View Full Version : Season Tickets 2024
D24Saint
21/01/2024, 10:34 AM
Every away is a nightmare for us atm, emails sent to all members the week of the game , cue chaos as 3000 folk look for a maximum of a few hundred tickets. At least Richmond Pk has a big away section, but I’d be surprised if that continues as pats support grows .
I’m not sure if anything can be done with the current set up. I wouldn’t think the cops or FAI would allow us to have home and away fans in the shed end. The club could install a buffer area but not sure they will go down that road. The lack of toilets in that corner wouldn’t help. The current facilities in the ground are close to breaking point with the increase in attendances.
EatYerGreens
21/01/2024, 1:00 PM
Heard the Chief Operating Officer on radio today. Bohs membership has grown from 400 in 2011 to over 3000 now, and turnover is now over 4m, with nearly 2m or merchandise sales.
Thats a staggering figure and I assume that would mean Rovers must be closer to the 5m.
People poke fun at Bohs over their off pitch activities/focus. Biut this is evidence that it works, in terms of building a much broader support base within their community (and beyond).
I’m not sure if anything can be done with the current set up. I wouldn’t think the cops or FAI would allow us to have home and away fans in the shed end. The club could install a buffer area but not sure they will go down that road. The lack of toilets in that corner wouldn’t help. The current facilities in the ground are close to breaking point with the increase in attendances.
Hopefully the Council can be encouraged to get their finger out and give the revamp of Richmond the support that was promised. Progress is frustratingly slow. Still bugs me that the council blocked the clubs plans for St Michaels estate on the basis that they were to build their own housing there, which still hasn’t materialised.
I think I preferred the League of Ireland when I had it all to myself.
The last time I was at Lissywollen I had to queue for the jacks FFS! On previoius trips it felt like the toilets were a personal en-suite that came with your match ticket.
Down with this sort of thing. I preferred the obscurity and misery of the way things were before the league got popular.
“Maybe some of us prefer the misery” to quote Mrs Doyle !
MaxLL
22/01/2024, 12:28 PM
Hopefully the Council can be encouraged to get their finger out and give the revamp of Richmond the support that was promised. Progress is frustratingly slow. Still bugs me that the council blocked the clubs plans for St Michaels estate on the basis that they were to build their own housing there, which still hasn’t materialised.
I don't remember any quick builds. If it's something big, it can take several years to build. It's like that everywhere, it's normal.
D24Saint
22/01/2024, 3:00 PM
I don't remember any quick builds. If it's something big, it can take several years to build. It's like that everywhere, it's normal.
Any sort of info at this stage would be good. Its close to a year since the last update. I'm not looking for 3D models or anything, just that progress is being made.
The Irish Sun had the last tidbit of news in March 23.
Dublin City Council take first steps towards redeveloping Richmond Park - home of St Patrick's Athletic | The Irish Sun (thesun.ie) (https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/10359440/dublin-city-council-richmond-park-st-patricks-athletic/)
2 weeks to KO!
Waterford have only 12 season ticket seats left for the main stand - not sure what it holds, 1000 approx.
No further updates from others from what I can see. Would be nice to see how our prem div clubs are doing on this metric, absolutely crucial income source for a full time club.
Jack B
26/01/2024, 1:34 PM
No confirmed number from Pats, though they've said that next season the Main Stand will be season ticket only, which when you then factor in the Patrons and Camac should be a very healthy number. There was talk of 2700 having been passed back in December.
I think another Pats fan said it had hit 3000.
SPXcyan
26/01/2024, 2:14 PM
The main stand at the RSC holds approximately 1250 seats.
ger121
26/01/2024, 3:17 PM
Not at all, but a club with those resources finishing in the bottom half looks pretty daft to be fair
The only person happy is our bank manager.
ger121
26/01/2024, 3:19 PM
People poke fun at Bohs over their off pitch activities/focus. Biut this is evidence that it works, in terms of building a much broader support base within their community (and beyond).
I think it has moved to on our field activities.
Cheers, down to 7 left in Main Stand and good few on far side sold as well. I guess 1500 plus season tickets.
Just a few days left to start of season. Record season ticket sales being reported by Rovers, Pats, Shels, Galway . Bohs seem to have sold out season tickets, Waterford havents said its a record, but I would imagine it is. Cant fine updates on other pre clubs.
RealJohn91
11/02/2024, 5:52 PM
Just a few days left to start of season. Record season ticket sales being reported by Rovers, Pats, Shels, Galway . Bohs seem to have sold out season tickets, Waterford havents said its a record, but I would imagine it is. Cant fine updates on other pre clubs.
