View Full Version : Games weekend 5th / 6th April
total hoofball
05/04/2024, 9:08 PM
Shels did put out a warning statement last month but obviously a drooling scumbag would hardly be reading the website or twitter or in general giving a f-cuk. At the end of the day it's season ticket holders who obtained tickets for this away games at Drogheda so it is on the club for failing to police the scum who did it who is a season ticket holder
I think the list of sanctions in order below was communicated to the club by the FAI so I'm expecting partial stand closure that could be for the Bohs match at Tolka next week and/or possibly ban on Shels fans attending the away Galway match. I would say repeated flare indicents would result in full closed door games and then walkovers.
Also clap clap to that crook Rob Hennessy with his unofficial punishment by deliberately moving our free kick outside the box back by 5 yards on the resumption of play
https://shelbournefc.ie/club-statement-6th-march-2024/
"the club has been put on notice that any breach of these regulations will result in serious and severe sanctions up to and including partial or full stand closures, bans on our fans attending away fixtures, or full ground closures for games, the suspension of matches and forfeiture of games."
Calcio Jack
05/04/2024, 9:10 PM
Great shout!
Little did I know we’d hand you the win rather than you winning handily !!
sbgawa
05/04/2024, 9:15 PM
Shels did put out a warning statement last month but obviously a drooling scumbag would hardly be reading the website or twitter or in general giving a f-cuk. At the end of the day it's season ticket holders who obtained tickets for this away games at Drogheda so it is on the club for failing to police the scum who did it who is a season ticket holder
I think the list of sanctions in order below was communicated to the club by the FAI so I'm expecting partial stand closure that could be for the Bohs match at Tolka next week and/or possibly ban on Shels fans attending the away Galway match. I would say repeated flare indicents would result in full closed door games and then walkovers.
Also clap clap to that crook Rob Hennessy with his unofficial punishment by deliberately moving our free kick outside the box back by 5 yards on the resumption of play
https://shelbournefc.ie/club-statement-6th-march-2024/
"the club has been put on notice that any breach of these regulations will result in serious and severe sanctions up to and including partial or full stand closures, bans on our fans attending away fixtures, or full ground closures for games, the suspension of matches and forfeiture of games."
The last one forfeiture of games might happen which would cost you a point. It does seem harsh to punish clubs for one random eejit.
joey B
05/04/2024, 9:18 PM
Nice evening for Keith Long on his return to Dalymount,the opposite for Reynolds though who looks to have a huge job on his hands….
Knocklyonhoop
05/04/2024, 9:26 PM
Disappointing to lose that. Completely in control 1st half and should have been more ahead.
Pats well 0n top 15 / 20 mons of second half and actually took their chances and Kavanagh’s deliveries were good (what a ball for first goal). Prefer if Honohan would take a shot rather than fall and look for a pen.
good game for the neutrals if any neutral was actually watching it but at least I guess Shels didn’t win.
Shearer
05/04/2024, 9:30 PM
It's the hope that kills.
Treaty defended well in the first half and started to grow into it going into the break.
Wexford with some poxy (albeit deserved) goals but thought we'd nick a point when Yoyo scored twice. Heartbreaking to lose it in the finish, onto Kerry.
Jd2793
05/04/2024, 9:36 PM
Nice evening for Keith Long on his return to Dalymount,the opposite for Reynolds though who looks to have a huge job on his hands….
delighted for long, one of the good guys.
city walked all over cobh in a very wet turners cross. there was so much rain after 20 mins i was worried the ref would call it, pitch was like a swamp. fully deserved 3-0 win, think cobh mustered one chance in 90 mins. ucd and harps drawing was a good result for us. nice cushion between top 2 + 3rd now.
Pohls with another clanger.
Depressing to think we have this many injuries and are back to needing a replacement for Manus again.
Bloody hell, imagine that is the height of your worries, we are goosed unless a miracle happens, could have been 6 adrift had Shels not equalised.
Jack B
05/04/2024, 9:50 PM
Little did I know we’d hand you the win rather than you winning handily !!
In all seriousness very much a smash and grab, one I'm delighted with mind. Thought we came out a completely different side in the second half but still and all you can see the difference in quality in general play, and that's even with all of Rovers' absentees.
Big platform for us though. We started the season coming out the wrong side of close games so it's nice to finally have the reverse of that. Aaron Bolger has come into the side this week next to Jamie Lennon and I don't think it's any coincidence that we look hugely improved in the process.
D24Saint
05/04/2024, 9:51 PM
[QUOTE]
Hitting an official has to have extra consequences and they need to start clamping down on this stuff properly
Can’t exactly do cavity searches there are morons following every club in the league unfortunately.
total hoofball
05/04/2024, 10:09 PM
The last one forfeiture of games might happen which would cost you a point. It does seem harsh to punish clubs for one random eejit.
It's well known that the FAI very strongly ensured the club release that statement with most of the specified wording so it would be some leap from Bohs getting off lightly with one away ban which actually cost Drogheda financially that Shels would suddenly get hit with the most severe punishment on the pitch of the 5 listed, but with our history with the FAI I wouldn't be surprised they will happily make an example out of Shels
Clubs are going to have to put money/resources into profiling identities of their season ticket holders purchasing away tickets and increasing policing/security at the away games to filter out the filth from getting into the grounds in the first place, releasing statements on the internet or forfeiting matches is a waste of time it isn't going to stop these coked out scumbags who don't care about the club from repeatedly attempting to bring flares into ground or maiming someone
wonder88
05/04/2024, 10:21 PM
Re the incident in Drogheda, people may have have seen on the live televised games how the Shamrocks and Bohs fans in Terryland acted towards Galway players taking corner kicks/throw-ins. Also St. Pats supporters ran onto the pitch during their game down here at the start of the season. Was there a fine issued to these clubs? No statement issued by the league or clubs involved.
05/04/2024, 10:48 PM
Competent performance in the Brandy tonight from City. Actually a half entertaining game, with quick passing and pressing on Dundalk.
Reaction needed, and got it. Fair enough.
Some lovely goals tonight, maybe Mullan's the pick of the bunch.
On Dundalk, I think they're the worst side I've seen this season. Worse than Waterford. Only three goals and three points so far, bad state of affairs. O'Donnell sounded despondent after the game. Not a great omen.
I'm not certain that the match sold out. There were still tickets at 3 o'clock this afternoon. Can't remember that happening since COVID.
ontheotherhand
06/04/2024, 12:14 AM
Re the incident in Drogheda, people may have have seen on the live televised games how the Shamrocks and Bohs fans in Terryland acted towards Galway players taking corner kicks/throw-ins. Also St. Pats supporters ran onto the pitch during their game down here at the start of the season. Was there a fine issued to these clubs? No statement issued by the league or clubs involved.
Right.......ok.....
06/04/2024, 3:17 AM
Just home. One of the darkest days I've endured following us.
listowelceltic
06/04/2024, 3:36 AM
And probably wettest. Once kerry scored ye seemed to throw in the towel. Bar one good chance in the first half I don't recall ye troubling our keeper.
Shinkicker
06/04/2024, 7:18 AM
Bohs were by far the better team football wise, but failed to take any of the chances they created. Waterford defended really well and took one of the very few chances they created. Bohs have
definitely improved just need to put the ball in the net.
2 Year Contract
06/04/2024, 7:38 AM
A great night in inchicore, place was absolutely rocking particularly in the second half. Bolger has to keep his place in the midfield now IMO, excellent again. Leavy has been excellent so far this season but needs to improve on his final ball and also releasing it earlier at times, he’d beat 2 or 3 players and then when it’s time to pass it he’d try and beat another 2 or 3 and give it away. Forrester replacing him at half time brought a bit more composure to the team in that regard and he worked his socks off too to be fair. The recent terrible record against rovers only makes it all the sweeter when there’s a win against them. Happy days!
2 Year Contract
06/04/2024, 7:44 AM
Yes Pats were fined for that and made a statement to fans about it. Anyways, we are talking about shels fans hitting a Lino with an object for at least the third time in recent seasons. I don’t see the relevance of bringing up a handful of pats hands jumping a metre onto the pitch to hug their players after a goal, or the rovers fans giving some good old fashioned verbal abuse to a remorseless killer (who while we’re on the topic, also did not make a statement to apologise for his actions)
1982blue
06/04/2024, 8:09 AM
Bohs were by far the better team football wise, but failed to take any of the chances they created. Waterford defended really well and took one of the very few chances they created. Bohs have
definitely improved just need to put the ball in the net.
