View Full Version : Friday 20th Fixtures
JC_GUFC
09/10/2023, 9:14 AM
An eagle-eyed fan has noted that the final day of Division 1 fixtures and a full set of Premier Division fixtures down for this night could be clashing with Ireland playing in a Rugby World Cup Semi-Final.
4 of the Premier Division teams and the Division 1 playoffs are scheduled for midweek so I don't really see an option for any of the matches being moved to later in the weekend.
I guess it's not ideal and it may knock some of the floating crowd off gates - or maybe just hope that Ireland lose another Rugby WC Quarter-Final!
09/10/2023, 12:19 PM
Not ideal at all.
Derry-Shels could be moved back to the Saturday/Sunday. Hopefully would be that if it came to it.
The other matches could be brought forward to the Thursday, but that would affect attendances too.
An awkward one.
total hoofball
09/10/2023, 12:59 PM
The home teams for these round of games would be taking a hit on attendances one way or the other if they get approval switch to the Thursday night or stick with playing on Friday night at the same time as a potential Ireland semi-final or if even they moved to kick-off on the Friday to earlier in the evening say 5.45pm (UCD/Cork at Belfield may be the best candidate for that option)
Then you're dealing with that they would only have 5 days sure notice and I assume the away teams and gardai etc. would have to this week agree to any potential late switch in date or kick-off time?
Yossarian
09/10/2023, 1:42 PM
We are away to Sligo that night and that was originally scheduled for the Saturday night but was moved to the Friday for some reason.
If Ireland are in a rugby semi final that night it’ll hit the attendances. Though the Dundalk away numbers will be minimal either way thanks to our limp end to the season.
09/10/2023, 2:04 PM
Then you're dealing with that they would only have 5 days sure notice and I assume the away teams and gardai etc. would have to this week agree to any potential late switch in date or kick-off time?
FD matches for this Saturday have had their KO time changed. Maybe five days' notice is ok?
2 Year Contract
09/10/2023, 2:35 PM
If any headbanger wants to go and watch the egg chasing on tv instead of their club’s match then let them. The only games that will see a drop in crowds are games of insignificance which would likely have been small crowds (relatively speaking) anyways.
Premier division wise it won’t be a noticeable difference IMO.
Bohs-Pats will sell out
Derry-Shels won’t be affected
Rovers-Drogheda won’t be affected
UCD-Cork will be a tiny crowd regardless
Sligo-Dundalk will be a small crowd regardless
First Division could have a few more dead rubber type games depending on results this weekend but I wouldn’t say it’ll be a groundbreaking drop off in attendance there either compared to if the games were moved to Saturday
JC_GUFC
09/10/2023, 3:36 PM
If any headbanger wants to go and watch the egg chasing on tv instead of their club’s match then let them. The only games that will see a drop in crowds are games of insignificance which would likely have been small crowds (relatively speaking) anyways.
First Division could have a few more dead rubber type games depending on results this weekend but I wouldn’t say it’ll be a groundbreaking drop off in attendance there either compared to if the games were moved to Saturday
Galway United will be presented with the Division 1 trophy. It's a dead rubber game but definitely would've been the type of match that floating fans would have turned up for but many probably won't if there's a clash. Wexford, understandably, probably won't want to change it.
Not the end of the world and not a whole lot that can be done really other than cheering on the All Blacks!
09/10/2023, 3:57 PM
I can understand LoI ire toward GAA de to their conduct toward 'Garrison Games' in the past and their general paranoia still, but not so much rugby. I dont think games should be rescheduled or anything but there are plenty of people that have a broad interest in sports, myself included. If Dundalk were playing a key game in a league run in id try to be there but Id also have an eye on the rugby, a possible unique scenario for Irish sport and potential world cup final at stake - not to be scoffed at for a country our size in any sport! That Dundalk are not playing a must win game and I choose to focus on the rugby instead would not mean my support of my club is in question either; There are people that would probably consider me a headbanger either way!
total hoofball
09/10/2023, 6:33 PM
FD matches for this Saturday have had their KO time changed. Maybe five days' notice is ok?
