View Full Version : How much did he make out of it ???
03/09/2005, 10:03 AM
Pat Devlin .... from the Eamonn Zayed deal ??
Anyone know ??
He does great things for OIrish football, fair play to him !!
03/09/2005, 11:52 AM
whered he go??
03/09/2005, 11:59 AM
HE's gone to some relegation threatened team in Norway. In fact they are bottom of the league. And devo didn't make aanything for the deal. All went to the club. Although ROO69 will know more....
03/09/2005, 12:33 PM
Devo didn't make aanything for the deal.
Who told you that ??? ...... Would it have been Devo by any chance ??
03/09/2005, 12:44 PM
I just heard he didn't.... As i say, Roo69 is involved in the day to day running of the club so he'll know more...
LFC in Exile
04/09/2005, 1:56 PM
And devo didn't make aanything for the deal. All went to the club.
There's a first. An agent that doesn't make anything out of a transfer. ;)
04/09/2005, 2:04 PM
There's a first. An agent that doesn't make anything out of a transfer. ;)
Yeah ..... i'd say Devo is a real decent fella like that .... always thinking of the greater good !! .... Great man to have working in our league. :eek: :rolleyes:
Roverstillidie
04/09/2005, 2:26 PM
much as it pains me to agree with a cork man, this whole thing has stank for a while.
name me one manager anywhere in football who organises players transfers out of the club, potentially makes cash off it and can be considered to have the best interests of the club at heart?
are the seagull shaggers comfortable with this?
Comical, Devlin pays Zayed not to go to Pats, then gladly sells him on weeks later. Yeah, he made nothing from it alright :rolleyes:
04/09/2005, 4:06 PM
much as it pains me to agree with a cork man
But look at it this way ..... at least you are right this time !! :p
Still, you could see how they couldn't stand in his way. Going to one of the bottom teams in Norway is such a huge opporunity for Zayed :rolleyes: God, if he wanted a relegation battle he could have come to Pats. (Just thought I'd get in first with that :D )
Sam Savic
04/09/2005, 9:11 PM
Devlin is an authorised FIFA football agent. He is one of the few registered agents in this country. If Zayed is one of his registered players then he would be on a percentage of whatever Zayed makes. All the money from the rest of the deal would go to Bray.
Fair play to him. A very good deal for all as far as I'm concerned.
04/09/2005, 9:13 PM
Going to one of the bottom teams in Norway is such a huge opporunity for Zayed
Thing is ..... Devo, for all his whinging over the ten team league, got Bray up because it went back to twelve teams, then goes and sells their best player in a questionable move as regards Zayeds career (imo) ..... the guy is a parasite from what i can see. I really dont think he has the league interests at heart .... he is self-serving and that exactly NOT what any club can do with right now.
He is abusing his position !! :mad:
04/09/2005, 9:15 PM
A very good deal for all as far as I'm concerned.
I dont know about that !! :eek:
soccerc
04/09/2005, 9:21 PM
Devlin is an authorised FIFA football agent. He is one of the few registered agents in this country.
Sorry Sam but Devo is not a registered FIFA Agent. Ireland only has four,namely, Fintan Drury, Eamon McLoughlin, Mick Glynn and Mark Pinsent
Lads not one of you has a clue what this deal intailed what so ever so no point making yourselves sound stupid with saying stuff that has no truth in it what so ever.
This deal was done how all eL clubs should be doing there deals, not like the Cork/Doyle deal were Cork made themselves and the league look stupid.
Think its a good deal for Bray myself but surely he got some sort of comision for it?
05/09/2005, 9:14 AM
Lads not one of you has a clue what this deal intailed what so ever so no point making yourselves sound stupid with saying stuff that has no truth in it what so ever.
Just for the record, i was only commenting on what we know, obviously we dont know the full story but imo ..... it aint that good a deal. Although i would think that the Norwegian system is alot better organised that this one.
This deal was done how all eL clubs should be doing there deals, not like the Cork/Doyle deal were Cork made themselves and the league look stupid.
Tell me about it ..... The club were between a rock and a hard place, and similar to this situation, it was someone with their own self-serving interests that were the root of the problem. Everything else there after is only rubbing our faces in it.
I just hope the league/clubs are learning all these lessons and realise it is the hard way and address the situation. At this stage, people make out that having a proper youth policy in place for the league is a bad thing and its exactly what we need to have.
05/09/2005, 10:29 AM
It's got nothing to do with Kevin Doyle, no matter how many times you try to link the two. Reading is an improvement for Doyle, Alesund is a f*cking joke.
Your manager made money out of his player, by sending him to a two-bit club at the bottom of the Norwegian league.
Sums up what Devlin and your club think of this league: no ambition, no belief, just grab whatever money you can get.
The Doyle transfer happened because of a cluase in his contract. The Chairman has said will be no more clauses in any player contracts & he kept his word with new contract for George O'Callaghan.
If Bray got €50k from this deal that was good but if got €5k was pathetic deal. How much cash did Bray get.
You have to consider that Bray are only 2 games away from Cup Final & have lost their top forward.
05/09/2005, 11:15 AM
Sorry Sam but Devo is not a registered FIFA Agent.
I think the Duff move to Chelsea confused a lot of people who thought that Devo was his agent. He was merely an advisor. No doubt he got a nice cut for himself out of that too though.
He was merely an advisor. No doubt he got a nice cut for himself out of that too though.
He'd probably have to be registered to give himself the 'agent' title. Sayiong hes an "advisor" is probably a handy loophole.
much as it pains me to agree with a cork man, this whole thing has stank for a while.
name me one manager anywhere in football who organises players transfers out of the club, potentially makes cash off it and can be considered to have the best interests of the club at heart?
are the seagull shaggers comfortable with this?
agree, Devlin is a joke. Can't believe there isn't some rule against what he's doing :rolleyes:
LFC in Exile
05/09/2005, 2:19 PM
I think the Duff move to Chelsea confused a lot of people who thought that Devo was his agent. He was merely an advisor. No doubt he got a nice cut for himself out of that too though.
I am sure Devo cannot be an agent and a manager/involved financially with a club. There are huge potential conflicts of interest here. Hypothetically, a club may wish to hold onto a player but if the manager is his agent and he has a financial incentive to sell him...... It is inconcievable that a registered agent would at the same time be manager of a football team. Pat Devlin is not a registered agent. Does Zayed have an agent? May be first international transfer without one. :ball: It all stinks. But its bray's look-out. :ball:
There is no comparision between this deal and the Doyle transfer.
As Patsh said, Reading is a step up for Doyler (whether we like it or not, it is) but Zayed's move is a major step down and shows a lack of ambition on Bray's part and on the part of Zayed himself.
Doyle had that tool Don Givens advising him to move to England (he's now got Kearney saying tomorrows U21 match is his biggest of the season :rolleyes: ) and there was also a clause in his contract. There was nothing we could do to shut Givens up, Brian Lennox critisised him in his programme notes but it was basically out of our hands. In you situation, it is someone WITHIN your club that is advising Zayed. The manager of your team is actually trying to get rid of your best players. How can you find this acceptable?
Bray don't have someone throwing money into the club AFAIK. They are safe from the drop now, and €50,000 for 8 weeks of a players services is immense money to any team in this league, especially a "small" team with noone bankrolling them. After this time Zayed returns to Bray, or is sold for a price that will probably be far far higher than Doyle. There was talk of €1,000,000 before the loan took place, and with the club playing €50,000 for 8 weeks (as well as paying Zayed apparently 5 times what he is earning here!) they clearly can afford such an offer.
As far as I can see, it is a good business deal by Bray, designed to help ensure their financial survival in what is a cut-throat industry.
I agree with there being serious concerns over Devo's interests in all of this, but I don't think anyone can say that for Bray Wanderers FC this is a bad deal! It's nonsense to suggest otherwise!
€0.02
BrayZil
05/09/2005, 3:30 PM
Fully agreed Endai! The bottom line is Bray need the money. Plans have been put in place for the re development of the Carlisle. There are a lot of other things to take into account. Bills, wages, floodlights and the UEFA licence among other things all cost money. There’s no way Bray could have turned down €50k. Any other small club in Brays position would have done the same. The problem is we don’t have a major sponsor throwing money at us. We have limited resources at Bray and we are doing are best to improve facilities and make the ground look more attractive for investors to invest in the club.
I also know for a fact that Devo has taken no commission of Eamos deal!
05/09/2005, 4:31 PM
The manager of your team is actually trying to get rid of your best players. How can you find this acceptable?
As i said on a previous post, i'm livid about how it was done and we were not told till it was posted here... We all knew before alot of the players. Good money, but for fck sake. We're going for a place in europe through the cup and fighting relegation(although i'd say we're safe now after the Pats win). It's not on. I didn't like it.
05/09/2005, 4:33 PM
I agree with there being serious concerns over Devo's interests in all of this, but I don't think anyone can say that for Bray Wanderers FC this is a bad deal! It's nonsense to suggest otherwise!
Bray Wanderers AFC ;)
As i said on a previous post, i'm livid about how it was done and we were not told till it was posted here... We all knew before alot of the players. Good money, but for fck sake. We're going for a place in europe through the cup and fighting relegation(although i'd say we're safe now after the Pats win). It's not on. I didn't like it.
and this is the point.