That's a bit of a stretch to say the least. Football wise it was fairly even and the only real chance Bohs created was the one on one in the first half when Sergeant pulled off a great save. Waterford got loads of joy down the right in the second half but couldn't produce the final ball. Amond was outstanding. Goal aside, ran his socks off and held the ball up well. Best performance at the back all season. No coincidence with Kacper benched
placid casual
06/04/2024, 8:30 AM
Watched the Rovers game on loitv last night- Rovers started really well out of the blocks and could and should have been 2 up in the 1st 20 mins, but pat's started well in the 2nd half. Free kick for 1st pat's goal was very soft but it's obvious that good set pieces swung in at Pohls will reap rewards as he has all the command in his box of a 1st Yr at a school disco- 2nd goal minute's later was his inability to clear the ball effectively.
Pat's have hard workers who can stoutly defend a lead and Rovers real quality up front is injured so that was the end of that little winning run. Not overly concerned in terms of how the season will pan out at this stage, but a loss is still a loss.
dundalk showing how not to run a LOI club when a bit of success comes your way - my tenner on galway finishing bottom now looks doomed.
There's plenty for every LOI team to work on so far but I'd imagine most teams are setting into the season and 1st-9th is anyone's.
06/04/2024, 10:04 AM
A great night in inchicore, place was absolutely rocking particularly in the second half. Bolger has to keep his place in the midfield now IMO, excellent again. Leavy has been excellent so far this season but needs to improve on his final ball and also releasing it earlier at times, he’d beat 2 or 3 players and then when it’s time to pass it he’d try and beat another 2 or 3 and give it away. Forrester replacing him at half time brought a bit more composure to the team in that regard and he worked his socks off too to be fair. The recent terrible record against rovers only makes it all the sweeter when there’s a win against them. Happy days!
Agree with all that, particularly about the midfield. It looks like Lennon, Bolger and one of Leavy or Forrestor. Leavy is a terrific ball carrier, but as you say he does tend to overdo it when he should release the ball earlier. We couldn’t get near Rovers in the first half hour andI feared the worst. Second half was a different story though. The second goal was a perfect example of how well we got after them.
ontheotherhand
06/04/2024, 10:34 AM
Proverbial game of two halves in Richmond. We were totally dominant first half and looked liked we'd coast it, although Pohls did pull off one quality save. Probably should have ben 2-0 or 2-1 going in at the break. Pats were much better second half and Daly got his subs right. They defended really well. Still think we shaded it outside of 5 minutes of choatic defending and keeping but Pats gameplan worked and they've some tidy players.
We are actually playing ok but Pohls looks a bit shook under the pressure of being #1, making mistakes in almost every game now, and we have no bite at all up front. Need bodies back.
Jd2793
06/04/2024, 10:34 AM
have only watched one rovers game on tv but from what i saw of pohls last year hes not as assured nor does he have the decision making of mannus. there is a little bit of this on bradser though. the insistence to constantly look for that pass into the midfielder even if its not on will kill rovers. pohls got caught down in cork with 2 last year iirc. pohls has to see if its on or not obviously but seems like its a reflex for him now to just drill it in there. even the best teams+keepers in the world welly it. sometimes it has to be done
ontheotherhand
06/04/2024, 10:40 AM
have only watched one rovers game on tv but from what i saw of pohls last year hes not as assured nor does he have the decision making of mannus. there is a little bit of this on bradser though. the insistence to constantly look for that pass into the midfielder even if its not on will kill rovers. pohls got caught down in cork with 2 last year iirc. pohls has to see if its on or not obviously but seems like its a reflex for him now to just drill it in there. even the best teams+keepers in the world welly it. sometimes it has to be done
He hasn't played a lot of football at all so I'm giving him a bit of time but that's a fair enough assessment so far. Can pull off some great saves but both goals could arguably be pinned on him last night so it's costing us points now. Comparing him to Mannus will never be fair really though. Don't think there's anyone in the league near that level.
placid casual
06/04/2024, 11:15 AM
Conor Kearns is the only keeper I've seen this season who looks assured - I know there's a separate discussion on here about LOI keeper calamitys, and it's very topical.
ontheotherhand
06/04/2024, 11:22 AM
Conor Kearns is the only keeper I've seen this season who looks assured - I know there's a separate discussion on here about LOI keeper calamitys, and it's very topical.