Bohs sell season tickets but everyone buys a membership instead. Think we were close to 3k sold along with whatever season tickets that have been sold too.
D24Saint
11/02/2024, 6:09 PM
I think another Pats fan said it had hit 3000.
Nothing official but there has certainly been talk that we have surpassed 3000. The ground is bursting at the seems these days. The council wouldn’t let us build the Richmond Arena so they should get their finger out on the Richmond Park refit.
legendz
12/02/2024, 6:56 AM
Richmond Park being the only LoI ground in the South Dublin City Council region should be receiving of more support from Dublin City Council.
Another Bohemia
12/02/2024, 7:48 AM
Richmond Park being the only LoI ground in the South Dublin City Council region should be receiving of more support from Dublin City Council.
I'd wager DCC want to get Dalymount approved and properly in progress before switching their focus to a privately owned stadium.
Dermobohs
14/02/2024, 6:18 PM
Bohs sell season tickets but everyone buys a membership instead. Think we were close to 3k sold along with whatever season tickets that have been sold too.
There are not many season tickets in the Jodi, we have 3000 members plus c 500 season tickets. Also about 200 match sale tickets.
Then there’s away team hospitality, about 25 I think. Add in sponsors and that’s a full house really.the new ground will be nice, also would allow a bigger away allocation to the likes of pats, rovers who give us a good 10% at least.
14/02/2024, 6:31 PM
Say New Dalymount was opening next season, 8k capacity, what would Bohs fans think the average gate would be? Is there room for growth in an 8k stadium or is a jump to near capacity very quickly realistic. I know there are years to develop up until a new place is opened but just in the near term - 4-5k would be very solid baseline average. Dublin Derby aside.
EatYerGreens
14/02/2024, 8:23 PM
Say New Dalymount was opening next season, 8k capacity, what would Bohs fans think the average gate would be? Is there room for growth in an 8k stadium or is a jump to near capacity very quickly realistic. I know there are years to develop up until a new place is opened but just in the near term - 4-5k would be very solid baseline average. Dublin Derby aside.
I'd bet my house that an 8k stadium will prove too limiting for Bohs within a decade.
14/02/2024, 8:31 PM
Will the new Dalymount have expansion capacity?
RealJohn91
14/02/2024, 8:38 PM
I'd bet my house that an 8k stadium will prove too limiting for Bohs within a decade.
Maybe but getting an average crowd of 6k let alone 7k or above would be transformational to a club like Bohs so that wouldn't be a bad place to be.
14/02/2024, 11:48 PM
Id expect so over a decade of growth, of all things Bohs have shown, pre recent league growth, an ability to build attendances from about 1500 to 3k without winning anything but id be interested in guesstimate, projection, ecpectation of current or near term membership/season tickets and even just matchnight type numbers - if 8k capacity existed near term.
Shinkicker
15/02/2024, 4:37 AM
Initially they will fill it, people coming out of curiosity to see what they are getting etc and Bohs will out grow it in 10 years, but if there is success in the early years of the new stadium it will be out grown in less than 10yrs. I've said on here before, I hope it has the facility to expand. I still think they should have left the orientation as it is and took the 10k option, but hey who am I, I'm only a humble bottlewasher.
sbgawa
15/02/2024, 9:17 AM
Interestingly season ticket sales fell when Rovers built the East stand as people knew there would never be a problem getting tickets. Bohs may see the same thing as sometimes scarcity helps with demand. Fomo.
It's a big jump from 3k to 8k and I expect rovers average attendance this year to be way less then 8k which was the old capacity. Maybe I'm wrong but I think with the odd exception crowds of 6 to 7000 in loi are still pretty strong
Another Bohemia
15/02/2024, 9:53 AM
It'll be interesting to see how the 8k capacity works for Bohs. I don't think there is additional room for expansion but you are doubling the current capacity. There will be an uptick initially but holding onto that long term and throughout the season is the challenge. I'm not sure it will take a decade to outgrow it tbh probably closer to two. Sure I don't think Rovers had outgrown Tallaght even before the addition of the new stand and Rovers have been playing there for 14 or 15 years now.
D24Saint
15/02/2024, 11:02 AM
The general public laughed at the Richmond Arena plans when the first were revealed. It was said that a LOI ground with 12k capacity was ludicrous. It’s amazing to see how far we have come in only a few short years.