I'm just not seeing what financial/practical/on-field benefit would be for any of the home teams to switch maybe with the exception of UCD/Cork which won't have a large home or away attendance or significant policing resources just like most FD games that are switched at short notice
I'm sure if any of the home teams were thinking about switching to Thursday night or earlier Friday kick-off discussions with the FAI/away teams would have started already so if all parties are happy 5 days would be sufficient but I couldn't see a Dublin derby like Bohs/Pats been switched easily at 5 days firm notice considering Garda resources involved in policing those evening derby games with a high attendance
09/10/2023, 7:17 PM
Premier division wise it won’t be a noticeable difference IMO.
I think it'd be foolish not to recognise that there could be people who like both LoI and rugby though.
I'm not one - no interest in it whatsoever - but even I recognise a World Cup semifinal would be about the biggest game Ireland have ever played and could very well have an impact on LoI
That said, moving to Thursday tends to have an impact too, so maybe it's something that just needs to be taken as a hit
Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/10/2023, 8:33 PM
We are away to Sligo that night and that was originally scheduled for the Saturday night but was moved to the Friday for some reason.
If Ireland are in a rugby semi final that night it’ll hit the attendances. Though the Dundalk away numbers will be minimal either way thanks to our limp end to the season.
Moved to Friday because our rescheduled games against Pats from this weekend is on the following Monday
Calcio Jack
09/10/2023, 8:44 PM
I think it'd be foolish not to recognise that there could be people who one both LoI and rugby though.
I'm not one - no interest in it whatsoever - but even I recognise a World Cup semifinal would be about the biggest game Ireland have ever played and could very well have an impact on LoI
That said, moving to Thursday tends to have an impact too, so maybe it's something that just needs to be taken as a hit
I for one love watching rugby ( being raised near Milltown meant I like many from that era attended a rugby school and indeed played it) but also fell in love with Rovers so it’s not incompatible that one can love both codes… so I’d already assumed that if we get to the rugby semi then matches will be moved…. I for one will be rightly annoyed if it isn’t and a failure by the club to recognise their base and demographic will be a disgrace as that would be an insult to our roots
First division trophy presentation is scheduled for EDP in that Friday V Wexford
Was expecting nearly a full house with family and kids see GUFC win a trophy for probably their first time
If Ireland reach a World Cup semifinal I could see a least a 50% drop in attendance as the interest will huge across the country
Think it would be a wise move to reschedule fixtures to suit all sports fans
sbgawa
09/10/2023, 10:19 PM
I love Rovers but if Ireland are playing a WC semi final at the same time it will kill the attendance.
there is no easy ansewer though , our Sunday or Monday attendaces have been awful.3k against Cork on the last Sunday game.
Probably better off going ahead and taking the Friday hit
10/10/2023, 1:04 PM
I'm just not seeing what financial/practical/on-field benefit would be for any of the home teams to switch maybe with the exception of UCD/Cork which won't have a large home or away attendance or significant policing resources just like most FD games that are switched at short notice
Derry is the least rugby-ish city in the country, but Ireland getting to a semi-final of anything is rare occurance. Financially, it would cost the club tens of thousands if it clashes.
Sensible thing would be to move what matches can be moved.
(all very confident of beating the Kiwis, aren't we? ;))
11/10/2023, 9:57 AM
Derry is the least rugby-ish city in the country, but Ireland getting to a semi-final of anything is rare occurance. Financially, it would cost the club tens of thousands if it clashes.
Sensible thing would be to move what matches can be moved.
(all very confident of beating the Kiwis, aren't we? ;))
Nope, the use of 'potential' for me, but then when it comes to supporting teams i sway toward glass half empty!!
Calcio Jack
11/10/2023, 2:02 PM
Nope, the use of 'potential' for me, but then when it comes to supporting teams i sway toward glass half empty!!
I’m betting we win by 14 points
2 Year Contract
11/10/2023, 2:59 PM
I’m betting we win by 14 points
Have Thomas Davis got rovers playing GAA now? Somebody better tell Kev Doherty so he can prep the team for the trip to tallaght ;)
2 Year Contract
11/10/2023, 4:59 PM
Cork have a partial stadium closure for hitting Mark Doyle in the head with a glass bottle
https://leagueofireland.ie/news/statement-cork-city-fc/id-5175
Again, not much of a punishment considering the ground won’t be sold out and the lads that threw the bottles will likely still be at the next match, just sat somewhere else.
