View Full Version : EL makes front page of todays herald.

Pages : 1 [2]

30/08/2005, 5:55 PM
In fairness chippie the journo probably read it on message board (here, Bohs, Shels - take your pick) and decided to give it a go. Combination of slow news day and cork's result meaning the El is now news worthy again.

When there's no quotes from anyone you know its total ****e

30/08/2005, 5:55 PM
Well you tell me who is behind it, the article states that both Glen and the police have no comment or info on this? The journo had to get his info from somewhere and apart from Nutsey and Ollie I have seen or heard no one else talking about this. As I said Ollie has a history of this, where is all this proff he was going to show us on Rovers and Linfield even after the police denied any Rovers arrests on the day etc.

It's been all over the internet, the usual source for the Heralds 'journalism'. And are the phone numbers not on display in Dalymount? He could have wandered in for a píss. I'm sure if Ollie reported it to them they'd have a quote.

Dyl10
30/08/2005, 7:08 PM
what the hell does that mean?

are you saying you actually belive oily that it was Rovers fans? despite the lack of proof?

No im not saying that, I dont care what oily says but I honestly beleive one set of fans did attack them. It doesn't matter which fans it was as thats not the point. Do you understand what I mean?

31/08/2005, 12:25 PM
No im not saying that, I dont care what oily says but I honestly beleive one set of fans did attack them. It doesn't matter which fans it was as thats not the point. Do you understand what I mean?

Well of course it matters. Oily made an allegation that Rovers fans started trouble outside tolka at the Setanta Cup Final. Despite phone call to the cops in Whitehall in which they said there were no arrests, oily still peddled this non story and got the headlines again.

Shelsman
31/08/2005, 12:56 PM
.....it also amazes me to see so many Shels fans defend Ollie no matter what he does, or who he assaults. No matter how much photographic evidence...........

I haven't seen a single post from a Shels fan on foot.ie to back your statement up. All the Shels fans who use this forum have condemned Shels officials/management/players when they have done wrong.

Shelsman
31/08/2005, 12:59 PM
The simplest solution IMO is to ban the Herald from eL grounds for a number of games -or at least give them a press seat where the phone isn't working! :D

hoops1
31/08/2005, 1:19 PM
Little senstive after the defeat COP ON!
Lets be honest the best result of the year
was UCD 2 Longford 1!
Now nobody has to be bored to tears
watching you in the final anymore!
And sice your cup run is over you can go back to
obscurity and remember the gory years all two of them!

anto eile
31/08/2005, 1:28 PM
Well done Bohs fans , seriously well done.

FFs his whole family being terrorised by scumbags who think because he played for them they own him , or he owes them somfin other than being top scorer whilst with them.

Sickening tbh noone should have to deal with that ****.

kdjac

what kind of idiot are you to believe anyting to be written in the herdald??grow up and cop on.the herdald print nothing but nonsense.
im not defending gypos,but Rovers fans know more than anyone that the herald literally makes up stories

crowe knows the people who are ringing him and "threatening" him . its bull**** and no one is living in fear :rolleyes:

anto eile
31/08/2005, 1:33 PM
There not printing crap though are they? It may not be street brawls but more inside the ground fighting! especially this year there have been a couple of ugly incidents!!!
Heres a few:
1. The Cork fella getting his head split(in richmond but im not sure)
2. Drogheda V Bohs in drogheda, the fans were fighting after that one!
3. Bohs and Rovers(im not going to get into this one because it doesn't seem to stop between these 2)
4. Pats V Shells over that flag thing
5. Linfield supporters and those so-called rovers fans after the setanta cup

and thats just 5 quickly off the top of my head :eek:

argh christ almighty.you could write for the herald with this hysterical rubbish

1: a solitary incident -it was wrong to throw the coin,but its hardly proof of an EL-wide rampaging violence epidemic
2: minor incident,one drogheda fan made a big deal out of nothing
3: Rovers and gypos-only game where trouble can happen-as much to do with inept policing as anything else
4: resulted in a minor scuffle.no one was arested and no one was hurt
5: blatant ****ING LIES from irelands only football hooligan- ollie byrne

31/08/2005, 1:46 PM
crowe knows the people who are ringing him and "threatening" him . its bull**** and no one is living in fear :rolleyes:

Now how would you know that?

