Cork/Harps vs Sligo

Bray vs UCD/Longford

Drogs vs Wayside/Bohs

29/08/2005, 5:27 PM
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=28830

29/08/2005, 5:28 PM
Hmmmm. Decent enough for UCD (should we get through). We avoid Derry and Cork and although it's away it's a close tie.

Speranza
29/08/2005, 5:30 PM
Rovers beat us earlier this season but I'm confident enough of us beating anyone at fortress brandywell. Still on for a City vs Cork final, now that would be some occasion!

29/08/2005, 5:36 PM
Rovers beat us earlier this season but I'm confident enough of us beating anyone at fortress brandywell. Still on for a City vs Cork final, now that would be some occasion!

I'm hoping for a Cork v Derry semi with us sneaking into the final to face one of you already guaranteed a European spot due to both of you having qualified. :D

coislaoi
29/08/2005, 5:40 PM
City vs Rovers

Cork vs Sligo

Bray vs UCD/Longford

Drogs vs Wayside/Bohs

Eh, hello..... We have to play Harps tonight. :eek:

Speranza
29/08/2005, 5:43 PM
Who? nah only messing my mistake! Expect Cork to win but could bare those minnows winning so we could meet them or our other north-west inferiors Sligo later on. ;)

hoopy
29/08/2005, 5:44 PM

I love the 'confidence'. No pressure on Rovers whatsoever. Bring it on

29/08/2005, 5:45 PM
Come on the City v City cup final :)

Just don't **** it up tonight Cork

29/08/2005, 5:47 PM
I love the 'confidence'. No pressure on Rovers whatsoever. Bring it on

Sure ye lads are the cup "specialists", theres loads of pressure on ye!!! :rolleyes:

29/08/2005, 5:47 PM
Am I right in thinking that third would get a UEFA and fourth could get an Inter Two Bob spot if Cork and Derry meet in the final presuming they're first and second? Of course, we're going to win it again but it would be nice to have some backup plans!

29/08/2005, 5:48 PM
Am I right in thinking that third would get a UEFA and fourth could get an Inter Two Bob spot if Cork and Derry meet in the final presuming they're first and second? Of course, we're going to win it again but it would be nice to have some backup plans!

That would be the case, yeah.

Sam Savic
29/08/2005, 5:51 PM
I was hoping for an away match against Cark but Derry is second best. A few bob in it for Rovers and a decent chance of a semi final place after a replay.
Gift.

29/08/2005, 6:01 PM
Of course, we're going to win it again but it would be nice to have some backup plans!

Aye. Just like you were gonna win the League Cup again.... :p ;)

29/08/2005, 6:03 PM
If TG4 are looking to show 2 of the Quarters live then it has to be the Derry and Drogs games.

If only one, then I'd say the City-Rovers game...

29/08/2005, 6:04 PM
:( .We'll have our revenge on ye yet although to be fair ye are due a few results aginst us given that ye'd won 1 in 17 or so before this season and never at the Randy Brandy since we'd come up.

fbtn
29/08/2005, 6:17 PM
Massive incentive for Harps now too. If we can get a result against Cork - stranger things have happened and we've knocked them out not that long ago in quarters after drawing in Turners Cross.

A Sligo side that is going well in the First Division will bring big away support for the quarters.

29/08/2005, 6:31 PM
If only one, then I'd say the City-Rovers game...Yeah, Cork and Sligo that is ;) :D

Da Real Rover
29/08/2005, 9:44 PM
Massive incentive for Harps now too. If we can get a result against Cork - stranger things have happened and we've knocked them out not that long ago in quarters after drawing in Turners Cross.

A Sligo side that is going well in the First Division will bring big away support for the quarters.
Id love it against harps, the cup quarters and the rivalry, brilliant. So dont fu[k up in balleybuff. This will be one of those few times we'll be cheering for ya.

29/08/2005, 10:21 PM
Hmmmm. Decent enough for UCD (should we get through). We avoid Derry and Cork and although it's away it's a close tie.
Don't be too confident. You're not even there yet!!

It was the draw I wanted cos I think it's one we can win. It should be a good one and thankfully there won't be too many away supporters so more decisions should go our way.

29/08/2005, 11:39 PM
good to see alan bennett dismissing harps&us after the draw&getting burned with a nice nil all within hours. c*cky langers could win nothin yet&should they beat harps they'll get a surprise from us in 4 weeks

RedX
30/08/2005, 12:09 AM
good to see alan bennett dismissing harps&us after the draw&getting burned with a nice nil all within hours. c*cky langers could win nothin yet&should they beat harps they'll get a surprise from us in 4 weeks

Surprise...go away you clown...Sligo are at best average..if City beat Harps Sligo were the next best draw to Wayside in the next round...dont be getting ahead of yourself because you lead a truly terrible division lightyears away from the BIG clubs... ;)

hoopy
30/08/2005, 6:39 AM

Have Cork now taken the place of SRFC(the proper SRFC that is) as the side Sligo would most like to beat?

30/08/2005, 8:29 AM

How did he dismiss Harps and Sligo? I saw the interview and don't remember that at all.

Something along the lines of "if we beat Harps it's good to have a home draw in the next round" is what I think he said.

Da Real Rover
30/08/2005, 8:33 AM
Surprise...go away you clown...Sligo are at best average..if City beat Harps Sligo were the next best draw to Wayside in the next round...dont be getting ahead of yourself because you lead a truly terrible division lightyears away from the BIG clubs... ;)
Last year all yee moaned and cribbed about was shels and there cocky fans and how the whole world is conspiring against yee cause Oily is passing out envelopes like there going out of fashion. Jaysus its nice to see how the tables have swung, no longer are shels the smug b@stards its now the [awk boys. I would a loved ta see yee win the league but im sure im not the only one in saying that the type of [awk fan here puts a sour taste in your mouth. And when your ready to climb out of your own arse, realise that we have already knocked 2 premier division teams out and one of them was against our under 21 team, big clubs, your havin a laugh.

30/08/2005, 10:47 AM

What division were UCD in last season when we dumped you out of the cup? :confused:

1 9 2 8
30/08/2005, 6:23 PM
If Cork are still in Europe when we play them I think we'll have a chance of beating them. Some of there players are complaining about to many games together. If Harps beat Cork we'll but out our U21's again and still beat them :D

30/08/2005, 9:32 PM

3 in a row indeed. :rolleyes:

RedX
30/08/2005, 10:22 PM
Cork City FC are by far the biggest and best team in the league..we are better than everyone..we have bigger crowds for our games and we have the most traveling fans..we play the best football in the league and have the best players for it..our 2nd team would win the 1st team without breaking sweat..thats how good we are..we are showing the way forward to any team in the country willing to take our lead and copy us... :D

And on top of that lads...some of you lads are a joke..i thought a few of you would have more inteligence(especially you college boy)to spot being wound up..i have clearly said in a recent thread that it would be great to see Sligo get promoted as the premier needs clubs like them..so open your eyes lads and dont be such angry boys..and Sligo fans..just to note...dont become twits like most Longford fans before you even get promoted... :eek:

30/08/2005, 10:27 PM
Cork City FC are by far the biggest and best team in the league..we are better than everyone..we have bigger crowds for our games and we have the most traveling fans..we play the best football in the league and have the best players for it..our 2nd team would win the 1st team without breaking sweat..thats how good we are..we are showing the way forward to any team in the country willing to take our lead and copy us

Spot on RedX, can't argue with any of that!!

30/08/2005, 10:31 PM
Cork City FC are by far the biggest and best team in the league..we are better than everyone..we have bigger crowds for our games and we have the most traveling fans..we play the best football in the league and have the best players for it..our 2nd team would win the 1st team without breaking sweat..thats how good we are..we are showing the way forward to any team in the country willing to take our lead and copy us... :D

Wow so ye haven't even brought out the big guns yet? :eek:

30/08/2005, 10:32 PM
Bray V UCD..... A Cup Quarter-final that both teams would want as these Derby games are usually well attended.

RedX
30/08/2005, 10:44 PM
Wow so ye haven't even brought out the big guns yet? :eek:

We are saving some of them for your visit to the X later in the season... :rolleyes:

30/08/2005, 10:58 PM
We are saving some of them for your visit to the X later in the season... :rolleyes:

Ye're Second team lived up to their name coming 2ND last season in the Dr Tony O'Neill Cup as I recall :D

Student Mullet
31/08/2005, 12:44 AM
our 2nd team would win the 1st team without breaking sweat..thats how good we areWhat CTID said.

31/08/2005, 8:06 AM
Where did Benno "dismiss" you lot?

31/08/2005, 8:09 AM
Now, now boy. Calm down like. Sure aren't we from the real capital. The big smoke NOT the big choke.

Sure don't we play the most attractive Total football in de league like. Sure didn't 'Flynnie :p ' and 'Fennie :p ' do us proud again last night. Just you wait boy.
Ah, the poor midtable mediocrity is still obessesed with us.
How touching.....
Plucky little Longford might even get up to 4th in the table this season.
What a year for them, FANTASTIC!

31/08/2005, 8:12 AM
Bray V UCD..... A Cup Quarter-final that both teams would want as these Derby games are usually well attended.
UCD must have a great chance of a semi-final spot, with Zayed gone, Bray are a much lesser team.
UCD for a cup double?

31/08/2005, 11:09 AM
Not this derby anyway......

It will be a good game cos both teams have a strong belief they can get to the Semis.

Redzer
31/08/2005, 11:37 AM
This season Cork are leading the way. They are top on merit. But, I don’t know how they will react with Derry now breathing down their necks. I would guess the replay in Ballybofey is the last thing they wanted.
Ourselves and D.C. are showing the way in the 1st Div. Been honest, we are top at the moment by a lot of good luck. We went through a bad patch, and the rest did not take advantage. I hope that spell is behind us and we can go on and win promotion.
The gulf between Cork and ourselves is enormous. We know that. We did well against Pats, but I cannot see Cork (if they progress) with their vast amount of talent allowing us as much of the ball as we had against Pats.
But, as the saying goes “ the cup is the cup” and anything can happen. If we play Cork, it is possible Damien could rest some players and with the rub of the green, we could snatch a goal. Upsets have happened before and will again.
I think the last time we met Cork at the Cross, in the cup, they beat us 2-0. It’s a good few years ago.
I’d be optimistic that we would give Cork a very good competitive game. But, from what I have seen of Cork this season, they are out of our league. I dont think we would play like Finn Harps did, I think Sean would go for it and see what happens.

dortie
31/08/2005, 11:42 AM
Roddy Collins just blew Rovers 'no pressure' fixation with his stupid remarks in the press, saying he had no doubts of a win and how he never lost in the Brandywell which is rubbish, mmmm, manager of Bohs when Jamie Hughes scored the winner for us.

Da Real Rover
31/08/2005, 11:59 AM

And on top of that lads...some of you lads are a joke..i thought a few of you would have more inteligence(especially you college boy)to spot being wound up..i have clearly said in a recent thread that it would be great to see Sligo get promoted as the premier needs clubs like them..so open your eyes lads and dont be such angry boys..and Sligo fans..just to note...dont become twits like most Longford fans before you even get promoted... :eek:
You [awk lads have really got to look beyond yourselves, WOW your top of the table, so that dont make you a massive club, yee play the best football in your division, so we play the best football in our division but that dont make us a massive club, and your on a run in the cup, europe and the league and you think its an achievement getting 6000 or so fans in the x. Our last glory year was 94 and we won the cup and the First divison, yes the graveyard but you know something we still got crowds up on 7000, does that make us a massive club, no. Also the poplutation of Cork is in the hundred of thousands sligos is 20000. Ahh sure im only winding ya up ;)

Roverstillidie
31/08/2005, 2:02 PM
have the most traveling fans..

:D :D

thats just mental.

wait a few years until the locals lose interest AGAIN and you are back to where you were 10 years ago, ie nowhere.

one good season and they think they are 70's brazil. you havent won anything yet langers.

Wiseguy
31/08/2005, 3:31 PM
:D :D

thats just mental.

wait a few years until the locals lose interest AGAIN and you are back to where you were 10 years ago, ie nowhere.

one good season and they think they are 70's brazil. you havent won anything yet langers.

The way i see it is we wouldn't have a league without Cork.Now that they are kings of Europe and the finest footballing team ever to grace the league with the greatest ever fans and the most amazing ground they should release a DVD all about their success of the past few years......i just remembered they have won nothing for a long time now.

Roverstillidie
31/08/2005, 3:59 PM
its actually quite frustrating reading this.
even as a die hard hoop i appreciate the need for (cliche) provencial teams to be strong.
but some of the inane gabage from the c awk fans actually irritates me so much i now hope they fail. and then the mods come in to close any row they lose.
im officially cheering for derry in the league.
i would say that ca wk are bad winners, but they have yet to actually win anything.

Wiseguy
31/08/2005, 4:13 PM
its actually quite frustrating reading this.
even as a die hard hoop i appreciate the need for (cliche) provencial teams to be strong.
but some of the inane gabage from the c awk fans actually irritates me so much i now hope they fail. and then the mods come in to close any row they lose.
im officially cheering for derry in the league.
i would say that ca wk are bad winners, but they have yet to actually win anything.

LOL So many people feel the same it's unreal.Even if they do win it Rico will have won it with Pat Dolan's team.I always rooted for Cork but some of their fans are so arrogant it's put me right off them.Credit where credit is due they have been fantastic so far this season but so have Derry and i don't see Derry fans on here spouting crap about who are the best team in the league.Derry are team of the season because they have come from along way back to get where they are.

31/08/2005, 4:33 PM
The jealousy on here is unreal.

We are top of the league, the only Irish team left in Europe (take note small club Longford fans), by far biggest crowds, biggest and best away support (only Rovers come even a little bit close). We have every right to be blowing our own trumpet at the moment.

Maybe ye should all try sorting out the mess your own clubs are in (Rovers fans exempt here, they actually give a sh!t) before ye start begrudging us our status.

31/08/2005, 4:35 PM
Even if they do win it Rico will have won it with Pat Dolan's team.

You're really clutching at straws now bitter small club boy!

Pat Dolan built the team, Rico is now doing a great job with it. So what? It's still a Cork City team and we're still top of the league.
I really fail to see the point you are trying to make?

Speranza
31/08/2005, 4:57 PM
Are you taking the ****? Cork fans are starting to sound like $hels lads when they spout their pompous ****. Your claim of jealousy goes out the window as there is no dislike of City on here despite us being only 3 points behind you and after giving you's a good beating a few weeks ago. Get real there is no reason to be jealous of Cork!

31/08/2005, 5:01 PM
Are you taking the ****? Cork fans are starting to sound like $hels lads when they spout their pompous ****. Your claim of jealousy goes out the window as there is no dislike of City on here despite us being only 3 points behind you and after giving you's a good beating a few weeks ago. Get real there is no reason to be jealous of Cork!

There's no jealousy whatsoever coming from Derry fans. I think there is a mutual respect between the Rebel Army and the Derry fans.

However, what I am referring to is the rubbish being spouted by a couple of Rovers fans and in particluar by a few fans of small little Longford.