Buller
15/02/2024, 11:53 AM
Maybe but getting an average crowd of 6k let alone 7k or above would be transformational to a club like Bohs so that wouldn't be a bad place to be.
You get a taste though and you just want more and more
Interestingly season ticket sales fell when Rovers built the East stand as people knew there would never be a problem getting tickets. Bohs may see the same thing as sometimes scarcity helps with demand. Fomo.
It's a big jump from 3k to 8k and I expect rovers average attendance this year to be way less then 8k which was the old capacity. Maybe I'm wrong but I think with the odd exception crowds of 6 to 7000 in loi are still pretty strong
Last season Rovers passed 6k average, that rose from 5k+, and 3k+ the previous years, so I'd say club would be delighted to grow a small bit again this year, which a couple of bumper gates will help.
15/02/2024, 11:06 PM
This is what Im getting at, I think. FOMO plays a part of things with restricted capacity but in general what is the current actual demand if there wasnt restriction. People buy season tickets and/or membership to avoid the scramble for tickets, if there is no scramble then membership or season teickets can take a hit. People can be more selective with the games they want to see and a club doesnt have lower profile games covered by season tiicket absentees. How much can Bohs grow support over the next 6 (minimum imo) years with a ground caacity of 3k? Maybe there is a golf club style waiting list for membership but that can cause an elitist mentality and a kickback, there have already been rumblings here of unfair allocation of limited tickets. Its certainly not a criticism, its a great place to be working from when a few years ago 1500 was more like the demand. But if Dalymount opened in the early years of the 2030, so 6 years there needs to be roughly 2.5 fold increase in demand to need to look at Dalymount capacity again. That would be unprecedented growth for any club anywhere. I dont think LoI crowds will totally fall back to pre pandemic levels but I dont think we can say that recent demand is bedded in forever either - Rovers title wins will create its own surge that could fall back if not winning the league so its a partial indiator of potential demand at best. If Bohs were able to say that current demand is steady at 5k currently, based on waiting lists or enquiries for weekly tickets then for yes 8k could already be a low capacity figure but if not then the 8k may not be far off what is needed bar the odd bumper gate and that in itself is a good thing again. The ability to expand without undoing a recent redevelopment should be factored in as a no brainer but....
thebronze14
16/02/2024, 8:48 AM
Maybe we are hitting the peak attendance wise though. 8k is more than big enough for Bohs imo
culloty82
17/02/2024, 1:36 PM
Looking at Kerry's website, all but 70 seats in Kerry's main stand have been sold, which, if accurate, would mean 400+ season tickets sold in all. Of course, in practice, many of the seats in less than ideal areas would have been taken out of circulation by the club themselves, but then terrace season tickets which were bought also have to be added to the mix.
ger121
14/03/2024, 11:57 AM
Not season ticket related but would any of the Bohs lads on here know anyone who is looking to sell a Jodi ticket for the rearranged Dundalk game on Monday 15th April.
Thread bump!
Rovers heading for 3250 ST for next season - last season finished up about 4200.
Any word on how other clubs ST sales are going?
07/01/2025, 12:27 PM
I think a few people might be interested in this. Just stuck it in this thread because ticket prices are a significant part of it. But with the FA possibly cracking down on on financial breaches by big hitters, and the possibility of a domino effect down the leagues where losses will eventually come to a head, could this add to the growth in LoI, improved quality with being able to retain players longer as say L2 smaller clubs struggle and generally may seem less attractive. More likely that we will become a focus again for bargain buys and a punt will be taken on even average LoI performers, can this be countered eg working in some way to make sure that transfer fees are not nominal - Premier League clubs collectively insisting on minimum player values, is it even possible, loaded add-on, anything that can off-set being ripped off as per the general norm. We've seen some proper transfer fees happening but still is an area that needs growth, along with seeking TV deal of course. TV revenue is peaking for other leagues but any deal here is growth and there are a lot more TV platforms that could have a go on the cheap (there could be viewership potential outside of Ireland during summer months especially, controversial but if tied to a Boylesports type partnership?). Crowd growth and wider stadium development on the horizon - can we kick on again with the FAI on the above issues that could derail things or can we continue to make hay. Not particularly expecting any answers to the above as they have been well discussed over the years but in the context of the English game due a financial reset below EPL well it could be interesting. If American owners do push ticket prices to hundreds of £ well the GLITW could develop a cult following. Have a watch football nerds..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Slep7QNKE8