Roverstillidie
31/08/2005, 1:50 PM
Now how would you know that?

are you saying he is?

31/08/2005, 1:51 PM
are you saying he is?

I'm saying

"Now how would you know that?"

It's written just a few lines up.

Roverstillidie
31/08/2005, 1:57 PM
I'm saying

It's written just a few lines up.

but the hellrag is saying he is. many el fans, from experience, believe they are lying. glen is 'unavailable for comment' and we are supposed to take the story seriously?

you are implying this story is true by the tone of your post and by not accepting criticism of the heralds integrety and the specifics of this story.

if you have something to add, add it.

31/08/2005, 1:59 PM
but the hellrag is saying he is. many el fans, from experience, believe they are lying. glen is 'unavailable for comment' and we are supposed to take the story seriously?

you are implying this story is true by the tone of your post and by not accepting criticism of the heralds integrety and the specifics of this story.

if you have something to add, add it.

I didn't mention the herald story that time.

Look, it isn't difficult really, I'll try again.

I said, and I quote, "Now how would you know that?"

It implies "Now how would you know that?", the tone suggests "Now how would you know that?"

got it?

Roverstillidie
31/08/2005, 2:05 PM
I didn't mention the herald story that time.

Look, it isn't difficult really, I'll try again.

I said, and I quote, "Now how would you know that?"

It implies "Now how would you know that?", the tone suggests "Now how would you know that?"

got it?

we know that from experience of dealing with the herald.
its up to them to prove it happened, not the rest of us to prove it didnt.
a comment from the player would be a start.

got it?

31/08/2005, 2:07 PM
we know that from experience of dealing with the herald.
its up to them to prove it happened, not the rest of us to prove it didnt.
a comment from the player would be a start.

got it?

His comment was nothing to do with the Herald. He said Crowe knew the people calling and no one is living in fear. He didn't mention the Herald, neither did I, stop bringing it up. He obviously is in the know somehow here or so he claims, hence me asking "Now how would you know that?"

It's really not difficult.

And certinaly the phone calls did happen, that was common knowledge long before the Herald story.

Vitruvian Man
31/08/2005, 2:33 PM
Slash
What most people are denying is the assertion by the Evening Herald that Glen Crowe’s family are living in fear of violent thugs.
The reasons for dismissing the The Heralds claims are…
1. The article is riddled with factual inaccuracies.
2. There is no interview with ANY of the parties involved in the alleged incidents. Not Glen Crowe, Not the Gardai, Not the thug-hooligan-scumbag fans, not even any Shels officials. There are only some recycled quotes from separate interviews.
3. The Herald has been known to publish completely inaccurate negative articles on the supporters of Irish football in the past.

If you can’t accept this argument then maybe you can tell us, why you believe that Glen Crowe is living fear – because you read it in the Herald?
You are questioning somebody who asserts the opposite and implying that because he doesn’t have a newspaper article to back him up then he has to personally know Glen Crowe.

But, you are not applying the same criteria to yourself as you do to poor old Anto. You are accepting hearsay as truth, because it suits your own opinions but you are denying him the same luxury. Why should he have the burden of proof – do you know Glen Crowe personally to vouch that he DID phone calls threatening himself and his family?

Gareth
31/08/2005, 2:39 PM
Vitruvian Man I do believe he did get calls. I dont think that was ever called into question. The sh1te report the herald wrote though just adds a shrowd of doubt to it cos of the very poor reporting/gleening.