EDIT: I see in Cork's statement that a full stand closure or a game behind closed doors seem to be the next steps if it happens again for them
https://www.corkcityfc.ie/blogs/news/club-statement-1
FAI Disciplinary Committee
As a result of 3 bottles (missiles) being thrown at St. Patrick’s Athletic players, the club has been sanctioned with a significant fine and also a closure of sections R, S and T for our upcoming home game against Shamrock Rovers on Monday, 23rd of October. Section R is located in the Derrynane Road Stand, while Sections S and T are the first two sections of the Curragh Road (Shed) Stand.
This will reduce the approximate 1,600 capacity of the Curragh Road (Shed) stand by approximately 600 seats.
This will reduce the approximate 1,200 capacity of the Derrynane Road Stand by approximately 200 seats.
https://alvin-almazov.com/stadiums/turners-cross-cork/
D24Saint
12/10/2023, 9:13 AM
If any headbanger wants to go and watch the egg chasing on tv instead of their club’s match then let them. The only games that will see a drop in crowds are games of insignificance which would likely have been small crowds (relatively speaking) anyways
With the pitiful allocation of away tickets that Bohs are dishing out the majority of Pats wont have a choice. We could easily sell 1000 but got 400.
ger121
12/10/2023, 9:56 AM
With the pitiful allocation of away tickets that Bohs are dishing out the majority of Pats wont have a choice. We could easily sell 1000 but got 400.
You get 450 which is 10% of the ground’s capacity. If and when the stadium is redeveloped you’ll get more. The demand in Dalymount for tickets outweighs supply and no club is going to turn away their own supporters to increase the allocation for away fans.
kksaints
14/10/2023, 9:02 PM
No need for any moves so...
20/10/2023, 11:41 AM
Orange weather warning extended to Dublin; lashing down the last hour or two and expected to continue like that till after full-time. Not going to be a great night for games, if they even all go ahead
joey B
20/10/2023, 12:20 PM
UCD/Cork is OFF.
joey B
20/10/2023, 1:47 PM
Rovers/Drogheda OFF.
2 Year Contract
20/10/2023, 2:02 PM
Rovers/Drogheda OFF.
Balls, was hoping pats would face a hungover rovers side this day next week
ontheotherhand
20/10/2023, 2:18 PM
Balls, was hoping pats would face a hungover rovers side this day next week
Looks like you'll face a Rovers team who haven't played in a month if that's any use?
2 Year Contract
20/10/2023, 2:20 PM
Looks like you'll face a Rovers team who haven't played in a month if that's any use?
Are they forfeiting the game on Monday? ;)
ontheotherhand
20/10/2023, 2:34 PM
Are they forfeiting the game on Monday? ;)
Unless we are planning to play Cork in water polo I don't see it happening.
EatYerGreens
20/10/2023, 3:03 PM
You're predicting extreme weather for the next 72hrs? :eek:
sbgawa
20/10/2023, 3:13 PM
I think there is a chance Monday could still happen but the pitch in Cork is a mess at the moment so id say unlikely.
An Irish under 17 match that was due to be played there a week ago had to be moved to Fermoy because the pitch was unplayable so i cant see how it will have improved much
20/10/2023, 3:14 PM
Be some craic if Cork are trying to squeeze in four matches in the space of a week.
The sooner the league ban these horrible grass pitches, the better.
If we're to surpass our points total from last season, win is needed in the Brandy tonight. On the other hand, a Shels win would make things really interesting going into the final weeks.
sbgawa
20/10/2023, 3:20 PM
If Cork is cancelled Monday.....this is how i see it
Pats v Rovers Friday 27th
Cork v Rovers Monday 30th
Rovers v Drogs Friday November 3rd
Rovers v Sligo Monday 6th , with all Friday fixtures played Monday as last round of fixtures played simultaneously.
Cup Final stays same date as planned
20/10/2023, 4:10 PM
Could play Weds/Fri/Mon/Fri, no?
Cork would be in the same position of course.
2 Year Contract
20/10/2023, 4:14 PM
Cork just announced the following
UCD vs Cork Sunday 22 Oct 15:00
Cork vs Shams Monday 30 Oct KO TBC
joey B
20/10/2023, 4:14 PM
Cork v Rovers is off on Monday.
Rovers v Drogs and UCD v Cork is on Sunday.
Cork v Rovers Mon week with KO TBC (Bank Hol)
20/10/2023, 6:55 PM
Cork v Rovers is off on Monday.
Rovers v Drogs and UCD v Cork is on Sunday.
Cork v Rovers Mon week with KO TBC (Bank Hol)
Wonder wot live game is on Monday instead?
joey B
20/10/2023, 7:39 PM
Very harsh red card in the Derry/Shels game,yellow all day....
20/10/2023, 7:44 PM
Very harsh red card in the Derry/Shels game,yellow all day....
Mad performance from Hennessey this evening.
Amongst many incidents, got an ironic cheer from the crowd for finally awarding a handball against Shels. Ball went out for a corner from the free, blew half time. Haven't seen that in years.
We do have a terrible win percentage with games involving him (28%, I think). 18 months since our last with him.
culloty82
20/10/2023, 8:41 PM
Of course the Cobh changes helped significantly, but two draws to end the season, and finish on 10 points.
joey B
20/10/2023, 9:00 PM
Pats still in the title race anyway! A result for Drogheda on Sunday and a Pats win on Monday would set up a great game next Friday....
20/10/2023, 9:28 PM
Actually an entertaining enough second half, all things considered, in the Brandywell.
Shels had the ball in the net at one stage, but Moylan did handle the ball before putting it in. One of those new rules, his hand was up against his body, nothing he could do about it, but can't be given. Don't really like that rule myself.
There were two instances in the second half of challenges worse than Diallo's. One got a yellow, one nothing. Just a bit of consistency would be nice.
2 Year Contract
20/10/2023, 9:44 PM
An enjoyable nights work :) A win against Sligo on Monday would secure Europe for pats. Whatever about his technical ability, Mark Doyle has a great habit of scoring important goals
total hoofball
20/10/2023, 10:04 PM
That was a pathetic performance from Shels with that man advantage looks like we have blown that European chance unless Bohs pull off one hell of a choke. We only showed a little bit of urgency for about 10 minutes at the hour mark before seeing out the game passing the ball sideways, backwards, passing the ball to Derry players, more sideways, more backwards
patsdad
20/10/2023, 10:06 PM
An enjoyable nights work :) A win against Sligo on Monday would secure Europe for pats. Whatever about his technical ability, Mark Doyle has a great habit of scoring important goals
Some of my fellow Pats fans just won’t give Mark Doyle a break. A crucial first goal in each of the last three games, all well taken, has had a huge impact on how our season looks now.
That was a very enjoyable game in Dalymount despite horrendous conditions. I thought it was a very controlled performance by ourselves, happy to soak up Bohs pressure but much more clinical than them when we attacked. Pretty much a mirror image of the previous two games against Cork. Joe Redmond brilliant in defence, David Norman unrecognisable now he’s properly fit, Dean Lyness made the big saves when he had to, Sam Curtis played like the superstar he’s going to be…. I could go through the whole team, everyone delivered.
total hoofball
20/10/2023, 10:08 PM
Actually an entertaining enough second half, all things considered, in the Brandywell.
Shels had the ball in the net at one stage, but Moylan did handle the ball before putting it in. One of those new rules, his hand was up against his body, nothing he could do about it, but can't be given. Don't really like that rule myself.
There were two instances in the second half of challenges worse than Diallo's. One got a yellow, one nothing. Just a bit of consistency would be nice.
The Moylan goal was joke I still couldn't see the 'handball' on the replays
Diallo's was one of those intermediate ones between a yellow and red you've seen them given either way, he was definitely a bit unlucky no malice or anything it was careless. John Martin on the other hand done one on Brian McManus in our last game against Dundalk with a worse scummy challenge and he got a yellow and McManus gets a injury just after returning from injury. The inconsistency is a farce
joey B
20/10/2023, 10:12 PM
We conceded more goals this season than our last 3 seasons in the First Division combined,absolutely rank rotten!!!!
CraftyToePoke
20/10/2023, 10:17 PM
We conceded more goals this season than our last 3 seasons in the First Division combined,absolutely rank rotten!!!!
& yet we lost twice to you somehow and I am looking at that three points short of the play offs final table with investment coming in and blaming the Harps results mostly.
ToberonaTornado
21/10/2023, 5:43 AM
Tell me more about Robbie Burton plz
Such a passionate guy.