View Full Version : Matches weekend 8th 9th March 2024
joey B
08/03/2024, 9:15 PM
Poor night from us,you’ll be hearing people whinging about the ref and he was poor but we were equally as bad,only started playing a bit in the second half when desperation set in but we were poor against a limited enough Cobh who did what they had to…..
Jack B
08/03/2024, 9:18 PM
Dirt first half from both in Richmond but we got the goal. Second half there was a period where Dundalk were absolutely horrific and we kept spurning opportunities that I thought we'd live to regret but fortunately we saw out a shaky last 10 or so. Better but not convincing, special shout out to Luke Turner who was brilliant and Danny Rogers who has functioning limbs.
Shinkicker
08/03/2024, 9:25 PM
I do yeah. Devine for me is the tip of the iceberg. Squad lacks quality and is filled with unproven players from outside of the league. Any team playing us will be licking their lips.
I think the squad has quality but they need more bite, boot and bollock in their game. Quick free kicks backwards, more back passes to our keeper than the opposition to theirs and poor support for our front man when he gets the ball. Midfielders hooking balls over their head to the opposition to come back on the attack is not good enough. Yes I agree with keeping possession and moving forward but too often we go backwards and invite pressure on ourselves, while we don't press the opposing keeper or defence enough and when we do there's no hunger. I will say that tonight piczcek did work extremely hard, but he was on his own. It might be time to go 2 up top and pin the opposition in more instead of letting them out so easily.
Another Bohemia
08/03/2024, 9:28 PM
I do yeah. Devine for me is the tip of the iceberg. Squad lacks quality and is filled with unproven players from outside of the league. Any team playing us will be licking their lips.
I'm inclined to disagree on the squad lacking quality. I think a good manager would be able to get something out of the players there. McDonnell & Clarke are very good midfielders and are showing up week in week out, Connolly is putting in a shift every week but there is no plan to actually use his pace or put him into space to run like there would be with any other team. Cian Byrne is playing well and for the most part I think Flores is actually a fine CB. The big problem is there no plan when we have possession, we're slow in transition and there's no plan other than bodies behind the ball in defence. The coaching is terrible and has been since Devine was hired. He had 1 good series of games last season and then the team fell off a cliff. He should have been sacked after the shambles of a performance in the cup final.
redarmyfaction
08/03/2024, 9:32 PM
singbet are the big ones but you can only access them through a broker so cant link the site. betisn + pin have 1k limits pre + 1.7k limits live on LOI. and yeah i know they scrape the lsl/msl regional stuff with terrible limits. not sure why you are going on about lsl when i was replying to a comment about bookies pricing vs Asia.
Singbet will probably accommodate for any amount you like on any event you like since they void winning bets more often than not.
The simple fact is that LOI betting markets are low liquidity and the iron rule* of betting markets is that low liquidity?? low stakes and any of these white label/scraping sites that actually condescend to pay out wouldn't lay eggs if they woke up clucking when it comes to LOI.
*The exception being on course layers (dogs, P2P) who bet to their opinion with the cushion of a large overound.
da bishop
08/03/2024, 9:35 PM
brilliant crowd in the MF tonight but thats where the brilliance ended,Bray totally dominated all game somehow finding themselves two down at ht despite missing at least 3 sitters,hitting the post and the ref butchering another chance for them....second half deserved their 2 goals.The consolation for Treaty as with last week v Kerry was they hung on for a valuable point playing rudderless poor football.
ger121
08/03/2024, 9:36 PM
I'm inclined to disagree on the squad lacking quality. I think a good manager would be able to get something out of the players there. McDonnell & Clarke are very good midfielders and are showing up week in week out, Connolly is putting in a shift every week but there is no plan to actually use his pace or put him into space to run like there would be with any other team. Cian Byrne is playing well and for the most part I think Flores is actually a fine CB. The big problem is there no plan when we have possession, we're slow in transition and there's no plan other than bodies behind the ball in defence. The coaching is terrible and has been since Devine was hired. He had 1 good series of games last season and then the team fell off a cliff. He should have been sacked after the shambles of a performance in the cup final.
You need a hell of a lot more quality in a squad than 4-5 players. Clarke and Byrne have been decent. Connolly is ok. Flores has been poor for 2 seasons. One decent game vs Pats does not change that. Expected more from Rooney. Grant is an enigma. As for all the oversea players, I’m not sold on any of them. Devine needs to go for sure but I’m not sure even that gets us up the table.
redarmyfaction
08/03/2024, 9:49 PM
You need a hell of a lot more quality in a squad than 4-5 players. Clarke and Byrne have been decent. Connolly is ok. Flores has been poor for 2 seasons. One decent game vs Pats does not change that. Expected more from Rooney. Grant is an enigma. As for all the oversea players, I’m not sold on any of them. Devine needs to go for sure but I’m not sure even that gets us up the table.