31/08/2005, 2:55 PM
Slash
What most people are denying is the assertion by the Evening Herald that Glen Crowe’s family are living in fear of violent thugs.
The reasons for dismissing the The Heralds claims are…
1. The article is riddled with factual inaccuracies.
2. There is no interview with ANY of the parties involved in the alleged incidents. Not Glen Crowe, Not the Gardai, Not the thug-hooligan-scumbag fans, not even any Shels officials. There are only some recycled quotes from separate interviews.
3. The Herald has been known to publish completely inaccurate negative articles on the supporters of Irish football in the past.

If you can’t accept this argument then maybe you can tell us, why you believe that Glen Crowe is living fear – because you read it in the Herald?
You are questioning somebody who asserts the opposite and implying that because he doesn’t have a newspaper article to back him up then he has to personally know Glen Crowe.

But, you are not applying the same criteria to yourself as you do to poor old Anto. You are accepting hearsay as truth, because it suits your own opinions but you are denying him the same luxury. Why should he have the burden of proof – do you know Glen Crowe personally to vouch that he DID phone calls threatening himself and his family?

When did I say Crowe was living in fear?

Is it a foot.ie to simply read whatever you want into peoples comments and argue with things they never said?

For the last time, I never mentioned the heralds article in that post. How difficult is this for you people to understand? If you want to make up arguments and get ouraged over them go ahead.

I mean, you read all this "You are questioning somebody who asserts the opposite and implying that because he doesn’t have a newspaper article to back him up then he has to personally know Glen Crowe. " from me asking someone how they knew that?

Stunning, really. An impressive talent.

Vitruvian Man
31/08/2005, 3:48 PM
When did I say Crowe was living in fear?

Is it a foot.ie to simply read whatever you want into peoples comments and argue with things they never said?

For the last time, I never mentioned the heralds article in that post. How difficult is this for you people to understand? If you want to make up arguments and get ouraged over them go ahead.

I mean, you read all this "You are questioning somebody who asserts the opposite and implying that because he doesn’t have a newspaper article to back him up then he has to personally know Glen Crowe. " from me asking someone how they knew that?

Stunning, really. An impressive talent.

Then what IS your point?

Roverstillidie
31/08/2005, 3:53 PM
Then what IS your point?

am i agreeing with a gypo?!? :eek:

what are you actually saying?

31/08/2005, 6:16 PM
Then what IS your point?

Right, I'll try again

My point was

This was because I wanted to know how he would know that.

Do I need to put it in big writing?

Dyl10
31/08/2005, 10:05 PM
Well of course it matters. Oily made an allegation that Rovers fans started trouble outside tolka at the Setanta Cup Final. Despite phone call to the cops in Whitehall in which they said there were no arrests, oily still peddled this non story and got the headlines again.

No it doesn't matter at all! What is being discussed is violence in the EL not which set of fans start fights and what some scumbag out of tolka wants to say. So it doesn't matter at all what ollie said, that is irrelavent, what matters is that some eircom league fans did attack those people! be it shells or Rovers or anyone else I don't care because im not talking about specific teams here I am talking about the league as a whole

Billy Lord
01/09/2005, 1:37 AM
Eh, what evidence is there that EL fans were involved in violence at the Setana Cup Final - other than the spurious claims from Oliie that it was Rovers fans?

02/09/2005, 12:18 PM
Your sig is an absolute joke. You are the ones who have brought the league into disrepute with your dodgy financial shenanigans. Not only that, but you lied to the league saying you were only paying players about fifteen euro a week. You are third from bottom with a goal difference of MINUS ten. We are fourth. Ah yes, you are right. We are bringing the league into disrepute.
HAAAAAAAAAAAAAA. HAAAAAAAAAAAA.

You are an absolute joke. You embarrassed the league in Europe 2 years running. UCD have thankfully made sure that you wont do it again.

We are the ones, however indirectly, who are gonna make sure that clubs have a better financial sounding in the future as a full and frank look at every clubs finances is the only way forward.

Some of our players are getting paid €50 a week. This is a fact. Some of our players are playing for nothing. Another fact. 2 of our players left to join some club in the middle of nowhere.

Where did I say anything about disrepute? Said it before pal if your own fans say ignore you its hardly a good sign :rolleyes: