View Full Version : Mark O'Mahony F Portsmouth (loan from Brighton) b.2005

JR89
12/11/2023, 12:12 PM
Not even on the bench today?

Has a knock. U19s striker Mark O'Mahony on the bench though.

Rayzor
Not even on the bench today?
Mark o Mahony is though.

Olé Olé
Must be injured. Or else banished for laughing at Alex Crook?

Mark O'Mahony is on the bench. Will hardly get a run with Joao Pedro on bench too but we can hope.

12/11/2023, 12:38 PM
Does anyone know if Mark O’Mahony is on the bench today?

third policeman
12/11/2023, 2:06 PM
Does anyone know if Mark O’Mahony is on the bench today?

He is.

Fixer82
12/11/2023, 4:45 PM
O’Mahony on bench today apparently

03/04/2024, 7:04 PM
Ferguson not available for tonight's game against Brentford, so O'Mahony is named as a substitute

10/04/2024, 2:03 PM
Signs a new three year contract with Brighton
https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/3961505/mark-omahony-signs-new-contract

Eirambler
13/04/2024, 4:00 PM
Caps off a great week with his Premier League debut. Great to see another Irish teenager playing in the Premier League.

13/04/2024, 4:16 PM
most teenage players on one season since 2019/20

Eirambler
13/04/2024, 4:28 PM
Frustrating that none of the 2019/20 four have managed to establish themselves at that level. I think most of us would have expected at least one of them to have done so by now. Ferguson has already made more Premier League appearances than any of them.

Razors left peg
13/04/2024, 5:08 PM
Frustrating that none of the 2019/20 four have managed to establish themselves at that level. I think most of us would have expected at least one of them to have done so by now. Ferguson has already made more Premier League appearances than any of them.

I'm watching Solanke play against Utd. He was a player much was expected of young and it took him until he was about 24 to really show his early potential.

Even if we look at our own house, it's taken until he was 27/28 for Szmodics to really break out.

Eirambler
14/04/2024, 9:04 AM
most teenage players on one season since 2019/20

Might yet see Umeh and Curtis before the end of the season also. Both have made the bench for their clubs on multiple occasions and both clubs could be playing dead rubber games by May.

14/04/2024, 9:34 PM
It's a stretch, but Kone-Doherty is a possibility too
Next season is more likely

CraftyToePoke
25/04/2024, 7:02 PM
On the bench v Man City tonight.

25/04/2024, 10:34 PM
Got the last 15. Was only semi watching so no idea if he even got a touch.

joey B
28/04/2024, 12:54 PM
Starts today away to Bournemouth ….

zero
28/04/2024, 2:19 PM
Starts today away to Bournemouth ….

taken off at HT for welbeck but fair play to get a start. onwards on upwards.

CSAD
28/04/2024, 4:58 PM
taken off at HT for welbeck but fair play to get a start. onwards on upwards.

More superb man management from De Zerbi...

joey B
28/04/2024, 6:15 PM
More superb man management from De Zerbi...

With everything happening around the Premier League and how much air time the bigger teams get it’s gone under the radar how poor a season De Zerbi and Brighton have had,good chance he won’t be there next season and not necessarily because he’ll get a better job…..

CraftyToePoke
28/04/2024, 7:27 PM
Could have gone in the Ferguson thread or this one but De Zerbi had this to say today ;

Maybe Evan has a different shot but Mark is better in terms of possession, he understands the play better.

https://www.theargus.co.uk/sport/24283476.roberto-de-zerbi-compares-mark-omahony-evan-ferguson/

This is a guy overseeing a results collapse this calendar year, and I don’t see what good that kind of press conference does him, or Ferguson, or Brighton, or his prospects there.

It follow an earlier quote I saw this week where he phrased it as Ferguson having decided to write off his season to address the injury. As though he didn't agree with that course of action. Not his first snidey rodeo towards the player either.

seanfhear
28/04/2024, 8:50 PM
With everything happening around the Premier League and how much air time the bigger teams get it’s gone under the radar how poor a season De Zerbi and Brighton have had,good chance he won’t be there next season and not necessarily because he’ll get a better job…..
Brighton do seem to be pro-active when it comes to this sort of thing, and always seem to have a good a manager lined up if necessary ~ ~ There could well be a change of manager at Brighton alright.

28/04/2024, 10:31 PM
Could have gone in the Ferguson thread or this one but De Zerbi had this to say today ;

Maybe Evan has a different shot but Mark is better in terms of possession, he understands the play better.

https://www.theargus.co.uk/sport/24283476.roberto-de-zerbi-compares-mark-omahony-evan-ferguson/

This is a guy overseeing a results collapse this calendar year, and I don’t see what good that kind of press conference does him, or Ferguson, or Brighton, or his prospects there.

It follow an earlier quote I saw this week where he phrased it as Ferguson having decided to write off his season to address the injury. As though he didn't agree with that course of action. Not his first snidey rodeo towards the player either.

It was probably on the Ferguson thread but I did call out De Zerbi a few months ago, maybe even before the new year about his rotation approach (I’d extend that to his in game management too) and the damage that it was having on Ferguson but also the team and their overall form. I may be wrong on this but he seems to play the opposition as he sees it rather than having a settled and preferred first eleven.

I hadn’t been tracking them as closely in the last couple of months but those quotes and summaries of his press conferences come off really poorly on him. I wouldn’t be surprised if Ferguson has had some words with him about the situation and he’s being a bit frozen out. Maybe Fergusons had his head turned a bit too though?

CraftyToePoke
28/04/2024, 11:39 PM
It was probably on the Ferguson thread but I did call out De Zerbi a few months ago, maybe even before the new year about his rotation approach (I’d extend that to his in game management too) and the damage that it was having on Ferguson but also the team and their overall form. I may be wrong on this but he seems to play the opposition as he sees it rather than having a settled and preferred first eleven.

I hadn’t been tracking them as closely in the last couple of months but those quotes and summaries of his press conferences come off really poorly on him. I wouldn’t be surprised if Ferguson has had some words with him about the situation and he’s being a bit frozen out. Maybe Fergusons had his head turned a bit too though?

You could well be right, but it wouldn't be unforseen in Brighton that a top asset would move on, it happens plenty there. I'm not sure how questioning the players focus, injury and for the hat trick comparing him unfavourably to a kid making his first start who ended up subbed off at half time helps achieve maximum sale value or even get to the guy scoring again which De Zerbi could have done with in the shorter term.

Three league wins this calendar year so far, Sheffield United / Palace & Forest so maybe a bit less crying in public from him and a bit more fixing the relegation form ahead of next season.

29/04/2024, 6:22 AM
Brighton do seem to be pro-active when it comes to this sort of thing, and always seem to have a good a manager lined up if necessary ~ ~ There could well be a change of manager at Brighton alright.

Graham Potter's available I guess?

Exgrad
29/04/2024, 7:44 AM
De Zerbi is pretty ****ed off with Ferguson and has been for a while. Thats clear enough anyway. Why (apart from not scoring) is another matter i guess.

24/06/2024, 8:55 PM
Interviewed in the independent today
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/mark-omahony-i-saw-adam-lallana-i-have-seven-liverpool-jerseys-at-home-with-his-name-on-the-back/a1304167737.html

Razors left peg
27/08/2024, 7:11 PM
Has come on after 9 mins for Brighton tonight

Eirambler
27/08/2024, 7:34 PM
Have to feel a bit sorry for O'Riley there, got absolutely hacked inside the first 10 minutes of his Brighton debut after his big money move.

27/08/2024, 8:43 PM
Adds the fourth late on, against third tier Crawley.

Ferguson on the bench throughout, but good to see him there at least after a few months out.

Razors left peg
27/08/2024, 8:47 PM
O'Mahony in the Championship will be an interesting watch. Well able for the physical side of it, not sure he has the cleverness to be a good striker. He's a bit slow and lumbering and didn't take up great positions often, but there were also times he was in good position and was annoyed the ball wasn't passed.

elatedscum
27/08/2024, 8:54 PM
Struggled more than I expected. Looked tired. He was played in a weird position. They tended to play Ensico up top and O’Mahony deeper which didn’t really suit him, although there was a degree of flexibility and for about 5 minutes found himself wide left.

I’d be curious to see how he did actually playing up top. He took the goal well and showed genuine pace just after it when he won the ball back from kickoff and probably should have shot. Probably post goal adrenaline.

Can’t be too critical of him considering he scored and at times took up great positions and didn’t receive the ball. But there were times where he tried to go past a defender and telegraphed what he did and times when his passing left something to be desired

JR89
27/08/2024, 9:11 PM
Struggled more than I expected. Looked tired. He was played in a weird position. They tended to play Ensico up top and O’Mahony deeper which didn’t really suit him, although there was a degree of flexibility and for about 5 minutes found himself wide left.

I’d be curious to see how he did actually playing up top. He took the goal well and showed genuine pace just after it when he won the ball back from kickoff and probably should have shot. Probably post goal adrenaline.

Can’t be too critical of him considering he scored and at times took up great positions and didn’t receive the ball. But there were times where he tried to go past a defender and telegraphed what he did and times when his passing left something to be desired

When he joined his all round play was a bit meh. For our U19s if he wasn't on the score sheet he wouldn't offer much. When Brighton signed him think they've played him to be more involved in general play rather than as an out and out 9.

28/08/2024, 12:08 PM
First goal for Brighton at the below, at 8:00
Embedding has been disabled for the video, which is annoying
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8p0IokKibZE&t=8m

28/08/2024, 4:37 PM
Bloody awful goal to give away, but he won't care. Tidy finish anyway. He looks a big strong player for an 18/19 year old.

JR89
28/08/2024, 6:12 PM
Joins Portsmouth on loan for the season.

liamoo11
28/08/2024, 10:28 PM
Joins Portsmouth on loan for the season.

I'm surprised he has gone in at championship level for his first loan. It will be an excellent achievement if he plays regularly and can get close to 10 goals at that level. He has made massive improvements in the last few years

Eirambler
29/08/2024, 6:09 AM
Not many young strikers do well on first loans to the Championship. Tom Cannon being a relatively rare exception, but I remember Parrott in particular struggling. Liam Delap also.

The one thing that can help though is physical size and strength (which Cannon had), so maybe the hope is that O'Mahony has the physical attributes to do well there.

samhaydenjr
05/10/2024, 2:35 AM
I know it was mentioned in Tom Cannon's thread but I thought I'd note in O'Mahony's own thread that he got his first league goal against Stoke... and it was a fairly decent one

zero
05/10/2024, 1:00 PM
starts and scores at home to Oxford.

Eirambler
05/10/2024, 3:15 PM
Encouraging start for him at a good level, especially considering he's playing in a struggling team.

yurt
06/10/2024, 11:09 AM
Yeah a couple goals to his name already means he should continue to start the next couple of games.

Minutes is the most important thing for a player his age. Pleasantly surprised when he got a championship move and now he's managed to establish himself early on in the side.

Hopefully he can continue to knock them in and secure himself a loan to a bigger championship club next season.

15/02/2025, 2:37 PM
Goal for him today in injury time. Played the last 20 mins. Great to see after his return! Think it’s his third goal in 10.

That settles it.
The second-half sub Mark O'Mahony picks up a clearance and breaks through the middle of the pitch before slotting it home to wrap up the points.

Olé Olé
15/02/2025, 3:14 PM
Fair play to Portsmouth for sticking with him. Probably between there and Brighton for the recovery. A hip injury for that extent of time must be tough going at that age. Great for him to get going on the goals again. A few more and a clean bill of health will have him primed for next season.

Olé Olé
16/02/2025, 8:26 AM

Touch and finish on point. Will do the confidence plenty of good and the celebration indicated as much. Plenty of embraces from his teammates after a challenging few months for the lad on his first loan move.

seanfhear
16/02/2025, 10:42 AM
https://x.com/Pompey/status/1890872462218322301?t=vtufO58SLGfeHlpOA8keFg&s=19

Touch and finish on point. Will do the confidence plenty of good and the celebration indicated as much. Plenty of embraces from his teammates after a challenging few months for the lad on his first loan move.Good physical specimen, which never hurts if you have the mobility / dexterity as well ~ ~ Great first touch and finish, excellent goal.

~YTM~
16/02/2025, 3:13 PM
Good physical specimen, which never hurts if you have the mobility / dexterity as well ~ ~ Great first touch and finish, excellent goal.

U21s will have a couple of these lads with Melia and Noonan big lads for their ages and getting experience at senior level against physically developed and experienced defenders. O'Mahony, Melia, and Noonan, not sure who else there is that will be pushing for U21s inclusion.

elatedscum
17/02/2025, 6:15 AM
not sure who else there is that will be pushing for U21s inclusion.

Tommy Lonergan, Adrien Thibaut and Jad Hakiki were called up to the last camp.

Off the top of my head, those who are also in the age group include Nathan Fraser, Eoin Kenny, Luke Pearce, Caden McLoughlin, Patrick Casey and Billy Brooks (who is now playing 9th tier football)

~YTM~
17/02/2025, 1:38 PM
Tommy Lonergan, Adrien Thibaut and Jad Hakiki were called up to the last camp.

Off the top of my head, those who are also in the age group include Nathan Fraser, Eoin Kenny, Luke Pearce, Caden McLoughlin, Patrick Casey and Billy Brooks (who is now playing 9th tier football)

Think it's safe to assume that O'Mahony will be our first choice CF for the U21s. Will be interesting though to see who from the LOI cohort that Crawford will go with as his back ups.

Fraser's career hasn't went the way he thought it would after rejecting an U21s call up. Fair enough the one in March he was the only fit CF at Wolves which is understandable.

You wouldn't blame a lad saying I'd rather chance getting minutes at Wolves than warm the bench against San Marino. Not the friendlies in June though. Wonder if he'll suddenly feel Irish enough again now that his stint in Belgium's second tier flopped.

elatedscum
18/02/2025, 6:24 PM
Think it's safe to assume that O'Mahony will be our first choice CF for the U21s. Will be interesting though to see who from the LOI cohort that Crawford will go with as his back ups.

Fraser's career hasn't went the way he thought it would after rejecting an U21s call up. Fair enough the one in March he was the only fit CF at Wolves which is understandable.

You wouldn't blame a lad saying I'd rather chance getting minutes at Wolves than warm the bench against San Marino. Not the friendlies in June though. Wonder if he'll suddenly feel Irish enough again now that his stint in Belgium's second tier flopped.

I think, at least until the 19s have finished their campaign (either this march or in summer) - I'd have O'Mahony as first choice, Fraser if he's willing as second choice and one of Eoin Kenny, Adrien Thibaut or Tommy Lonergan as third. I thought both Thibaut and Lonergan did well in the last camp and Kenny was excellent for Dundalk at the end of last season, basically a one man mission to keep them up. I didn't see a lot of Sligo, so I'd be curious for Sligo fans to say how Luke Pearce did. I saw him playing excellently for our u18s during covid and I don't think he's appeared for us since.