View Full Version : Genesis Reporter Issue 2 on sale at the France match

05/09/2005, 5:53 PM
The second issue fo the Genesis Reporter will be on sale around Lansdowne Road on Wednesday evening, priced €1.

It's 20 pages long and includes:

400 Club take over
Faroe Islands trip review
FAIlure- Don Givens
Fanzine Focus- FourFiveOne
Player Profile - Dave O'Leary
Why the international team needs to improve
Ollie Byrne, Football Hooligan*
World Cup Qualification Round Up Around the World
Cyprus Preview
Look-a-like

We also need sellers at the ground, please PM me or stick your name down here and we can sort something out. Also if you are interested in selling fanzines at your own eL ground let us know

Genesis Reporter

*allegidly

Drumcondra Red
05/09/2005, 7:26 PM
Troy, I've helped you out with the GR before, but I'm afraid this issue is too Cork biased, focus on 451 and an article which is not only an attack on "a certain gentleman," but also at Shelbourne FC as a whole. I strongly urge you to ommit this article as it shows the club that we love in a bad light not to mention the league as a whole!

Rant over

05/09/2005, 7:41 PM
Typical, I wont be buying it so.

Was this not supposed to be about promoting the league and everything in it? :confused:

05/09/2005, 7:47 PM
Out of 10 articles, I count one article which focusses on a Cork City fanzine and one which takes into account the concerns that fans across the league have about an individual at Shelbourne FC. I don't see how that counts as bias towards Cork City FC, but IMO it just proves once again that Shels fans can't take any criticism whatsoever :rolleyes:

05/09/2005, 7:51 PM
I haven't read the article, but if it is what it sounds like, an excuse to rant idiotically about Ollie Byrne and Shelbourne FC being rsponsible for all the evils in the world (probably focusing on the Drogheda match where the writer wasn't present) as it more than likely is, then that's a load of b*ll*cks.

If it's constructive then that's another matter. Somehow, I doubt it is.

05/09/2005, 7:55 PM
I haven't read the article

probably focusing on the Drogheda match where the writer wasn't present

:confused: so you can comment on something you haven't seen, but th writer of the article can't.

05/09/2005, 7:57 PM
:confused: so you can comment on something you haven't seen, but th writer of the article can't.

I'm assuming Drumcondra Red has read the article, since he's involved with the whole thing (correct me if I'm wrong there), so if he has reason to complain then there's obviously something wrong.

And I said probably :)

If I'm wrong I'm wrong, but if it's another idoitic rant it makes the whole thing look amateur. If it's a decent article written constructively but critcising Illie I'd have no problem with it, I criticise him myself.

Drumcondra Red
05/09/2005, 8:14 PM
I have read the article and I will not be associated with this issue, mainly because this article is anti-Ollie and the barstoolers who read it will then inturn have a further negitive attitude to Shelbourne Football Club, and the Eircom League as a whole.

Anal, I believe it is too CCFC focused because of the 451 focus (why not an article on all the collective fanzines???) and Cork drivle about Don Givens.
Said article about "a certain gentleman," although it does touch on his achievments I found it to be a constent attack on the man, and as Slash/Ed said, this is supposed to be an Ireland fanzine also done to enhance the EL as a whole.

Once again, I am not to be associated with this issue, although I will ask around Tolka if people want a copy of future editions, I will not do it for this edition.

05/09/2005, 8:16 PM
Indeed, so much for promoting the league, the aim of this whole thing, no? Leave that shyte to the Cork fanzine.

Drumcondra Red
05/09/2005, 8:17 PM
Yeah, the one I bought before the Shels game in Cork (IWTO- I think???) also had an attack on Ollie in it, its getting boring now lads!

GR vol. 2 has attacks on 2 Irish footballing personalities, nice "fanzine" :rolleyes:

05/09/2005, 8:19 PM
Well that's to be expected, it is a Cork fanzine afterall, but this clearly isn't the time or place for the typical childish idiotic bitter rants.

Drumcondra Red
05/09/2005, 8:23 PM

I know the writers real name, but don't know what he goes under here, I'd like to know who he follows...

