably Rovers have a decent budget available if Bradley wants to strengthen over the summer?
I thought Rovers would win the league, with Derry second, and I'm just about sticking to that at present.
id be amazed if we sign anyone.
the goalie situation and lack of Gary O’Neill have really hurt us
joey B
14/06/2024, 4:26 PM
It hasn’t been mentioned here before but if Drogheda are to have a chance of staying up they need to sign a goalkeeper,Wogan concedes an awful goal at least every other game now and his confidence looks shot, needs to be sat for a while and get somebody else in,im not sure the other keeper there is up to much either….
dundalkfc10
14/06/2024, 6:29 PM
id be amazed if we sign anyone.
the goalie situation and lack of Gary O’Neill have really hurt us
Will Bradley be kept if you don't win the league this season or will he walk?
Shinkicker
14/06/2024, 8:04 PM
I agree with everything you say, but the break and the window is an opportunity for Alan Reynolds to put his mark on the team. Then we'll see if Fenlon and Reynolds are singing from the same hymn sheet
mcgonigle
14/06/2024, 10:04 PM
I wasn't actually referring to you,mate,as I know already how you feel about Rovers- Your extended monologue there is evidence itself!!
Any club can technically win 1 league,good clubs win 2/3 in a row,but only the best win 4 in a row.
What about clubs that win 3.5 in a row?
EatYerGreens
14/06/2024, 11:25 PM
The ideal outcome for him would be a decent run/results in Europe, then land a job somewhere in Britain.
15/06/2024, 3:51 AM
You can call it a complex if you like and I didnt think you were referring to me directly. I dont dislike Rovers as much a many also - my formative years in LoI didnt involved Rovers bar occasionally to build up a significant hatred. I'm saying that what you call bad mouthing Rovers achievements is simply observing that they should be performing better this year, should have set points tally records previously, and that if this is the end of an era it should be questioned why - what was done to freshen things up, address a chronic extensive injury list, deal with accumulatig debt without that possibility of a CL pathway 2025 and the implications that may have for your membership. Calling out football fans for being football fans too/ I get it though as a Dundalk fan I can identify with the frustrations that a club may have blown the opportunity to do a Rosenbord of old or a BATE, that all th ingredients were there to dominate indefinitely only for individual(s) to throw spanners in the works, unsettle the inner workings of a club and the chance is lost. Your best may be doing 4 in a row but when such numbers could be greater....well its like how the Seanie season rankles cause it stopped a Dundalk 6 in a row and ye have to settle on 5 in 6 seasons
Id love to be able to take you up on the suggestion of enjoying the weekend but Im very thankful that there will be wall to wall football to watch
joey B
15/06/2024, 12:44 PM
8 games in a row Dundalk haven’t conceded a goal at home,some going !
8 games in a row Dundalk haven’t conceded a goal at home, some going !
And more bizarre, before the Sligo game on Thursday it was still (just) the worst home record in the PD, also in the 8 games it is only 3 wins, but still a good turning point as 2 of those wins were Rovers and Bohs before Sligo.
The club record was 6 I think, and that was broken in the Derry 0-0 game a few weeks ago.
Last team to score was Sligo, that 0-5 hammering, 4th March, the 'injury' to Shelvey at HT and he was subbed, didn't come out for the second half.
Jack B
15/06/2024, 2:31 PM
The best game he has played for Pats , he was like a new signing. I was very cynical of his value to the squad with his injuries but last nights performance shows that he can make a big contribution. There is no point getting carried away after last night even considering how enjoyable a win it was. The performance last night versus last week in Drogheda was chalk and cheese. The break will give Kenny a chance to work on a few things and so also help with our injuries.
His fitness - or lack thereof - is such a shame as I'm pretty sure we'd be grand with him at right back were he able to stay injury-free. As you say it's such a small sample size with him but he's always looked good, Thursday night being a prime example of that. I think the total amount of minutes he's played since signing well over a year ago only amounts to about seven and a half full games which tells the story. Would love if he could be relied upon to put a run of games together now but can't see it personally, we've really made a mess of the full back positions this season in terms of recruitment.
Yeah, he’s our best right back by a distance and made a big difference the other night. Fingers crossed that he can stay fit for the rest off he season now.
Knocklyonhoop
17/06/2024, 8:26 PM
reckon it’ll be his choice but unless we make group stages then budget like;y to be cut substantially and he might see it as time to part ways
17/06/2024, 9:03 PM
Where does Bradley go if he leaves Rovers though? I don't think he's good enough to make it in England (he might try, btu I think it'd be one club and that's it). He's linked himself with the Ireland role I think, but that's not going to happen after the Kenny debacle. And that leaves what - Bohs/Shels/Pats?
Another Bohemia
18/06/2024, 8:18 AM
Where does Bradley go if he leaves Rovers though? I don't think he's good enough to make it in England (he might try, btu I think it'd be one club and that's it). He's linked himself with the Ireland role I think, but that's not going to happen after the Kenny debacle. And that leaves what - Bohs/Shels/Pats?
Unless Derry win the league you could probably see Derry looking for a new manager in the off season. Could be the ideal situation for both there.
Kiki Balboa
18/06/2024, 8:36 AM
I would say Bradley would have a fair few offers across the water... Even more than Kenny would have had when he left Dundalk.
Bradley is a corporate company man, the kind of appointment that clubs drool over.
I would say Bradley would have a fair few offers across the water... Even more than Kenny would have had when he left Dundalk.
Bradley is a corporate company man, the kind of appointment that clubs drool over.
Erm wasn't he saying there were people within his own club trying to hold them back last year?
Slightly mad comments when you see the loss that was subsequently posted!
Kiki Balboa
18/06/2024, 9:36 AM
Erm wasn't he saying there were people within his own club trying to hold them back last year?
Slightly mad comments when you see the loss that was subsequently posted!
That sums up a corporate company man... Deflect blame... Hit short term metrics... talk your way to falling upwards...