Thought ye played well for good periods of the game, I backed Shels and never thought I would get paid till the Peno, Shels are a tight unit, very hard to score against, only 2 conceded so far and they punish any lapse in concentration.
Another Bohemia
08/03/2024, 10:12 PM
You see that's the thing I think there is more than 4-5 quality players there it's just there's no organisation or plan from Devine & co to put them into a position to win. Look at Shels tonight they certainly have some quality in the squad but they also have decidedly average players like JJ Lunney and Tyreke Wilson starting, Boyd on the Bench and Gannon at right back who I believe most Rovers fans would have said was well past it. Duff still put them into a position to win games baby having them organised. Are they a spectacular team? I don't think so but they don't make the stupid mistakes that we are making every week and in this league that's enough to win you games and that is very much down to coaching.
total hoofball
08/03/2024, 10:18 PM
Another vintage Duff Shels performance top of the league without playing particularly well in any of the 5 games, stay solid, don't concede and points will come. Coyle, Barrett, Molloy and Gannon in particular are playing defensively out of their skins.
Bohs on the other hand have the likes Dylan Connolly gymnastically flying rolling around instead of trying to create goals for his team and the vaunted international cohort that Devine/Fenlon supposedly spent all of the off season hunting for could have been plucked out of the First Division at a fraction of the salaries
thebronze14
08/03/2024, 10:26 PM
Cobh defended fantastically tbf to them and deserved the win. Ref was awful though?
Don't know why there is a question mark there!
placid casual
08/03/2024, 10:32 PM
And yet you still mention them in your post for some reason. When someone or something is truly irrelevant to you, you don’t even think about them/it, never mind writing about it.
They were shels opposition tonight in the game I was watching. That's as much interest as they held/hold for me.
08/03/2024, 10:41 PM
Can't fault Cobh, came up with a job to do and probably deserved their win, but officials were a disgrace in Finn Park.
2 Year Contract
08/03/2024, 10:48 PM
Brave (and correct) calls by Daly to drop Pitaluga and switch back to the 4-3-3 of last season. Pats not at full steam still but created loads of chances in the second half in particular in a spell where Dundalk looked very disjointed as a team defensively. Andy Boyle is an absolute shadow of his former self to the point where he actually looks like a weak link within their defence which is mad to say. Without putting away that second goal though there was always a potential to throw away 2 points and Dundalk had a couple of decent long range efforts as well as getting in behind once but Gullan was stopped by a superb tackle by Luke Turner who was brilliant throughout
kksaints
08/03/2024, 11:13 PM
Made harder work of that than we should have but we deserved to win. Really should have scored a 2nd and Dundalk had some decent long range shots that just went wide. Turner and Lennon were both very good and Rogers was solid for the most part. 4-3-3 looked better suited for us attacking wise anyway.
Dundalk played some OK stuff at times in the 2nd half attacking but were a mess defensively at times. Horgan looked well off the pace tonight and Benson looks like he's lost a step or two now also.
08/03/2024, 11:16 PM
opps wrong quote...
. I've given up even caring what boez do tbh, they are so irrelevant in the big scheme of things.
Yeah you have said that Dundalk are your favourite rivals previously. Pity they dont award Dublin Derby titles, Bohs could reminisce about that former period of dominance.
Knocklyonhoop
08/03/2024, 11:20 PM
So SO’D and Deccy Devine now under massive pressure next week? Be great if Bohs could get a result in Derry which would also keep DD in a job. Reckon if SOD could get a consistent squad he might be a good manager.
I think Bohs will be fine but Dundalk might be a struggle this yr
Knocklyonhoop
08/03/2024, 11:24 PM
opps wrong quote...
Yeah you have said that Dundalk are your favourite rivals previously. Pity they dont award Dublin Derby titles, Bohs could reminisce about that former period of dominance.
dundalk aren’t one of our “rivals”! It’s Bohs then Shels. For me Cork next but others might have Pats / Dundalk. Can depend on success but will always be Bohs and Shels
08/03/2024, 11:30 PM
dundalk aren’t one of our “rivals”! It’s Bohs then Shels. For me Cork next but others might have Pats / Dundalk. Can depend on success but will always be Bohs and Shels
PC has a personal love for Dundalk FC, true love, not the irrelevant Bohs bunch!
placid casual
09/03/2024, 6:38 AM
PC has a personal love for Dundalk FC, true love, not the irrelevant Bohs bunch!
