View Full Version : F.A.I Cup Quarter Final
Speranza
31/08/2005, 5:24 PM
The Longford lads appear to be bona fide WUM's and the Rover's fans bitter that they aren't the colossus they used to be. Don't think anyone else is jealous though.
It's a pity some many small club fans tyake everything so seriously.
Of course, years of wandering homeless or being subjected to aimless hoofball tends to rob you of whatever little bit of humour you might have possessed in the first place......
31/08/2005, 7:16 PM
Maybe ye should all try sorting out the mess your own clubs are in (Rovers fans exempt here, they actually give a sh!t) before ye start begrudging us our status.
If we're in a "mess" at the minute, then I for one am happy to wallow in it.
Lets wait to the end of the season before we start talking about begruding status, there's a lot of football to be played yet.
31/08/2005, 7:29 PM
Not this derby anyway......
It will be a good game cos both teams have a strong belief they can get to the Semis.
SOme our best First Division League Crowds historically have been against Bray.(The home game with Derry in December 1986 excepted of course which was THE biggest crowd ever in Belfield Park)
If we're in a "mess" at the minute, then I for one am happy to wallow in it.
I'll say again that I was definately NOT referring to Derry City.
I came on here to post last night to say i was CLEARLY winding a Sligo fan up...still 24 hrs later and i read all the very serious messages saying Cork City fans are this and that...do i have to explain myself AGAIN..surprised to see some Derry fans taking it so serious considering the great time our fans shared recently after Derry WON our league game..FFS lads grow up...
P.S looking forward to tomorrow nights posts already... :D
One red army..you took one word out of Colms post and thought he was criticising Derry when its clear to see he was not..chill out.. :confused:
Cop on...what could i say about someone that is seriously JEALOUS of Cork City FC..your posts over the last few months talk more about our club than your own.. ;)
Speranza...your comments are well over the top..no-one here ever mentioned Derry as being jealous of anyone... :confused:
And the the Rovers fan/s..for you to be cheering for Derry over us makes me truly very very sad... :D
One thing Red X Cork do not have a good traveling support !
That was a huge game against Derry in the Brandwell !
How many did you boys bring 100 i say just about max !
I like to hear fro some of the Derry fans on this one
And a few hundred to Sweden the week before that, a few hundred to Lithuania, and a few hundred to every league game every second week.
Fair pay to you though, nothing that comes near to the massive travelling dozen from Sligo....:D
One thing Red X Cork do not have a good traveling support !
That's one of the most hilarious things someone has come out with on here in a while!
Cork City easily have the BEST travelling support in the league. We bring 200-300 to every game in Dublin. We always have 1000 or so in Waterford. We've brought 300 to Galway this season, 150 to Derry and Harps. 200+ to Lithuania and Sweden. We'll have 500+ in Prague.
No club apart from Rovers has brought even 100 to Turners Cross this season yet we seem to be able to bring big numbers away with us every second week.
But sure don't let the facts get in the way of your jealousy!
City don't travel to Sligo very much, we are after all, and always have been a top division club.
But you get back to your abacus, some day you might learn to use it properly.....:p
btw, I really hope you lot come up, I would much prefer to be going up to the Showgrounds again, rather than wherever CHFDCFC will be playing nxt year.
Sorry Colm i have never seen you boys with more than a handful of fans up in Sligo and on TV the other night against Derry i would think 150 is being very generous i would have said 100 max and that was for your domestic and the league's biggest game of the season ! I remember on two occasion a few years back that you brought about four fans for a big cup game in Sligo a year i think after winning the league (the year you Played Galatasary in Europe) and the other was a league game when the sligo fans clapped Cork off the field you had tops 20 at that tops !
We will see how many you bring up to ballybofey on saturday night but i would be very surprised wiyth 100+ !
Cork Have always had good support when they played in the Turners cross but away from there, sorry Derry would be streets ahead of you boys ! Streets
Not being Jealous your having a very good season just stating my view have been a eircom league fan all my life (league actually existed Pre 1984 :D ) have been to most grounds so i would like to think that my view is both respected and somewhat informative but always open for debate !
I don't doubt what you are saying at all but the examples you're giving are very very out of date.
I will admit that up until 3 or 4 years ago our away support was poor, very poor in fact but it's grown ever since and in the past 2 years we have shown that we have the best away support in the league. Rovers and Derry are also good but everyone else's travelling numbers are pathetic quite frankly.
02/09/2005, 10:57 PM
A few Hundred to Sweden a Few Hundred to Lithuania really hmmmm !!!!!
Excellent and you could not even bring a few hundred to Derry ! Classbecause most people were only just back from Sweden and couldn't afford more time off work, thats why!
AIf that same game was in played in the Cross Derry would easily have brought a far far biggert crowd !
wouldn't bet on it.
I have never seen amore than a handful of [ark fans in the showgrounds !Our away support was, to put it mildly, absolutely pathetic until about 3 years ago. Its grown every year since then to the extent that it is IMO as good as anyone else in the league. You wouldn't have seen a decent City support at the Showgrounds, because last time you lot were in the Premier, was before our away support started improving. Easy to understand why you have that impression, but we'll put ya right next season ;)
02/09/2005, 11:28 PM
Rovers and Derry are also good but everyone else's travelling numbers are pathetic quite frankly.You can hardly call our away support pathetic :mad:. We always bring a good crowd regardless of the location ;).
coislaoi
03/09/2005, 12:54 AM
You can hardly call our away support pathetic :mad:. We always bring a good crowd regardless of the location ;).
But you are the 1st division so we don't see it. :cool:
As much as we would like to. :ball:
03/09/2005, 1:48 PM
we brought 400 to monaghan, 300 to galway twice, 300 to dublin twice. if every1s bein honest no other team in da country would every bring that many to a 1st division game
Bald Student
03/09/2005, 1:54 PM
UCD brought about 50 to our away League Cup game aginst Dublin City. Our biggest travelling support since similar game against Shamrock Rovers.
03/09/2005, 1:56 PM
UCD brought about 50 to our away League Cup game aginst Dublin City. Our biggest travelling support since similar game against Shamrock Rovers.
:D :D :D
derrymac
03/09/2005, 2:01 PM
Without wanting to get drawn into the arguement that our away support is bigger than yours, Cork and Derry are at opposite ends of the country. When games are played on a friday night, it involves taking a whole day of work. It's a 12 hour round trip. I can't get to all the away games, but i don't think that makes me any less of a fan.
Far too many Dublin fans don't ever seem to understand this.
With the exception of Waterford for us, and Harps for Derry, every second week is a long trip for both these clubs, (and the same for Harps, Waterford )
03/09/2005, 3:23 PM
Far too many Dublin fans don't ever seem to understand this.
With the exception of Waterford for us, and Harps for Derry, every second week is a long trip for both these clubs, (and the same for Harps, Waterford )
Maybe you should have a couple more clubs in Cork. :p