Yep, I like Kearns. We should have brought him to Rovers a few seasons back instead of signing more midfielders. Pohls was always going to be a gamble. Still think there's a keeper there.
redarmyfaction
06/04/2024, 11:34 AM
Very heavy rain in Sligo the last 45m.
D24Saint
06/04/2024, 12:19 PM
Rogers has done very little wrong since his return to the first team.
Dermobohs
06/04/2024, 1:03 PM
Chorazka has been very good for us, let down a tad by our back four and midfield being keystone kops every second game.
Calcio Jack
06/04/2024, 1:52 PM
He hasn't played a lot of football at all so I'm giving him a bit of time but that's a fair enough assessment so far. Can pull off some great saves but both goals could arguably be pinned on him last night so it's costing us points now. Comparing him to Mannus will never be fair really though. Don't think there's anyone in the league near that level.
I’d blame our set up for the first goal not Pohls…. Redmond was being marked by Burke
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/04/2024, 1:55 PM
Rovers Galway postponed
D24Saint
06/04/2024, 2:01 PM
Rovers Galway postponed
That’s a pity. No doubt it will be replayed on a Monday.
Rovers Galway postponed
Absolute joke of a decision leaving it so late team almost in Sligo
Supporters busses on the way .supporters on train from Dublin no rain in Sligo and only a yellow wind warning clearing as evening goes on
Wouldn’t have anything to do with Sligo injury’s problems
06/04/2024, 2:51 PM
Poor decision, yes.
Derry minor match went ahead this afternoon, and winds are due to die down a bit later anyway.
Forgot to mention from last night, the ref, David Dunne had a great game. Virtually anonymous, and let the game flow when required. Himself and Paul Norton both seem like welcome additions to the PD.
Thewhitepele
06/04/2024, 2:51 PM
Absolute joke of a decision leaving it so late team almost in Sligo
Supporters busses on the way .supporters on train from Dublin no rain in Sligo and only a yellow wind warning clearing as evening goes on
Something similar happened last season and when the game was replayed we had even more injuries. The game will likely be fixed for some Monday where we will lose a good gate and where our squad depth will be an issue due to playing two days in a week. Would have preferred this one go ahead, but it's not to be unfortunately.
redobit
06/04/2024, 3:01 PM
Haha. What are u on about ... you do know its not a club decision to call off a game of ball.
redobit
06/04/2024, 3:14 PM
The wind is very strong here in Sligo but id say the biggest issue are the gusts. Gusts of wind expected over 90 km/h this evening.
da bishop
06/04/2024, 3:16 PM
Woeful effort from Treaty last night bar a fifteen minute spell with tbf two excellent goals, no shape or pattern to Treatys play and defensively looked vunerable all game ,two fullbacks Lynch and O Reilly in trouble all throughout .Wexford full value for the win ,front three a constant threat and good game plan.Terrible conditions however you,d never know it the way Wexford played.Poor run for Tommy Barrett ,and improving Kerry next.
ger121
06/04/2024, 3:18 PM
Chorazka has been very good for us, let down a tad by our back four and midfield being keystone kops every second game.
Yeah he has been good alright, which is impressive considering we are ropey at the back.
CamacSaint91
06/04/2024, 4:07 PM
I assume you've watched this back and seen that both were dives?
Feared the worst when rovers scored that early goal and if Watts didn't miss that sitter it would have been a rough night. Thought Pats were excellent 2nd half, Bolger and Lennon did really well in the middle
Rovers were missing a heap of players but that 11 last night is still probably better than the rest of the league. They'll still walk the league imo
Nah Nah Nah Nah
06/04/2024, 4:21 PM
Haha. What are u on about ... you do know it’s not a club decision to call off a game of ball.
Obviously doesn’t
06/04/2024, 4:24 PM
Poor decision, yes.
Derry minor match went ahead this afternoon, and winds are due to die down a bit later anyway.
Forgot to mention from last night, the ref, David Dunne had a great game. Virtually anonymous, and let the game flow when required. Himself and Paul Norton both seem like welcome additions to the PD.
Of all times, we could do without a ref allowing a game of football break out!!
A ref calls a game off not a club so dunno how Sligo injuries have anything to do with tonights game being called off? Always going to annoy someone - game off too early, called too late. Imo every opportunity to play the game should be given though it can mean teams and fans already enroute, maybe others differ and it should be just called in the afternoon if there is any doubt at all.
redarmyfaction
06/04/2024, 4:31 PM
The wind is very strong here in Sligo but id say the biggest issue are the gusts. Gusts of wind expected over 90 km/h this evening.
Met Eireann have winds dropping as the day progresses, while conditions are not ideal, the wind ATM is no more than good drying, game could have defo have gone ahead in present weather.
06/04/2024, 4:41 PM
TBH I stayed overnight in Tralee and travelled back by train via Dublin Connolly to Longford. It was only in Dublin Connolly at midday when I arrived there and heard that the 11am train to Sligo was delayed cos of a fallen tree on the line! I got on that train and 3 mins later it departed. This is freakish weather and in Tralee this morning at 7am it was fierce gusty when I got the 0705 train back to Dublin!
Competent performance in the Brandy tonight from City. Actually a half entertaining game, with quick passing and pressing on Dundalk.
Reaction needed, and got it. Fair enough.
Some lovely goals tonight, maybe Mullan's the pick of the bunch.
On Dundalk, I think they're the worst side I've seen this season. Worse than Waterford. Only three goals and three points so far, bad state of affairs. O'Donnell sounded despondent after the game. Not a great omen.
I'm not certain that the match sold out. There were still tickets at 3 o'clock this afternoon. Can't remember that happening since COVID.
You think? We are the worst in the PD (at the min) and by a large stretch and not sure I can see things changing in the short term, no wins and only 3 goals, deserve to be bottom. Really not sure how we can turn it around, but not giving up, yet !
Ps re your signature, is that just a bit of craic, you do realise the treble was won 4 other times in the history of the LOI (apart from 1989) and by 2 other clubs, Rovers 3 times, Bohs once when Shield was a bigger trophy than LC, so there you go, said my piece, but not exactly the height of my worries / priorities at the minute.
ger121
06/04/2024, 8:28 PM
You think? We are the worst in the PD (at the min) and by a large stretch and not sure I can see things changing in the short term, no wins and only 3 goals, deserve to be bottom. Really not sure how we can turn it around, but not giving up, yet !
Ps re your signature, is that just a bit of craic, you do realise the treble was won 4 other times in the history of the LOI (apart from 1989) and by 2 other clubs, Rovers 3 times, Bohs once when Shield was a bigger trophy than LC, but there you, not exactly the height of my worries at the min.
I definitely think you’ll improve given time and it will be more than enough to win the 1st Division.
JC_GUFC
06/04/2024, 8:40 PM
No issue with the game being called off tonight for safety concerns but there was an orange warning for 3 or 4 days (and not for Sligo).
Surely it could have been called yesterday or this morning.
Jack B
06/04/2024, 9:19 PM
SOD sounded like a broken man on local radio last night. He's more proven as a coach than a lot of the squad are as players so I don't think this season is much of a stain on his reputation overall, but it feels like something has to change there sooner or later just through sheer (possibly blind) hope it'll spark some life into the club.
Watch them beat us next week mind.
06/04/2024, 10:16 PM
It will take a completely freakish win totally against the run of play and the odds, build a little bit of confidence and there is a tiny possibility of fighting out of this rut. There is a reasonable spine to the side, useful wide players, no Abibi in nets - people point to a lack of goals and Hoban leaving but I dont think we are creating for even a Hoban (Or Ive seriously underestiated how many goals he made himself previously). We are goosed beyond a 1st 11 for sure but an available 1st 11 should be able to eek out some results. We are now in the position of having to targeting points in key games, eg Drogheda next bank holiday, Bohs, Waterford, try and show that we can get in the arm wrestle with Galway - we need league challegers ruthlessly beating the teams above us like Derry not going and losing to Drogheda after whipping us.
Im not sure that a change of manager would benefit us bar the auld new manager bounce, If I were making the decision i think Id opt to stick with the manager and not have the squad play under the pressure of the managers job. Maybe thats foolish but what are the feasable alternatives and sometimes backing the manager is more progressive than sacking them. I'll be hoping for that moment where a side clicks until we are mathematically relegated,its the hope that kills you but abandoning a club in its difficult times is unforgivable, supporting a club thats going through a successful era is easy and there are plenty of Dundalk fans about that dont recall being stuck in the 1st division so we will see what they are made of as well as the team as the season progresses.