Finally,Finally something we can agree on Nesta!!:)
I've grown up hating dundalk more than bohs ,this is very true.
My comments in regards to bohs are they are so far off competing for titles at this moment that they are not a concern for me ,or most other Rovers fans I'd say -They are our traditional rivals this is true,but not everyone has to think the same I'd guess. Plenty of Rovers fans in ballyfermot ,for example will tell you they hate Pats most because of their own geographical location.
The Bohs- Rovers thing was built up through resentment by bohs of Rovers stealing all their pkayers,and rightfully so might I add!!
I just remember seeing dundalk in Miltown in 19 hundred and eighty two ,and them looking like monsters,with Martin Lawlor akin to the missing link. Things etched in your memory I guess.
There's a whole population of LOI fans who hate Rovers more than anyone for a whole load of reasons,not all of them to do with Rovers success on the pitch - That's just how it works I guess.
Kingswood Rover
09/03/2024, 7:52 AM
Will Aidan fitzgypo be declaring tonight that it might already be too late for Rovers to win the league, with Shels an insurmountable 11 points clear of the Champions. Poor enough game although in fairness the surface looked poor and made it a bit of a leveller. Joey O'Brien and his media monkey are doing a fine job there at shels,fair play. I've given up even caring what boez do tbh, they are so irrelevant in the big scheme of things.
Ah here Fitzgypo, yer better than that PC and I would not be mocking any team as its always comes back to bite ye, but it is strange how Bohs have come into the season with such a poor squad given their in the main for many good public profile and having someone of Fenlons experience on board. As for our beloved hoops, we really do need the 3 points tonite, is a must win game? absolutely.
legendz
09/03/2024, 7:53 AM
The Premier Division is the competitive division expected afternoon the promotion of Galway and Waterford, despite their defeat to Derry last night. With Cork likely to replace whoever is relegated this year, the Premier Division should remain competitive for the foreseeable future. Outside of that 11, Treaty are the next club who should have the resources to compete. 2,179 in the MF last night.
placid casual
09/03/2024, 8:38 AM
Ah here Fitzgypo, yer better than that PC and I would not be mocking any team as its always comes back to bite ye, but it is strange how Bohs have come into the season with such a poor squad given their in the main for many good public profile and having someone of Fenlons experience on board. As for our beloved hoops, we really do need the 3 points tonite, is a must win game? absolutely.
No, we don't need 3 point's at all tonight, although I agree a win would be nice. This is a marathon not a sprint. Bohs were something like 8/10 points ahead of Rovers at the start of last season (I think...??!) and yet finished a distance behind. If Rovers were playing gash I'd be worried,but we're doing fine. Be patient,mate.
redarmyfaction
09/03/2024, 9:10 AM
Finally,Finally something we can agree on Nesta!!:)
I've grown up hating dundalk more than bohs ,this is very true.
My comments in regards to bohs are they are so far off competing for titles at this moment that they are not a concern for me ,or most other Rovers fans I'd say -They are our traditional rivals this is true,but not everyone has to think the same I'd guess. Plenty of Rovers fans in ballyfermot ,for example will tell you they hate Pats most because of their own geographical location.
The Bohs- Rovers thing was built up through resentment by bohs of Rovers stealing all their pkayers,and rightfully so might I add!!
I just remember seeing dundalk in Miltown in 19 hundred and eighty two ,and them looking like monsters,with Martin Lawlor akin to the missing link. Things etched in your memory I guess.
There's a whole population of LOI fans who hate Rovers more than anyone for a whole load of reasons,not all of them to do with Rovers success on the pitch - That's just how it works I guess.
The reason if you don't mind my saying that Shams are hated for reasons nothing to do with football is down to the quantities of obnoxious vermin who attach themselves to the club which according to Von Trampes Constant is exactly equal to the amount of the same attached to all other LOI teams at any given time.
CorribsideSteve
09/03/2024, 9:29 AM
Poor game in Terryland last night, but the wind absolutely levelled any chance of a decent football match happening. Drogs solely came to defend and eke out a point, and they can say 'job done'. Galway huffed and puffed and had some half chances but both sides had a hard time fighting a wind that seemed to be swirling in circles around the ground. Now, it probably was a penalty that Drogs could have had, but had they scored it, it would have been against the run of general play I feel. The continued full houses are very welcoming though. This fixture 10-15 years ago may have had 7 or 800 at it.
09/03/2024, 10:08 AM
Same. Every Bohs fan should be worried about what's on the pitch. There's no leadership, no fight, no quality. I don't think he's brilliant by any stretch but Dylan Connolly looks like one of the few who actually gives a ****. I'd say it's going to get worse before it gets better too. You'd have to hope that the first round of games is a write-off to allow the squad get used to each other and then pick up enough points from there on to be above the play-off.
The pitch doesn't help, it's awful.
09/03/2024, 10:17 AM
There'll probably be a whack of "who the f*ck is that guy" to this post (and fair enough) but I disagree completely with the first two parts in bold. Adam McDonnell in CM - no offence to the guy - is not what is going to have a good PD team where they want to be. He is extremely limited - and if one was to assign 'labels' to players, as the 'enforcer' in mf he's not anywhere near it. And Flores is not a good CB. He doesn't have the natural inclination for it (not saying our other CBs do either :-) ) and it shows imo, and worse, you then miss out on utilising in front of the back 4 where he should be playing as a deep-lying conductor. Ask why the ball has gone back to the keeper so often in the first few matches and where has Flores played? he is one who wants the ball but there are so few options around him. Flores playing further forward would move Bohs 15 yds further up the pitch - and would make life easier for Clarke and Piszcezk too. That is on Devine.
Devine is not up to managing a club with ambition (notional or not). Bohs are lucky in one way that others have started so poorly too,
sbgawa
09/03/2024, 10:30 AM
Clarke, farrugia, Byrne, kavanagh mcaneff and probably Burke out. I'd take a point tonight but expect to lose if I'm honest, hard to see where the goals will come from with the shortage of fit creative players. Our gamble on semi permanently fit players may pay off in the long run but I think we won't be able to rely on derry to throw it away with bad results this year ....hoban will make the difference for them in tight matches
Much improved Dundalk performance, but that wouldn't have been hard after Monday. Pats were just ok I thought, overall not a great game, we can't really have too many complaints, 1 shot (tame) on target.
Bottom on merit.
ontheotherhand
09/03/2024, 2:23 PM
No, we don't need 3 point's at all tonight, although I agree a win would be nice. This is a marathon not a sprint. Bohs were something like 8/10 points ahead of Rovers at the start of last season (I think...??!) and yet finished a distance behind. If Rovers were playing gash I'd be worried,but we're doing fine. Be patient,mate.
Wasn't it 13 at one point? We had the worst start of any LoI champion in history.
We'll be fine as you say. Derry and Shels will be up there though. Hoban is a huge addition if he stays fit and Shels have continued as they finished last season even without Moylan. Pats should do better as the season goes on.
Clarke should be back in a week or two which will make a huge difference. Himself and Burns should be enough on either side while we wait for Farrugia.
Kingswood Rover
09/03/2024, 3:42 PM
Clarke, farrugia, Byrne, kavanagh mcaneff and probably Burke out. I'd take a point tonight but expect to lose if I'm honest, hard to see where the goals will come from with the shortage of fit creative players. Our gamble on semi permanently fit players may pay off in the long run but I think we won't be able to rely on derry to throw it away with bad results this year ....hoban will make the difference for them in tight matches
The creativity i hope will come from Kenny and Burns with Gaffney causing havoc. With Pico back you would be hoping our defence will start looking more reassured. Usually never to optimistic coming up here but big wins in previous matches can sometimes backfire on teams the next game.
The Bowler
09/03/2024, 5:47 PM
The Premier Division is the competitive division expected afternoon the promotion of Galway and Waterford, despite their defeat to Derry last night. With Cork likely to replace whoever is relegated this year, the Premier Division should remain competitive for the foreseeable future. Outside of that 11, Treaty are the next club who should have the resources to compete. 2,179 in the MF last night.
I wouldn't be in the slightest bit confident Cork will replace whoever is relegated. Saw them last week against a poor UCD side, and they were pretty awful
Buckett
09/03/2024, 7:19 PM
Ireland, England, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, New Zealand, Cape Verde. Eight nationalities between the two squads in Sligo tonight. Is this a record?
joey B
09/03/2024, 7:28 PM
Ireland, England, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, New Zealand, Cape Verde. Eight nationalities between the two squads in Sligo tonight. Is this a record?
Athlone had 8 different nationalities in their squad alone last night….
redarmyfaction
09/03/2024, 7:42 PM
Also Wales.
09/03/2024, 7:54 PM
Fairly comfortable night at the Brandy yesterday for the home side.
Should have been a goal up when Kelly went clean through, but didn't hit the target.
Not sure if Hoban was really the goalscorer for the first, could have been an OG. He claimed the match ball anyway. Does the League officially award goals?
Some finish for his second, overhead kick just on the stroke of HT and that pretty much killed the game. Deserved penalty given, and after that went in, it felt like both teams were just going through the motions.
Not too impressed with Waterford, had expected more off them, especially on the back of beating Pat's.
Decent enough crowd up from Waterford. Chatting to a few out the town after, and despite the defeat they were pretty happy with the progress made so far.
On away allocation, it appears to be the case that if the away team in the Brandywell has under 75 fans, they go in the Southend stand. If it's more, they'll get the terrace.
redarmyfaction
09/03/2024, 8:22 PM
How was the keeper sent off??
redarmyfaction
09/03/2024, 8:22 PM
Not sent off
legendz
09/03/2024, 8:28 PM
I wouldn't be in the slightest bit confident Cork will replace whoever is relegated. Saw them last week against a poor UCD side, and they were pretty awful
They should win the First Division. They have the biggest budget and are the only full time team. 0-2 win away to Longford tonight.
sbgawa
09/03/2024, 8:44 PM
A hard earned point in sligo. Would have taken it before kick off. Either we get some of the injured players ba k soon or we will be to far behind. Bang average rest of team. Hoooban stays fit I think derry win the league as even when the rovers injured players come back based on last couple of seasons they will be iut again fairly soon. I hate being so negative but derry won't **** it away this year....we need to get lucky
ger121
09/03/2024, 9:00 PM
It does seem very familiar to last season but Derry are a different animal this year. The Hoban factor means that if Rovers slip up they are better placed to take advantage of that.
Idiot thinking by SOD 'you won't be starting every game in 2024'.....................no wonder he wanted away. Nice one Stephen, the guy can easily score at top level for 3 more years.
legendz
09/03/2024, 9:26 PM
If the starts made by Waterford, Galway and Sligo are a good indication for the rest of the season, Drogheda could be in for a difficult season. If Bohemians and Dundalk, who both went into the final day of last season challenging 4th, have dropped back, they could be in the fight to avoid the playoff.
redarmyfaction
09/03/2024, 9:32 PM
https://x.com/LeagueofIreland/status/1766576796282069336?s=20
joey B
09/03/2024, 9:34 PM
Idiot thinking by SOD 'you won't be starting every game in 2024'.....................no wonder he wanted away. Nice one Stephen, the guy can easily score at top level for 3 more years.
Looks like one of the worst decisions a club has made for a while….I’ve no idea what the thought process was in thinking I’ll keep the fella with 6 goals in Scotland’s 4th division and get rid of one of the most prolific strikers the league has ever had,madness……
09/03/2024, 9:48 PM
https://x.com/LeagueofIreland/status/1766576796282069336?s=20
Can't understand that one. I presume the ref has decided it wasn't a goalscoring chance as there were covering defenders. But the keeper surely can't come out of his box to floor someone like that. I'm sure he'll say he was going for the ball, but that's not really relevant
Thewhitepele
09/03/2024, 10:00 PM
Can't understand that one. I presume the ref has decided it wasn't a goalscoring chance as there were covering defenders. But the keeper surely can't come out of his box to floor someone like that. I'm sure he'll say he was going for the ball, but that's not really relevant
The second home game were the officials have bottled decisions that have resulted in dropped points for Sligo Rovers. If it evens out over a season we are already due a few.
Knocklyonhoop
09/03/2024, 11:05 PM
Sligo will be ok this season if tonight is anything to go by. I get with Rovers the comparison to last yr but Derry a different proposition with Hoban. We need to start winning games
Jack B
09/03/2024, 11:16 PM
Only caught the highlights but going off of them Rovers seemed to get away with one tonight. The injuries to such quality players would make it tough for any team though regardless of how strong the squad is.
Sligo were impossible to call prior to the season but I didn't have high hopes for them due to the general negative vibe around them and the largely unknown/injury prone signings. They seem to have settled right in though and look a good side, though there must be an element of frustration that they've only one win considering more have probably been deserved.
Dermobohs
10/03/2024, 12:35 AM
Red all day for pohls, wtf?
Power. Is one of those shamrock tampons too so he’ll go missing for a while now I’d say.
Mad start to the league, could be a crazy season.