EatYerGreens
07/01/2025, 4:57 PM
I think a few people might be interested in this. Just stuck it in this thread because ticket prices are a significant part of it. But with the FA possibly cracking down on on financial breaches by big hitters, and the possibility of a domino effect down the leagues where losses will eventually come to a head, could this add to the growth in LoI, improved quality with being able to retain players longer as say L2 smaller clubs struggle and generally may seem less attractive. More likely that we will become a focus again for bargain buys and a punt will be taken on even average LoI performers, can this be countered eg working in some way to make sure that transfer fees are not nominal - Premier League clubs collectively insisting on minimum player values, is it even possible, loaded add-on, anything that can off-set being ripped off as per the general norm. We've seen some proper transfer fees happening but still is an area that needs growth, along with seeking TV deal of course. TV revenue is peaking for other leagues but any deal here is growth and there are a lot more TV platforms that could have a go on the cheap (there could be viewership potential outside of Ireland during summer months especially, controversial but if tied to a Boylesports type partnership?). Crowd growth and wider stadium development on the horizon - can we kick on again with the FAI on the above issues that could derail things or can we continue to make hay. Not particularly expecting any answers to the above as they have been well discussed over the years but in the context of the English game due a financial reset below EPL well it could be interesting. If American owners do push ticket prices to hundreds of £ well the GLITW could develop a cult following. Have a watch football nerds..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Slep7QNKE8
I was at a National League South game in England before Christmas. The agreed league-wide ticket price there for adults is £18. That's for Level 6 in England, and a standard that I can assure you is nowhere near the LOI PD.
I was at a Hamilton Academical game a couple of months ago - Tier 2 in Scotland, and a fairly unglamorous club - and it was £20 for adults. Dunfermline Athletic (also Tier 2) is £22-24, depending on what stand you go for. Kelty Hearts - Tier 3 Scotland, and an exceedingly unglamorous club in a small village who were non-league forever until a couple of years ago - is £16 for adults.
So I think our pricing in the LOI is about right. The prices they charge over in Britain are just shocking really, at all levels :eek:
07/01/2025, 7:04 PM
I was at a National League South game in England before Christmas. The agreed league-wide ticket price there for adults is £18. That's for Level 6 in England, and a standard that I can assure you is nowhere near the LOI PD.
I was at a Hamilton Academical game a couple of months ago - Tier 2 in Scotland, and a fairly unglamorous club - and it was £20 for adults. Dunfermline Athletic (also Tier 2) is £22-24, depending on what stand you go for. Kelty Hearts - Tier 3 Scotland, and an exceedingly unglamorous club in a small village who were non-league forever until a couple of years ago - is £16 for adults.
So I think our pricing in the LOI is about right. The prices they charge over in Britain are just shocking really, at all levels :eek:
Were you scouting players for Dundalk by any chance....
EatYerGreens
08/01/2025, 12:19 AM
Were you scouting players for Dundalk by any chance....
I couldn't possibly comment
08/01/2025, 1:37 PM
Aye I went to Alloa v Falkirk a few years back and it was a ridiculous price in for sh*te football on a sh*te astro.
EatYerGreens
08/01/2025, 10:24 PM
Aye I went to Alloa v Falkirk a few years back and it was a ridiculous price in for sh*te football on a sh*te astro.
Plus if you're at a game there anytime between November and February it's usually feckin' Baltic :D
Nights like tonight make me super-grateful that we've now got a Summer league.
09/01/2025, 2:36 PM
Maybe some marketing across the water is needed, football trip to Ireland for less than the ticket to a EPL game or even some lower levels....
cláirseach
09/01/2025, 4:18 PM
I like the idea but the auld hotel prices might let us down a bit there Nesta.
EatYerGreens
09/01/2025, 10:22 PM
I like the idea but the auld hotel prices might let us down a bit there Nesta.
Plus a lot of them would be like "Why would I want to go and watch that shiite?"
Though there is a sizeable group of Groundhoppers in Britain these days, and a targetted effort could probably be made to get more of them over to watch LOI games.
10/01/2025, 1:12 PM
Plus a lot of them would be like "Why would I want to go and watch that shiite?"
Though there is a sizeable group of Groundhoppers in Britain these days, and a targetted effort could probably be made to get more of them over to watch LOI games.
You spent too much time with barstoolers over Christmas. And yup there are other costs involved but while my suggestion was slightly tongue in cheek, between groundhoppers, stag trips, weekend trips, even day trippers, Its not totally mad to market the league outside of Ireland. A bit premature until grounds improve but there is less likely to be 'this is ****e' in football terms from people in England - few pints, live football with atmosphere and they'd be grand.