05/09/2005, 8:24 PM
Typical Shels, throwing their rattle out of the pram because someone dares to point out that the hooligan isn't a saint. :rolleyes:

I can't for the life of me see how there is a Cork City bias in it. There's one article about Rovers 400 club, there's one about Cork City's fanzine FourFiveOne and one about the hooligan. The rest of the articles are all related to International football.

It seems like a good balance to me and I look forward to getting a copy on Wednesday.

05/09/2005, 8:25 PM
Typical Shels, throwing their rattle out of the pram because someone dares to point out that the hooligan isn't a saint. :rolleyes:

You're completley missing the point which comes as no suprise whatsoever.

Do you people really want this thing originally intended to promote the league to degenerate into a píssing contest between clubs? Is that what you're after?

05/09/2005, 8:28 PM
You're completley missing the point which comes as no suprise whatsoever.

Could you please explain it to me oh wise one.... :rolleyes:

It appears pretty straight forward to those of us with a bit of intelligence. As Eanna pointed out, there are 10 articles in it and only one of them is any way shape or form related to Cork City FC yet you and your friend seem to think it's got a Cork City bias. The suggestion is quite laughable really.

05/09/2005, 8:31 PM
Could you please explain it to me oh wise one.... :rolleyes:

It appears pretty straight forward to those of us with a bit of intelligence. As Eanna pointed out, there are 10 articles in it and only one of them is any way shape or form related to Cork City FC yet you and your friend seem to think it's got a Cork City bias. The suggestion is quite laughable really.

I never mentioned Cork bias, it has nothing to do with Cork.

The point is if you're useing this to start up the typical childish idiotic rantings against clubs (In this case Shels, but it could be any club) then people will respond with ever increasing amounts of idiotic, childish rantings. And soon, the fanzine will simply be píssing sesssions between fans of clubs constantly having a go at each other over every little thing.

Is that going to help promote domestic football as was the whole feckin point of the thing? No. Quite the opposiate.

05/09/2005, 8:37 PM
I never mentioned Cork bias, it has nothing to do with Cork.

The point is if you're useing this to start up the typical childish idiotic rantings against clubs (In this case Shels, but it could be any club) then people will respond with ever increasing amounts of idiotic, childish rantings. And soon, the fanzine will simply be píssing sesssions between fans of clubs constantly having a go at each other over every little thing.

Is that going to help promote domestic football as was the whole feckin point of the thing? No. Quite the opposiate.

Sorry, it was Drumcondra Red who mentioned the Cork bias.

I see what you're saying alright and I would agree if it was to become a regular thing but this is only one article about a very controversial figure who has been in the press over his bad behaviour a lot since the last issue. It's a topic which may be of interest to people, obviously the Shels fans won't be happy about it but that's the way it is. If the hooligan could control himself then there would be no need for this article.

05/09/2005, 8:42 PM
Sorry, it was Drumcondra Red who mentioned the Cork bias.

I see what you're saying alright and I would agree if it was to become a regular thing but this is only one article about a very controversial figure who has been in the press over his bad behaviour a lot since the last issue. It's a topic which may be of interest to people, obviously the Shels fans won't be happy about it but that's the way it is. If the hooligan could control himself then there would be no need for this article.

Yes but say the writer is a cork fan (He could support anyone, so put whatever team he supports in for Cork if not). In responce some Shels fan could write an article ranting about Cork in the next one, they could hardly not publish it if they're publishing this one. Then everyone starts, and people reading the fanzine are hardly left with the idea that domestic football is something worth bothering to get off their arses and support after reading the rantings of rival fans where truth is rarely a requirement.

This kind of article, and the píssing match that will doubltess follow if that's the kind of article they're putting into the thing, will do quite the opposiate of the original point of the thing, promoting domestic football, and it makes the whole thing look a bit amateur.

05/09/2005, 8:50 PM
Yes but say the writer is a cork fan (He could support anyone, so put whatever team he supports in for Cork if not). In responce some Shels fan could write an article ranting about Cork in the next one, they could hardly not publish it if they're publishing this one. Then everyone starts, and people reading the fanzine are hardly left with the idea that domestic football is something worth bothering to get off their arses and support after reading the rantings of rival fans where truth is rarely a requirement.

This kind of article, and the píssing match that will doubltess follow if that's the kind of article they're putting into the thing, will do quite the opposiate of the original point of the thing, promoting domestic football, and it makes the whole thing look a bit amateur.

I agree totally with what you're saying tbh BUT this is a unique article imo as the hooligan has courted controversy a bit recently.
Most clubs don't have an individual who would merit such an article so it can't really descend into a tit for tat situation. All it takes is a bit of editorial control to ensure that doesn't happen anyway.

Ultimately the actions of the hooligan will do far more to the image of the EL than an article in a fanzine will.

05/09/2005, 8:57 PM
I agree totally with what you're saying tbh BUT this is a unique article imo as the hooligan has courted controversy a bit recently.
Most clubs don't have an individual who would merit such an article so it can't really descend into a tit for tat situation. All it takes is a bit of editorial control to ensure that doesn't happen anyway.

Ultimately the actions of the hooligan will do far more to the image of the EL than an article in a fanzine will.

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of Ollie, that's not really the point. I agree some of his actions are a disgrace too, but it will generate into tit for tat if the article is just some rant (And it was bad enough for one person to refuse to work with them on the issue). All it takes is one wound up Shels fan to write a counter article, which will more than likely happen, and then it's tit for tat. Another píssing session between clubs fans and more EL in fighting and bickering.

And more so anyway, a rant about Ollie and Shelbourne as a club is not going to do anything to promote the domestic game which is the whole point of the thing. It will come across as looking a bit petty and amateur. If the whole project was about promoting the domestic game and ultimately getting people off their arses to watch it, where does this article fit in? Is it not going to achieve the opposiate even without the inevitable tit for tat that will follow?

TheOwl
05/09/2005, 9:49 PM
I not even a big Ollie fan, but I have to say I agree with my fellow Shels fans here. The title of the article "Ollie Byrne, Football Hooligan" says it all really. Amazing to think that a biased and negative attack on an Eircom League club could be allowed in a fanzine trying to promote the league, especially when EL fans have been so vociferously bad mouthing the media for negative coverage of the league recently.

If you titled the piece “Ollie Byrne, Football Hooligan or Shelbourne hero?” and got a Shels fan to write a counter argument in the same issue then it would have been ok but a one way attack is unacceptable.

I won’t be buying a copy.

Drumcondra Red
05/09/2005, 9:56 PM
Colm, have you read any of these articles yet? Whatever Ollie has or hasn't done, its not fair to have a go at him or our club in an international "fanzine" which is striving to increase awareness of the EL and create an atmosphere in Landsdowne Road.

Do we really need any more bad publicity for the league, because if I wasn't a supporter of the EL, I would find this comical and ridicule the league even more! Say what you like about Ollie in your own fanzine's any articles written about any domestic club or individual withen any club should be done in a positive light! Although, I have no doubt that everyone who reads it will say this is an overreaction, but imagine it was said about the person running your club, then we can have a disscussion about it!

Rather then the article on a certain gentleman, would we not be better off to have an article about domestic clubs European adventures this year??? And before anyone states the obvious, I have already explained reasons behind me not doing a piece to others involved in the GR.

I know its a bit late now Troy, but something has to be done about that article, even just to change the title!

Drumcondra Red
05/09/2005, 10:17 PM
oNE LAST POINT Troy, and I'm aware of your dislike for the man, but why was the title of the article changed? :confused: :confused:

05/09/2005, 11:44 PM
Most clubs don't have an individual who would merit such an article so it can't really descend into a tit for tat situation. All it takes is a bit of editorial control to ensure that doesn't happen anyway.....
Who will be featured for a hatchet job in the next edition? Pat Devlin perhaps? Another individual who has been casitgated on this site by the Cork rabble.

Bald Student
05/09/2005, 11:58 PM
Was the aim of the Fanzine ever to "promote the eL"? It is a collection of articles written by individuals on their individual opinions.

I would hate the fanzine to become the opposite of the Evening Herald, only printing articles saying that everything in the league is fine and rosey. The eL, like any other league, has its good and bad points. I've not seen this issue but judging by the article titles both good and bad aspects of the league are covered as well as both good and bad aspects of the International scene.

If the league is to improve it needs to have a spotlight on its bad points as much as it needs credit for its good points. If I may give an example, Shamrock Rovers operated for years under what the dogs on the street knew questionable circumstances. If a membr of the media had started asking akward questions five years ago it's possible that millions of euro and an awful lot of hassle (not to mention a very valuable site in Tallaght) might have been saved.

TheOwl
06/09/2005, 12:19 AM
Was the aim of the Fanzine ever to "promote the eL"? It is a collection of articles written by individuals on their individual opinions.

I would hate the fanzine to become the opposite of the Evening Herald, only printing articles saying that everything in the league is fine and rosey. The eL, like any other league, has its good and bad points. I've not seen this issue but judging by the article titles both good and bad aspects of the league are covered as well as both good and bad aspects of the International scene.

If the league is to improve it needs to have a spotlight on its bad points as much as it needs credit for its good points. If I may give an example, Shamrock Rovers operated for years under what the dogs on the street knew questionable circumstances. If a membr of the media had started asking akward questions five years ago it's possible that millions of euro and an awful lot of hassle (not to mention a very valuable site in Tallaght) might have been saved.

But there are two sides to every story - "Ollie Byrne - football hooligan" does not sound like a balanced piece. It seems that one club and one club only is being attacked in this issue.

I see there is a story called "400 Club take over." Some people may think this story should be called "Rovers get out of jail" or "Rovers get off virtually scot free," but if it was called this there would be an outcry and rightly so.

Sorry for feeling paranoid here but there seems to vendetta against Shels from some EL fans. It seems any dig at Shels is fair game, sure there were even people on here applauding the Bohs fans who vandalised the Tolka Park pitch, and then the same people ranted about how disgraceful it was that the Rovers monument in Milltown was vandalised.

I’m just sick of it to be honest, I don’t really care what other people think about Shels, but don’t expect me to pay for the pleasure of reading their rants.

06/09/2005, 7:55 AM
OK, first things first, I wrote the article in "The Genesis Reporter".

A few points.

I was asked to write the article.

I openly admit that the fact that I'm a CCFC fan may colour my opinion of Ollie but the article is absolutely not a rant, it's 14-15 paragraphs long, there's an attempt at humour in the first couple, then I go on to praise (as well as a CCFC fan can) Ollie's achievements for well over half the article.

I then try to raise the question if Ollie is still the right man for Shels because of the recent bad publicity that has been generated around him, which is exactly where the title it was submitted under came from (the Elvis Costelloe lyrics) Oliver's Army - Here to stay?. If the title has been changed to what's in the first post of this thread I'll be very very p!ssed off because it immediately paints the article in a light that wasn't intended.

If anything else within the body of the text I wrote is changed I'll be far more p!ssed off. For the record I wrote nothing that I believe could be considered an attack on Shelbourne FC.

The Drogs incident is mentioned, here's a quote from the paragraph "this might be one case where Ollie has been unfairly demonised by the press"

I'm sorry DR that you're distancing yourself from the GR because of this article, but there's nothing in that article that I haven't already posted on Shelsweb in one form or another. I hope it doesn't change your opinion of me too much because we've been able to have a good chat whenever we've met.

If I'd realised that it'd cause so much sh!t though, I wouldn't have written it, for the record the point that a review of EL team exploits in Europe would have been a better article is spot on, but to be fair, I think a fanzine is an appropriate place to deal with both the Good and the Bad.

I'd appreciate it if people who've not read it would stop knocking it, if you want to have a cut off me after you've read the article, I'm well able to take it.

06/09/2005, 8:04 AM
Having not read this issue yet, I must say the shels fans seem to be getting their knickers in a twist over it without even seeing it. Seriously if there was an article in it bashing drogheda united, id say 'fair enough, the chap is entitled to his opinion' and then ask for a right to reply in the next issue whereby id give the drogs point of view.
'But there are two sides to every story' I agree with this comment which is why the shels lads should get a right to reply in the next issue.

Cant wait for this issue, looking forward to it.

Where are ye selling them lads? Just outside murrays/ the lansdowne or what? Missed ye the last time

06/09/2005, 9:29 AM
400 Club take over
Fanzine Focus- FourFiveOne
Ollie Byrne, Football Hooligan*

From what I can see there is a Rovers, Shelbourne & Cork City article. Wheres the bias? ;)

Drumcondra Red
06/09/2005, 10:40 AM
TikTok knows my feelings on this, and as for Shels fans getting their knickers in a twist? I have read it, Tiktok, I'm not distancing myself from the GR, just this issue.

The main reason I'm ****ed off about this is because;

1) The title was changed,

2) This was a fanzine to, amounst other things, promote the EL, I wouldn't have a problem if only EL fans would be reading it,

3) Why was a Cork City fan asked to write it?

4) Tiktok is one of the few Cork fans who is actually liked on shelsweb so I doubt this will change peoples opinion of you in future.

5) What would Rovers fans say if the title of the 400 club article was changed to "Cheats get away lightly," or something of that nature!!!

06/09/2005, 11:01 AM
The main reason I'm ****ed off about this is because;

1) The title was changed,

I have to agree, the title is offensive.

TheOwl
06/09/2005, 11:08 AM
I then try to raise the question if Ollie is still the right man for Shels because of the recent bad publicity that has been generated around him, which is exactly where the title it was submitted under came from (the Elvis Costelloe lyrics) Oliver's Army - Here to stay?

The title of the article is what really gave me the hump, and frankly if the title was changed from what you mentioned above (which would have been fine), then the whole thing stinks even worse, as it suggests a conscious editorial decision on the part of the fanzine to attack Ollie. Now it becomes more that "just one man's opinion."

If it was left with its original title then of course I would have reserved judgement until having read it, but forgive me for thinking a piece called “Ollie Byrne Football Hooligan” is not going to be a balanced piece.

I really think two counter arguments within the one issue would have been the way to go if you wanted to debate the Ollie issue, but hey it's not my fanzine!

Cosmo - I appreciate your point of view here too, but the whole right to reply thing could turn the fanzine into, as Slash/Ed pointed out, a slagging match between EL clubs, when as this is a fanzine being sold to barstoolers who go to Ireland games, we should be looking to promote the positive aspects of the league.

Tittok - Thanks for explaining your side of the story, it sheds new light on the issue, please don’t consider my attacks on the fanzine as an attack on yourself.

06/09/2005, 12:25 PM
but forgive me for thinking a piece called “Ollie Byrne Football Hooligan” is not going to be a balanced piece.

I understand that completely The Owl, I'm no happier than you, after all, it'll be my name under that heading, and given that I tried :o to write a decent article, the fact that people will have already dismissed it based on a heading I didn't chose (and which I don't believe reflects the content) is very frustrating.

I haven't seen the printed version yet, so that title may have just been used on the forum to help build interest, and not in the fanzine itself, I'm hoping that's the case.

06/09/2005, 12:37 PM
Troy,I know i said i'd help you when you were selling the fanzines and i will but not this time around,for pretty much the same reasons as the other Shels fans on here,I have no bother helping the next time around,if you should feel the need to ask me but not this time.Sorry

Mento
06/09/2005, 2:07 PM
YouBoysInGreen issue 2 is also out.
Good interview with Jack Charlton and lots more. The point in a Fanzine is for the fans to have a say, so to all the above, why not send in your own rants?

We haven't started an EL section yet - so far it has been aimed at the international audience. We're very happy with this issue and 15,000 copies are available free around the ground.
Enjoy

One thing we want to do for next issue is a take the **** out of the ****** who wrote the story in ireland on sunday, and ideas feel free to pm me

Bald Student
06/09/2005, 2:18 PM
YouBoysInGreen issue 2 is also out.Looking forward to it. Like I said to Troy, If you've any over we'd be happy to distribute them in UCD.

06/09/2005, 4:19 PM
Woo woo woo! Hold it there cowboys! Im not even going to bother reading all that! :o

I dont know if "the author" showed you (Drum Red) a copy of the bit about Ollie, but its actually fairly unbiased IMO, the title is a pi$$ take from the chant. Its a balanced article IMO.

Don Givens is 'fair game' too, he has a $hite record of achievement with the u21's and a treats eL players poorly to boot. He has even had to appologise to Brian Lennox about some of his comments. This article is (basically) a rehash of a 451 article, and as a thank you I put in a review of them, so they can raise awarness of thier own fanzine.

If Red Inc or Brigod Dearag want a review then they can send it to genesisreporter@yahoo.com and it (if written any way well) would be printed.

If people get the fanzine and dont like it, then they can email and complain to the above address, but please dont rant without having a look first. Ye remind me of some guy who posted here or on the peoples flag about the first edition "A rag" was his comment, when asked why, he said he didnt actually read it, he just saw someone selling it and didnt like the print quality of the cover :rolleyes:

To say that it is turning into a CCFC run fanzine is also false. Its obvious that I will have most of my links there, but Im trying to get more people from other clubs involved too, so just be patient. Anyway, if it was a CCFC fanzine then the drum that was bought from the first issue would deffinitly have stayed at home and not gone to the Shels Steua match ;) God knows Ive got stick from that one! :o

In short, buy the fanzine and take a read. If you dont like parts of it, tell us why so we can improve. Most of all, try getting involved yourself by writing articles. Dont whinge, do something, we need more writers!

06/09/2005, 4:34 PM
I understand that completely The Owl, I'm no happier than you, after all, it'll be my name under that heading, and given that I tried to write a decent article, the fact that people will have already dismissed it based on a heading I didn't chose (and which I don't believe reflects the content) is very frustrating.

I haven't seen the printed version yet, so that title may have just been used on the forum to help build interest, and not in the fanzine itself, I'm hoping that's the case.
Ok, first off, sorry Tiktok, I take responcibility for this one.

The title (nothing else) was changed to "Ollie Byrne, Football Hooligan - The Shed, COrk 16/07/05"

The only change to the piece is at the end where I added "Ollie Byrne is not a football hooligan, its only a chant"

If anyone is looking to blame/give out to. Direct it to me.

Roy, a CCFC fan wrote the piece coz he said he would do it. No one from shels has volunteered to write for the GR, so I dont have much of a choice! :o THey are more than welcome to come on board though

Seriously if there was an article in it bashing drogheda united, id say 'fair enough, the chap is entitled to his opinion' and then ask for a right to reply in the next issue whereby id give the drogs point of view.

Actually, if anyone (even a shels fan;)) wants (after reading it) to reply then that would be great. 450 or 900 words lads :)

06/09/2005, 4:55 PM
Yeah, the one I bought before the Shels game in Cork (IWTO- I think???) also had an attack on Ollie in it, its getting boring now lads!

GR vol. 2 has attacks on 2 Irish footballing personalities, nice "fanzine" :rolleyes:The man is bad for the image of the league. By making it clear that fans of the league don't approve of the thuggish behaviour of that individual, then it is enhancing the image of the league. Lots of people have heard of Ollie Byrne, because of his antics. His fault, not anyone else's.

Drumcondra Red
06/09/2005, 4:56 PM
Erm, I read the article on the e-mail, it is not a fully balanced piece, although it is to a certain extent, when reading it I kept the title in mind, your title, and I felt it was an attack of sorts on Ollie Byrne and Shelbourne FC as a result (No offence tiktok, but your bias shone through imo).

p.s. the ollie byrne is a football hooligan chant is taken as a joke, and god knows we've sang it too for a laugh, but it did not originate in Cork, again Cork shyte coming into play ;)

No shels fans that I am aware of were approached to write this article and as I've explained reasons to you before why I couldn't write for you I will not repeat myself.

Also your words were originally to use the GR to promote the EL, and to help create atmosphere in Landsdowne Road, this article is not promoting the EL, and as I've said I will distance myself from this issue but I will help with future copies as I've said all along.

Finally, whats thre point in anybody submitting articles only for them to be edited without consent???

I don't want to enter into a public slagging match with you Troy, because apart from this we have got along in the past, even though you wouldn't join us redsmen for a pint in Cork that time :D I respect and admire what you're trying to achieve with the GR and in future you have my support, not with this issue though.

06/09/2005, 4:58 PM
I must say the shels fans seem to be getting their knickers in a twist how unusual! Wonder where they got that from :rolleyes:

If Red Inc or Brigod Dearag want a review then they can send it to genesisreporter@yahoo.com and it (if written any way well) would be printed.

Somehow someway I just can't see that happening.

Drumcondra Red
The man is bad for the image of the league. By making it clear that fans of the league don't approve of the thuggish behaviour of that individual, then it is enhancing the image of the league. Lots of people have heard of Ollie Byrne, because of his antics. His fault, not anyone else's.

The man has done more for our club then anyone else in the league, this should be highlighted, not the negitives, you can save them for your own fanzines down in the village!!! :mad:

06/09/2005, 5:00 PM
Another individual who has been casitgated on this site by the Cork rabble.
Sorry, we'll stick to saying everything is fine so will we? That way the league can stay exactly where it is, and watch clubs go bust again, watch fan numbers stay static etc etc :rolleyes: There are things CCFC, and indeed its fans, may be criticised for, but to criticise people for trying to move the league forward and professionalise it....... well it shows some people up for what they are :rolleyes:

06/09/2005, 5:03 PM
So an article entitled Cork fans, football hooligans focusing on incidents such as the glass bottles and flares thrown onto the pitch and the 10 on 1 outside Richmond Park that'd be published no problem? Is that the kind of shyte you want in the fanzine to promote domestic football?

The fact the title of the article was changed from the original writer (Who in fairness to Tiktok is the one Cork fan I'd trust to write something approaching balanced when it comes to Shels :p ) is far worse than if it was just someone on a rant. That's pretty pathetic really.

06/09/2005, 5:04 PM
Somehow someway I just can't see that happening.
thats right, everyone's against you :rolleyes: come on like, the guy has made an offer, but rather than take him up on it, you dismiss it out of hand

06/09/2005, 5:04 PM
thats right, everyone's against you :rolleyes: come on like, the guy has made an offer, but rather than take him up on it, you dismiss it out of hand

I'm not involved in the fanzine, though I do write for it and know the people who are. I didn't dismiss anything, I simply said somehow someway I can't see it happening, especially but not just because of this crap.

06/09/2005, 5:06 PM
The man has done more for our club then anyone else in the league, this should be highlighted, not the negitives, you can save them for your own fanzines down in the village!!! :mad:
What village is that then? I happen to live in the City of Cork. Why don't you keep your childish insults for somewhere else DR. As for what he's done for Shels, I wouldn't argue with that- only a fool would- but I'm not interested in what he's done for Shels, I'm interested in what he has done for the league as a whole, and that, I'm afraid, is a run of negative publicity stretching back a number of years now. He's a liability. If you want to remain blind to that, its your choice. Or if you want to value his contribution to Shelbourne over his damage to the rest of the league, thats also your choice. But don't abuse people for having their own views on the matter.

06/09/2005, 5:09 PM
I'm not involved in the fanzine, though I do write for it and know the people who are. I didn't dismiss anything, I simply said somehow someway I can't see it happening, especially but not just because of this crap.
He's made the offer. What more can he do? Very easy to dismiss it and cry wolf :rolleyes:

06/09/2005, 5:11 PM
He's made the offer. What more can he do? Very easy to dismiss it and cry wolf :rolleyes:

I'm not in a position to dismiss anything, I don't speak for Red Inc or anyone involved in it.