Bray are in with a chance of a cup win = a place in Europe and Setanta cup.
Letting go their best player/top scorer and one of the best young players in our league for €50,000, while goodish money, has greatly lessened their chances of winning the cup and entry to the other competitions. It shows a total lack of belief and ambition. And don't say that Bray had no chance of winning the cup, why did they even bother to enter if they "knew" they couldn't win?
I really don't like the way Devo operates - being a scout and an eL manager is a clear conflict in my view.
However, this is a great deal for Bray.
1) €50k for an 8 week loan deal is brilliant money for Bray, whatever payoff Devo may or may not have got
2) A further €50k if he signs for them, €100k is great business
3) Perhaps most importantly, Zayed isn't actually that good, which makes it an even better deal. Pats valuation about right imo.
This is just Cork fans deflecting attention away from the Doyle deal imo. Sure, any club that is realistic is lacking ambition in their opinion. They're surely the last proponents of boom-bust economics in the eL....
1) it is actually more than 50k we have got
2) if he signs for them try adding a further 100k+ to the deal
3) he was only aloud leave if he signed a new contract with us, which he did before he left
4) Zayed wanted to go
5) Devo is not an agent, he is not aloud to be - this is an eL rule
6) no money went to him as a part of this deal
This is just Cork fans deflecting attention away from the Doyle deal imo. Sure, any club that is realistic is lacking ambition in their opinion. They're surely the last proponents of boom-bust economics in the eL....
Amazing deduction.
Cork fans talk about Zayed so that all other fans can bring up Doyle and thus we make sure we deflect attention away from the Doyle move which happened months ago and has been largely forgotten about. Fair play to you Macy, you caught us out there, we really needed a diversion to stop those constant threads about Kevin Doyle.
Maybe we should talk about the 2 or 300 hundred that showed up for a league game at Flancare Park instead. Maybe that will cunningly deflect attention away from today's Kevin Doyle thread.
06/09/2005, 9:15 AM
3) he was only aloud leave if he signed a new contract with us, which he did before he left
That was a smart move on ye're part I have to say but why would he do that if...
4) Zayed wanted to go
Does he want to stay or go? :confused:
When was his origional contract up?
Zayed went because of the money he is being offered. He is now on 5/6 times we was when he was at us.
Norway very expensive even compared with this country so his cash may not go as far as he thinks.
I thought he was still in college? :confused:
bigmac
06/09/2005, 3:42 PM
Norway very expensive even compared with this country so his cash may not go as far as he thinks.
Not that much more expensive now Pete. Alcohol and cigarettes are off the scale here but accommodation for example is definitely less than the Dublin area. 5 or 6 times what he's getting in Bray would be a big jump in salary.
Its only for 8 weeks anyways. People seem to be going on like he's gone for good!
I really don't like the way Devo operates - being a scout and an eL manager is a clear conflict in my view.
However, this is a great deal for Bray.
1) €50k for an 8 week loan deal is brilliant money for Bray, whatever payoff Devo may or may not have got
2) A further €50k if he signs for them, €100k is great business
3) Perhaps most importantly, Zayed isn't actually that good, which makes it an even better deal. Pats valuation about right imo.
exactly.
This is just Cork fans deflecting attention away from the Doyle deal imo. Sure, any club that is realistic is lacking ambition in their opinion. They're surely the last proponents of boom-bust economics in the eL.... :rolleyes: you just had to ruin it, didn't you? City fans never sought to deflect from the Doyle situation, City fans were very vocal in their criticism of the club over the deal. We're just not gonna go on about it for ever
[QUOTE=Macy]
3) Perhaps most importantly, Zayed isn't actually that good, which makes it an even better deal. Pats valuation about right imo.[QUOTE]
12 goals this season so far, 19 the season before and 22 the season before that, all with a very average side........
It's all subjective, and 2 of those seasons were in the first. He doesn't score enough of his chances to be really top class imo, and doesn't contribute enough off the ball to get away with that, again imo. Certainly not as good as Doyle, which is what makes the deal such good value for Bray.
exactly.
:rolleyes: you just had to ruin it, didn't you? City fans never sought to deflect from the Doyle situation, City fans were very vocal in their criticism of the club over the deal. We're just not gonna go on about it for ever
okay okay, but maybe you should tell some of your fellow fans that realism and good business doesn't necessarily equal a lack of ambition.
Strikers are rated on the amount of goals they score, Eamon scores no matter where he plays or what kind of form he is in. No i dont think Eamon is as good as Doyle, but that was there own doing in fairness, he should have went for a lot more