EalingGreen
10/01/2025, 3:02 PM
You spent too much time with barstoolers over Christmas. And yup there are other costs involved but while my suggestion was slightly tongue in cheek, between groundhoppers, stag trips, weekend trips, even day trippers, Its not totally mad to market the league outside of Ireland. A bit premature until grounds improve but there is less likely to be 'this is ****e' in football terms from people in England - few pints, live football with atmosphere and they'd be grand.Agree with your general premise that the LOI could/should appeal to Groundhoppers and weekenders etc (esp Dublin clubs), but it probably overlooks one significant drawback, namely that such people have hundreds of other non-league alternatives in GB to give them their "fix" once they've exhausted the 92. (I say "GB", since we shouldn't overlook Scotland, with its long footballing tradition, Wales too).
And that's before we consider that much of the Continent is just as accessible from GB as ROI, with better weather and cheaper beer too!
As regards your stadium point, agree that that too is a drawback for many.
That said, just as Trainspotters get nostalgic for steam, with diesel or electric just not cutting it, for the extreme wing of the Groundhopper movement, it can somehow be more of an attraction if the ground they're visiting is, er, atmospheric (i.e. old and decrepit)! :D
One of the most famous examples is my very own The Oval, which now organises formal tours for visitors from all over Europe, who are determined to see it before it gets knocked down. Or falls down.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49811389
https://theblizzard.co.uk/the-oval/news/
And this guy, who is probably England's best-known Groundhopper, has a few videos on YouTube, eg:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n95UOa_8hFU
Late Edit: the guy above has also done videos for LOI - Dublin and Derry etc - just search on YouTube.
2 Year Contract
10/01/2025, 3:40 PM
Yeah the whole ‘football tourist’ thing already exists within the league. There’s constantly UK YouTubers at grounds here throughout the year and particularly in the summer when there’s no football to watch at home for them. Stags, tourists from all over Europe (generally Holland, Germany and Italy are the languages I’ve heard on the Camac). It’s been the case for a good few years now
10/01/2025, 3:50 PM
That said, just as Trainspotters get nostalgic for steam, with diesel or electric just not cutting it, for the extreme wing of the Groundhopper movement, it can somehow be more of an attraction if the ground they're visiting is, er, atmospheric (i.e. old and decrepit)! :D
One of the most famous examples is my very own The Oval, which now organises formal tours for visitors from all over Europe, who are determined to see it before it gets knocked down. Or falls down.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-49811389
https://theblizzard.co.uk/the-oval/news/
And this guy, who is probably England's best-known Groundhopper, has a few videos on YouTube, eg:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n95UOa_8hFU
Late Edit: the guy above has also done videos for LOI - Dublin and Derry etc - just search on YouTube.
On this specific point EG, I've always had a quiet grá for the Glens. The colours, the cockerel on the crest and, of course the Oval. And that they weren't the Blues either made it more acceptable to the inner monalogue I suppose.
I ventured up to Belfast last year on a Sunday morning, unplanned. Wasn't the cleverest idea, coinciding with a Belfast marathon, but wanted to see the Oval. Walked out from Langdon Station and found access to the ground open and took a wander. It's as beautiful as you could hope for and I still cannot fathom (much like Dalyer) why investment wasn't made to make it a modern version of that old continental style football ground.
As I was walking away the club S&C officer enquired wtf I was doing and when I told him, he couldn't have been nicer and gave me the grand tour - a really really nice memory and photos to look back on in years to come.
10/01/2025, 5:47 PM
Some influential influencers and suddenly Oriel Park is a must visit for its old 80's charm! I suppose Im just saying that its mad that it isnt a completely mad idea to market the league even if its a part of a package for a stag weekend, someone who dedicates time to helping to organise things for ground hoppers who then publicise their experience for nothing to some pretty big numbers of subscribers at times. Mad that it could be an easier job to market and attract people from abroad than in Ireland itself who moan about some longs balls or sloppy passing when they've had a ball in the crowd, experience the matchnight atmosphere with beers in club bars or with fans before and after games. If someone had the head for it and drive it wouldnt be totally bonkers to try. Im not sure we'd be saying that a few years ago either!!
11/01/2025, 10:33 AM
I'm going to the Oval next Saturday for the first time, for their game against Larne. Really looking forward to ticking it off my list.